Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D4

Nikon Inc. D4

Nikon’s D4 Digital SLR Camera a marvel of speed, accuracy, image quality and intuitive design. The Nikon D4 is engineered for the professional photographer who demands uncompromising performance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.512 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
38 out of 41(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer Reviews for D4
Review 1 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgraded to Nikon D4Camera w Nikkor 80 to 400 mm Lens

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
DickPhotog7
Location Melbourne, Florida
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Tried to go less camera after using the D3 and associated Nikkor lenses. Process too difficult. So I Upgraded to Nikon D4Camera w Nikkor 80 to 400 mm Lens. I'm happily in the saddle once again. I cover sports action for the local college and some high schools. I have all the range I need for football, baseball, golf (shoot after ball is struck), basketball (use no flash) and tennis. I prefer the zoom over multiple lenses to obtain the cover I need. Convenience wins over multiple lenses requiring lens changing as you go. This described combination consistently has produced outstanding images for daily print media. Richard.
+3points
Review 2 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ergonomics rock!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
BrokenShadePhoto
Location Seattle, WA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just got the D4 body yesterday and have been busy shooting with D3.
The D4 feels real natural in my hands as did the D3 did after F-100.
Only complaint: How do I load Provia 100F into this thing?
-3points
Review 3 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The summum

PostedNovember 30, 2013
PhotoMan
Location Philippe Manning
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I do not know what DSLR offer little more, AAA D4.
-6points
Review 4 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D4 is Fantastic!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Mike
Location Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use the D4 to compliment my Leica setup which I reserve for static subjects. The D4 is an unbelievably awesome machine with unprecedented focus tracking and clean noise free images to high iso's. I shoot everything in RAW, make sure I capture everything correct in camera and convert to DNG upon import to Lightroom. The files are fantastic right out of camera. Very happy with the results of this body. The 85 f/1.4G, 200 f/2G II and the 70-200 f/2.8G II are what I have shot with this body so far all with very impressive results. The bokeh of the 85 and 200 are very pleasing and appreciated in my style of photography.
+26points
Review 5 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Video is amazing

PostedJune 7, 2013
timjm
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This camera is just phenomenal. Video is made easy now with separate headphone and boom jacks.
Well done Nikon, well done.
-2points
Review 6 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply the best

PostedJune 5, 2013
ProWedding
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Upgading from Nikon D300, that's the best camera I have ever had. Simply the best camera avaiable out there.
Terrific dinamic range, colours, shape, super-fast autofocus and shutter speed. ISO is superb. I do reccomend everyone could make this investment go ahead.
The only con is the price.
+4points
Review 7 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

World Class Camera!

PostedApril 18, 2013
Captain Tommy
The best I have ever seen at low light, speed at 11fps, incredibly quick focus and frankly the best sports camera I have ever seen. Brilliant Nikon!!!
As a professional I need to have a camera that works---all the time, under some very harsh environments and helps me continue to build my business--this is the camera you want in your bag!!!
+4points
Review 8 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing performer

PostedMarch 8, 2013
DanH
Location Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I've shot with the D4 since day 1. I am a full time photographer and shoot everything from multi-day national events to corporate portraits, wildlife and stock. The D4 is the best camera for almost everything I shoot on a daily basis because of it's amazing high ISO performance and speed. For everything I need at higher resolution I also have the D800.
The only slight disappointment I have with this camera is that although I use it right up to ISO6400 and occasionally at 12800, it wasn't the leap that it was from the D2X/D200 to the D3.
I'm actually happy it's not higher resolution because it's nice to have a daily shooter with amazing speed and high ISO quality and not have to lag my system and post-processing with super high resolution images when they're not needed that large.
+11points
Review 9 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgraded from d3s to d4

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Nikonman
Location Springfield, OR, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I upgraded from a d3s that I owned for a couple years to the d4 which I have owned since August of 2012. The upgrade is well worth it for the additional features and image improvements over the d3s.
I have found the d4's exterior is a little more rounded than the d3s and fits my hands perfectly. The transition between colors is smoother than the d3s. The auto focus detection at f8.0 seems to make the auto focus quicker and more accurate when I use my tc1.4EII and tc1.7EII. I can shoot birds in flight using the tc1.7EII because of the quickness and accuracy of the auto focus.
The tracking in which I usually use the 21 point is amazing. It seems to acheive focus quickly and tracks well. I shoot mostly wildlife with birds in flight as my favorite subject.
The exterior buttons which control settings are similiar to my d3s with some minor changes, but I did not have much of a learning curve on the d4. I have gotten better using the proper settings on the auto focus getting a high rate of keepers that are sharp. Lots of options using auto focus in which some people may have trouble figuring out the setting best for their style of photography. It has taken me a while to experiment with the auto focus settings to give me what I want to see in an image.
Nikon has a winner with the d4. I tried out the d800 by renting one and decided that the d4 was best for fast moving subjects and can be used for a many different types of photography. Don't kid yourself, the d4 is also good for event shooting or landscape shooting, not a single use camera.
+30points
Review 10 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Camera

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Erika
Location Los Angeles, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a serious hobbyist photographer. Not a day goes by that I am not taking pictures of something or other. I've been using the Nikon D7000, which is a great camera, but I wanted a full frame camera for improved low light performance. The price tag of the Nikon D4 made it seem completely unattainable to me, but I am 40 years old and never owned a pro camera before in my life, yet I am an obsessive picture taker so I decided to splurge and I went for it and I can't even believe the difference in the performance of the D4 (of course, I now have nothing to retire on, but...#
I don't regret spending the money one bit. It's absolutely fantastic and worth every penny. I have nothing bad to say about it at all.
The construction is solid, the image quality is gorgeous and it's lightning fast, which is great for me because I take mostly photos of babies and animals #dogs, running horses, etc), who are always on the go.
It's heavy, but I still have my trusty Nikon D7000 for an everyday in my purse kinda camera and the Nikon D4 comes out when my sole purpose is to go out shooting.
I see a lot of complaints from reviewers about the two card slots for two different kinds of memory cards, but I don't mind it. The Sony QXD card performs like no other - it writes super fast.
I highly recommend this camera for any serious hobbyist or pro photographer. It's the best DSLR I've ever owned. Since I started using this camera and sharing the photos with family and friends, I've been asked to shoot two weddings, corporate & actor's headshots and family portraits. I have no plans on becoming a paid Photographer, but the offers have been very flattering and a testament to what a wonderful camera this truly is.
+31points
Review 11 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome, just awesome

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Sambr
Location British Columbia, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I am totally in awe with this camera I can shoot at 12,800 without any problem. I shoot wildlife, low light is fact of life in this type of shooting especially in the early morning or evening. The D4 performs beautifully at these times. The D3s blew me away however the D4 take the cake. Best Nikon I have ever owned.
+14points
Review 12 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The D4 is the absolute best camera I have ever owned

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Torreon
Location Texas, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Okay, had an F5, then I went digital starting with the D100. I have since owned a D200, D300, D5000, D700, and D7000. I only state this so you know where I am coming from. I am very familiar with the Nikon "way" and can relate to the evolutionary process that has led up to the D4. This camera is just simply outstanding in every way. ISO performance is much better than the D700. The quality of the NEF files that come out of this camera are just mind blowing. I cannot compare it to anything else I have had experience with. Skin tones are dead on, and the ability to pull detail out of the deepest quarter tones is down right scary. Even when you think you've blown the highlights - you may just be surprised to find that you haven't.
I shoot mostly nature/outdoor photography but I also like to shoot people in intimate settings. With natural light you can get some really magical captures. Even with a Speedlight with a simple diffuser attached to the hotshoe you will be amazed. AF is amazing and wicked fast. I like the use of the new XQD cards but I have to say coupling that with CF technology is probably not a good idea.
When you pick this baby up and nestle it in your hands you instantly get it! You simply do not want to put it down. Genius level ergonomics. Even though it is lighter than the D3 it is a little heavy to me since I have spent a lot of years with smaller cameras. But that's okay, it fits so well in the hand that the only time you notice the weight is during down times. While shooting its weight seems to drift way out into the back of your mind.
I also just purchased a D800 at the same time as the D4 and I have to say that I have yet to take that camera out on a shoot. I know I should but I just can't leave the D4 in the bag. It seems almost criminal to do so. I'm not the most technical shooter out there but I know cameras and the D4 is the pinnacle of camera design. Get one now!!
+13points
Review 13 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Extraordinary Imaging Technology

PostedOctober 29, 2012
UFOwga
Location Washington, DC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Absolutely Extraordinary Imaging Technology, which surpasses expectations in any and all shooting conditions. A must have camera Nikon D4
+26points
Review 14 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No better camera in the world

PostedAugust 24, 2012
dB L.A. Photo
Location Redondo Beach, CA
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
It was hard for me to leave my NIKON F5 behind and switch to digital for all my pro needs, but the D4 has made that transition easy. This is the first digital camera that achieves the results that i like, under all lighting conditions. Coupled with the new NIKON 910 flash, its hard to take a bad picture.
+18points
Review 15 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best camera I've ever touched

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Nusso77
Location London, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm new to the Nikon family. Prior to my D4 I've shot a Canon 7D and the Sony Alpha 77 were both are great cameras in their own right. But the D4 takes everything to another level. I was especially impressed with the build quality, speed and overall performance of the camera. Honestly there's little that one can complain about and that would be maybe a little more megapixels. Maybe a 24MP would be perfect. Definitely would love to see that in the D4s. The camera is easy to work with even for an amateur like me and the menus are intuitive. I recently took it with me to the Canadian GP in Montreal and it was a blast. Just checkout some of the pictures I took there. I think I'm here to stay with Nikon. Highly recommended.
+14points
Review 16 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Continued…. The Guru of SLRs - Nikon D4

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Thomas V
Location Abu Dhabi - United Arab Emirates
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon D4 excels with regards to sports and action photography. It allows you to get the shot before anyone else. The other factors like its metering, auto white balance and face-recognition all work twice as hard and fast to keep those frames per second truly great. The ISO range is fantastic.
The D4 weighs much less and is very comfortable handling. It will definitely be the choice for photo journalists shooting the Olympic Games this summer. The WT-5 Wi-Fi transmitter enables Live View image to be seen on the iPad/iPhone and it can be used remotely to control the shooting mode, select the AF point and trigger the shutter.
Overall this is an Awesome Camera.
+47points
Review 17 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Guru of SLRs - Nikon D4

PostedJune 28, 2012
Thomas V.
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used an F5 (special edition) for 14 years and recently joined the family of Digital FX, the D4. Though I never owned a digital SLR, I have used various plenty D-SLRS and must say D4 outshines in all facets of photography. I feel my wait for the D4 had been momentous since F5 and D4 shares many features specially the same 11 fps shooting speed which is fair enough for any sort of photography, the dials, buttons and displays and most of all the same body platform.
The image quality is outstanding as they are rich and sharp. Good Job Nikon and your Crew.
+20points
Review 18 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D4 - How to Perfect Perfection

PostedJune 12, 2012
herebedragons
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am NOT a professional photographer. In fact, I owned the Nikon D3 and now, the D4 only to make family pictures and document my life, which I consider to be an equally worthy pursuit as the business professionals that use this as a tool for their livelihoods. However, the fact that I am not a professional may color the perspective of my review, so take it for what it's worth ...
My first Nikon "pro body" was the Nikon D3 and I skipped the D3s, which had I not done so, I would probably have skipped the D4. So, to me the upgrade path from the D3 to the D4 was significant. I also own the Nikon D7000 (walk around camera) and the Nikon D800 (to make those pictures that really need 36 million pixels to punctuate).
The sensor on the D4 is a major upgrade over the D3. I always felt the D3 sensor produced images that were a tad bit "warm" in color and didn't handle indoor lighting as well as I expected a professional DSLR to do. That is not a problem with the D4 and in fact, I find the opposite is true now -- I have to punctuate the color on some of my D4 pictures, as the RAW files from the D4 seem a bit cool (pun intended too). Generally, colors (especially for skin tones) are far more accurate on the D4 (even indoors) ... a characteristic it shares with both the D800 and D7000. But I love the way Nikon tweaked the profile on this new sensor.
ISO - well, what's there to say? I can shoot at ISO 6400 and get results (signal to noise) that are equal or better to the D7000 at ISO 800 (not a fair comparison). The other day, we were in a dingy restaurant in New York City (dark - think candle light) and I was shooting my 13-mo. old daughter with the 85 f1.4G (that lens doesn't focus at close distances) and popped the ISO to 12000 and when I later pulled them from the camera, I was shocked there was so little noise in the photos. Blown up to 100%, sure there is noise, but really well controlled at such a crazy high ISO. I didn't even want to try ISO 204000, since I figured those were not pictures I wanted to see unless it was a dire emergency and I had to take the picture or forever lose a most precious moment. With an additional 4 million pixels over the D3 and D3s, I assumed it would do worse (although I read reviews that it does do worse than the D3s), I was astonished to see the performance over the D3. I even went to a NYC "big box retailer" to compare against the Canon EOS 5D Mark III and as good as that camera is, the D4 quashes its ISO performance - they didn't have the Canon EOS 1Dx displayed, so couldn't compare the D4 against that camera. I am impressed.
XQD and Compact Flash (CF) slots - in a word, annoying!!! Even though it came with the XQD 16GB card and reader, still annoying. I understand that CF has long reached its limits and even with mfgs boasting of 1000x read/write speeds, the actual realizable speeds with CF are far less than they claim, whereas after using XQD, I have no doubt that it can actually do 125 mbps (no lie). XQD may be the future of pro memory cards, but this is a pretty gutsy call on Nikon's part to force its pro users to early adopt a format that is still in flux. But hey, if you're going to early adopt, then go all out ... no holds barred. Why on Earth do you want to limit my 2nd card slot to CF, which now slows my redundancy or forces me to abandon the 2nd card slot ... that was a bad call by Nikon, although I understand the business rationale that is the basis for this decision. And moreover, if the D4 was to adopt the XQD, why use CF and SD on the D800? I am not sure I understand or fully appreciate Nikon's decision on this point.
USB 2.0? Really? If adopting 2 different card slots was silly, then this is just STUPID. I was expecting that Thunderbolt connection that Apple and Intel are selling, which also doesn't seem to attract a whole lot of interest. If the market abandons Thunderbolt, then USB 3.0 promises to be the future I/O port, so I would expect the D4 to use that technology, especially since the D800 supports USB 3.0.
AF - now, this is a point that I debate with myself. It's right on, and somewhat clairvoyant. That's the good news, but in terms of speed, I'm not sure I see significant speed over the D3, even though it focuses in less light. The other issue I seem to have is that the shutter seems to fire without the AF acquiring focus -- an issue that I did not have with the D3. I am going through the Ulysses-like instruction manual to figure out if I'm missing a setting, or if my technique is flawed somehow. I do like the D4's AF over the D800's b/c there are no black boxes that obscure my subjects. Okay, so for now, I call the AF a draw.
Video, well that's fantastic even though it can't acquire focus as fast as my 6-yr. old video camera that was about $300. I guess at this stage in the technology game, it's either phase change AF or contrast AF, and we must remember that this is primarily a STILL CAMERA, not a video camera. It's nice to be able to take HD video at 1080p - and those crop factors are very useful. Personally, I didn't think I'd use them much, but then taking video of my daughter, it was nice to get that crop magnification. The video is crisp and clear and I love the bokeh from the FX sensor, which I can't do on my small video camera b/c of the DOF.
HDR / time lapse / light up buttons - great to see Nikon bring consumer functions into a pro body, and not even very well. Look, bracket RAW pictures at various exposures and shoot at that stunning 10 fps, and just combine them in Photoshop CS5. At 10 fps, one doesn't even need a tripod to bracket and do HDR pictures. Personally, to me, HDR is for people that can't seem to get decide on exposure for their pictures ... it's a cool effect but pick an exposure. The buttons, why don't they all light up Nikon? Every electronic device since 1995 has had backlit buttons and I don't remember any of those electronics costing $6,000 USD.
OK, so what's the ultimate verdict here from this amateur photographer, on this Nikon pro body? Well, there are good and bad points here, but I have to settle on what is this tool designed to do and how well does it do it. This camera body is designed to capture those moments that other cameras simply cannot capture ... in pictures (not video). To that end, it is phenomenal at fullfilling its purpose. I dare say that I have not seen a camera that can capture a moment as well as the Nikon D4. I have caught candid moments and intimate expressions that I would miss with the D800 at 4 fps - the D4's 10 fps and AF are simply blistering fast and married to the XQD card; well, shoot away. This is not a careful composer's camera choice like the D800 or perhaps Leica - this is a hunt an kill camera ... as in hunt the target and shoot and get the picture. This is a camera that has a metering system that is so precise that it can properly expose a human face in harsh bright backgrounds of the afternoon sun, and has such awesome dynamic range to not blow out everything else and still capture sufficient detail. This is not your candid street camera that you can stick in someone's face without too much objection ... if you shoot a subject with the D4 with the holy trinity of lenses (especially) 14-24 f2.8, 24-70 f2.8, 70-200 f2.8, that subject is aware he/she is being shot ... even my fearless Jack Russell Terrier is fearful of the blistering 10 fps SLR flapping up/down. But then again, that's what this camera was designed to be ... the evolution of the perfect professional DSLR: rock solid and built to military grade, to enable the photographer to get the perfect shot in the most imperfect of environments with enough detail to wow the viewer of the picture. I love this DSLR and I consider a significant upgrade over the original revolutionary DSLR (D3), and that is how Nikon perfected an already perfect professional DSLR.
+57points
Review 19 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Mighty D4!

PostedJune 4, 2012
ArtM
Location Tampa, Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had my D4 for only 6 weeks and it has turned out to be a fantastic camera for performance and resolution! I moved up to the D4 from a D300 and I am not looking back. I was enticed by the 11 fps shooting speed, which will come in very handy for airshows and action photography. The image quality is superb! At 16MP, images are rich and sharp. Even though I also bought a D800 for landscape and portrait work, the D4 will be my goto body for most everything that does not require a tripod. Well done Nikon!
+24points
Review 20 for D4
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New D4 - Replacing D3

PostedMay 13, 2012
Bi-partison Nikon User
Location Bradenton, Florida
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I have used a D3 for years and just recently upgraded to the D4. Everything about this camera is top-notch! I am enjoying my purchase and feel confident in my purchase. I need to include a small comment about the camera's White Balance function. Initially, I noticed the introduction of too much green in my images. This occurred with both Auto White Balance and Pre-set Custom White Balance. With out any white balance bias on my part through a custom shift, the images resulting were noticeably too green. I have overcome this issue through the use of a White Balance Shift by moving away from green. I don't see this inconvenience as a major problem, but I would certainly like to see this minor issue corrected as I do not wish to have to intervene on a regular basis with a 'Shift' to the Auto White Balance or Preset Custom White Balance settings default to the camera.
The auto focus system is extremely efficient. The plethora of customization features are a great asset. The extent to which this camera can be customized is incredible! The build could not be better. The improved LCD previews are very good. The improvements over its predecessor have been well engineered. I am very content with this piece of equipment for my professional portrait photography.
I am a proponent for Nikon equipment and do certainly recommend it to my colleagues as a reliable brand.
+25points
1 2 3 next>>