Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D800

Nikon Inc. D800

Nikon's D800 hd camera is built for today’s multi media photographer with 36.3Mp FX-format CMOS sensor, Full HD 1080p video with stereo sound & more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(211 Reviews) 211
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 211 reviews
5 stars
157
4 stars
19
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
20
177 out of 211(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
283 Questions | 381 Answers
Customer Reviews for D800
Review 1 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Debunking all myths

PostedMay 7, 2012
Michael
Location Plano, TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recieved my D800E in time for a two-week photo trek through Peru. It was intended to be used as a back-up to my D4, but it quickly became the go-to camera for portraits and lanscape shots.
The camera perfomed wonderfully under all types of conditions.
Unlike all the reviews I had read, this camera can indeed be:
Hand-held at slow speeds instead of only being tripod mounted.
Used at high ISO speeds with incredible detail.
Used for shots involving a lot of textile and colors. If moire is an issue, stop down the lens a bit more and eliminate any concerns.
The lenses most often used on this camera were the 50mm f/1.4 and the 16mm - 35mm zoom.
I am attaching some photos and 100% crops to show detail. All are hand-held, speeds up to 1/90th and ISO between 200 and 800.
+307points
Review 2 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedJune 28, 2014
Brownbomber2
Location Missouri, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I went from a D3200 to the D800 and found it easy to learn. I use it with a Nikon 500mm F/4 super telephoto lens and love it. It recently developed a focusing issue and is currently in the shop at Nikon, forcing me to use my D7100. There is night and day difference in the two cameras, even though the D7100 is an excellent camera. My wish and advice for Nikon is to improve this camera by removing the ability to do video and concentrate all the electronics and image processing for still photos and maybe to increase the ability to shoot and focus a bit faster. I have never done a video with the camera and have no intention of doing one. I love outdoor photography and the resolution of this sensor is outstanding. The new D810 just looks like a D800 E to me with a different number. Make a camera for just still photography for us die hard camera buffs!
0points
Review 3 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

just I loved......

PostedApril 19, 2014
nikleon
Location Waterbury, CT, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Awesome detail,perfect pic quality. Good features .
-6points
Review 4 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

El retorno a Nikon

PostedApril 16, 2014
Vimavaco
Location Puebla, México
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
El titulo lo dice todo por muchos años use mi bella Nikon F3 HP por cuestiones de trabajo la abandone use otra marca, hace días encontré mi óptica Nikkor AI-S y se me vino a la cabeza de adquirir una Nikon DF, pero me encontré esta bella cámara y me decidí por ella es asombrosa su calidad de imagen es magnifica y sobre todo usando mi vieja óptica me ha dejado satisfecho imagen usando el 6mm F:2.8 AI-S o el 58mm Noct F:1.1:2 AI-S, o el 85mm F.1:1.4 AI-S etc.
-1point
Review 5 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing performer, sloppy QA

PostedApril 3, 2014
Hassaan
Location Cairo, Cairo Governorate, Egypt
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
A little background, I came here from a d5000 then a d7000 and now a d800, have been doing photography as a passion and as a profession for around 6 years.
What to use it for: products, weddings, landscape, fashion, All around shooter for people who "KNOW" how to handle the beast. Or the learning curve will be steep and you might get disappointed quickly.
What NOT to use it for: Pro Sports shooting or very fast paced action! (only for the modest burst rate)
Let me break down the points;
IQ: Superb. Enough said! The Image quality of this camera is quite amazing, it is extremely sharp, if you know how to use the tool and have good glass (not amazing, but good enough). Extremely useful (36 MP!!!!) for cropping or recomposing after fact and printing HUGE.
ISO: Not very impressive, but in relation to the MP count and signal to noise ratios, it is well kept under control, The 6d and 5d 3 are way better even around ISO 800, but you sacrifice a lot in return.
AF: auto focus system is quite amazing especially when in DX mode, as it covers mostly the entire frame! I haven't used it in complex situations much, but it sometimes lags in dim light, and that is to be expected to some extent. It also depends on the lens used for focusing speed.
Battery performance: Not amazing, but adequate to my needs. Something you won't find out the easy way, the battery drains REALLY quick when plugged into the USB Port. This is apparently because the Camera stays ON the whole time it is connected, you could almost see the percentage falling . Nikon could easily work out a firmware update to fix such an issue I believe.
Ruggedness: Very well built and sealed in a good manner, but nothing is perfect of course, on a fashion desert shoot the camera took quite a beating but the sensor also gained a few spots as well!
Viewfinder/eye piece: bright, well placed, but not 100% comfortable to use, could be pumped out a little to help getting a more comfortable nose posture.
What I like/ love: MP for large (I mean LARGE) prints, Dynamic Range, fine tuning control, Quality at low ISO.
What could be better (personal preference): Controls layout (especially ISO button and Focus control), ergonomics, and ISO, Skin tones and colour reproduction is a little off for my taste, I prefer Canon's warmer skin tones, but Nikon's richer Dynamic range.
What I dislike/ hate: Sensor was defective on my first unite (a complete vertical line of dead pixels), QA at Nikon is REALLY getting sloppy, if I face another issue like this with a Nikon product, I'm switching brands. Reliability is a MUST have when buying tools for business. I returned the unit and reseller will exchange it after inspection and after wasting a week of my time. How could this unite get out of the factory is beyond me! A unite aimed at hard enthusiasts to say the least should be inspected further in my humble opinion.
Rating: 5 Stars for the very good balance between sensor size, Pixel count and Image Quality at this price range. The tool should not be punished for human mistakes at QA, should it?!
******Check your Camera and test it in in the Shop before you buy it.******
**A request for Nikon, PLEASE give us a firmware/ tool to do remapping of the sensor's dead pixels. So we don't have to SEND it to in or back to the store just to fix a couple of dead spots!**
+17points
Review 6 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Truly Great Masterpiece

PostedApril 2, 2014
Nikondoc
Location Saudi arabia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have the habit of buying things as soon as they are released. Had F4,D70,D700, before I heard about D800.
Was too excited and couldn't wait to own one. Got it last year and put to use. Compared to D700 was a little tough to master initially but after I got the hang of it, never looked back. The output of this camera is amazing.
Great detail and colour rendition. Always use it without flash with very satisfying low light results. It is truly Nikon's masterpiece.
My advice to new users is to try better Nikkor lenses (My most favourite is 70-200mm f 2.8 VRII) ,and see the results on a good high definition computer monitor to really enjoy the potential of this great camera.
+9points
Review 7 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nikon with great versatility

PostedMarch 24, 2014
NikonJack
Location Southeastern Michigan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been a Nikon user since the Nikon F in the late 60's. This is my go to camera and has great versatility. In low light, control your breathing and increase ISO. It will handle all the lighting and action shots.
I carry multiple cards and external drives as it does produce large RAW images so you need an efficient work flow process.
I highly recommend this camera.
+6points
Review 8 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

the best camera on the market!

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
strobie
Location central USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
By far the BEST camera on the market! This camera meets 95% of my needs and expectations. I demand a large ergonomic body like that of the D2, D3, and D4. Together with the MB-D12 handgrip, my expectations are fully satisfied and met. The cameras focusing system is always tack sharp and flawless. It quickly and accurately focuses in very dim and poor lighting. 99% of my images are shot with some kind of strobe lighting. I needed a camera that was a mix between the D3x and D700, and the D800 has nicely delivered the performance of these two cameras. It yields the image QUALITY of the D3x, high ISO low noise capabilities of the D700, in a camera that is just impossible to beat! At ISO 6400 one can easily use the camera for a wedding! Using fast large aperture lenses the D800 is usable in ANY lighting situation! It boasts the highest dynamic range of any camera, giving it incredible contrast and detail in the shadows. Overall, this camera is by far the best camera on the market.
+2points
Review 9 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent professional camera

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
JRDPHOTOG
Location Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York.
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I used Nikon cameras back in the "film days" - for reasons, I went to "another brand" and contemplated coming back into the Nikon fold for some time. My work is mainly photojournalistic and event shooting requiring work in all light levels. I find that the Nikon lenses are far better than other products covering the same focal lengths. I am shooting with a D800, D600 and D300 coupled with Nikon lenses. In my opinion the metering and ease of use in each of these cameras is far better than that of the other product I had been shooting with.
The D800 is an extremely versatile, easy to use camera - the images it produces far exceed my previous (pro) DSLR's. All of my camera bodies are equipped with the battery grip - I would highly recommend this addition to add to the versatility of the camera. Weight of the camera, grip and lens, in my opinion only adds to better images.
+2points
Review 10 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great feel on the body

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
EddyL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a enthusiast, not a professional , but the amazing images that come out of this box are amazing, I am a business owner, but I will be moonlighting as a photographer because that's the insparation this camera gave me...AWESOME NIKON!!!
+5points
Review 11 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Neverending awe...

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
robertGregory
Location chicago area
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am not an expert; photography is not my trade / career - I am a very happy amateur consumer, as after I made the decision to purchase the D800 - I was absolutely convinced I made a profound right choice.
I am persistently fascinated with the clarity, precision, attention to detail with the D800's ability to render images; no matter what lens, no matter what condition / situation!!
I thought that snappin pix would be a fad I'd move through, yet the D800 won't let me do that - I am hooked, in passion, destined to be a photographer...
Note: My sample images have not been exposed to any post processing with exception of signature / crop - all Nikon lenses used. enjoy
"You gotta get this camera"
Thank you Nikon
+8points
Review 12 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning photos, incredible camera!

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
NikonShooter
Location Camas, WA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
While I would never attempt to call myself an expert photographer, I have been using various DSLR cameras since the Nikon D100, and frankly, the capabilities of the D800 are incredible. There are many sites across the internet that spend a great deal of effort to drag down the 36MP sensor, the clarity of the photos etc. Frankly if you try and use a tool for the wrong purpose, you cannot blame the tool when your efforts fall short.
This camera takes incredible photographs. I would never use it for sports action photography, that is what my D700 is for. As far as the clarity of the 36MP sensor, if you try and take an ISO100 photo with a prolonged shutter duration, a tripod is an obvious requirement. That said, at faster shutter speeds, the D800 delivers remarkable clarity. Yes, there are those that will expand any given photo down to individual pixels and whine about sharpness, let them whine. The capabilities of the D800 more than speak for themselves.
+2points
Review 13 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stellar!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
TheTimFilm
Location Missouri, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
First, I started out with a Nikon D300 in college and then wanted full frame and went canon. Since then I have gone back in forth with Canon and Pentax, but something just wasn't right. I started reading reviews and it was filling my life. I then started looking at images on flickr shot with a Nikon D800 and I was just humbled looking at the images. There were amazing. So, I made the switch and since then have regretted ever switching. I guess I am better for it now though.
The images I get from this camera are amazing. I love the grainy texture at higher iso. It feels more like film grain. The camera is very robust, but easy to hold for hours. The menu system is a menu system and no camera company has this 100% correct. I'm not a video guy so I could care less. I wish they would make the D800 without video and sell it for $500 cheaper. As, for the stills go; the crop modes give my creativity in more options. The file sizes are big but i see it as more room to work if I don't notice the mistake in camera.
All-in-all if you are on the cusp as to buy the D800 or go with a d700/D610 I wouldn't look any farther than the best camera Nikon has ever produced for the price point. Go Nikon D800!
+4points
Review 14 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

impressed with this camera

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Sinosoutherner
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
I bought this camera primarily to use with my 28mm PC Nikkor f 3.5. This is probably the best lens that I own. It is a very good "test lens" to see what this camera can do. I've still been primarily using my FM2n and shooting chrome with this lens. This camera opened up a whole new world of perspective corrected photos as the DX format was just too narrow to use with this lens. I think that pros will be most comfortable with this camera vs. the D610. I thought about that choice for a long time and decided that I do need the extra functionality that this camera provides. You need to do a detailed comparison between the two in order to determine which is right for you and how you normally shoot. For me build quality also is important as I tend to shoot in harsh environments. I tend to buy a good one and keep it four or five years. If you buy a new one every time a new model comes out, then you need to factor that into the cost analysis i.e. costs about $ 1,400 per year to use this camera if you buy a new one every upgrade cycle. But on a four to five year upgrade cycle that I use, it makes sense and I am confident that it will be in operating just as well 4 years from now as it does now. You also will need to upgrade to the latest computer if you haven't already. But compared to the cost of a medium format back with similar resolution, it is a good deal. NOTE on the test photo. That is actually either a power line or some sort of lightening rode shown in the photo. This is a reconstruction photo after fire damage and wind damage from a storm was repaired.
+1point
Review 15 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Bad Boy

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this camera over a year ago. This guy is packed with features and delivers big time performance. If you put a sharp lens on this body the detail is second to none in DSLR terms.
+1point
Review 16 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Un investissement sûr!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Cervyc@l
Location Shawinigan, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
J'ai acheté ce modèle sur recommandation d'un ami photographe de Presse. En passant du DX au FX j'ai enfin la possibilité de photographier ce que je vois avant de regarder dans ma lentille. L'achat d'une 70-200 F/2.8 VRII m'a littéralement enchanté avec le D800. Cet appareil est l'ultime reflex pour quiconque aime les couleurs claires et vives. Pas besoin d'être pro pour pouvoir apprécier les forces de ce modèle. Même si j'ai gardé mon fidèle D7000, il se retrouve plus souvent au rancart... Les images de ma D800 sont sans contredit les meilleures qu'il m'ait été donné de prendre.
0points
Review 17 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this Camera!

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Carson
Location Shoreview, MN, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My first Nikon was the D200 and I was very disappointed with the low light capabilities (or should I say Lack of it). I waited to get a D700 but the market crashed and I had to wait. I just bought the D800 and I have been working with it for a week. It's the camera I always wanted. I highly recommend this!
0points
Review 18 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D800 v D600

PostedNovember 18, 2013
sgphoto
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I owned a D600 for a year, and was very happy with the results. Unfortunately, mine was plagued with the dust/oil issue, that after 3 separate occasions, and many trips to the repair centre, i paid the difference and got myself a D800. I haven't looked back since, the dynamic range is better than the D600, and the detail is simply incredible. ISO performance is superb for a camera sensor clustered with over 36 million pixels, and is on par with the noise performance i got from the D600. AF is also noticeably faster and accurate, and the build quality is simply amazing, all the buttons fall in the right place.
However, the files from the D800 are noticeably slower to process once in Lightroom. Loading a full shoot (depending on your computer; 100+images at a time), can take a very, very long time. When purchasing this camera, be prepared to upgrade your computer (unless its brand new), and buy some external drives. But other than that, this is absolutely a much better camera to use professionally, especially when you dont use the "pray and spray" method, and have a second or two to compose and fire away.
Excellent camera, extremely impressed.
+9points
Review 19 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful, full-reatured D-SLR

PostedOctober 19, 2013
HubbleColor
Location Columbia, MD
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
There is no question this is a state-of-the-art, powerful, full-featured, full-frame D-SLR, integrated into the full Nikon photography system of lenses, lighting, and accessories. The controls and menus are well designed and mostly how an experienced shooter expects them to operate. The resolution is un-matched, almost overkill for most lenses, and has all the features one could want for shooting the highest-quality stills and video. The color quality and dynamic range of the raw images is exceptional, allowing great shadow and highlight detail to be preserved in many cases without resorting to HDR. Detector noise is quite low (considering the pixel density on the detector), permitting shooting in very low light levels
I'd like to see a couple of things improved or added in future high-end Nikon D-SLRs: it would be helpful to be able to lock up the mirror while in continuous shooting mode, and while shooting time-lapse sequences to avoid camera shake, keep audible noise to a minimum, and save power; the problems with timing when shooting time sequences with long exposures should be fixed; it would be nice to have an integrated wireless remote and GPS.
+16points
Review 20 for D800
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon D800 is one great camera!

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Nikondslr
Location Ohio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Two words..WOW! and WOW! You have to see what beautiful photo comes out of this camera. I upgraded from a D90 & D7000. You can't be leave the difference. The ease of use of this camera is fantastic. You got to add one to your camera bag!
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>