Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D5100

Nikon Inc. D5100

The new Nikon D5100 DSLR is a full HD 1080p digital video camera for movies, special effects, high speed continuous shooting & in camera HDR.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 24 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
21 out of 24(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
41 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for D5100
Review 1 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Atendeu minhas expectativas, recomendo.

PostedJanuary 6, 2016
Location Orlândia, Orlândia - SP, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Comprei uma D5100 há dois anos, com uma lente 55-300mm, com intuito de fotografias da fauna. É uma excelente câmera para fotografar, principalmente no modo manual, com uma qualidade incrível de imagem.
+5points
Review 2 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Câmera Excelente!

PostedOctober 2, 2015
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Já faz 3 anos que possuo a D5100, nunca me deu algum problema e esta funcionando 100%. Ela é demais ;)
+6points
Review 3 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ótima câmera

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
A D5100 foi minha primeira DSLR, dai em diante virou uma paixão pela fotografia. No início um hobby depois fotos profissionais, sempre com as câmeras Nikon não troco por nada, Nikonzeiro com muito orgulho.
Tudo que vc precisa para fotos profissionais você encontra na DSLR D5100, você consegue tirar fotos no manual tranquilamente com um ótimo resultado.
Depois da D5100 fui fazendo um upgrade com as DSLR da Nikon e muito feliz com os resultados.
+15points
Review 4 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Performance for a Good Price

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It is my first DSLR and I am amazed with it, because it has all the necessary elements that you need when you are interested in learning photography. it has an incredible image quality and color reproduction that I never got from a digital camera and also a good performance in low light conditions. No one of my photos has been modified with special Software, I only convert them from RAW to JPEG, and they were taken using M,P and S modes only.
+39points
Review 5 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it gives all benefits in one.Nice to use it.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Location Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First of all i would like to say that its looks very gorgeous.So much comfortable to handle.Its picture quality is superb.I think it is all in one.
+5points
Review 6 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Camera!!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The d5100 has allowed me to take the next step in photography. I love using it and can't wait to build my knowledge of photography by continuing to use it.
+9points
Review 7 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First DSLR

PostedMay 28, 2014
Location Madison, WI, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I printed out the complete manual that came on the CD, learned where all of the controls were and took a digital photography class which has got me really comfortable with this camera. I highly recommend that all folks like myself that are new to DSLR cameras and the functions should do this. I know that I am getting so much more out of the creative control functions because I did. I hardly use the auto setting any more. Now it is easy to use, and takes great pictures. I do wish it had a dedicated ISO button. I have assigned the FN button to control the ISO.
The kit lens that came with the camera seems to be doing a good job. I bought the 55-200 lens refurbished from the Nikon website. That also works great. I use both lenses regularly.
I am so very happy with this camera and the lenses.
+27points
Review 8 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice for the price

PostedMay 16, 2014
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very good images. Easy to use. Easy to access most shooting modes from the back panel. The swivel screen is a must have for self portraits and video. Wish it had 5 exposure bracketing instead of 3 brackets. I really like its small size and light weight. My particular camera has picture control settings that I have to custom set to get decent results. For what you can get this camera for now as a refurbished model $350 currently on Nikon Store..... its a deal that can not be beat anywhere in photographic bang for the buck. Rock on my brothers... if your looking for a rock solid DSLR on a budget look no further.
 
My product recommendations
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
3.9 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-11points
Review 9 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the D5100!!!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Location Iowa
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my second DSLR and I love this one. The D5100 is easy to use and take really great pictures..
-7points
Review 10 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb for the price

PostedMay 4, 2014
Location United Kingdom
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This was my first DSLR when I stepped up from a bridge camera. Wonderful - right decision on all counts. Fast, superb image quality - not far off the best if you invest in top quality lenses. 16 mega pixels is just about right for a good balance. (Note how the D4S and Df are 16 MP). Has more than enough pixels for detailed images, enough for a little cropping and the pixels are still large enough for low light performance and high ISO performance, I'm convinced this is the serious number camera manufacturers will drop back too.
Huge plus point - the flip out screen, the lack of these on high end cameras is seriously holding off a decision to step up the range.
Minus point - not weather sealed. Not too surprising at this price point so cannot mark it down. I confess to have flirted with a Pentax in the two years I've owned the D5100 to give me the ability to continue shooting when the weather turns but found it too inconvenient to have two different systems so the Pentax has gone. Am thinking of sticking with the D5100 (to keep the flippy screen) and getting a Nikon 1 AW and lens adapter - All weather and would suddenly have such a long telephoto lens at my disposal when I put the 70-300 on the AW with the adapter. It would also not take up much room in my camera bag.
+1point
Review 11 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent DSLR for all.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Location Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Now I been off and on with DSLR Cameras from Nikon and Canon, both good Japanese cameras but Nikon has added the icy on my cake with this DSLR. Yes, it's a 16,2 MP camera and excellent features when comparing to a D3200 switch is a 24.2 MP camera. Both shoot great but there is something about the The D5100 that wins it for me. Light and not to heavy. Shooting in low light and so perfect, specially if you know what you are doing with low light photos. I would say, buy it while it's price here for $599.99, too bad at the time of purchasing this camera it was $899.99
+1point
Review 12 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love my D5100

PostedApril 28, 2014
Location Bergen county nj
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I shoot professionally I have a D3, D600, and my D5100 I prefer shooting anytime anywhere with this camera its light, tuff, and has mostly everything I could ask for
+6points
Review 13 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera ever!!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
I absolutely love this camera! It is awesome, and I have no regrets on buying it! I also have no negative comments. It is great. I love it so much
+9points
Review 14 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great even on Auto!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
So I went Black Friday shopping and bought this camera on sale. This camera is excellent. I have yet to learn how to fully use Manual, but even with Auto this camera has auto-focus so you can still take great, professional looking photos. The 1080p movie is a dream come true! if you love videos this camera is also good because you can have the highest quality and it comes with a flip screen that is great if you do YouTube videos or need to see your motions. The audio is up to standard, though if you require professional sound this camera has an external microphone jack. Overall I have found that even on Auto and me being a newbie, this camera is very good quality and has much room for creativity,
+27points
Review 15 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKON 5100

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Location San Estanislao, Paraguay
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
NIKON 510 UNA BUENA CAMARA SEMI PROFESIONAL, LO HE UTILIZADO POR MAS DE 2 AÑOS EN DISTINTAS OCACIONES, PAISAJES, EVENTOS, RETRATOS Y OTRO LUGARES QUE CONCURRO
-18points
Review 16 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect DSLR for the price. Proffesional pictures.

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Location Eastern North Carolina, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Fantastic camera, have had this camera for over a year now, absolutely love it.
+8points
Review 17 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Amazing DSLR ... especially in low light .. i liked it so much ... my first DSLR
+17points
Review 18 for D5100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sad but good

PostedSeptember 22, 2015
Location Beaumont, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Its a good camera, compared to my old D70s the metering and color is a noticeable improvement. However I am sad that I went with this modal. It is less pro then the D70s and some features I came to love and use regularly like the LCD panel or the bracket button, OMG I miss the bracket button. You have to jump through 3 flaming hoops to get this one to bracket and its still not really a usable feature. The D750 looks like my dream come true, but I will probably never be able to afford it, so I am sad. I love Nikon, the cameras are great with no complaints, I just made the wrong choice for me. Not an area where saving a buck is worth it I guess.
0points
Review 19 for D5100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Starter Camera

PostedSeptember 19, 2015
I am an amature photographer and never owned my own DSLR camera until I purchased this one. It has proven to be a great starter camera. It's easy to use and has some cool features/settings.
Some of the negatives is that it only shoots up to 20 minutes of video at a time, even though I'm using a 32GB SD card. When recording video, if it has to refocus it captures the sound of the motor (it's not very loud though). Adjusting the zoom is not smooth.
0points
Review 20 for D5100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressive!

PostedJune 29, 2014
Location Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this camera because I needed an upgrade from my mirror less. I was extremely impressed with the image quality. I've owned it for almost 4 months now & it still to this day, never fails to amaze me. I fall more in love with it with every use. Awesome for those photography addicts that aren't yet professional - perfect first DSLR.
+4points
1 2 next>>