Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D5100

Nikon Inc. D5100

The new Nikon D5100 DSLR is a full HD 1080p digital video camera for movies, special effects, high speed continuous shooting & in camera HDR.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 18 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
15 out of 18(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for D5100
Review 1 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Performance for a Good Price

PostedOctober 4, 2014
LDiego
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It is my first DSLR and I am amazed with it, because it has all the necessary elements that you need when you are interested in learning photography. it has an incredible image quality and color reproduction that I never got from a digital camera and also a good performance in low light conditions. No one of my photos has been modified with special Software, I only convert them from RAW to JPEG, and they were taken using M,P and S modes only.
0points
Review 2 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

it gives all benefits in one.Nice to use it.

PostedAugust 11, 2014
NikonCrown
Location Dhaka, Bangladesh
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First of all i would like to say that its looks very gorgeous.So much comfortable to handle.Its picture quality is superb.I think it is all in one.
+5points
Review 3 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Camera!!

PostedMay 31, 2014
Fluffphoto
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The d5100 has allowed me to take the next step in photography. I love using it and can't wait to build my knowledge of photography by continuing to use it.
+2points
Review 4 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great First DSLR

PostedMay 28, 2014
zachmack
Location Madison, WI, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I printed out the complete manual that came on the CD, learned where all of the controls were and took a digital photography class which has got me really comfortable with this camera. I highly recommend that all folks like myself that are new to DSLR cameras and the functions should do this. I know that I am getting so much more out of the creative control functions because I did. I hardly use the auto setting any more. Now it is easy to use, and takes great pictures. I do wish it had a dedicated ISO button. I have assigned the FN button to control the ISO.
The kit lens that came with the camera seems to be doing a good job. I bought the 55-200 lens refurbished from the Nikon website. That also works great. I use both lenses regularly.
I am so very happy with this camera and the lenses.
+12points
Review 5 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice for the price

PostedMay 16, 2014
Mitch
Location Kansas City, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very good images. Easy to use. Easy to access most shooting modes from the back panel. The swivel screen is a must have for self portraits and video. Wish it had 5 exposure bracketing instead of 3 brackets. I really like its small size and light weight. My particular camera has picture control settings that I have to custom set to get decent results. For what you can get this camera for now as a refurbished model $350 currently on Nikon Store..... its a deal that can not be beat anywhere in photographic bang for the buck. Rock on my brothers... if your looking for a rock solid DSLR on a budget look no further.
 
My product recommendations
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G IF-ED
3.9 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 6 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the D5100!!!!!

PostedMay 11, 2014
IAmedic
Location Iowa
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my second DSLR and I love this one. The D5100 is easy to use and take really great pictures..
0points
Review 7 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb for the price

PostedMay 4, 2014
Smifffy
Location United Kingdom
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This was my first DSLR when I stepped up from a bridge camera. Wonderful - right decision on all counts. Fast, superb image quality - not far off the best if you invest in top quality lenses. 16 mega pixels is just about right for a good balance. (Note how the D4S and Df are 16 MP). Has more than enough pixels for detailed images, enough for a little cropping and the pixels are still large enough for low light performance and high ISO performance, I'm convinced this is the serious number camera manufacturers will drop back too.
Huge plus point - the flip out screen, the lack of these on high end cameras is seriously holding off a decision to step up the range.
Minus point - not weather sealed. Not too surprising at this price point so cannot mark it down. I confess to have flirted with a Pentax in the two years I've owned the D5100 to give me the ability to continue shooting when the weather turns but found it too inconvenient to have two different systems so the Pentax has gone. Am thinking of sticking with the D5100 (to keep the flippy screen) and getting a Nikon 1 AW and lens adapter - All weather and would suddenly have such a long telephoto lens at my disposal when I put the 70-300 on the AW with the adapter. It would also not take up much room in my camera bag.
-2points
Review 8 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent DSLR for all.

PostedApril 29, 2014
KeikiJP
Location Osaka, Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Now I been off and on with DSLR Cameras from Nikon and Canon, both good Japanese cameras but Nikon has added the icy on my cake with this DSLR. Yes, it's a 16,2 MP camera and excellent features when comparing to a D3200 switch is a 24.2 MP camera. Both shoot great but there is something about the The D5100 that wins it for me. Light and not to heavy. Shooting in low light and so perfect, specially if you know what you are doing with low light photos. I would say, buy it while it's price here for $599.99, too bad at the time of purchasing this camera it was $899.99
0points
Review 9 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love my D5100

PostedApril 28, 2014
D5100user
Location Bergen county nj
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I shoot professionally I have a D3, D600, and my D5100 I prefer shooting anytime anywhere with this camera its light, tuff, and has mostly everything I could ask for
+4points
Review 10 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera ever!!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
ugdfjagdljfhgajdf
I absolutely love this camera! It is awesome, and I have no regrets on buying it! I also have no negative comments. It is great. I love it so much
+8points
Review 11 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great even on Auto!

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Nerdster
So I went Black Friday shopping and bought this camera on sale. This camera is excellent. I have yet to learn how to fully use Manual, but even with Auto this camera has auto-focus so you can still take great, professional looking photos. The 1080p movie is a dream come true! if you love videos this camera is also good because you can have the highest quality and it comes with a flip screen that is great if you do YouTube videos or need to see your motions. The audio is up to standard, though if you require professional sound this camera has an external microphone jack. Overall I have found that even on Auto and me being a newbie, this camera is very good quality and has much room for creativity,
+24points
Review 12 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKON 5100

PostedOctober 29, 2013
ORIENTAL
Location San Estanislao, Paraguay
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
NIKON 510 UNA BUENA CAMARA SEMI PROFESIONAL, LO HE UTILIZADO POR MAS DE 2 AÑOS EN DISTINTAS OCACIONES, PAISAJES, EVENTOS, RETRATOS Y OTRO LUGARES QUE CONCURRO
-14points
Review 13 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect DSLR for the price. Proffesional pictures.

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Nikone
Location Eastern North Carolina, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Fantastic camera, have had this camera for over a year now, absolutely love it.
+11points
Review 14 for D5100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gorgeous

PostedOctober 19, 2013
AmmarKh
Amazing DSLR ... especially in low light .. i liked it so much ... my first DSLR
+14points
Review 15 for D5100
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Impressive!

PostedJune 29, 2014
NikonUser77
Location Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this camera because I needed an upgrade from my mirror less. I was extremely impressed with the image quality. I've owned it for almost 4 months now & it still to this day, never fails to amaze me. I fall more in love with it with every use. Awesome for those photography addicts that aren't yet professional - perfect first DSLR.
+1point
Review 16 for D5100
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great for 6 months then started to fall apart

PostedDecember 10, 2013
owll
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought the nikon D5100 in March and I was extremely excited about it. It took wonderful pictures until about 2 months ago. The pictures were no longer focused especially in one area of the photos and the lens would make a weird noise when I would focus. I thought maybe it was the lens so I tried a different lens but the pictures are still poor and blurry.
+17points
Review 17 for D5100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Flash popup issues in couple of years

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Srikanth
Location Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was using this camera for couple of years and it started giving me problem with flash popping up, when I go to service center they said they will give me estimate in couple of days and will send me detail email, but I did not get the response for around 4days, when I called them back they said it will take around couple of more days to know the issue and they will send me email, but after 15minutes Nikon support (Lolitha) called me said issue is fixed and charges are around $160, I was shocked to listen to that, I asked for the estimate and they gave me bill of $160, I said I don't want that repair to be done because I can buy new better external flash with that price, and I declined the service and asked them to give me what is the part and service which costing me $160, then she said they don't have that information they need to contact internal support team and they will get back to me, if you are planning to by this camera please know about this issue which will start in couple of years which is soo soo expensive to repair it.
-1point
Review 18 for D5100
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

d5100

PostedJuly 8, 2014
NicknameNickname
In 2 years camera broke the 3rd time. It gives me 'error . Press shutter release button again' constantly. Estimate fixing is almost the price for a new camera. Junk , switching to Cannon.
-5points