Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D3100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. D3100

Beautiful pictures–Amazing movies–Incredibly Easy with the 14 Megapixel DX sensor and learn-as-you-grow Guide Mode.
Average Customer Rating:
4.696 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1343 Reviews) 1337
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,343 reviews
5 stars
1,074
4 stars
195
3 stars
33
2 stars
17
1 star
24
1,285 out of 1,343(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for D3100
Review 1 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great beginner Camera

PostedNovember 23, 2012
ChacaCon
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I knew nothing of SLR cameras when I got the d3100. I found myself dispointed in it at first but I found out the problem was with me. I was shooting in JPG(not RAW) and in AUTO mode(not one of the manual modes). I turned to Youtube and found out that there is SOOO much more you can do with that camera when you shoot in RAW(good software like Lightroom 4 and such to edit them in) and Manual Mode! My pics turned out better than I could have imagined! For a beginner camera this a great start! Take the time to learn your camera and your fam and friends will be blown away with what you can do with this camera. I have used this camera for over a year and have upgraded to the D7000. The pictures I have supplied are NOT photoshoped or edited in anyway.
+166points
Review 2 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Use

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Souxie
Location Kutztown, PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my first digital camera and I am VERY impressed! I was using an old manual SLR that I bought in 1975. Bare bones........it took awhile to learn how to use it! But, the D3100 is so easy to use! Instructions are clear and concise...I was taking great pictures right away! I am very pleased with my new camera!
+77points
Review 3 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon D3100

PostedApril 1, 2012
JHM
Location Charlotte, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased the D3100 as a 'light weight' alternative the the D3 I normally use , as I planned for a 10-day backpacking trip to Philmont last July. The D3100 camera preformed flawlessly the entire trip. I had no issues with battery power management even though I purchased two additional batteries. Nor any issues with dust gathering on the sensor since the camera had a sensor cleaning function built into the camera. The simple UI controls for adjusting the flash, made the pop-up flash perfect for adding fill light for those difficult lighting situations. My only regret was that I didn't bring 2-D3100 cameras as it was frequently out of my hands being used by all the boys on the trek. JHM
+118points
Review 4 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally got my 1st DSLR!

PostedOctober 22, 2010
streetmusic
Location Kentucky
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
my D3100 arrived this afternoon and I came home to get familiar with the settings and give a tryout. Let me tell you that my desires to ever go back to the days of my 35 film is long past now. Light weight, quick to snap and use as easy as my point and shoot Coolpix. If you have the desire to get into a digital SLR then I am going to highly recommend this for what ever you have a need for, the photos I will attach are my first with this, I'm very impressed and want to learn more. Thanks Nikon
-104points
Review 5 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Entry Level DSLR

PostedJune 30, 2014
Dwayne_In_AB
Location Lethbridge, AB, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My wife and I got this camera over 4 years ago, and we absolutely love it. It has over 40,000 clicks on it, and still going strong! We have learned how to take more advanced photos, partly with help from the Guide mode. It's raw files offer adequate color range for processing some incredible photos - landscape and family type shots. We've mostly used the kit lens, which worked for most of our needs. Movies looks great (except for lens focus noise, inherent with anything without a dedicated mic), but we shot mostly pictures.
My only qualm with this camera is high ISO noise/light sensitivity. I've been pushing the boundaries with it over the last year, and wishing for more... so I upgraded to a D610, which I love even more.
+1point
Review 6 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to the SLR world

PostedMarch 30, 2014
JMHodge320
Location Cleves, OH, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I bought this SLR camera so I could take really nice pics of my kids playing different sports. I LOVE this camera! Its so easy to use, even for a newby like myself. Totally worth every penny!!!
0points
Review 7 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D3100

PostedMarch 10, 2014
FriedPhotography
Awesome camera! Good for people moving from film to D-SLR, or professional photographers. Easy to use, high quality, great pictures!
+1point
Review 8 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great start with DSLR

PostedMarch 6, 2014
felixsim
Location Singapore
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The D3100 is a good start for those want to venture into DSLR. It has all the basic features to learn the rope of taking great digital photographs.
+1point
Review 9 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Execllent product Nikon D3100

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
MikeMAG
Location Egypt
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Easy to use and understand amazing performance. A Great Companion
 
My product recommendations
D3100
4.7 out of 5(1,343)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 10 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this camera

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
laura
Location Reading, PA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this camera as a birthday/christmas present and I couldn't be happier with it! Not only does it take amazing photos and videos, but it's super easy to use and it has so many fun features!! This camera came with two different types of lenses and the standard battery/charger. As someone who has recently taken up photography as a hobby and loves to travel, this camera is definitely worth it and has come in handy for fun adventures as well as school projects. If you want a great DSLR to start out with, I'd recommend this camera/model.
+2points
Review 11 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My second nikon

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Lexpaul
Location Barquisimeto, Venezuela
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Almost inmediatelly was stolen my Nikon D80, had to buy a D3100, did not have enough money for something else at the time. but what a great surprise...
Excellent picture quality, very easy and intuitive controls, allows great learning thanks to their guide mode. and given its size and weight makes it very comfortable to carry around ... a very good camera to start and continue
+1point
Review 12 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love Taking Pictures

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Les1973
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
Okay, I just got this camera as a Chirstmas gift from my father. I have taken all of my photos on my camera phone. In which the count exceeds 1000 plus photos. I took this picture of my puppy. I was just so shocked at how it looked like a professional photograher took the photo. I absolutely love this camera. Once you read the basic user instructions or even without it.. You will never go wrong for paying more money for this camera.
+2points
Review 13 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera, Easy To Use!

PostedDecember 25, 2013
NikonGirl17
Location Utah, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really enjoy this camera. I just got it for Christmas, and it has been wonders ever since. All of the features and simple to use, and they have step by step instructions in the manual. I would recommend this camera to anyone i know!
+1point
Review 14 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first DSLR and my first love

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Youngoldschool
Location Barstow, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
My Nikon D3100 red have stolen my heart on February 14, 2013 which was Valentine's day also two days before my second professional wedding photography shoot since then this month marks ten months of having this DSLR and it really has impacted and change my photography career for the better plus I really don't have problems with it whenever I shoot just pure enjoyment thanks Nikon for making this camera also my DSLR about be a year old in two months lol
+2points
Review 15 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The First DSLR Camera In My Life.

PostedNovember 10, 2013
YungHong
Location Malaysia
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The first time when I using the camera.. I fall in love with this model immediately. After that, I keep saving money just wanted to buy this camera. Now my camera have been with me about 2 years. I feel so happy to have this camera. Through this camera, I really learnt a lot of tips & skills. :)
+1point
Review 16 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots of camera for the money

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
OhioGuy
Location Lorain, OH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My wife and I absolutely love this camera. The D3100 is our first experience with a digital SLR and we couldn't be happier. It was easy to learn how to use this camera and it takes beautiful pictures and videos.
+1point
Review 17 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Wifie
Location Illinois
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
So far I love the D3100. I need to do a lot more practice with it though. Will love taking it to the beach for some great pictures.
+1point
Review 18 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing and non expensive camera. I love it

PostedAugust 31, 2013
darkavngr
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Before I bought a coolpix L820, and I was astonish with the results, now that I have this DSLR I love it. I think I can do anything that I need or that I can guess. I love this beautiful camera. I recomend every Nikon product, for me is the best brand in photograph.
+1point
Review 19 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The D3100

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Emily
Location Michigan
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this baby for a little over two years and it is still working pretty good! I've dropped it once (not too bad), and it still works like a charm. I take it with me wherever I go, and it's easy to travel with. The 18-55 lens has given me beautiful photos! I love the in-camera editing features, like turning the photos into black and white, cropping, and other basic editing. I think this camera is best for beginners; this was my first dslr, and it was one of the best purchases that I have ever made! When I first got it, I didn't even read the instructions, I just played with it. And it was really easy (shooting manual and automatic), so if you're a beginner and you want a less expensive (yet high quality camera), definitely buy it!
+12points
Review 20 for D3100
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Camera for Beginner or light second DSLR

PostedJune 22, 2013
Nikon Fan
Location Victoria, BC, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera because I was looking for a second DSLR to my D200 and didn't want to spend a lot. I have to admit this is a nice camera to use. It's light, responsive and easy to navigate menus. I wasn't sure at first because I have been using my D200 solely for a long time and it allows me to do whatever I want at the push of a button or flip of a dial. After a initial trip and use I feel good about this camera and would recommend it to anyone looking for an easy to use DSLR. It of course doesn't give me some features that I have in my D200, but it was $399. I do have a ton of other features that I don't have in my D200, like in camera editing and scene modes for when I'm short for time and patience. I like the fact I have live preview and HD video recording. I love the preview switch and record button integration on the back. This is a great camera and will definitely be coming with me on trips.
+10points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 67 next>>