Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D300S

Nikon Inc. D300S

Extraordinary still and HD video imaging performance converge in the fast and agile 12.3-megapixel, DX-format D300S, delivering D-SLR versatility.
Average Customer Rating:
4.822 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 101 reviews
5 stars
88
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
96 out of 101(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer Reviews for D300S
Review 1 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente para todo tipo de trabalho Photográfico.

PostedApril 16, 2014
Tuta
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Muito boa em relação custo beneficio, ótima portabilidade, excelente qualidade de imagem e fácil de operar.
0points
Review 2 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it...

PostedMarch 8, 2014
niftyflash
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have yet to have a Nikon I do not like but this is one of my favorites.
It focuses fast. It has lots of sensitivity for low light and a quick shutter
for bright days watching sports. Now that I have a D600 I should give
it to my niece but cannot part with it.
+5points
Review 3 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this gear

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Nikon43
Location CC Offices, Cerritos, CA 90703, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had this durable gear for almost 5 years now and never gave me any problem. Always ready for any occasions. And I'm excited to use my new nikon 24-70 mm 2.8. Hoping to make the most out of this camera.
+1point
Review 4 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nos melhores momentos as melhores imagens

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
TOphoto
Location Manaus - AM, Brasil
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Perfeita para todas as ocasiões, não te abandona.!
0points
Review 5 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast, acurate excellent image quality!

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Student
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have photographed both sports, landscapes and indoor corporate events with the D300s, panned incoming ski racers just to be impressed with the continuous auto-focus features, shot running water at F22 only to be amazed by the accuracy of the detail in the image, even had the opportunity to run out of memory with a borrowed D4 while shooting a Kayak event, switched the body on the 600mm glass with my D300s and produced equally stunning results. An excellent camera well designed, easy to understand, user friendly with top notch technology. As for it's low light abilities with or without flash it can do the job but a state of the art full frame I believe would give any photographer a comparative advantage.
+3points
Review 6 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent camera over all

PostedDecember 9, 2013
ebemur
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
best quality and performance. in 2013 still a very excellent choice
+2points
Review 7 for D300S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Robust build, Reliable

PostedOctober 12, 2013
FalconRose Photography
Location Surrey, BC, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Purchased this camera in 2010. Have used it coupled to the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII for three years shooting wildlife photography. It has never failed me. I have to say that this is a very robust camera, able to take a lot of abuse in a lot of shooting conditions without complaint. It's been by far the best purchase I have made in a camera body. Shooting with the 600mm f/4, the D300s has locked on with the 52 point AF quickly enabling me to get in-flight shots of waterfowl. I certainly hope that Nikon will come out with a suitable successor to this great camera body because there is a need for a professional grade DX camera still. Not everybody has upgraded to the D4.
+15points
Review 8 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic tank of a camera

PostedAugust 20, 2013
NikonMike
Location Milwaukee, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have owned many Nikon cameras, but by far this is my favorite, go to camera for any purpose. I love it, it's never let me down, and I will never part with them, yes, I own 2!
+8points
Review 9 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best I've ever had

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Passionate
Location Minnesota
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've owned mine for three yrs. I shoot flowers ,irises tulips & Lillie's and many others.i also Shute
Landscapes.And macro too.
I have 55to 300 mm zoom lens I use for some of
Landscapes.Also have a 40mm 1:1 macro-wide
Lens.that I've shot some of flowers with.
I also use it for general photography.
My photos are crisp & sharp.
Colar is asum.i love this camera
+9points
Review 10 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny...

PostedJune 4, 2013
Mr. Nikon
Location Mayagüez, Puerto Rico
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excellent construction and materials. Nice resolution and features. you can find a whole variety of accessories. Nice size & weight, perfect for amateur photographers and pro. Excellent color quality and definition. Good Speed and ISO. Perfect Picture size (16mp).
-2points
Review 11 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Robust Performer

PostedMay 3, 2013
d300suser
Role Professional photographer
I believe the best APS-C (DX) camera Nikon has built to date.
+18points
Review 12 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worthy Upgrade

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
OldManNikkor
Location Canada
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
When I upgraded to the D300s from the D200 in 2010, I was expecting it to be more of a lateral move. I mean, 10mp to 12mp is, apparently, at the threshold of perception regarding image resolution. But there's more to this camera than megapixels, or the lack of them, given today's offerings; the autofocus system is outstanding, the control layout is excellent (and more customizable than the D200), and the high frame rate coupled with the autofocus makes it THE dx camera for sports. And the sensor nonetheless delivers decent dynamic range, given its age. While the video capability is nice to have, it had little influence on my decision to buy this camera. For anyone considering an upgrade, it shouldn't be overlooked. Granted, its replacement may be on the horizon, but this is an excellent camera that can be had NOW.
+18points
Review 13 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fundamentals, rugged, and reliable

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Jon
I'm so happy I got this camera before they (Nikon) tried to make every other semi-professional DSLR 'cute and soccer mom friendly'.
+5points
Review 14 for D300S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Great Camera

PostedNovember 4, 2012
TheCameraBoy
Location Radnor, PA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought the D300s in March of 2011, and I've taken well over 35,000 pictures since then. The camera I had before this was the Nikon D3000 and the difference between the D3000 and the D300s is just astronomical. Since I bought this camera i've been shooting a lot more sports than I used to. The fast shutter speed makes it ideal, and I've really loved that aspect of it. However my bread and butter as a photographer is portrait photography. I've had some problems with the focus and the sharpness of my portraits. That's the only reason I'm giving this review 4 stars instead of 5. I love the camera and I'd recommend it for sports, but for portraits and some of the landscape I've done, I've actually preferred my old D80 as it tends to give me sharper images.
+2points
Review 15 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great camera

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Mathew Street
Location Orlando, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been a pro for years ,I am not an equipment junkie ,I have had hasselblad etc I have shot film for years , bought my first 300 Nov . 07 have had 3 and D 300s , they have never needed repair and I shoot alot . I just went to Ireland and did a shoot with the 300 s and a D4 , I loved the D4 but on pure quality of image in day to day shooting you can not see a difference ,I made 11X 14 prints and showed it various photographers asked them to pick out D4 shots from 300 s , they never got it right , so for so called old tech its still giving me great shots
+54points
Review 16 for D300S
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

In need of an upgrade

PostedAugust 24, 2012
birdshooter
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
NIkon, I'm starting to question your commitment to the professional DX body. The D300s is way overdue for an upgrade, but all I hear about is yet another FX model coming up. If I don't see an upgrade for the D300s model soon, I will probably switch to Canon. At this time, a rating of "good" is generous for your outdated D300s. Anyone in the market for a new pro-level DX camera body should wait, like I have been for ages.
-15points
Review 17 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect replacement

PostedJune 18, 2012
Georgediver
Location Lake Villa, Illinois
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
From 1977 thru 2007 the Nikon F3 was my workhorse with my underwater work. With five bodies, an array of lenses and three Aquatica underwater housings the decision to switch from film to digital was a tough one along with being a very expensive one. Discovering the new D300 made the choice easy and after hours of getting use to this unit and new underwater housings arriving getting these units underwater was my next quest. I am happy to say the results were supurb and the ease of operation is a delight. Nikon came through when this old film man who for so long denied the success of digital equipment as a replacement for film until the day the film did not exist any longer and my choices were few. Thanks Nikon
+17points
Review 18 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ALMOST perfect...

PostedJune 9, 2012
Data-Plumber
Location Hawaii, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I wish that Nikon would provide a configuration option that allowed the camera's clock to be automatically synchronized whenever a GPS is attached and has a 2D or 3D fix.
I also wish that auto-bracketing was easier to set and didn't eliminate the ability to use the Fn button for other applications.
I also wish that the video mode were more intuitive and allowed for dynamic autofocus.
Other than those few quibbles, I love my D300s and D300!
+2points
Review 19 for D300S
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best features at the best price!

PostedJune 1, 2012
CoastalRick
Location San Juan Capistrano, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Have evaluated all of NIkon's bodies and the D300S seems to have the best bang for the buck. Would love to be able to grab more pixels, but am no willing to spend the $$$ to go to a bigger sensor. For my style of shooting, the D300S does everything that I expect a great camera body to do; plus it is as rugged as a small tank!
+18points
Review 20 for D300S
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOT UP TO THE USUAL MARK

PostedApril 29, 2012
Mathew
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own several Nikon Film cameras (F3,FM and F3) and was in a "Q" to buy the D70 and D70s. The noise levels made me "upgrade" to D300s. I very much regret this move and should have gone for the D700 instead; as , as opposed to the day-light glory, it produces appalling noise levels at any thing above ISO 800.
Also, Nikon is losing out on mid-level lenses like the affordable Canon 24-105/4 which together with 5D2 is a very tempting piece of kit. May be I should jump ship.
-16points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>