Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(1587 Reviews) 1579
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,587 reviews
5 stars
1,281
4 stars
254
3 stars
23
2 stars
14
1 star
15
1,542 out of 1,587(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great D-SLR

PostedJuly 4, 2013
HappilyRetired
Location OR
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a happily retired senior and have been a 'serious amateur' photographer since the early 1950s. I have owned and shot many brands of 35mm SLR cameras and tons of 35mm film. I was slow and hesitant to switch from 35mm film to all digital and my Nikon D5000 is my second D-SLR that I have been shooting for ~ 4-5 yrs.. I've never had a problem with my D5000 and the D5000 recall was a minor inconvenience that Nikon corrected rapidly and efficiently and I have never had any problem with my D5000 before or after correction. My only criticism with the D5000 is no motor in the body and not all Nikkor lenses will AF, otherwise the D5000 is a wonderful camera, very user friendly, reliable and versatile. Just make sure you own/purchase lenses that have AF motors and will AF on the D5000 body OR purchase the Nikon D90 body which has an AF motor and will AF Nikkor lenses w/o AF motors. I would recommend the Nikon D5000... It's worked very well for me.
+5points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D5000

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Megan
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I borrowed this camera from a friend to photograph a wedding and I fell in love with it! I went out the next day and bought one for myself. I'm currently a photography student, so I wanted a reliable camera for school. I've been using a D80 for the past 5 years and I figured it was time to upgrade before I leave. The D5000 takes phenomenal photographs, I used the 50-200 mm telephoto lens for a majority of the wedding. I only had to switch out the battery once, and that was after having it on and shooting for 9 hours. I haven't done much with the video yet, but I can't wait to try a few time-lapses here and there.
+20points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful photos and simple to use

PostedJanuary 20, 2013
Happygolucky
Location Orlando, FL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have had the camera since June of 2010. I originally bought it for a family vacation and battled between the Nikon and a comparable competitor. One of my friends suggested the Nikon D5000 and another had the competing camera which they offered to sell to me so that they could get the Nikon. After putting both cameras in a toe to toe comparison and the recommendations, I went with Nikon. I am glad I did because I love the photos I have taken with it and the camera has made a novice photographer look like a professional.
I only came to this site because I was looking at the wi-fi adapter and seeing if it is compatible with my camera. Sadly it is not, but I am so pleased with my D5200 that I won't be upgrading anytime soon.
+4points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Camera

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Shannon9642
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I have had this camera few years and I love it! The picture quality is great. Its easy to use and I haven't had any problems with it.
+1point
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Funcionalidad al 100

PostedJune 29, 2012
r2jahuey
Location Ciudad de México, DF, México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Desde que compre mi nikon, nunca me ha fallado, su funcionalidad es excelente y permite tirar buenas fotos.
+9points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First time DSLR owner and loving it.

PostedMay 22, 2012
NewDSLRuser
Location Asheboro, NC, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had my D5000 now for just over a year and a half and I've loved every second of it. It's never failed me and I have nothing but great things to say about this camera.
The images that it takes can be crystal clear if proper techniques are applied. I currently have the 18-55 kit lens, the 55-300 Nikkor lens, and now the 35mm 1.8 Nikkor lens. I STRONGLY suggest the 35mm 1.8 or the 50mm 1.4 (or the 1.8) if you are looking to shoot indoors. To add to the indoor lighting issues that are sometimes found, I love the wide ISO range offered by this camera. It makes it VERY versatile. I've shot everything from portraits to long exposure (night) and outdoor sports.
I can't wait to see what else I can do with this camera.
+25points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedMay 17, 2012
Thyo
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got my Nikon D5000 for Christmas back in 2010 and it has not failed me, not even once. Simple and easy to use, I've constantly used it for the last year and a half, especially for my photography classes. It is actually much more simple to use than the provided Olympic cameras at my school. I definitely don't regret buying it!
+11points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the unit works well for the uses.

PostedApril 26, 2012
Audi
Location Georgia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Auto not well after heave use in need of a back fast some noise at 800iso 200iso but photos are somewhat alright
-12points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

All in one!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Kuhristle
Location Philippines
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been a Nikon user ever since, starting with my D60 which really is fine and upgraded into D5000. This camera is really good. It shoots great photos. I captures good videos. It's just that, you need to treat this like your child. It's precious.
+10points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Camera that brought me into the Photography game!

PostedMarch 4, 2012
ccasmoe20
Location Laurel, MD, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Photography was always a passion for me..... and as I grew, I felt the urge to start capturing moments as I saw them! The Nikon D5000 really allowed me to put my footprint into the photography game. It is/was a great entry level DSLR and it taught me so many aspects of a DSLR camera. Jumping straight into a D3 or equivalent didn't make sense unless you knew/understood photography as if you were looking at your own hand! The D5000 will never leave my side, but I will be stepping into the FX zone within the next few months. Nikon and the D5000 have transformed my eye into a self motivated business that I can now make a living out of! Full Frame here I come to show the world what I see!!!
+6points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but auto-focus issue has been annoying to too many of us.

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Skye
I've had this camera for a few years and I love it, the main thing that bothers me is my AUTO-FOCUS stopped working and I need to look into getting it fixed. No one seems to be of help with that. *COUGH*
+11points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
hugodichon
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
When I bought that camera, it was a wonderful discovery for me. Not only I picked up a great tool for my creativity but I also found quality, lightness,rubustness. The settings are very efficients, the buttons are well placed. You can quickly edit your settings to obtain what you need and want.
I have a lot of memories, love and good moment with that piece of stuff !!!
+2points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my first dSLR

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Reuven
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I’ve shot film with Nikon cameras for years, so this was a logical choice to get into digital photography with out spending the retirement. I’ve had the D5k for over two years now and it has done yeoman service. About the only gripe I have is there is no depth-of-field preview, but I can work around that.
Pictures come out pretty sharp, so I don’t have to tweak that too much in the post-processing, and I find the noise is not too bad, though it does get a little noticeable in the high ISO ranges, but that is too be expected.
Overall, I’ve been thrilled with the D5k and probably won’t be doing much in film anymore. (And my old Nikormat sits forlornly on the shelf)
+1point
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

such a sweet camera

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
musicislife:)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
most of my friends are into canon, and kind of degrade my nikon d5000, it was a birthday present and ever since, i don't know how i'd live without it. its been over a year and there's still so many features I'm still finding out about. its versatile for different lenses too. over all, its an incredible camera.
+11points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid level camera

PostedDecember 19, 2011
BTTURP
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this camera works great. It fit my budget and does all i need. I was a bit concerned on the flip screen. But now that i have it i cant imagine why nikon doesnt use that on all the cameras. Great feature. Going up the next level would be nice but since i dont make money with my shots this one does well. I use for work photos too for our marketing pieces and advertising.
+9points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginning DSLR

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Kate
Location Orange County, CA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I think this is a great camera if you're a beginner with DSLR's. If you're JUST starting off in photography you'll need to read the manual thoroughly, if you've been serious about photography for a while and have already had a DSLR you'll probably want to go a step up from this. I'm hoping to get a new camera soon but it's not because this isn't a great camera - but I'm at the point now where I'm starting to do paid photo shoots and this can only do so much. I'd definitely suggest it for someone who is past the compact stage but not quite to the professional stage.
+13points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The D5000 is a well balanced universal camera

PostedNovember 28, 2011
AMOMENTINTIME
Location Summerfield Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have used more than 10 SLRs over the past 14 years. I own the D5000 for 18 months and would recommend the D5000 or the D5100. A good strobe light would provide suberb pics under all conditions. Don
+5points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Product looks amazing

PostedNovember 18, 2011
bestie
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I wanted a good amatuer camera and i found the right one. A stunning visual from my trip to the beach!!
-1point
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The D5000 is a versatile tool with great features.

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Virginian
Location Stafford, VA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A week after the purchase I took it on a day trip to the Blue Ridge Mountain's Skyline drive taking
advantage of its numerous modes. The feel of
quality in material and the results in regard to the
many shots I took was total satisfaction.
Kudos to the 55mm lens: Between near macro
and infinity, the different debths perception of mountain ranges and close ups was surprising !
+8points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 17, 2011
PhotoKid
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
I just started photography 5 months from now w/ the use of this camera and my pictures look great, I know this because of the reviews of friends and family. Even though it's for the beginners or amateurs, you can feel like your an expert using this camera because of how gives great, bright and colorful pictures.
+7points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 79 next>>