Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D90

Nikon Inc. D90

Fusing 12.3-megapixel image quality and an exceptional 24fps D-Movie Mode, the Nikon D90 exceeds the demands of passionate photographers.

Average Customer Rating:
4.657 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(4833 Reviews) 4824
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 4,833 reviews
5 stars
3,676
4 stars
872
3 stars
140
2 stars
73
1 star
72
4,584 out of 4,833(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
163 Questions | 409 Answers
Customer Reviews for D90
Review 1 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great camera

PostedMay 14, 2016
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Though it was passed down to my family about 7 years (during which time we have used it a lot) this camera has performed remarkably
0points
Review 2 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An amazing camera that still holds up today

PostedMarch 23, 2016
The first DSLR I've had the chance to fully use was a D90 handed down in the family. Despite more than five years passing since its release, the D90 remains a fantastic starting point for beginners. The D90 possesses an ample amount of quality that still holds up a decent amount in comparison to newer cameras. It may not necessarily compare to newer cameras in terms of capabilities, but it remains a stalwart companion in my book that did its job well. I intend to move on to my next DSLR within the next week for something with a bit more quality. I still have to say, though, that I will only have fond memories of this one.
+2points
Review 3 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D90

PostedJuly 1, 2015
Location Pennsylvania, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
My first DSLR camera, and nothing short of amazing. This camera takes great pictures and more than enough bells and whistle to grow into.
+5points
Review 4 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT FUN AND EXCELLENT IMAGE REPRODUCTION

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Location MONTREAL QUEBEC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
HAVE OWNED MY D90 FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND ENJOYED IT FROM DAY ONE.
WAS NEW TO DIGITAL PHOTO BUT FOUND IT QUITE EASY TO LEARN ABOUT THE DIFFERENT FEATURES AND HOW TO USE THEM.
-1point
Review 5 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente equipo

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Location Caracas, Venezuela
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Compre esta cámara para aprender fotografía y posteriormente adquirir algo mejor, llevo mas de 5 anos con ella y no me puedo desprender, sus funciones van mas allla de lo que esperaba, la relación precio valor es favorable simplemente la mejor cámara del mundo por lo que se paga
+9points
Review 6 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best camera I've ever owned!

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Easy to use and great for shooting any kind of scenery or portraits!
+2points
Review 7 for D90
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a camera problem but possibly lens problem

PostedMay 31, 2014
Location Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I too had problem with err messages, but for me the problem was the lens and not the camera. It is a very good entry level camera for new hobbyists.
+3points
Review 8 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Location Cartwright, MB R0K, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Does what I want with great results. Never had a problem!
-2points
Review 9 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The first Digital that compares to my F100

PostedMay 16, 2014
Location USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love this camera, and have shot with it for years now. It's the first digital I've worked with that took shops that rival my beloved F100.
I've had great success selling my shots even at poster size (18"x30") and the color and detail is fantastic.
Battery life is good, the combination of pre-programmed and manual settings allow for a great degree of precision, and it's done right by me.
+6points
Review 10 for D90
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Like many others, I hit a lemon

PostedApril 17, 2014
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The camera itself is good and when it works, it performs very well in both automatic and manual modes. I got amazing shots with a little menu fiddling. So why am I so disapointed. I migrated from Canon to Nikon because someone had told me that Nikon were the most reliable. When we invest in many lens, flash and otehr SLR add ons, it is a commitment.
My in-camera flash broke and needed fixing after a month. I had to wait three month for it to get repaired instead of getting a new one. When I did get it back, I started getting the freeze bug everyone is complaining about. Reading everybody's comments, I do not want to try their help desk (tryied everything and I'm still getting freezes) I know if I send it to Nikon, they will keep it forever, charge me some major $$ and return my camera without fixing it.
My only question to Nikon, do tehy expect to make long term profits by selling cheap products to their customer and treating them like dirt afterward?
My question to the rest of you. What is wrong with us that makes us believe a Sony, pentax or Olympus cannot do better.
My only regreat is getting rid of all my great lens.
-12points
Review 11 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For the Money,the BEST CAMERA on the market.

PostedApril 4, 2014
Location Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I purchased my first Nikon D90 about 2 months ago and sense that time I have taken thousands of pictures.The extreme quality of the pictures plus the outstanding color of same led me to buy another Nikon D90.Also the ability to crop and adjust color and lighting in camera is a huge plus..I never even need the computer and my results are unbelievable.Buy one and I guarantee you will love it.
+5points
Review 12 for D90
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The Camera I'll Never Forget!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is the camera that brought me into photography, ever since i fell in love with photography... And of course this camera! However as I get better, there are many frustrated moments with this camera, such as slow focusing, and high noise at high ISO. It's frustrating but I won't blame the camera, 'cause it's technology is kind of old. I guess it's because I got better, and I need to upgrade to a new one.
I believe this camera is a perfect one to start with for entry level, specially if you know you'll get really serious into it.
-2points
Review 13 for D90
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Camera!...but small issue

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Age 25-34
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I owned my D90 for 3 years, but recently sold it. The camera was GREAT for awhile. I loved pretty much everything about it and planned to keep it forever. I've taken shots for family gatherings, photo runs in the city, outdoor hikes, travels to foreign countries to include island resorts and mountain backpacking excursions. The only problem that I had was with the dreaded F-- error. This error occurred even before I ever took the camera on my outdoor adventures. I tried cleaning the lens contacts and even used different types of lenses...no fix. The error only occurred a handful of times, but it was enough to where I missed key shots. I know there are D90's out there without this issue and I would love to pick up a used one, but I just can't be sure that the camera isn't affected by this issue.
+11points
Review 14 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I've had this camera longer than my wife! I plan to keep them both until I DIE!

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Location San Diego, CA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this camera. I upgraded to this after learning DSLR mistakes with the D40. It's was a breakthrough in the DSLR world being the first to have HD video. I understand that some may find it outdated, but the reality is that nobody would ever guess you were shooting with an older body. Just put a good piece of glass on the end and start shooting. I've taken this camera literally across the world and in different environments. It may not be weather sealed, but it still works like a champ for me.
Here are some of the pictures that I've taken with this wonderful camera. Enjoy.
+26points
Review 15 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This is A GREAT camera! The pictures are amazing, would definitely recommend buying.
+14points
Review 16 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly Versatile

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Location Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I chose the D90 over other Nikon bodies because of the versatility that I found with the camera. I appreciate having the LCD on the top of the body as I use this almost exclusively rather than the digital readings on the rear LCD. The camera feels solid and hasn't let me down yet. Autofocus is quick and sharp with any lens I use.
+6points
Review 17 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJune 3, 2013
Location Chibougamau, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Je suis une fan de Nikon, appareil facile à utiliser, donne d'excellent résultat, photos remarquables, appareil très résistant. Après 2 ans d'utilisation, j'ai plus de 4000 photos de prise et je rachèterai un Nikon sans hésitation.
-3points
Review 18 for D90
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst purchase of a Nikon I've ever made

PostedMay 29, 2013
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
It locks up and has since brand new. I was told the SD card was the wrong one, even though I bought it with the camera at a big camera store in Seattle, Wash. So I bought another one still the same results. Nikon help told me to try another card and emailed me the same list that I had in the manual. Again the same blinking err in the view finder. I get that error and then the err and the card error. Tried all the resets, re-formatting the cards. If I take it out of Automatic and put it on the sports setting it seems to work for awhile the the same blinking err error. As this has been an ongoing issue since day one and now out of warranty so it's my dime now. Don't BUY
-12points
Review 19 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great DSLR Camera !

PostedMay 26, 2013
Location Argeș, Romania
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own this camera since August 2010 and i have only taken 28000 pictures but i must say it performs excellent ! I am an amateur photographer and this was my first DSLR after Konika Dimage Z4, I've learnt everything I know on this camera and never had any sort of problem with it and hopefully I won't have any for further couple of years ! It's a great camera and I think it is amazing how it has "survived" since D7000 came on the market ! You've done it well, Nikon ! Good job ! (Y)
+5points
Review 20 for D90
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

~Awesome Camera~

PostedApril 7, 2013
Location California
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
~I purchased the Nikon D90 as my first digital SLR. I have always had "the eye" when it comes to photography but lacked the technical talent. I am still trying to master shooting in manual and I am still learning every time I take my camera out of the bag. I love it and I would highly recommend it!~
+13points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 242 next>>