Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.835 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1887 Reviews) 1884
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 1,887 reviews
5 stars
1,662
4 stars
173
3 stars
27
2 stars
15
1 star
10
1,842 out of 1,887(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A few years old and 12.1 Mp but up.to the task. ISO performance is awesome.

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Jarhead
Location Northern, VA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Just recently picked up the D700 used and didn't know what I had been missing. I can shoot at FX format or if I want some longer legs I can shoot the DX format. rarely use the flash anymore. Can shoot beautiful ISO 3200 shots with my 80-400mm AF-D VR at high shutter speeds (+1/1000). Don't really need the VR at those shutter speeds.
Summed up: Great camera with lots of life left.
+6points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Legendary.

PostedAugust 13, 2014
NotMP
This is the greatest DSLR ever made by anybody ever.
+3points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best DSLR Ever !

PostedMay 30, 2014
Bokeh Monk
Bought mine new in June 2011, it's been drop, it's tumbled down a mountain side, left out in the sun to the point that the rubber base on the MB-D10 distorted, withstood me slipping on black ice camera first onto concrete - WORKS PERFECTLY!!! This is the digital version of the infamous FM / FM2! Can't say enough good things about the D700.
0points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Such a cool camera

PostedMarch 20, 2014
wagnealy
This is a great high quality camera with wonderful features. It takes great photos.
0points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best piece of gear I have ever owned !

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Rebellos
Location Greece
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Don't even know where to start from .. I got this camera back when it came out for 3000$. The D700 is THE PERFECT camera in my opinion. Everything else is practically identical. D700 has GREAT iso and pure greatness at colors. The MPs are more than enough, except you want to print posters or oversized photos. The D700 is a professional camera, built like a tank, with an extraordinary body and it has great feel in my hands. Having worked with D3 as well, I find the D700 to be a D3, without the battery pack. Sorry rich guys, the 108.000 iso etc are just for boasting. If you are not interested in shooting at 10 frames per second, then the D700 is the greatest camera pick you could make, even as for today (17/3/2014). Great image quality, great colors, great iso performance ... all that you can ask for !! If you are also interested for speed from time to time, the D700 with the right tweaking and the battery pack can go up to 8-9 frames per second ! Also, what amazes me the most is that it has incredible autofocus mechanics ... For me the D700 a better camera than the D600 and D800 ... If you want to work professionally 12-16MP is the pixels you will be asking for .. Working seriously means you will have to transfer files fast and work with them smoothly; forget doing this with the immensely large files of D800. As said above, if you are not shooting with the intention to print in huge scales, the 36MPs of the D800 will mean completely nothing. I find the D700 superior to the D600 and D800 for the following reasons : The D700 has (in my opinion) much greater colors, better AF system combined with controls which have been replaced in the newest cameras. So, for me, I could say without a doubt that Nikon's 3 best cameras are the D4, D3 and D700 at this moment !! Having shot with all of them, I chose to own the D700 and I have to say that I haven't found yet a reason to replace this camera ! Probably, only if the D5 comes out, my D700 is going to be replaced, but never forgotten or not used ! Keep in mind that this camera is a BEAST. It's ergonomics are amazing, great analogic controls and great feel, combined with a body that is full metal strong (1kg).There's nothing to NOT like on this camera. I have been using it for professional and serious purposes since the day I acquired it and it's just an amazing piece! Using the D700 with great lenses like the 14-24 f2.8 or the 70-200 f2.8 VRII or the gem-lens 28mm AI-s, is what I call greatness redefined ! Marvelous, astounding photos ! Don't know if you can find her brand new right now, but if you can there's one thing I can say for sure .. GET IT ! So yes, I gotta say that it's the greatest piece of photography gear I have ever used and owned !!
+10points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all round camera

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
KeithM
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've been using Nikon since around '74 or so and purchased my first digital a year ago. A D2x which is a great camera at ISOs up to around 400. I wanted to take advantage of my FX lenses especially the wide angle ones and have better low light performance.
The D 700 delivers.
a nice size, enough weight to stabilize long lenses hand held, but not so heavy it causes fatigue carrying it around all day.
I read the complaints about the hot shoe, but I learned way back in the '70s not to put a big honking speed light on a hot shoe, use a bracket and there are no problems.
Pros: build quality, weather sealing, size and feel. Focus is fast and accurate.
works with all my older AF Nikors as well as my AI/AIS manual focus lenses.
Cons; None that I've found.
In short the D700 delivers what you expect from a Nikon
0points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problem child camera, hot shoe can fry the circuts, did to my first, replacement doing the same

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Pete
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a problem child, when I first got the D700, it was great, no issues, SB900 on hot shoe will loosen then short, starts with LCD screen on SB900 flickering and no flash output, this during a wedding is a no go, or any event for that matter, Nikon replaced mine after it shorted out the circuit and they could not fix it, it was a case of pointing to the grass below me and taking a photo of a cat laying down, Ginger in color, cloudy day, everything reset to make sure camera was set correct, and the exposure was 8000 of a second at 1.5, on cloudy day looking at deep green grass, but then the image was over exposed by three stops at least.
Got a refurbished D700 with just 65 shutter count, got to 6500 shutter count, same thing happening at a very expensive and high end event we were paid for.
I am done with D700s, not good, and not reliable and the camera cannot hold its own, even so grainy at ISO 400 and 200 with perfect exposure.
Requesting Nikon replace with another model, I have been dealing with this with Nikon since April 2011 to today July 2013 yes those dates are correct.
I cannot tell you how many times the D700 let me down on very important jobs and I had to rent a better camera and use my backups and not trust the D700 again.
Without going into too many details other than above, Nikon along with the D700 has cost me so much money and work since 2011 I am constantly trying to fight my way back up to where I was when I started the business!
Nikon let me down and still does until they replace with a better model for the damage they have done to my business and my clients and my pocket for all the rentals I have had to do.
And I will be shocked if they post this as its damaging to Nikon and Nikons past good name that I have stood by, so when are Nikon going to stand by me for loyalty of years now they have cost me so much in so many ways
-31points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Siesta Key, The #1 Beach in the World.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
NikonProGenius
Location Sarasota, FL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
The camera is great. This is a picture of Siesta Key, The #1 Beach in the World.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sitios importantes de investigación natural usan este modelo

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Mauricio MX
Aurea boreal, paisajes, y muchas cosas mas tienen una calidad perfecta de imagen.
+1point
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nikon I've owned, and Used!

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Nikon4Life
Location Boulder, CO, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had the D700 for two years now, and it has been a wonderful camera. I travel alot and this fits perfectly with me. I have taken it to Canada, South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Germany without any hiccups. The performance is phenomenal, the autofocus is fast and precise and even though it only has 12.1 megapixels it produces great looking, extremely enlargeable pictures.
I will only purchase a new camera when this one fails to meet my expectations. It been two years and she's still going strong!
Thanks Nikon for the Best Camera I've ever owned!
Nikon for Life!
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera !!!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Nikonian
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this D700 to replace my D2X for a year after spend lots and lots of hours read and compare it with its brother D3 or its competitor the Canon 5D Mark II. I never regret my choice of excellent image quality and perfect built quality of this monster.
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long-term Review

PostedOctober 24, 2012
NIkonShooter2009
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned and used two D700 bodies since 2008. Even today I have D4 and D800 in my bag, D700 still never fails to do a fine job. The only issue is that its rubber grip materials needs to be glued once in a while. Both of my D700 bodies have been sent back to Nikon for grip replacements a few times.
Here is a low-light image captured recently with D700
at f/3.5 1/500 ISO 12800
+8points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great camera

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
earl
Location Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this is mt second review. i love this camera. had it 2 years now. still learning new things about it every day. i moved from the d 3000 to d 700. best choice i ever made. cant say enough about it. looked at the d800. nope not yet. at the d4, not yet, still learning the 700. i want trade or sell it. the best and most fun ever. 24/36 and 30/40 posters r easy with the 700.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
alrav2
Location Milan, Italy
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I use it very often in low light (6400 ISO): beautiful raw shots in all difficult situations. Lovely camera in a pros system that cover all what you need. I have been a "Nikonist" since 1968 (F) with great satisfaction!
+2points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally at peace

PostedAugust 19, 2012
rickd
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Not sure what I can say other than this camera fits my needs perfectly well. I didn't purchase a D3 because of cost and because of the D700. This camera show great colors, photos exactly what you see and works well with my other Nikon lens'. I had a D300 as my backup and it was not good enough to use when I needed two cameras strapped to me, so I purchased another D700.
+5points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Enough to buy 2 of them!!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
pic chik
We are primarily wedding photographers and it works great in low light situations. This is our second D700. Nothing else compares!!
+4points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Camera breakes down frequently

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Billbphoto
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I make my living as a photographer and I'm a member of NPS as well as ASMP
The image quality is great.
The noise is great. I can shoot at high ISO and the noise level is minimal.
The auto focus is slow. My D 300 wins every time.
Doesn't work well with my SB 800 flashes. My D 300 works well with the SB 800.
It's been back to Nikon 4 times for the auto focus, poor flash performance,
poor color quality. I just got tired of sending it in for repair. Been using it as a backup
for my D300.
It's performance has improved a bit with the new firmware upgrade,
but overall I would avoid the D 700. Perhaps mine is just a lemon and the rest are great.
-8points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Commercial Work

PostedAugust 14, 2012
dpphoto
Location Charlotte, NC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The D700 is a great camera only limited by the glass you use with it. The files produced are suitable for full page ads and I've enlarged them to 22" wide with great results. And people photography, I find the skin tones are very good. I recently purchased the D800 with the idea of making larger personal prints. And after using the D800 a number of times, I'm still impressed with my D700. It just produces great files. Even high end architectural photographs look beautiful at 800 ISO. The D700 still has a worm place in my camera bag.
+4points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Bang for your bucks

PostedAugust 13, 2012
RavingDesign
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I love this camera.... The speed and clarity is spot on. The only thing that needs a little work is the AF.
+2points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all around camera on the market for anyone to use and love!

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Larry in New Lenox, Illinois
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The D700 is without a doubt the most versitile all around camera I have ever used! It produces the BEST LOW LIGHT photography with the best resolution. My accessory lighting gathers dust because i seldom use it because this camera does a superb job without the addition of artificial light. I have used this camera under all types of light and it is outstanding. This FX produces the absolute best resolution with great speed for anything from extreme sports to landscape.
+7points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 95 next>>