Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. D3X

Nikon Inc. D3X

Flagship 24.5-megapixel FX-format D-SLR—meticulously engineered for professionals whose work demands extreme resolution, file size and image fidelity

Average Customer Rating:
4.839 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 130 reviews
5 stars
113
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
128 out of 130(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for D3X
Review 1 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW What a differance

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Delmar
Location Mission, BC Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I own both the D3X and The D3S and wow the two gives me the low light with great quality and low noise
the D3X has great resolution and a very large file to work with. Some of the prints that I do are 2' X 3' and all of the customers that see them are suprised at the clarity. I do rapid shots at times and the sharpness between frames is second to none. Both are great cameras and I won't trade them for the world.
-1point
Review 2 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blown away, a work of art to create art.

PostedFebruary 1, 2012
gtwhogger
Location Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
As I try to sit down and write a review I find myself asking questions of why I purchased this piece of equipment?, well in a nut shell from starting out in the Digital world with a Nikon D70 to a D200 then D3 and now D3x I find myself with a camera that has pretty much covered all the requirements needed to have in a photographers hands a portable Photo Studio and Lab, coupled to Nikkor Stellar Glass it is a winners combination in a DSLR 35mm format.
I find myself having a little complaint with ISO that it falls short in the higher ranges above 600 starts to get pretty noisy in my opinion when trying to shoot natural light night short shutter duration shots, in that my older D3 out performs the D3x in higher ISO non noise issues but sacrifice the mega pixels that the D3x out shines in, if Nikon could have had the same ISO range as the D3 or the D3s has, this review would be much shorter than it is.
I have had my D3x for just over a year and my D3 since April of 2008 and these two cameras are very well constructed tanks, yes tanks! they are very well constructed and will take some abuse in rigorous shooting conditions, from weddings to mountainous landscape shooting, and from very cold temps to very warm, and haven't had any issues with slow dragging shutters from the cold or electronics failing from heat issues.
The controls are pretty much laid out great and if you have had any other Nikon Digital SLR's then navigating the external controls are no real issue, but sub menus are somewhat different then lets say a D200, the D3x just has more of them and choices to make in exposure and metering with to many to list here type of controls that will make you stumble backwards in a cold sweat at first trying to remember what control you just changed and were it was? lol but in no time it's easy to learn sub menus and how quickly they are to pull up.
I cant wait to see the next line of Pro range camera bodies to show up in the line up, since the introduction of the D4, I wonder if a D4x will pop up with 32 mega pixels and frankly I really don't see a need to go to far beyond the 24 the D3x has, I am not into having video in my DSLR's but that is my opinion and don't see the need in this high end of a camera but for those who do, I think a D4xs version might be a good idea then?
I can't say enough about this Camera body that others have already said, but if you want one powerful tool in your camera bag then this is the one.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 28-70mm f/2.8D IF-ED
4.8 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
+37points
Review 3 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Image Quality & Wonderful Ergonomics

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
WCG Photo
Location Central Wisconsin, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Nikon user for nearly 30 years. I just love this camera, absolutely love it. Already owned a D3 when I bought the D3x, I find I only use the D3 now in extreme low light situations or when I need a super-high fps rate.
Images are super-clear with minimal noise, even with 30sec or longer exposures. It is great for studio work, great for landscapes....... basically I have not found anything this camera does not excel at unless you cover something like sporting events where a fast frame rate or high ISO is needed. Image quality is second to none. In fact, as rated by the largest software developer of lens correcting software, only the highest resolution (costing $40K+) medium format backs score higher for image quality. This is an incredible camera!
 
My product recommendations
PC Micro-NIKKOR 85mm f/2.8D
5 out of 5(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
+25points
Review 4 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D3X is easy to operate

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
xeno
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The D3X produces film quality. The image size is mind boggling and the ease of operation is so simple. I can operate the D3X easier than a P&S camera. Along with the use on Nikon Capture NX2 to process the RAW NEF captures is unbeatable. The D3X is as close to using a view camera as I have ever experienced. If were to compare the D3X to an automobile it would have to be compares to a 12 cylinder Mercedes Benz with all of the features in that high end model.
+12points
Review 5 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NIKON, GOTTA LUV EM' BIRTHING THE D3X!

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Christopher ~ HOP2 Visual Artist & Nikonite Alum
Location Westchester (Yonkers), NY
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Once again, after 25+ loyal years owning/using and breaking Nikon cameras, Nikon delivers a gorgeous bombshell of a camera that Eva Gabor would be proud of! The D3X has given me another reason to officially retire my film bag, divorce my F4S and upgrade. After a two week crash course studying the manual and video tutorials, I used two D3X shooter on a five hour event assignment this past weekend and was amazed!! The sync ratio was seamless with my Acute 2400 lighting system and pocket wizards. I boldly used the N24-70/2.8G ED-If AF-S lens and couldn't put it down. My partner used the dedicated N180/2.8 ED, both cams mounted the SB900 which has great output in TTL mode and literally blew out the event room in M 1/1, I kept it dialed down to TTL and bounced. You may think it necessary to have a mechanical/electrical degree from MIT after reviewing the 400+page manual, but I assure you after focusing on the essentials you are in store for a pleasant foto session. Be aware of charging batteries on the rapid charger, proper storage (32gig compact flash cards are not cheap!) and mindful of your file format. I used Jpeg Fine M-medium and I'm extremely pleased with the file format outcome. I recommend using RAW only if you're session requires high quality low capacity shooting up to or slightly beyond 250 images on 8gig CF. Stay dedicated to your ISO and study your functions, preprogram you camera, test, test and test again before taking to an assignment! You’ll have WONDERFUL visuals and clients extremely pleased - All the Best Nikonites!!!
-14points
Review 6 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for the buck

PostedJuly 8, 2011
JC Photog
Location Mexico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
When you are looking for top notch gear for photography in the DSLR world, the D3X has no match.
It allows you to work with very high resolution on a true 35 mm format, with all the perks of a medium format and with the affordability of a SLR.
This is a professional camera, so its price tag is not for the occasional shooter, its for real high end productive photographers.
Use it, and you will never consider anything else to work with.
+2points
Review 7 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Well Spent!

PostedMay 19, 2011
ProPhotog
Location Long Island, NY
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I added this to my line of pro cameras and consider it to be by far my best Digital Investment. I also use 2 1/4 30+ Megapixel cameras and in the past I kept a D700 on hand to give me flexibility in the field (IE: Higher ISO, Wider-Longer lenses) I was so amazed at the D700 files next to the 2 1/4 files that when weighing my options I chose to upgrade my NIKONs instead of my Medium format cameras. The D3x Combined with great lenses (14mm, 17-35 f/2.8, 24-120 f/4VR, 80-200 f2.8, 80-400, 60 Macro 35, 50 prime) and the SB Lighting system gives me solid results with exceptional detail and color. When I shoot to the cards I use the the custom balance feature but can confidentaly rely on the camera factory settings. When tethered I use a macbook pro and Phase Capture or NIKON Camera control software. The Live view feature with the Camera Control works great. I love working with this camera. I consider the price paid for this camera money very-well spent.
-5points
Review 8 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful for studio and the field

PostedApril 19, 2011
JDSNikon
Location Aiken, SC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The D3X is perfect for studio work and also for general photography. The usable ISO range limits the field use to reasonable light conditions - very low light is a problem. The huge sensor means very large and very sharp prints without having to worry about cropping. Ergonomics meet the high Nikon standard and switching back and forth between the D3X and the D3 causes no problems because the controls are all in the same place.
-9points
Review 9 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D3x is real masterpiece from Nikon!

PostedApril 14, 2011
Marmur.Pro
Location Moscow, Russia
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Perfect tool that gave freedom in my studio and during my travel assignment around the World from New Zealand to Greenland and from Siberia to Galapagos Islands.
-3points
Review 10 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent All The Way Around

PostedApril 14, 2011
Nikon Professional
Location Glenview, Illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned this product for one year and could not be more pleased. The features, ergonomics and abilities this camera presents are superb. Having been a Nikon Pro for over 25 years, I have owned them all in the pro lineup and find this meets my landscape/stillife needs. I still rely on my D3 for wildlife due to its incredible speed. The D3x offers incredible clarity, color and crisp detail. There is none better.
+1point
Review 11 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Get off the fence!

PostedMarch 9, 2011
D3X-PhotoPro
Location Cedar City, Utah
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
If you are a Nikon professional shooting with say a D3 or D-700, and you are debating (like I did) about the decision to drop 8K on this camera body --let me just say this. "Get off the fence!" The longer you struggle with this the longer you have to wait to start taking the most amazingly sharp full format images you have ever taken with a 35mm digital camera. I kept my F5 working hard even though I had a wonderful D3 and D700 in my bag. As a fine art photographer sharp detail means so much to me. At 24 mega-pixels this camera gives me no reason other then nostalgia to shoot the F5. Maybe its just me, but I found that my learning curve was almost non-existent on this camera. Then again, after almost four decades of shooting Nikon equipment I expect to have little to no learning curve. I like to stick with what works and so does Nikon. They have been a great business partner for a very long time, and one of the big keys to my success. Finally, if the sticker price has you on the fence --think of it this way. You're getting medium format quality and resolution in a 35mm camera, at way below medium format prices. And, you preserve your lens investment yet again. This was the best investment I ever made. Thanks Nikon for all the great images.
+12points
Review 12 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

PostedMarch 3, 2011
tran00
Location OR
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
gift from my father, been using take this camera everywhere i travel and loving it
-1point
Review 13 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth every penny!

PostedOctober 16, 2010
brokephoto
Location Morro Bay, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have been using my D3X's for over a year now and all I have to state is wow. Nothing better, nothing easier and no other tool I have justifies it role in my business as these cameras do. Sharp, Sharp and did I say Sharp!
-4points
Review 14 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love it

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
big d
Location pawleys island sc
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
very good
a lot to learn
but does very good job on its own
-26points
Review 15 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features & a joy to use

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Dr Nikon
Location San Antonio ,Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Simular to using medium format, execent resolution!
-60points
Review 16 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent studio camera and great location.

PostedAugust 19, 2010
NikonTom
Location New Orlrans, La 70119
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been shooting professionally for 25 years with all formats of cameras, film and digital not to mention being a professional color scanner operator and four color analyst and color consultant. The f3x when correctly balanced is spooky dead on to color and is about as sharp as a 35mm format camera can be within reason.
I can honestly say it is worth the money. It may not be for everyone, but for overall shooting fits my criteria.
-36points
Review 17 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality camera, many features. Heavy, expensive.

PostedAugust 14, 2010
graphicjoe
Location Placitas New Mexico
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The D3x is a high quality camera; its capabilities, in concert with other Nikon products will allow the user to cope with a wide range of photo tasks. My camera has been free of problems. I use only three lenses; a 20 mm, a 50 mm, and a 60 mm macro. The lenses frame accurately enough for my needs.
The camera seems to be sturdy, although I have yet to give it the drop test. My only complaint relates to the camera's weight. It gets pretty heavy after a few hours of use.
0points
Review 18 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a very fine camera

PostedAugust 11, 2010
Bilhota
Location Macau
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought this camera because I wanted a good resolution camera. I took many photos during my life and most of them using 35 mm format. I used other formats namely medium 6x6 or 6x7, witch I found much better from the photographic point of view. This camera was said to be medium format equivalent so that made my decision.
After several months of trial I become to enjoy this camera and the results I must say thar\t are very close to the medium format camera and have the advantage of having the opportunity to use big tele lenses.
The commands are very intuitive and the only thing I can think of pointing out is that if composite materials were used in the constrction the camera would be much lighter I'm sure.
-4points
Review 19 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance, clean,sharp images.

PostedAugust 5, 2010
Bermuda Sun
Location Asheville NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikon D3x, great investment. the images are so clear and sharp, I have used the Nikon D3x for landscape, travel photography, portraits inside and outside family events.
An excellent camera
+10points
Review 20 for D3X
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the Wait

PostedAugust 2, 2010
misterpix
Location Cleveland OH
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Never thought I'd see files of this quality from a "35" SLR. Bottom line is this: one short year ago I was shooting 4x5 and scanning to 72MB. The D3X kicks out 140+MB 16bt raws with incredible highlight detail and noiseless shadows. I could go on...Thank You Nikon.
+26points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>