Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. GP-1 GPS Unit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. GP-1 GPS Unit

Geotags can be added to your images so you can record latitude, longitude, altitude and time information.
Average Customer Rating:
3.619 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 21 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
17 out of 21(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for GP-1 GPS Unit
Review 1 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

PostedMay 20, 2013
tdmajor
Location Maryland, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I have used my GPS-1 on many occasions over the last 12 months. I've used it from forests to the mountains of Yellowstone. I've never had a problem with it syncing up. Yes it takes about 5 minutes if I have moved a fair distance from the last time it was used but that has not been a problem for me. I just turn it on right a way and leave it on until I get the solid green. After that I turn the camera off until I'm about to use it. I have found that it only takes ~5 seconds for it to sync back up. I have not found any errors with the geo-tagging. Over all I have been very happy. I did read all the other bad reviews and I don't know what their situations were but I'm ver happy with mine.
+5points
Review 2 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excelente

PostedApril 2, 2013
Gaucho
Location General Pico, La Pampa, Argentina
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Pienso que es una herramienta de gran utilidad. Localiza milimetricamente la ubicaion,en cualuiqer lugar que uno este. Despues se puede ubicar en diferentes programas que tienen mapa,y lo hace automaticamente. Yo lo uso en ACDSee 6,y tambien en Lightroom 4.
+1point
Review 3 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing accuracy, in such a small item

PostedNovember 11, 2012
James
Location Des Moines, IA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have owned my GP-1 for only three months. I used it to log where my ancestors graves are located throughout my state and the next one. I also have a Magellan Explorist 100, but the accuracy is off by 50 miles as compared to the GP-1. My other photos do not require it on them, so my usage is limited to this one side for now.
+5points
Review 4 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wouldn't be without it!

PostedJune 24, 2011
SnapShot
Location Southern California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had the GP-1 attached to my D3 for just over a year now and wouldn't think of being without it. In fact I plan to buy another for the other body. I have traveled all over Australia and most of Western North America with it and find it as dependable as any GPS Equipment out there. I have read all the concerns about battery and slow start up but have never found any of this to be a problem. Having the geo-data with all my shots makes this one very important tool.
+24points
Review 5 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Silent Traveling Companion

PostedJune 16, 2011
JimSaid
Location Cleveland, OH
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've spent the last 12 months driving 28,000 miles in North America from the Arctic to the tip of Florida and both East and West coasts. The whole time the GPS-1 was attached to my camera bouncing around in the center shelf of my truck. Even flying through the off-road 4x4 trails couldn't rattle it. Yea, it's slow to start and eats batteries when left on as I do but it works all the time.
It's an essential tool in reviewing where, when and how pictures were taken. Gotta love geotagging for travel photography. Just got a D7000 and works great on it also.
+23points
Review 6 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Its all about location

PostedOctober 18, 2010
dmbNik
Location North VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I am an avid outdoors nature photographer and enjoy hiking and carrying my Nikon equipment to capture every detail along the trails. This year I purchased this GP-1 unit to assist me with tagging my location shots. It is easy to use and requires nothing more than attaching it to your camera. Yes - It allows pass through for your shutter release cable which I find useful for my HDR work. Even in heavy wooded areas it locks on a GPS signal within 8 seconds of activation.
Lets face it all of us forget things and I find myself guessing sometime where I took a particular photo at - with this unit tagging my photos with GPS data no more guessing. Worth the price, go get yourself one!
+25points
Review 7 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Accurate but sometimes slow

PostedApril 29, 2012
Bruce
Location Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used the GP1 all over North America and the Caribbean and the end results are extremely accurate. The one problem that I have when I use it with my D3S is that sometimes, it takes a long time to lock in on satellites in order to fix my position.
By a long time, I mean up to a minute. When photographing scenery, that is not a huge problem, but if you are on the move and want to grab a shot out the window or something, you may be out of luck.
Overall, unless I am using my flash, this unit is always attached to my camera body.
+6points
Review 8 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works Great

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
JimSaid
Location Painesville, OH
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Had mine about 20 months and on both a D5000 and a D7000. Taken over 20k pics traveling by truck from Alaska to Florida and to both coasts without issue. Except one that prevents it from getting 5 stars. Power consumption, it eats batteries. Using a battery grip helps but keep a few extra batteries nearby.
I charge mine in the truck between locations.
Really like knowing exactly where I shot a photo previously so I may return when the weather/light is just right.
+22points
Review 9 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great EXIF data

PostedSeptember 19, 2011
divotz
Location Highlands Ranch, CO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The GP-1 is a very lightweight (less than an ounce), compact (about 2x2 inches) GPS receiver that simply feeds coordinates to the camera, which automatically embeds the GPS data in each image's exchangeable image file (EXIF).
Once the coordinates are embedded in EXIF, your photos are automatically geotagged when uploaded to popular photo sites such as Flickr and Panaramio. Data captured and embedded in EXIF by the GP-1 includes latitude, longitude, altitude, and heading. Also, many photo management software products use GPS/geotag data to perform handy services such as grouping your photos by location. (In the future, I hope Nikon enables you to toggle between meters and feet for altitude. Currently, you can only do meters).
Overall, the GP-1 is a terrific, if somewhat pricey, accessory for the geotagging hobbyist or for professionals who need to automatically capture and embed highly accurate position data with photos.
+15points
Review 10 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for being able to return to locations

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Rambleon41
Location Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Pros - GPS works well in all of the locations I have photographed from Florida to California. Many days in the Utah desert without any issues. I use it on my D3 and have been able to return to exact spots in the desert.
Cons - Agree that it is slooooow and EATS batteries. My unit often takes several minutes to acquire connection. I went through 3 batteries one very cold morning at Ox Bow Bend.
Would not be without it!
+12points
Review 11 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GP-1 failure

PostedMay 16, 2011
catrachoD90
Location New Orleans, LA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
slow to acquire and cable has constant bad connections.
+4points
Review 12 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

an essential item for the civil engineer

PostedMay 8, 2011
schully
Location Durban, South Africa.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Cold start takes a few minutes
Hot start is quick.
Chews battery.
Compass direction (head) would make this a 5 star accessory.
A more positive connection to the D90 is a must.
+8points
Review 13 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gotta know where you were...

PostedApril 14, 2011
DaveB
Location Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I decided to purchase the Nikon GPS after I had been out shooting Great Gray Owls in rural Manitoba. I did get lucky that day and when friends asked me where it was???? I had only a vague idea.
The GP-1 attaches to my D300 via the 10 pin connector, which initially wasn't great, until I learnd I could pick up the remote cable release from the D90 and it would still allow me to shoot free of the shutter release button.
I find the unit may take a minute or two when it is initially engaged, but once connected in a region it is able to very quickly re-establish satelite connection throughout that day.
When it comes time to download photos, I use Nikon free Review NX software to collect the data from the files and propogate a Google (requires internet of course) map showing the location of my shots.
This has been very helpful to me personally, and to others who would like to check out specific locations, and ity is very easy to share the "map" as a jpeg and sent via email or web posting.
The GP-1 has provided very accurate results... in one particular incident, the satelite map showed us standing at the base of a tree in a clear cut, the actual precise location we stood as we shot images of small birds that particular day. About the only thing missing in data is the compass direction... hence not a perfect score
+10points
Review 14 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent companion for my D700.

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Scotsman
Location Indonesia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Usual Nikon quality and it does what it's supposed to do. Could benefit from a compass bearing feature but it's compact and accurate.
+48points
Review 15 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works in US, but not in South Africa

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Mad Dog
Location Key Largo, FL
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have only owned this GPS unit since January 2011, and have been using it on a Nikon D700. I gave it a good test in the Colorado Rockies in August 2011, where it performed like a champ. The Colorado trip was a "dry run" for a three-week trip to South Africa -- where it never worked. If anyone else has had this experience, I would be interested in knowing whether the unit worked for them (in South Africa). My Garmin automobile GPS worked just fine in South Africa -- so the satellites are obviously there.
+19points
Review 16 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Freedback from 6 months' experience

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
GJF-1
Location Northall, England
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've had my GP-1 over 6 months now, so I thought I'd give some feedback FWIW.
.
Note: I've used this mainly in the UK, but also in China and Sri Lanka.
.
Pros: It still works!
.
Cons:
1) Boy does it eat a D200's batteries - even when the camera is switched off !!
.
In China recently, I sometimes forgot to disconnect it while travelling between different parts of a city - the power simply drained away. On one day I took around 400 photos and my D200 went through four (yes 4!) batteries (as opposed to less than one when the GP-1 is not connected). If they ever make a GP-2 then an "power on-off" switch on the unit should be a "must".
.
2) It doesn't take much overhead cover to render it useless: trees, in a car, under a porch, etc, etc.
.
Remember, though: when you first switch on the unit (or when the camera is switched on a long way from the last time the unit was synchronised) then synchronisation can take two minutes. If you're switching on the camera not far from the previously synchronised location, it can still take around 20 seconds - which I why I kept the camera+unit switched on in China until I encountered the battery drain problem.
.
Bottom Line. If I didn't have a GP-1, then I'd really want to shop around (with trial runs in shops) before buying a GPS for the camera.
.
BUT if none of the GPS units was any better than the GP-1 then I'd still buy it. Having the photos tagged is great (if only to remind me where they were taken!)
.
Hope this helps
+41points
Review 17 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product but lacking on features!

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Wernerjb
Location Aruba
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I like this unit but it really needs a compass. There is just no other way to identify points like mountains in the distance if you have no idea in what direction you pointed the camera.
+22points
Review 18 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Wheres the accuracy?

PostedOctober 23, 2013
MapGirl32
Location Victoria, BC, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
'The majority of the time I acquire satellites and have a GPS location for my photos, but upon placing the coordinates in ArcMap (ESRI) the accuracy of the photos is not great, in some cases showing that I took the photo over 50 meters from where I knew it was taken. I've been trying to use this attachment for work where accuracy is important to know and the device does not even record accuracy. Why take GPS location information if it's not even accurate? Adding accuracy as data acquired in a new version would be extremely helpful.
0points
Review 19 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not to be used with a D90.

PostedMarch 14, 2012
retiredPhil
Location Greenville, TX, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Not only does it eat batteries, fails to lock onto GPS satellites when other GPS devices are doing so, and is very expensive, but when used with a D90, is very prone to failure, plus it is ridiculously expensive to repair.
When it fails, Nikon Service and Support recommends sending the GP-1 in. They "clean" it and charge you $62.14, but it still fails. Next you send in both D90 and GP-1 and then they charge you $151.74.
Would have been much better off buying a 3rd party geo locator, such as the Easytagger GPS.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+16points
Review 20 for GP-1 GPS Unit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No luck

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Tresinnoctem
Location Iowa
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I would give zero stars if I could. I bought one of these to use with my D-90, and it was dead on arrival. Got a replacement, and that one was dead, too. I have given up on it. Apparently this product is very prone to failure of the cable connection to the D-90 body, which may have been the cause of my problems, or maybe not. In any event, not a product of the quality that Nikon is supposed to represent.
+1point
1 2 next>>