Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. Capture NX 2

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. Capture NX 2

Powerful Tools for Quick and Easy Photo Editing Capture NX 2 is a full-featured non-destructive photo editing program that provides photographers powerful tools to quickly and easily edit their photographs. Choose from the Full Version (Product Number 25385) or the reduced-price Upgrade Version (Product Number 25386) which requires a valid serial number from version 1.x of Capture NX.
Average Customer Rating:
3.077 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 65 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
12
3 stars
13
2 stars
9
1 star
15
40 out of 65(62%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Capture NX 2
Review 1 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Capture NX2 um espetacular software.

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Fer
Location Ilhabela - SP, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
O Capture NX2 é sem dúvida um dos melhores software de edição de fotos. Suas ferramentas são extremamente precisas e rápidas. A ferramenta D Lighting é fantástica como também o Color Booster.
Enfim, este software não pode faltar no seu conjunto Nikon.
Suas fotos vão ter um acabamento impecável.
0points
Review 2 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Works

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
PhotoMac
Location Lakeland, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I liked how easy I can find any and all the information of how the picture was taken. For example; what camera body was used, or what lens was used and at focal length, etc...
 
My product recommendations
 
-12points
Review 3 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best results

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
armandom
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Using it since 2009, with multiple Nikon cameras, I also use competitor products, the best image quality is always obtained by using NX2 and that is by a wide margin. Colors are better, sharpness is better, noise reduction is better. unless the exposure needs a lot of correction, the the competition might be able to recover shadows a bit better. control points, color LCH, color balance high pass, unsharp mask are a few things that I can do better in NX2. Some if this corrections require layers when using other competitor products. Some persistent bugs have lived in NX2 for a long time, but the competition also have a few. used together with color efex pro I have produced my best images using this software.
+11points
Review 4 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The right software

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
ADRStudio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I would say this is the right software, this is the one. I've tried others but Capture NX2 is the one that brings better quality and the right options for photographs, photographs taken on Nikon cameras. There is no better choice. You may decide to use other software, there are really good ones, it is also a personal choice, but if you take NEF files, there are no one better than Capture NX2 working together with View NX2.
Different from some others reviews I found it easy and intuitive, organized, obvious workflow, comfortable, just right. Those that like a lot a menus, distort pictures, redundant options, it is frustrating. But if you are a photographer it works just like you.
Just remember that you will be working with BIG files and processing time depends on the machine you have, but Capture NX2 is faster than some others choices and equals to the tops ones, It is the best for NEF files.
Give a month try, but put one thing in mind : this software is for photographers not for graphic artists.
+20points
Review 5 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great software deserves more updates

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
madeinlisboa
Location Porto, Portugal
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
It's a simple to use, yet powerful software. I use it most of the times even for portrait retouching on "easy" photos. It is possible to apply multiple similar adjustments, something you can't in ACR or LR.
Unfortunately it seems that Nikon itself likes the software less than it's users. Updates and new features are almost none. This software deserves more Nikon!
+42points
Review 6 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Realmente Util

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Fábio José
Location São Paulo - SP
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Software que apresenta ferramenta completas e eficientes no tratamento da fotografia , apresentado excelente resultado pelo seu valor de aquisição, permitindo ter uma ferramenta util por uma relação custo beneficios muito bom .
A ferramenta UPoint realmente abre um horizonte muito criativo no tratamento das imagens.
+6points
Review 7 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Software que merece ser usado

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Maragogi
Location Vitória - ES, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelente para uso rápido de edições de fotos, esse software pode não ser tão espetacular quanto um Photoshop Elements 10 ou mesmo um CS6, mas merece ser explorado pois permite muitos ajustes nas fotos. Mesmo em inglês, é fácil compreender pois os comando são um tanto intuitivos e os resultados muito satisfatórios. Recomendo como um passo inicial antes de partirmos para programas mais pesados e elaborados, usados por profissionais.
+5points
Review 8 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful platform but PUHLEESE keep it updated with Nik Plugins

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
NX2 Fan
Location Dallas, Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've used this product for three years and was thrilled that it was updated to work with the new Lion OS. Let me be perfectly c;ear, this is a great product. The shortcomings are that updates are slow and sporadic and it doesn't work with the Nik plug-ins except the old Color Efex 3. I would NEVER use anything but NX2 if they would just keep it updated quicker and let Nik make all their plug-ins compatible.
This is the most intuitive editing software I've ever used.
 
My product recommendations
 
+18points
Review 9 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

powerful program

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
xeno
Location Wilbraham MA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
I have been using Nikon Capture since version 1.0. Since then Nikon Capture NX2 has been like a third hand for me. The processing of RAW NEF captures is phenomenal to be fair explaining the many features of this software would take a novel. If were to choose the features that I feel are the foundation of this program the Set Grey Point under Camera settings and the Color Control Point would have to be at the top of this very long list. Holding the history of the processing is such an important feature of this program. For another feature is the Nik Color Effects program as an added tool. Most of the other Nik features are within NX2.
+18points
Review 10 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes it easy to edit photos

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Bernmieter
Location Scottsdale, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
There are some cool features to Capture NX2 that make it easy to turn a goof phot into a great one and repair some things a novice sometimes does.
+7points
Review 11 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Capture N X 2

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Stan K
Location Calgary, Alberta
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
I think this is a wonderful product, and it does everything that I need it to do. It is the only product that I use for processing all my images. There is nothing I can say bad about this
-27points
Review 12 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use; chockfull of features; great result

PostedApril 14, 2011
NX2
Location NYC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Love the way quick fix handles the light and dark. I owned some other products that I haven't gone back to since I've had nx2.
Maybe I haven't learned how but copy and paste feature is difficult to use.
-27points
Review 13 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superior Image Quality

PostedMarch 24, 2011
Maddog
Location Santa Rosa, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I believe NX2 is grossly underrated by many of the reviewers. I have been using Nikon Capture software for several years as the first, and often, the only stop in my workflow. And I have edited untold thousands of images with different versions of NX. NX2 is simply amazing in its versatility and feature set when working with RAW files, and produces the best image quality, by far, as compared to the best pro-level editors.
It is true, however, that it is resource hungry, often creating huge temporary files and devouring cache (particularly when working with 14 bit images), but what should we expect from a non-destructive editor? Of course, it will call for significant resources and processing power, so don't expect NX2 to run well on a dinosaur.
And be aware that it is rich in features that do not jump up and announce themselves. To get the most from it, you must be willing to poke around and experiment--to invest the time necessary to learn how to use it effectively. So, if you are looking for quick-fix buttons that correct everything with one click, you need to keep shopping.
If I could give NX2 4.5 stars, I would do so only because it does crash occasionally under Window 7 and it has a few relatively minor bugs, though they are easily worked around. On the other hand, Nikon technical support has been excellent the few times I've called for help.
Bottom line, NX2 is a professional level editor that can significantly enhance image quality, particularly when working with RAW images.
+24points
Review 14 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Pleasant Surprise

PostedMarch 23, 2011
PhotomicFTN
Location Westchester County, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
I started using Capture NX a few years ago and upgraded to NX2 along the way. There was some flakiness early on, but I must say the latest version (2.2.6) is very stable and bug-free on my aging 32-bit Win XP box. (Can't vouch for other platforms.) It's reasonably fast, if not zippy, with a Core2Quad processor, and it even runs well enough on my Core2Duo notebook that it does occasional duty there when I go mobile.
I started using Capture NX/NX2 to avail myself of the proprietary Nikon stuff (lens corrections, Active-D Lighting), but as my comfort level with the program grew, it has evolved into my RAW processor of choice. The control points thing is actually quite impressive. I rarely, if ever, fire up ACR any more, and when I buy a new Nikon DSLR down the road, I'll be very happy to not have to buy the latest version of Photoshop/Lightroom just to have native camera support.
That assumes, of course, that Capture NX2 will continue to be developed and that any upgrade (e.g. to NX3) will be reasonably priced. I, for one, will be hoping for that to be the case.
+15points
Review 15 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Amazing!

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Mika
Location Houston, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I Just want to update this review section, For those that are worried that the Capture NX2 will not run on windows 7. It runs perfect on Windows 7 64 bit operating systems due to the WOW 64 program in Windows 7. The only thing is you might feel it a bit slow due to the fact this program is written in 32 bit. Meaning that you will only be able to access 2gig's of ram verses the 4+ gig's of ram you could if it where written in a 64 bit code. If you are running quick fix's in large batches the ViewNX2 program does that very well, Capture NX2 is a little clunky at it.
The absolute power of this program comes into play with the Control Points and the Auto Retouch brush for the beginners out there and for the advanced photographers the NEF RAW capabilities are better I think then Photo Shop or Lightroom 3. With the new updates to the program it will now support the RAW files from the D7000.
This program will take a good picture and turn it into an amazing picture without a massive amount of work involved.
+18points
Review 16 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Control points are fantastic

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Jkev
Location North California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this product on a regular basis. I find the control point feature fantastic.
As I migrate to Windows 7 I really hope Nikon moves forward as well.
+1point
Review 17 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

After this, I just shoot NEF!

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Amateur
Location Brazil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Although the interface is not so much clear, the results are excellent!
-1point
Review 18 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

etonnant par sa simplicite

PostedNovember 8, 2012
aol75
Location montreal
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
J'utilise, maintenant, Capture NX2 depuis près d'un an. Un excellent logiciel pour sa simplicité d'execution à un prix tres abordable.
0points
Review 19 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It does not cover all the functions in View NX

PostedJune 25, 2012
Don Li
I wish the following features from View NX2 are incorporated into Capture NX2, so that I can just use one app:
1. Slideshow
2. Jpeg convertor with image sizes changeable (In Capture NX2 you can use "batch process" convert pictures into Jpeg, but you do not have control on the image size)
+2points
Review 20 for Capture NX 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs an upgrade that allows PlugIns

PostedMay 4, 2012
sburk2430
Location Seattle, WA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great Software "But" its about time Nikon/Nik updates it to say Capture NX3. An upgrade should allow plugins for other vendor packages such as Niks HDR Pro. Most all other popular Raw Conversion software allows plugins.
Other than that, its a great package!
+7points
1 2 3 4 next>>