Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. Camera Control Pro 2

Nikon Inc. Camera Control Pro 2

Take Control of Your Photography—Remotely
Average Customer Rating:
2.195 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
25
15 out of 41(37%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
94 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer Reviews for Camera Control Pro 2
Review 1 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Software

PostedOctober 26, 2013
JimB
Location Hoffman Estates, IL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been using this software for over a year and a half. It does a great job with being able to take pictures through my computer with my D800 tethered. I initially had some troubles getting my computer and camera to sync up but persisted (and bought another USB cable) and it works perfectly now. I had it running on a Windows 7 computer and now have it fully functional on a Windows 8.1 system. Other than the original issue with getting the software and the camera talking, it works like a charm and I have had no problems. There are some people who are complaining about having to pay for this software, well it does a lot and I understand that Nikon has to charge for it to be able to maintain and support it. After spending what I did for the D800 I really have no problems spending this for the software.
Spend some time with it and you will learn a few tricks and find it to be as useful as I do. I use it at least twice a month and have gone through spells where I use it almost daily.
If you need any support then just post a question on the support forum off the product page and either I or one of the other great Nikon users will be happy to respond to your question in a day or two.
It would be nice to have it run full screen, but that is definitely not a deal breaker with this software. All I have to do is zoom in and move around on the image to view what it looks like. I have used it for stacking and the focus feature works great to accomplish this with nice small and consistent steps.
+2points
Review 2 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic program works great on windows 7 (64 bit)

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
matt he cat
Location St Louis, MO, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Camera Control pro 2 is a great program because it supports tethered shooting with Nikon cameras and is even updated to work with the new D600. It also works great with windows 7 (64 bit). I have read that Mac users are upset that it does not work with new Mac OS update. I can shoot and view large RAW files ( 24 MP 14 bit uncompressed) almost instantly. Provides all histograms and allows the user to enlarge any part of the photo for closer examination. Thank you NIKON.
+7points
Review 3 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Alex
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
It has all the essential settings you have in the camera menu. I had absolutely no problems with the software, the speed is great on a decent computer with a decent camera (even on x64 win 7). I have found no bugs (oh, except one, on a tab is writen "moive" instead of "movie" :) ). I had used CCP with a d90 and now with d7000. I love the live view option, lets you focus anywhere and is perfect for viewing the colors and the final look of the photo directly on the monitor. I also love how the new features of the d7000 were added especially "timelapse photography", a very usefull feature. With a decent computer, a decent camera and a lot of creativity this software is very helpfull.
+14points
Review 4 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Six Months and Still Waiting

PostedDecember 9, 2011
PixelMania
Location New Orleans, LA
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
CC Pro 2 is very capable and useful in the studio. Unfortunately, if you have a new Mac you cannot use it. I fear that by the time they make it compatible with Lion, it will be incompatible with the next OS upgrade. I gave it stars for the features and functionality, but it is useless if it will not run on computers that have been out for over half a year.
+24points
Review 5 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Software

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Roy
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a wonderful software. It allows full control of my Nikon D90. Its coolest feature is the "Time Lapse Photograhy", with which one can take photos at regular intervals automatically. I will definitely recommend this.
+2points
Review 6 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Latest trial version works great on windows 7

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
FrankP
Location Windsor, Co
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
Download and picture capture in less than 2 minutes. (from Nikon/usa website Version 2.8.0) I have a D5000 that I take pictures from 10 feet above and the logistics of up and down ladders is a pain. I can control all the functions (excepting zoom) from my computer and view the picture instantly!
-47points
Review 7 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works together with View NX and projector

PostedMay 1, 2011
Avraham
Location Jerusalem
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've connected my D300 to a Notebook, activated Camera Control Pro and View NX, The Notebook is connected to a screen-projector. When a shot is taken with the D300, it immediately goes thru CC Pro and on to View NX, which is immediately displayed on a large screen by the projector. Works perfectly!
+14points
Review 8 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Impressed

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
John H. Williams, Jr.
Location Pittsburgh, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I downloaded the trial this morning, and I'm very impressed. I really don't see how it could be much easier or more thorough. Nikon has stepped up its game in terms of user interfaces. I see it in the most recent version of Capture NX2. I see it in Nikon ViewNX2. I see it in the Nikon SB-700 I just bought. And it's in this program as well.
Camera Control Pro 2 allows me to connect my D700 through a standard USB cable to my laptop or desktop, make just about every adjustment on screen that I could do on camera (without rooting through all the menus that the camera requires), and take the shot. I can choose whether the camera refocuses. I can manually focus. I can change flash settings. I can change exposure modes. I can change the color temperature. I can change whether the shot will be saved in RAW, jpg, both, and all of the other related options available on the body. I can do live view and see on my screen what the camera sees. Or I can zoom for focusing. It displays how much power is left on my battery.
The software does exactly what it says it will do, and does it easily, clearly and reliably. I'd give it a 6 star rating if I could.
+6points
Review 9 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for me

PostedDecember 1, 2011
Bob
Location NC
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Running an iMac and a Mac Book Pro, both have Intel chips, OS 10.6.8 with very few issues. Use with a D300 & a D7000. My biggest complaint is the camera connection gets loose after repeated use and looses connection but that's a camera issue. Be careful to not knock the mini USB connection around. Could use an upgrade and it is annoying it does not work with all cameras. Still much better than software I've used with other cameras.
0points
Review 10 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Cool...

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Cobra064
Location California
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Many have said it doesn't recognize their camera, doesn't refresh fast etc....
I downloaded the trial in both XP and 7. Running i7, 6 gigs ram; not a single problem. For those that have issues, I would suggest a registry clean up, make sure you don't have cheap slow ram, keep your heat sinks dust free and avoid overheat (that will slow things down), clean up your startup processes, avoid unnecessary installed programs that hog processes from your CPU.
The only thing is if Canon doesn't charge for it, why should Nikon. That's a real bummer.
+6points
Review 11 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works for me

PostedMarch 14, 2011
sjms
Location Warren, NJ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
i purchased this for use in my work. runs as it should under Win 7 64bit. the only negative i have about this software is that when i shot with Canon this was included with the camera models i used at no additional cost.
+19points
Review 12 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Very good but missing something

PostedDecember 21, 2012
DSI
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Professional photographer
Camera Control Pro 2 does what it says it would. You can shoot tethered. It delivers the files very fast, which is great when you shoot people in RAW format. It also stays connected and is not buggy which has been an issue I have had with most other tethering software I have considered.
The only annoying part of using Camera Control Pro 2 and let's say View NX2 for viewing the files when shooting tethered is the absence of a neutralizing tool. What you and your clients end up seeing is usually not nearly as good as it should and will.
I use Capture NX2 to process the files. It is a great software with incredible versatility.
Please Nikon give us a neutralizing tool on Camera Control 2 or on View NX2. Neutralization with the camera on large sets is useless and a pain in all other cases.
For me Camera Control Pro 2 is essential for fast reliable capture which is paramount. Adding neutralization would just be lovely.
0points
Review 13 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Same functionality as the camera itself

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Thayne
I use it with a D90 and it provides pretty much the same functionality that is already available on the camera but it is all controlled remotely by the computer. It does what it says it'll do. The interface is decent although not exceptional. It provides simple access and a global view to all the functions of the camera, and so in that regard is nice. The live view is as if you took the screen from the back of the camera and put it on your computer screen. The files are stored directly on the computer.
+7points
Review 14 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good workhorse but lacks a few needed features.

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Shashinka
Location Santa Barbara, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I've been shooting tethered since the Nikon D70 days thru the D2x and now with the D3. Mostly architecture and interiors, with a good dose of furniture products in studio and on location. Found the software very slow to refresh the image and lagged when several shots were taken. (Mac PowerBook G4 w/2gig ram) Recently upgraded to MacBook Pro and am pleased with the speed, but would like a few added features. Crop tool, Grid, White Balance I dropper for batch adjustments.
All in all, a workhorse that needs an upgrade and a few tweeks.
+105points
Review 15 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Infelizmente não é compatível com as características publicadas!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Mário
Location Brasília - DF, Florianópolis - SC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Possuo duas DSLR's Nikon: uma D5000 e uma D5100. Apesar de constar na descrição do produto (Camera Control Pro 2 - ver. 2.8) como compatível com a DSLR D5100, o software só reconheceu a DSLR D5000. Isto quer dizer que caso eu adquira uma nova DSLR Nikon eu não terei certeza de que a mesma será compatível com o software adquirido, mesmo que a Nikon descreva-a como compatível?
0points
Review 16 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Where is functionality????

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Opfoto
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I downloaded the trial pkg, took about an hour to download and install. Granted I have an old (d70s) camera, but I wanted to shoot tethered for an upcoming job. Hoping to tweak exposure, WB, etc from my laptop...easier to do with older eyes. Even though I Launched it within CaptureNX and ViewNx I could not see it full screen. After RTFM (help file) There is a setting with what to do after the camera captures images. I have only one option " do nothing"!!! Yet the manual states there are others available. The whole reason for me to try was to see captured images full screen. Not sure I'll purchase this after the trial period is over. Nikon should be able to do better by their long term customers. Canon provides their customers with much better product support. Mr. Nikon are you listening???
+1point
Review 17 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Muito fraco

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Argonauta
Role Professional photographer
Eu achava o software da Canon ruim, agora que estou usando Nikon, este é péssimo. Instável, perde constantemente a conexão. Não faz LiveView com tela grande, apenas em uma pequena janela e ainda por cima é caro, ao contrário do Canon que já vem com a câmera.
+1point
Review 18 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cannon's software is free and it works!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
The Dude
Doesn't recognize my d800E! Come on Nikon get it together on the software end of things!!!
+4points
Review 19 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

POR QUE NO FUNCIOA CON D3100

PostedDecember 23, 2012
MONZONN
Location SAN LUIS POTOSI
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
POR QUE NO FUNCIOA CON D3100? QUIERE DECIR QUE MI PRODUCTO ES BASURA?
-2points
Review 20 for Camera Control Pro 2
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not up to date

PostedDecember 15, 2012
ProNYC
Location Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Nikon, Thank you for building the D800. It's full frame 36MP sensor with a high quality build are just what professionals are looking for. The addition of USB3 was a look into the future that was much appreciated too. Images load into Lightroom 4 faster than the Canon's I shoot with even with D800's the much larger files.
So why is it that you made this big push to get pro shooters like myself to switch over from shooting Canon's only to leave us without software that works with Macs. Every single shooter I know uses a Mac. I shoot Editorial, Advertising, and Catalog work and have never seen a PC in a studio. A lot of photographers shoot tethered so the USB 3 is a big plus and shooting using Lightroom 4 works great but live view and camera controls are an absolute must on some shoots.
I'm renting this D800 system now to try it out, so far I like the camera but since I can't use the software running OS 10.8 I'll have to hold off for now making the switch back to Nikon. I started using Canons years ago because of software issues with Nikons.
Give us the tools we need.
+26points
1 2 3 next>>