Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack

Runs on one EN-EL3e, one EN-EL4a (Battery Chamber Cover BL-3 required) or eight R6/AA-size alkaline/lithium/Ni-MH/nickelmanganese batteries. MB-D10 Multi-Power Battery Pack for D700 & D300 includes MS-D10EN for use with EN-EL3e battery (sold separately), and MS-D10 for use with 8 AA batteries (not included; accepts 1.5 V LR-6 (Alkaline), Lithium (FR6), Ni-MH (HR6) or Ni-Mn (ZR6)).
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Review 1 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must Have!

PostedMay 31, 2012
Lê Tuyển Đăng Khoa.
Location Việt Nam
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought a meike grip for Nikon D300s,but i sold it after 4 hrs.The Meike price 70$,MB-D10 334$,but qualtiy of MB-D10 x10 vs Meike.With MB-D10 i feel very comfortable when i take portrait pictures.One more thing,when MB-D10 attached w D300s look like D3 (lol).Highly recommend this product!!!
+5points
Review 2 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The MB-D10 adds extra power while enhancing the camera’s features!

PostedDecember 29, 2011
J. Logan
Location Miami Beach, FL, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The MB-D10 is very easy to attach to the camera (mine is on a D700), just make sure the camera is turned off when attaching it; the CF card light blinks as the MB-D10 is being attached, but this is normal. This battery pack accepts several types of batteries like a EN-EL3e or a EN-EL4a, or EN-EL4 rechargeable batteries; or 8 AA alkaline, Ni-MH, Lithium or nickel-manganese; some features on the MB-D10 are an extra shutter button for when you are holding the camera in portrait mode; this extra shutter button is of course on the top right corner, so the camera feels very familiar when shooting portraits; as well, the way the handle (MB-D10’s) is designed, it feels very secure in your hand -you can even hold it only with with your right hand, while using the index finger to push the shutter button; I mention you can use only the right hand because once the MB-D10 is attached to the camera, the camera becomes squared and big! Actually, the D700 camera (with the MB-D10) is a bit higher than the D3 camera, if both cameras are placed on a flat surface next to each other. On the MB-D10, there’s also an AF-ON button, a multi-selector button, as well as a main and sub-command dials for when shooting pics in tall/portrait mode. On the top of the MB-D10 (when not attached), there is a ‘holder’ for your camera’s contact plastic cover (so you don’t loose it). On the bottom of the battery pack there’s the “Tripod Socket”, which is standard and on the camera’s Menu Options you may select which battery to use first, the camera’s internal battery, or the MB-D10’s. The battery pack adds to the performance of your camera, such as the ability to shoot 8 frames per second! An overall, the MB-D10 is a ‘must-have’ accessory for your camera; it certainly beats just carrying extra batteries; it allows you to do more.
+15points
Review 3 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice feel!

PostedMarch 18, 2011
Markdav801
Excellent build quality.
I purchased the Zeikos Battery grip before buying the MB-D10. It was built nice. But reading the reviews of it compromising the D700, I opted to return that and purchase this.
Expensive but Nikon build. And covered under warranty- my biggest concern.
+8points
Review 4 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MB-D10 "The Second"

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Photog
Location Mesa, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I liked my first MB-D10 so much on my D300s that I purchased this SECOND one for my D700. (See my previous post under "Photog, Mesa, AZ"). This battery grip accessory item makes handling the camera bodies MUCH easier, safer, and just overall is a very convenient item. Also it removes the awkwardness of shooting when rotating the camera 90 degrees for those vertical shots.
+8points
Review 5 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful product and 2 gripes

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Semi-Pro&Canadian
Location Ft Mcmurray, AB
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've been shooting mine for a couple of years now, with only 2 complaints. The first, if I leave the battery in the body, it won't use the grip's power, even after the firmware update. Pulled the battery out of the body, and no worries. The second: I have big hands. When shooting landscape, the knuckle at the base of my little finger sits squarely on the vertical shutter release, and, if I forget to disable it, can trigger it when I drop the camera to a rest position. That being said, the MB-D10 adds fantastic functionality to my D300, weeks of service power, AMAZING FPS in rapid fire, and a nice "Pro" feel to the camera. Highly recommended!
+10points
Review 6 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait? Great addition to my D300s

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Stomper
Location Midland City, AL
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I read all the reviews on the internet about adding the MB-D10 to my D300s. Even looking a pictures of it to judge the size of it on the camera. I purchased it after having my camera for a year and after one month, wonder why I waited. This is a great addition to a D300s. Does it make the camera heavier? Yes. Is it more comfortable to hold ? Yes. Is it more usuable in the vertical position? Yes. I don't use the battery in the camera and only use the standard battery in the MB-D10 which still gives me plenty of shots per charge. The MB-D10 does come with a AA battery holder also. The MB-D10 fits like a glove and looks like it was built onto the camera. I use it on a tripod with a camera plate and can say it does not move at all, in any position. If you have thought about purchasing one, go ahead and get it. You will like it.
+11points
Review 7 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completes the D700

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
MTPhotographer
Location Bozeman, MT
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I added the MB-D10 to my D700 body purely for ergonomic reasons. It makes shooting vertically comfortable and intuitive and dramatically reduces wrist strain.
I do not use a battery in it. I don't need the extra battery power- I regularly shoot 1.5K frames at weddings with just a single battery in the body of the camera without running out of power. Having no battery makes it lighter and better balanced.
Thumb control for adjusting focus point and scrolling through images works just fine. Both exposure scroll wheels work flawlessly. It just works.
Take care of yourself, reduce the wear and tear on your body by adding one to your camera today.
+8points
Review 8 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly Recommended for Appropriate Nikon DSLR's

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Photog
Location Mesa, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The MB-D10 Grip is very useful for general camera handling and for making vertical shots easier. The additional 'gripability' it gives to a camera body makes for easier and safer camera handling, therefore I highly recommend it for all camera users. (Also - NEVER forget to use a good camera STRAP!) Another feature I like is that you can install the EN-EL3e battery into the easy-to-remove battery slide, and leave no (or a backup) battery in the camera itself. The camera models that use this grip can be set to use the in-camera battery first, or the MB-D10 battery first. Removing the EN-EL3e battery from the grip's slide is a snap for quick and easy recharging. (This is faster and easier than fussing with the battery door in the camera base.) The AF control button on the grip is also quite a useful feature. The grip is very well made, durable, and attaches easily to the camera body and will remain secure without fear of loosening. You can also use 8 'AA' cells if you choose not to use the Nikon battery, and the 'AA's' permit up to 7 or 8 fps shooting. This item is an accessory that is WELL worth the cost, and you will NOT be sorry you spent the money for it after you use it. Mine stays on the camera 100% of the time.
+5points
Review 9 for MB-D10 Multi Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product But...

PostedJuly 11, 2010
PnL
Location Houston, TX
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Everything about this grip is spot on at least on my D700. Portrait orientation is much easier to handle with my usually weighty configurations.
The AF On button, Shutter button, and command/sub-command dials actuate the same as my D700 - no sponginess,dead spots, or other usual characteristics. The multi-selector is nearly non-functional because of its' size - Left, Right, and Down are Ok at best, but Up is all but useless. Fit with the camera body is perfect, has a place to store the contact cover (camera side), and two power options (AA or EN-EL3e).
That being said, it is more than worth buying a BL-3 Cover and EN-EL4a to power up. Nikon SHOULD include the BL-3 as part of the kit even if it means increasing the price to cover its' inclusion. It really doesn't make any sense not to include it. Most people I know buy it for the power gain/duration. Hence, the 4 stars instead of 5
+41points