Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MH-23 Quick Charger

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. MH-23 Quick Charger

Enables charging of Rechargeable Li-ion Battery EN-EL9a and EN-EL9.
Average Customer Rating:
2.118 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 17 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
9
5 out of 17(29%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MH-23 Quick Charger
Review 1 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NH-23 has worked flawlessly for 5 years

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
mrk
has worked flawlessly for 5 years ..... then i lost it on holiday, now buying a replacement
0points
Review 2 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple Charge-Thoughtless Performance

PostedJuly 10, 2012
NikonAG
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Got it with my D5000, and until I saw the reviews below, thought it was bulletproof. Maybe I got lucky, but this has not broken or have ever had trouble. Yea, I would recommend it!
+1point
Review 3 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broken charger issues.

PostedApril 16, 2012
LansingAmateur
Location Lansing, MI
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Mine stopped charging like many did here apparently. I cleaned the contacts on the charger and the battery with rubbing alcohol and it then started charging again.
My contacts didn't seem dirty at all.
Hope this helps other people.
+6points
Review 4 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a good charger but....

PostedJuly 23, 2012
Mirphi
I had the same problem as everyone else here. I could not figure out why it stopped charging and then I tried the Clean it with rubbing alcohol tip and it worked like a charm! It started charging right away! SO if yours stops working CLEAN THE CONTACTS WITH RUBBING ALCOHOL. Took me 30 seconds and saved me $58 buying a new one!
+7points
Review 5 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Broken printed circuit board (PCB)

PostedJune 9, 2014
Sonja
If you experience just 2 led flashes when inserting a battery, there is a good chance You have crack
in the primary section of that very weak PCB. The easy fix is to breake open the box , have good look under a magnifying glass...Heat up Your Soldering Iron and bridge the break.
+2points
Review 6 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Charger

PostedMay 13, 2012
dan
My charger has stopped working as well. Fix? It will not charge at all.
+3points
Review 7 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Charger

PostedNovember 14, 2010
seasonphoto
Lasted for a year and then suddenly wouldn't charge my batter at all.
+6points
Review 8 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

It died.

PostedSeptember 20, 2010
Taiwan Photographer
Location Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Worked fine for 2 years. Then suddenly I'm left with no charger. Won't charge, no lights no nothing.
+27points
Review 9 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dead charger

PostedJuly 10, 2012
NikonAmateur
Location Austin, TX
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Charger gave out after four years of use...no abuse, no apparent damage. Battery is still fine. But what other choice do we have?
0points
Review 10 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

same old same

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Swill
Age 18-24
same problem as everyone else. Died, Haven't been able to shoot for two months now due to complications with getting a new one. I've bought two chargers already, going today to buy a third. It's not the battery, my friend has the same camera and the original charger and it has charged fine in her's. It's problems like these why Nikon would benefit from a standardized battery/charger design for their SLRs and DSLRs.
+3points
Review 11 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Charger

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Imag3es
Had it for a year and suddenly died on me...left me with no charger. There's no use for the camera if I have no battery.
+4points
Review 12 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This charger is junk

PostedMay 24, 2011
Char
Location New York, NY
Age 25-34
Is there any other charger I can get for the EN-EL9 battery for a Nikon D60? I can't believe that I just bought a new battery just to realize that it's the charger that isn't any good.
+6points
Review 13 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedMay 6, 2011
Photos80
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
My charger only lasted about a year and I didn't use it very often even. It just stopped working.
+4points
Review 14 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product stinks

PostedMay 1, 2011
lakids11
Location Dayton, Ohio
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was a good charger for about a year and a half. It just stopped working and now I have no charger and lots of work to to!
+2points
Review 15 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality; it died.

PostedApril 24, 2011
Dead Charger
Location Hopkinsville, KY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
For such a nice camera, they made a substandard charger. It just quit working one day. I had it at most for about 2 years.
+4points
Review 16 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Quality

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
deadbattery
Location Dayton, OH
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
In similar fashion as the other reviews... this charger died within 1 year. Nikon obviously has a problem with the design in this charger.
+2points
Review 17 for MH-23 Quick Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedJanuary 29, 2011
Mary
I had this charger for exactly one year and it just stopped working one day. Bummer!!!
+2points