Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

Nikon Inc. MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack

Provides added stability with extended shooting potential. Runs on either one or two EN-EL3e batteries or six AA-size batteries. Compatible batteries include AA-size alkaline, Nickel Metal Hydride (Ni-MH), lithium and nickel-manganese.
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 11 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Review 1 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

PostedJuly 15, 2011
YZE Guy
Location Huntsville, AL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love the MB D80. The thing that attracted me was the balance & placement of the shutter release when shooting in portrait priority. This was of the utmost importance to me after having surgery on my right wrist. Shooting portrait the traditional way was nearly impossible after a few minutes. I have since added a D7000 to my D80 & have the grip for that as well, but I like the design on this grip better. With this one, everything goes in the grip, keeping the user from having to take off the grip to replace the Nikon battery that is in the camera body. I wish they would have kept this design. I love it!
+8points
Review 2 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great for large hands

PostedMarch 8, 2011
threewood
Location detroit,mi
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this accessory allows the camera to fit comfortably in larger handed photographers. wish it could read both batteries though
-1point
Review 3 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent-works a charm

PostedFebruary 9, 2011
Colin
Location Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Bought with my D80 several years ago. Works like a champ. My main reason for getting it was not to use two Nikon batteries, but to be able to use AA batteries if my main battery died and I could not get it charged (I was going to Australia for 2 months and had some questions about ability to recharge the battery daily, or for use at a wedding). I have used this feature several times, and it works great. I primarily use it with one Nikon EL-3 (?) battery.
Unlike some others, I have had zero problems.
I do LOVE the vertical shutter release, and I love how the camera fits in my hand in both vertical and horizontal operation with the pack on.
Two things to be aware of: One, the battery compartment door is removed to use the grip, and there is no stowage area built into the grip, so it's easy to lose the door (I now store mine with my SD cards). Second, it makes it harder to fit the camera on a flash rotator, because it is so tall with the power pack.
+7points
Review 4 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great D90 add on

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
MMPITA
Location Howell, Mi
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I have owned the MB-D80 for over a year now. It works great. You must tighten the screw all the way tight or the contacts do not work. This may be why some had problems. Once connected correctly it has not failed me. Nikon batteries in it last 4 times as long as aftermarket ones. Allows you to shoot movies with enough battery to finish the shoot.
+1point
Review 5 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product

PostedDecember 21, 2010
paul7e
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this grip for my D80 and never had any problems. Then I bought a D90 and the grip fit perfectly, and it is on the camera always. I've read that some photographers had problems with the grip on the D90, but I have not had any problems.
+5points
Review 6 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my D90

PostedAugust 7, 2010
CHESSIEMIKE
Location Hampton, VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
There were several reasons I bought the MB-D80. One was longer battery life. I do a fare amount of night work and the long exposures tended to drain the 1 battery. I also wanted the extra shutter release for when the camera is turned on its side. Another plus I saw was the extra weight to help with the overall balance when using a long lens. For me all these pluses came true. The extra command dials also come in handy. The nice surprise was the built in slot to hold the camera battery cover so it does not get lost. Nikon does a good job at thinking of the little things.
+64points
Review 7 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Must have for portraits

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Nickb
Location California
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very flexible power options! Works well out in the field. The only problem is the shutter release is very sensitive, no hard stop for half way down. Expect a few misfires till you get used to it.
+13points
Review 8 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so tough.

PostedMay 29, 2014
GulleyJimson
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I quite enjoyed this piece of electronic hardware until the little white plastic hook on the side of the battery hold broke off. It will now only accept one battery and what's the point in that?
0points
Review 9 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Unreliable. Frequent power failures when shooting.

PostedJanuary 28, 2011
D90Lover
Location Sacramento, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very disappointed. Puchased new. Used on D90 with only Nikon EN-EL3e batteries. I frequently experience power outages when using the grip. Without the grip the camera runs fine all day. No matter how tight I tighten the knob connecting the grip with the camera the power periodically cuts out for no reason. Yet the display and the battery meter in the menu in the camera say that there is plenty of power left. If I wiggle the grip or turn the camera off and on a few times the power eventually comes back on. Very frustrating. When it works it is a great accessory. But I've missed some nice shots because the power suddenly died. The grip is not reliable. Nikon needs to investigate this issue. Save yourself some money and buy an aftermarket grip instead.
+9points
Review 10 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

piece of trash

PostedDecember 4, 2010
enfield
Location knoxville, tn.
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
i spent a lot of money on a piece of garbage. This thing kills batteries. I have gone through 4 Nikon batteries. I get about 40 pictures with both batteries in it. Then both batteries are dead. This is one of the worst products Nikon makes. I used it on my D90. DON't buy one!!
ENFIELDE
0points
Review 11 for MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Take your chances

PostedNovember 29, 2010
DC1
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been using the MB-D80 Multi-Power Battery Pack for the last six months and have had more problems then not. I shoot motorsports, family portraits, weddings, etc. When I first received the grip it was constantly lost connection. After taking it in and out of the camera several times and almost sending it back it started to work. So I kept it past the return policy date. Five months later it started to loose connection again. Now it looses connection every 6th or 7th photo. The fix according to numerous internet sites is to keep bending the middle prong in the camera battery compartement. Poor Quailty Assurance. Why would Nikon continue to make a product that has so many problems?
+2points