Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED

The Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED is a wide-angle to standard FX format lens that is versatile and can also be used on DX format Nikon D-SLRs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Compact FX Wide Angle Zoom for capturing Landscapes and Street Scenes

PostedMay 4, 2016
Location San Francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this excellent wide angle for use on my D610 and D750 along with the Nikon 16mm-85mm VR Zoom to shoot U.S. Coast Guard events, landscapes, architectural exteriors/interiors, and urban transportation infrastructure. The lens compact size, low weight, and zoom range favor portability when traveling and utilizing two cameras at the same time. I also utilize these lenses on the D610 and D750 with a Nikon 70-200mm F4 VR zoom, 80-400mm VR zoom. I also use for long distance traveling to Japan, Europe, and Greece a Nikon D7100 and D7200, but substitute Nikon's excellent DX lenses; DX 10-24mm Wide angle, and a DX 16-85mm VR zoom to mirror closely the same zoom ranges on the full frame bodies that I purchased after owning the D7000, D7100, D7200 that I use 60% of the time, when travel weight or the 1.5x factor is of benefit. I get excellent publishable results from the Nikon 18-35mm wide angle when used on the full-frame D610 and D750 at a significant cost reduction from Nikon's faster pro-wide angles. It does a good job of replacing my older Nikon 20mm F2.8 AIS lens--and with improved flexibility, sharpness and optical quality.
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome little lens

PostedApril 12, 2016
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a very good lens for the money. If this is the range you need? Then don't think to hard about getting one. Just do it.
Photos taken with a D610
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens very Light!

PostedMarch 30, 2016
Location Saskatchewan, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I grabbed one of these when I bought my D600 and it is an amazing lens. I don't think there is any way to beat it for price, sharpness, color quality and weight! It hardly weighs anything mounted on a D600!
Just an amazing product. feels a little light when on a D700 or D800 but still works awesome!
One upgrade it could have is VR for some nice wide video shooting but it is so light its not even that bad.
100% recommendation!
0points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really a 4.5 Star lens but worth rounding up since that number is not available

PostedMarch 27, 2016
Location Northern AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had this lens for a number of years. I find it to be a very reliable, very sharp lens that is in the true sweet spot of wide angle zoom lenses. Do I wish I had the the 16-35, F4? Hardly ever to be honest. I am a landscape and nature photographer (But no birding, those photographers have infinite patience where mine is pretty vast but finite!). I spend a lot of time in the canyons of northern AZ (Grand Canyon and slot canyons) and southern UT and this lens has served me well with prints up to 24". I rarely need to venture below F4.0 so extra 1/2 stop distance does not play a role in my decisions. The 16-35 weighs nearly twice as much and that adds up over the day regardless of the neck strap as I am now in my mid-60's. If you are a pro go for the big glass, if you see yourself peaking at being a very advanced amateur, like me, this will serve you well IMHO. Best wishes one and all.
+6points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very sharp & very light wide angle!

PostedJanuary 7, 2016
Location Boulder, CO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this zoom lens during long hikes and weight is important. While it is very small & light, it produces outstanding sharp pictures from center to edges. I use it with a D750 and all the pictures are tack sharp with vivid colors. AFS is very fast and right on, never missed a picture. Build quality is high, smooth zoom action... For its price, it is definitively a bargain. One of the best wide angle competing with (and surpassing) much higher price lenses in its category. I wished all the lenses had the same ratio Quality/price
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+7points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Lens

PostedApril 1, 2015
One reviewer below spuriously asserts that the lens is not sharp. Incorrect. I have 24x36in photo taken with the lens sitting in my house. It is amazingly sharp. Check the DXOmark scores, for instance. The colours are remarkable, too.
+7points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente Profundidade de Foco e Nitidez

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Location Ilhabela - SP, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Foi uma ótima aquisição. Robusta, Anel do zoom macio e preciso, nitidez e profundidade de foco perfeitas. Muito boa para interiores, paisagens,arquitetura e retratos, enfim uma lente multiuso!
Parabéns Nikon!
+2points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wide enough and very, very sharp !

PostedMay 17, 2013
Location Chicago, Illinois
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The experts say it has vignetting and distortion, but I haven't seen any of those in normal shooting.But I can see the clarity and sharpness in every shot, even if I shoot wide open. It's light and small and nothing is moving while zooming or focusing (the front glass element is moving in and out just a fraction while zooming, but it all happens behind the filter, so no problem there)
The zoom is so nicely dampened that it makes you play with it for the sheer fun.
It's the most inexpensive new wide zoom from Nikon but they made it awesome (for the price) I'm happy :)
+31points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light lens with incredible sharpness

PostedApril 24, 2013
Location Springfield, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
love this lens, just got it and cant imagine how light it seems... pictures are real sharp with great colors and replication of what you see. I was excited to do landscapes using this lens and no noticeable softness at the edges was found at the edges.
+41points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WELL DONE, NIKON

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Location Texas Hill Country
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The shape and handeling of this lens reminds me of one of my all time favorite Nikon lenses, the 17-35 f2.8. The fact that it is lighter and cheaper is a good thing for me and the kind of shooting that I do at this focal range. The best news is that it has better edge-to-edge sharpness than that lens. IQ wise it falls between the great 16-35 VR and the venerable 14-24 lenses, but of course once again in a more compact and lighter package. It certainly cannot compete with those lenses for lower light shooting and their pro-grade build quality, but on my D600, that has such an amazing useable, ISO range, this lens works quite well for me. The build quality is definitely in the pro-sumer range, but given the light weight, it has a very nice "feel" as the zoom ring is perfectly damped. If the choice was available, I would give this unit a 41/2 star rating. I am very pleased with this product and it's price/quality ratio. Well done again, Nikon.
+36points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great inexpensive wide angle

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Location San Francisco Bay, California, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I originally purchased this lens for real estate photography and have ended up using it for much more than that. It is a great wide angle lens however I do regret not investing in the 17-35 f2.8. So far it is held up to all that it has been faced with. Only complaint is that the lens is so light that it feels cheap. In this case cheap does not mean low quality in any way.
+12points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Have only had it for a week but the sharpness is fabulous for the price. My prime purpose for purchasing this lens was to photograph ships in the Welland Canal. I needed the wide angle to capture the entire ship.So far I am more than happy with this lens.
+28points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 18-35mm f/3.5-4.5G ED
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

wide zoom. not sharp

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
not sharp. light weight. good built. there are better alternatives out there.
if you don't care much about sharpness then this may be the lens for you.
-66points