Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR

Highly versatile wide angle to medium telephoto FX-format zoom lens with Nikon's second-generation Vibration Reduction (VR II) technology for noticeably sharper photos and HD videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.733 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprise Lens!

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Imageon
Location Hot Springs, AR, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I picked up this lens after agonizing over another 24-70 f2.8 or the 24-120 f4.
The lens goes on my D800e and I had my doubts as to how sharp the thing would be.
Now that I have been using it for a while my doubts have faded away and I am really pretty happy with the lens.
I do mostly nature of one type of another now and as a retired Commercial Photographer am pretty picky with how lenses (especially zoom lenses) perform. Being a old guy I am by definition "Old School". Used nothing but primes and medium and large format for years. But after having a 24-70 and and several others lately I am putting my faith in the zooms a bit more.
Digital, aside from putting me out of work, opens up a whole field of possibilities. And with the advances of Photo Shop and Light Room as well as the Niff or Raw format, you have the freedom and the ability to use the zooms to great advantage.
This zoom with its almost ideal range is a great go to lens when you don't want to carry a bunch of equipment around.
The VR is useful and even this old codger is leaving the tripod in the SUV and taking the monopod instead. I shoot the D800e as if it were a 4x5 I may not make a print bigger than 16x20 but I like knowing that the ability is there for much bigger. This lens at around 5.6 -f8 is very capable of knocking out such prints.
My hat's off to Nikon for making such wonderful equipment and making my retirement such a joy. The portability this lens affords makes getting there all that much easer. Because you have to go where the pictures are then the pictures will come to you.
+4points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

El mejor de su gama de precio

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
David Blanco
Location Monterrey, NL, México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Uso una Nikon D7000 (DX) y estoy absolutamente fascinado con la optica de este lente, es un lente que encuentra el equilibrio de lo que es lo soft y lo sharp, sin llegar a extremos en ambos, dando una calidad de colores increible, un bokeh muy buy bueno, ademas un lente versátil. Todo eso y mucho mas en un lente de este precio, es fabuloso.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great walk around lens

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
SCNikonGirl
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens, refurbished, to use with my new D610 as a general walk around lens. I have had it less than a month, but am very impressed with the sharpness and focusing speed. 24-85mm is the perfect range for street photography, candid portraits, and basic landscapes. I would recommend this lens for any photographer looking for a budget friendly walk around lens.
+9points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprise!

PostedNovember 29, 2013
JStrongPhotos
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
When I bought my D610 I decided to pick up this "kit" lens to accompany it, just until I can get spring for the 24-70 f/2.8. After shooting with it a couple of days (not long enough for a thorough test, granted), I have to say I'm impressed by the performance. Very quick focus, very sharp images, pleasant bokeh. The lens has a nice heft to it and feels really well made. For $500 I don't see how you could go wrong. Highly recommended!
+12points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great "street zoom" for DX format cameras

PostedAugust 12, 2013
StraightRazR100
Location Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens closely approximates the popular 35-135mm zoom of the 80s and 90s on my D3200. Sharpness is consistent across the range and the colors are nice due to the use of ED glass.
My only complaint is that the zoom is a little stiff at the ends, but this is a minor thing.
I would recommend this lens to anyone looking for a general purpose zoom for use on a DX format camera.
+2points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel lens

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Nature nut
Location South Africa
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens to use as a travel and walk around lens. I am not a pro but set high IQ standards for my hobby. I specialise in nature and wild life so I have the 70-200 f2.8 and 300 f2.8 as for travel on a recent trip to Europe I took this lens plus my 70- 300 VR as they are both light with my D700. The IQ on both is so good that I view my 24-70 f2.8 as access. It is heavy and with no VR. Great lens but will sell to use money to upgrade my D 700 in due time.
+4points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Lens

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have used this lens on my D800 for 6 months. The lens is very sharp at 50mm stopped down to f/11 as the picture indicates. Also, I have had very sharp pictures at the wide end at f/11 and the long end at f/5.6.
+11points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Totally blown away with the sharpness and overall quality of lens

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Lee
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Upgraded from a Canon T1i with a Sigma 10-20mm and Canon 28-135mm, all great products. The Nikon 24-85 blew me away. I was expecting a kit lens quality product and got much more. I've read a lot of reviews about the camera and this lens and got far more that I expected. I shoot a lot at the 24mm with f/8 for depth of field and get consistently sharp results across the entire frame without a tripod. Over the Christmas holidays also shot a lot of friends and family in-doors and out with equally great results.
If this is the kit lens quality I can't wait to see what the pro line lenses will produce.
+12points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

worth for the price

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Nikona
it is the best lens for travelers. i am using this lens.
0points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great performance for the money

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Grimbot
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
In terms of value for dollar this is a great lens. Excellent centre sharpness....sure it has some softness in the corners but that can be said about most lenses regardless of price. Very lightweight and easy to handle. Paired with the D600 this lens delivers solid performance all round. Very fast focus with the D600, and delivers vibrant colours. Some distortion is to be expected from a zoom lens of this type...but once software catches up with the product launch I'm sure it will be fairly easy to correct. Overall no complaints with this lens given its price point.
For people looking for a good travel combination I'd suggest the 24-85 VR paired up with the 70-300 VR....it won't break the bank and will give you solid performance at a reasonable cost.
+57points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for the normal range., and then some.

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Long Time Photographer
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I like to carry a small, light lens for the middle range. This lens does that and more. The 24mm covers the wide range so that is a big plus. The 85mm for portraits and close ups. I've found the lens to be as sharp as the lens it replaces, the really sharp AF-S 24-85mm that was discontinued in 2006. I was never disappointed with that lens, and now with VR I like the new lens even more. Did I mention this is a sharp lens....
+59points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Compact FX VR Multi-use Travel Nikor Lens

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Scotishlion
Location San Francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens was purchased with the purchase of a D600 SLR Body to mirror my favorite Nikor Travel VR DX 16mm-85mm Zoom used with my D7000, D7100, and D300s Nikon DSLR bodies. I personally use the DX 16mm-85mm and the D7000 and D7100 with battery-Grips as my favorite travel weight and sized choice. The FX 24mm-85mm while being of reasonable size, weight, and optical performance when used on the D600 purchased for low light, event/public affairs, and landscape usage satisifies the 24mm bottom end usage requirement for most subjects but is a bit short on the long end compared to the DX range on a D7000/D7100 APC sensor of 24mm-128mm. However, the preferable range of the Nikon 24mm-120mm VR lens is more expensive, heavier, and in optical performance not signicant enough to out way the performance balance, lighter weight, and cost value of the Nikor FX 24mm-85mm Zoom. I have purchased a Nikor 18mm-35mm 3.5/4.5, and a Nikor 70mm-200mm VR F4 to cover the bottom and top end ranges for use on the D600. There is a bit of over-lap but the even better optical performance of the 18mm-35mm and the 70mm-200mm make for a great balanced FX system with the additional use of a Nikor 50mm 1.8 G, a Nikor 20 F.2.8 prime, and for maritime photography a Nikor 70mm-300mm VR Zoom and a Nikor 80mm-400mm VR Zoom which on my D7000/D7100/D300s gives me a light weight travel 105mm-450mm, and a 120mm-600mm. My only issue is that I generally would not travel with both the D600 system and a D7000 due to the redundancy and extra weight of having to carry two medium zooms and two duplicate wide angle zooms. I still prefer using the DX 16mm-85mm, and the DX 10mm-24mm on the D7000/D7100 for travel over the D600 set-up at this time. The photo results of using the FX 24mm-85mm are very good considering the overall Nikon 2013 D600/24mm-85mm Rebate promotion and was a key incentive in purchasing the terrific Nikon D600. This made the 24mm-85mm VR lens a terrific functional value.
-12points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versatile zoom len

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Joshua 25
Location Alexandria, VA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Good image quality, wide to medium zoom, with me on every trip.
-4points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great walk-around lens

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Longstanding Nikon enthusiast
Location Litchfield County, CT, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Small, light, versatile 'walk-around' lens that has proven very useful for event (even indoors with limited lighting), portrait, and travel photography with a D800. At its focal-length extremes, it's not as sharp or as free from aberrations as one might like. Yet, image quality is very good, and its package of features at this price point makes it a bargain.
+31points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-85mm f/3.5-4.5G ED VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice walk around/ general purpose lens

PostedJuly 6, 2012
speed of light photo
I've had the lens for about 2 weeks and shoot it on my D700. I've taken about 600 shots with it and can say it is an extremely good value in a very light weight package. Image quality is obviously not up to the highest standards Nikon produces, but considering the relatively low price the IQ far surpasses my expectations. Most importantly, its compact size and versatile focal lengths make it a lens you can keep on and have with you. Any distortion is easily corrected in post and the bokeh is surprisingly pleasing due largely to the rounded diaphragm blades. In all an outstanding value, I highly recommend it.
+80points