Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G

FX-format prime lens offers fast f/1.8 aperture and delivers outstanding clarity and high contrast, low-light performance and depth-of-field control for beautiful stills and HD videos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Razor Sharp

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is very sharp. The size is nice for holding. The weight is light. The price is reasonable. If that were not enough, the DXO on this lens is up there with the 24mm 1.4 which costs about $1500.00 more.
+3points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing results from this lens

PostedDecember 31, 2013
JRDPHOTOG
Location Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York.
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I just purchased this lens, ran a bunch of tests at high ISO at f1.8, 2.8 and 4, all available light at several distances - everything sharp as a razor. Used it on an assignment and very pleased with the images, clear, crisp and good color. When I opened the box, I was concerned because this lens is so light - the results are there, that is what counts. My work is primarily for publications, available light photography is the norm.
+5points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MACRO! Nice surprise

PostedApril 27, 2013
RPM777
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Distortion is well controlled and sharpness is maintained from f/1.8 wide open. I have tested many lens's and they all are pretty soft at wide open aperture. Not this lens. I also dont see any focus issues at f/1.8 as well. Color and contrast is superb and images are sharp from edge to edge.
+14points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Light weight, sharp, and easy on the wallet!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Goldrimmer
Location Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Got this lens this past Christmas, and have yet taken it off my camera. very sharp, auto-focus is not bad at all, and its light, so its a great walk around lens. I have done night shots, portrait shots, and even some micro shots with it, and I am very happy with the result with this lens. but one thing to keep in mind, you will get flares when you are at certain angles to the light. for me, i just move to the side a little and retake the shot, and the flares disappear. so, if you are thinking about this lens, get it. I love it!!!
+19points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing affordable lens

PostedJuly 12, 2012
EMEVENT
Location Cleveland, OH, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens has exceeded my expectations and has performed like a champ. When I first got my hands on it I was a little skeptical since it's very lightweight and feels like a toy compared to my other prime lenses. But I was amazed on how sharp and fast this lens performs. If your looking for a wide angle lens but don't want to break the bank then this lens is perfect for you.
One thing I must add is that it does struggle a bit to focus in low light situations such as dark receptions. But a great lens overall.
+25points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality light weight lens.

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Ben Semi Pro
Location New Berlin Wi
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
For the longest time now I've been wanting a faster lens for my Nikon lens line up. I'm still shooting with the DX format cameras but should I upgrade this lens will still be prefect for both formats. It produces images that are razor sharp with a great bouquet in low lighting conditions. Perfect for night clubs and weddings. On my D300 it goes out to about a standard lens, so you might want to get a little bit closer to your subject but that's a good thing. I for one don't see what all the fuss is about with the Focus Ring being sloppy. Anyway I don't think it's even worth mentioning. Been shooting with a Nikon since 1967 and this is another fine addition especially for the price.
+9points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, Light Lense

PostedJune 7, 2012
lilhose
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought this lens to replace my older 28mm f/2.8 and boy am I happy. The f/1.8 makes shooting in low light more capable and the clarity of the photos are amazing.
+21points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressive IQ for the price tag!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Dim
Location Greece
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The lens despite the weight (330g) feels solid with very good build quality for the price tag.
Based on images I took indoors, the sharpness of this lens wide open is really impressive!
Corner sharpness at f/1.8 is extremely good with slight vignetting (as expected).
+18points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall a very good wideangle for landscapes, though not as flare resistant as Zeiss 28mm/2 ZF2 lens.

PostedOctober 16, 2013
SotatsuK
Location Boston, MA, USA. East Blue Hill, ME, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My favorite focal length for 35mm/Full frame has long been 28mm, and I have owned several 28mm lenses from Nikon and other manufacturers. The Nikkor 28mm/2.8 AFS-G lens is one of the best I have used, and once I got the best AF fine tune value set for my lens on my D800E (-15 for my equip, yours may vary), the lens has met most of my expectations. It is well suited to my landscape photography style. I tend to shoot vertical frames most of the time, and the slight field curvature of the Nikkor toward the camera in the corners helps keep the bottom foreground corners sharp. In this respect it’s superior to the Zeiss 28mm/2, which has the opposite pattern of field curvature, with corner focus shifting toward infinity. This makes the ZF2 28mm render landscape foreground corners out of focus, even at f/11, and is worse in many vertical orientation shots where the foreground is usually closer to the camera than in horizontal shots. The Zeiss does seem to suffer less flare in backlit situations than the Nikkor, despite the fancy Nano Crystal Coating. Coatings can’t solve all flare problems and the 28mm/1.8 shows slight textbook flare. The lens hood for the Nikkor is a nice bayonet mounting tulip design made of plastic. On my lens it does not stay super tightly locked, and if bumped in the right way, can rotate and fall off, or if partly rotated can vignette two corners of an image. I plan to keep a better eye on the hood now that I know.
AFS works well on the Nikkor 28mm/1.8, focusing rapidly. Manual focusing is good, but has too short a focus throw despite the geared focusing mechanism, so it’s not as nice to manually focus as a real MF lens like the venerable 28mm/2.8 AIS Nikkor or the Zeiss 28mm. Another disadvantage of the 28mm/1.8 is that it’s a G lens, so it has limited back compatibility with Nikon film cameras. I could use it in P or S mode on my old F4, but not M or A, and lack of an aperture ring means it could only be used wide open on my F3. Too bad, but honestly I would just use my Zeiss 28mm on those bodies. So in short, this is a very good lens, but you need to know how to work within its limitations to get the most out of it.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+4points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Couleur, profondeur de champ, netteté incroyable!!

PostedJune 29, 2012
Davil
Location Granby, Qc
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
J'ai installé cet objectif sur mon D7000 et j'obient des images remarquables. Le seul Hic, au format DX l'angle n'est pas si grand, pour le reste, les images sont très nette et les couleur éclatante!
-5points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

1st impression with a D7000

PostedJune 23, 2012
NikkorFan
Location Texas, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Out of the box, the focusing ring is not as smooth as my other AF-S lenses. A little free play too, you can wriggle the ring back and forth without moving the focusing elements. Not much, only minutely, but it’s there.
Limited shooting on a clear sky afternoon, but I am impressed. Excellent contrast, sharp edge-to-edge, rich colors, and no light falloff. At least on my DX body between f4 and f8.
On the DX body, this lens has the FOV equivalent 42mm on an FX sensor. When the back yard BBQ moved inside, I found my 35mm just a little long. I think this 28 may correct that problem.
Considering my limited use so far, and assuming good low light performance, I would recommend this glass. FX shooters may have different results, but right now I am happy with my choice.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 28mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sharp-ish If You Can Find A Good Copy - Build Quality Is Awful

PostedApril 20, 2013
STL Fashion Shooter
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Returned four new samples because they had two or more of these defects:
- Gritty or crunchy manual focus
- Extreme amount of lateral chromatic aberration (alignment problem?)
- Auto focus sticks or stops working
- Excessive focus shift when stopping down
- Scratches or poor condition
The fifth sample is OK and I'm keeping it, but the focus shift is still pretty serious. I can't recommend this lens due to the evident quality problems.
+3points