Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon's AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR is a high performance FX-format telephoto zoom lens with an f/4 fixed aperture and classic 70-200mm angle of view.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Top Quality Nikon 70-200mm F4 VRll - Optics, Design, Function, and Portability

PostedApril 11, 2014
Scotishlion
Location San Francisco
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The build and optical quality of the Nikon 70-200mm along with its lighter weight and price compared to Nikon's iconic pro-quality 70-200mm 2.8 VRII has proven to be a great choice on all of my current Nikon DSLR cameras: D300s, D7000, D7100, and a D600. I often shoot yachting races and maritime events in the San Francisco Bay with a Nikon 80-400mm mounted on a D300s or D7000 and the Nikon 70-200mm VR F4 mounted on the D600 or D7100 to take advantage of the great optical quality and handling/balance. I find the focusing ease, balance and weight of the 70-200mm F4 to be better than my previous favorite the Nikon 70-300mm 3.5-5.6 VR. The 70-200mm VR Zoom F4 is the lens I would pick for shooting from a moving boat platform or for back packing for shooting nature and landscapes with my D7100 or D600 because of its better optical results than the Nikon 70-300mm across all f stops. I did purchase the optional lens tripod ring as expensive as it was as I believe to get the best results using this lens for sunrise, sunset, and night landscapes it should be used on a tripod, in spite of its terrific stabilization capabilities. I still find myself in a quandary when choosing between the 70-200mm F4 VR and my 70-300mm VR when traveling to places like Greece, Europe, or Japan where I travel currently taking the Nikon D7000 and Nikon D7100 bodies with the Nikon 10-24mm, Nikon 16-85mm, and Nikon 50 1.8 G plus the Nikon 70-300mm VR with its effective 105-450mm range on the DX bodies. One idea is to consider taking the 70-200mm and a 1.4 extender for those times greater magnification is required. The Nikon 70-300mm or 80-400mm would be my choice over the 70-200mm for shooting in Kenya, Africa. I will say one of the determining factors in choosing this terrific lens is that it delivers stunning results with out breaking the bank or my back carrying it vs. the significantly heavier 70-200mm 2.8 VR or the new 80-400mm VR II which both probably are served best with a combination of carrying a tripod or shooting at much higher ISO to capture the best nature or static landscapes. I would highly recommend this lens for moderate telephoto work shooting people or landscapes requiring hand held shots and the new 80-400mm VRII for nature and shooting distant subjects like the America's Cup races recently held in San Francisco.
+15points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens - Totally love how light the lens is

PostedOctober 18, 2013
EricV
Location Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens far outperforms any other mid zoom I have tried on my D800.
+3points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for me

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Alicat67
Location Greenville, SC
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a 67 year old avid photographer and have been lacking a good telephoto lens for my D90. While most of my friends carry f2.8, my experiences in using them were less than satisfactory. I found the weight a real problem for getting sharp, fast shots. A friend suggested I try the f4, and after reading rave reviews, I thought I'd try it out.
I've only had it a week but am more than pleased. It is the sharpest lens I own, easy to use, easy to "walk around" with and I haven't taken a bad shot yet. I can't see any drawback to the f4 over the 2.8 unless you really like carrying extra weight.
Try it; you'll like it.
+22points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very usefull lens

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
ManuLo
Location Miami, FL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelent image quality so good as f2.8 or better, good weigth, construction, speed focus with precission. I prefer f4 if don't need f2.8 for sport photo or concerts with low light.
I recommend use it with 20 iii teleconverter, if you need it, is a good combination.
The only thing, the f2.8 construction is some better, in my opinion.
+13points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility and exceptional image quality

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Anonymous
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The 70-200 f/4 VR is simply a must-have lens. It focuses extremely fast with my D800 and produces incredibly detailed images. I have used it with the Nikkor TC-17E teleconverter and have been very pleased with the results. Having a constant aperture is also fantastic for video production. This lens is sharp throughout its focal range and I have no hesitation shooting it wide open. The VR on this lens is incredible...at 200mm with decent technique it is possible to get tack-sharp images at 1/30 on a consistent basis. It is lighter and much easier to handle than the Nikkor f/2.8.
+16points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

3+ months and going strong

PostedJune 22, 2013
HappyNikonIte
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this camera a day before the MTL St.Patty's Day Parade. Specifically, to get some great pics. And boy did it deliver. The Red's in the costumes was amazing, colors just popped. The AF was fast and I have used this lens for taking pics in multiple Marathons of my wife and friends now with amazing results. I had a little buyers remorse for not buying the 2.8. But when I look at the results of this lens, and the fact I could afford to add on a Teleconverter and high quality filter for less than the 2.8 I have no complaints. This lens really performs. And it is LIGHT! Carrying this thing around all day long is nothing! And my pics in daylight are going to be the same as the 2.8. Only place is lowlight, but you know what? I bought a 35mm 1.8 for lowlight. Voila! Love this lens. It is my go to lens always on my camera.
+10points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing on dx

PostedJune 1, 2013
jakepronikon
Location Hudson, WI, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I use for outside sports and wild life photography on my dx nikon d3200, it is super sharp at f8 and the vr is amazing
+4points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works exceptionally well on DX camera, too

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Old goat
Location Boulder, CO, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The lens is easily as sharp as everyone else comments on. Currently being used on a D7000 and decided on it with the long term goal of moving to an FX body. Also bought a Nikon 1.4x tele-extender. Great combination, very sharp at all f-stops with best appearing to be f8. What with the extender and using a crop sensor camera, it is difficult to get sharp hand-held images at much below 1/100 sec at the 200mm end of the range. On tripod, best results have been achieved using the mirror lock up function. Under this best case scenario, the results remain quite sharp above 100% on monitor. IQ is excellent with or without the extender. The lighter weight of this lens compared to the f2.8 version was a major consideration as it will be carried on back-packing sojourns; lower price was clearly a consideration as well. The auto focus is very fast; great for fast moving kids and animals. All in all, if it meets your "needs", it is highly recommended.
+19points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Winner

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Russ
User submitted photo
As near as I can tell this lens can equal it's f/2.8 big brother optically, but I can stick it on a camera and carry it around without wearing down my shoulder. It's an amazing lens. The VR is remarkable.
+17points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Optics, Awesome VR

PostedJanuary 7, 2013
Photophanatic
Location Saginaw, MI, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Optically, this is one of the best Nikon medium tele zooms I have ever owned, producing sharp, well corrected images throughout it's entire zoom range. Add to this a silky smooth zoom mechanism and Nikon's 3rd generation VR and you have a lens anyone should be highly pleased with. Speaking of the latter, I have been able to consistently obtain blur free images of static subjects hand held at 1/25 second with the lens mounted on my D700 and racked out to 200 mm. Not bad for an 82 year old.
+38points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Lacroix63
Location Southern California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is simply amazing!
I own several Pro-Grade level Nikon lenses including the 70-200 f2.8 VR and recently bought this one hoping that it will be a lighter with close picture quality alternate to the 2.8 version; well, I was totally blown away not only with how light it was but also how sharp and quiet as well. This lens may well replace my heavy f2.8, it's light, sharp, smaller, ED, Nano, and focuses very fast with my D800. This lens is an absolute winner!!!
+52points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than 2.8vrii @ 150mm @ f4 same as @ 200mm and it only gets better.

PostedDecember 24, 2012
PabloSRT8
Location Long Island, NY
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Go above f4 and this lens can challenge the 70-200 2.8 vrii very easily.
VR 3rd Gen feels so much better than previews generations.
And AF speed might not be as fast as the 2.8 but its about 90% there.
Half the weight, just as sharp, one thousand dollars less, better VR.
You do the math.
Tryed it on my D800.
+52points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This Lens Delivers

PostedDecember 20, 2012
David-eye
Location Texas Hill Country
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The new Nikon 70-200 f/4 lens simply does everything it is supposed to do. It is light, compact, and produces eye popping images with edge-to-edge sharpness on my D600. Great product!
+51points