Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G

AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G medium telephoto f/1.8 lens is designed for shooting stills or HD video. The AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8 features Nikon’s Internal Focus (IF) system providing fast and quiet AF and produces sharp and clear images at all apertures. Its fast maximum aperture is ideal for taking stills or HD video under ideal lighting, in low light, head and shoulder portraiture, weddings or concerts. When mounted on a DX-format DSLR, the AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G has an effective field of view of 127mm.
Average Customer Rating:
4.828 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
27
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 68 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens and very versatile

PostedAugust 16, 2014
SnapDad
Location chicago, IL
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just upgraded to an FX body and so still experimenting, but have found a terrific use for this lens on my old DX body. It works great as a semi-telephoto lens, which I use to snap awesome action pics of kids' hockey games! The arenas are often dimly lit compared to NHL games, but this lens lets me take bright, crisp pics at 1/500 of a second from behind the glass. At larger apertures, the skaters appear so crisp and colorful, and really pop against the soft backgrounds. Lens not long enough to shoot from stands or bench; guess I am going to have to bite the bullet and get the 70-200 mm f2.8 and pop that on my D610.
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

DO IT

PostedApril 6, 2014
Ollie
Location Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Since purchasing this lens I have found it very difficult to switch lenses throughout the day...this baby works too well!
The autofocus is nearly always accurate and moves at a decent speed.
The f1.8 creates some beautiful bokeh thanks to a 7 bladed rounded diaphragm.
and I always love a little bit of weather sealing.
Youll just keep shooting with this lens....
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+9points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect lens for portraits

PostedMarch 24, 2014
andreaarellano
Location New York, NY, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a great lens for shooting portraits! At the zoom length, there's no noticeable distortion and can do beautiful things at very large apertures making it perfect for portraits. I've had it for a few weeks and done a couple of shoots. The only criticism would be that it's auto-focusing is not always quick or accurate.
+8points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tack Sharp

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very sharp lens. The price is very reasonable for a tack sharp lens such as this. Auto focus is fast enough in most cases. Color is excellent and coma almost non-existent. Overall you get a lot for your dollar with this lens. On a D800 this lens got a 40 score on the DXO. Not many lenses score higher. A must have if you wish to capture extreme detail or maximize a D800's potential.
+10points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Fast 85mm Lens

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
PhotoGuy1
Location Colorado Rocky Mountains
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Although I have at least three other Nikkor lenses that cover 85mm (classic 85mm manual focus f/2, 24-120mm f/4, and AF-S 80-400mm G) the f/1.8 provides much larger aperture and very fine Bokeh for selective focus work. Very good resolution wide open, even the corners, and excellent resolution corner to corner from f/2.8 until diffraction softening starting about f/11. And virtually no distortion. Although it's not a "gold ring" Nikkor, it's optical performance and mechanical feel are excellent -- manual focusing is precise with no play in the focus ring, and auto-focus is very fast on a D800e.
Definitely a 'must' prime lens for any photographer wanting an excellent short-medium telephoto.
+16points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Lens!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Bobdastro
Location Charlottesville, VA, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been shooting this lens on my D7100 for about 6 weeks, initially with a rental (from BorrowLenses), and now with my own lens. It is superb.
If you follow the DXO Optics website (which, among other things, tests the performance of specific lenses with specific camera bodies), you may have noticed that the Nikkor 85mm 1.8G has exceptional ratings. On my D7100 these far surpass the metrics for the DX lenses that are designed specifically for Nikon's crop-sensor bodies.
DXO's metrics don't lie. The brightness and clarity of what you see through this lens will blow you away. With a tripod at low light, the sharpness of the images I have gotten is astounding. Wide open at F1.8 the depth of field is incredibly tight, which makes it easy to isolate subjects. The bokeh is just beautiful. Except at very low light levels -- such as a candle-lit room -- I have not found the autofocus to be sluggish or to hunt excessively, as some reviews have suggested.
Keep in mind that this lens is designed for a full-frame body, so that if you plan to use it with a DX camera, the 85mm focal length will give you magnification equivalent to a 127mm. The lens therefore performs as a mild prime telephoto rather than as a portrait lens. (Consider the full frame Nikon 50mm 1.8G if you want the equivalent of a portrait lens for a DX body.) And of course, this *is* a prime lens; if you have become used to shooting almost exclusively with a zoom lens, as I have, you will have to make some adjustments in how you frame and shoot pictures with the 85mm.
This lens is certainly not cheap, but I paid $750 for my DX 16-85mm a few years ago, and never regretted the increased sharpness it provided on my old D-40X. In my opinion, this lens is worth every penny.
+19points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Instant Hit

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Jokerspool
Location Charlotte, NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
After only only 1 evening of shooting to try it out, and over 200 images later, I can only rave about this lens. The crisp images I was able to capture coupled with the shallow depth of field has left me in awe of the potential. The candid portraits that I tested with, gave a clear subject with enough focus drop to draw attention right where it was needed. I was even able to take a few hand held shots of the night skys, and the lens, coupled to my D800 captured stars that I did not see with my eyes.
I highly recommend this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+6points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lens

PostedDecember 15, 2013
dandi
Location Seattle, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought it refurbished a few days ago. My first impression-absolutely amazing lens. I own 35mm and 50mm 1.8, but 85mm 1.8g quality blows me away. At 1.8 already is VERY sharp. I took several portraits of my family and it was a huge WOW when I opened the pictures in computer.
For portraits I would use 1.8 through 2.8, no need to go further. It's almost too sharp. I can't see how can somebody be disappointed with this lens.
I expected it to be a little smaller (I like small, compact primes), but it's not a big deal.
Thank you, Nikon.
+8points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muito bom...

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Alexandre
Location São Paulo, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excelente lente. Leve silenciosa...recomendo. Só que acho que tinha ter um VR.
+2points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A pro quality lens at a beginner's price!

PostedMay 11, 2013
Nikonjim
Location Hickory, NC
I can only reinforce what has already been said. This would be worth buying at twice the price. Great color, great focus, and super sharp.
+7points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lens ... love it.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Tashin ..
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this lens worked really good on my Nikon D-90 ...very sharp and bookeh so awesome .. I love it very much .. and it won't disappointed.
+22points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My lens 90% of the time

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Danish Fashion Photographer
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
So much better than the old model, delivers every time, great bokee and skin tones
+4points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding -- A much have

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Golf0007sd
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been looking for a nice 85mm lens, and when a member of my photo club recommended this lens, I pulled the trigger...and I'm so glad that I did. I its weight and sharp photo's to be outstanding. I highly recommend you have this lens in your bag. You will thank me for it..well Nikon really. And the price is just Outstanding!!
+16points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb lens. Blew all my friends and relatives away with the amazing photographs !

PostedMarch 3, 2013
iluvNikon
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Bought from Amazon. It is superb ! I own 50mm and 85mm. I also own the 18-105 kit lens.
85mm and 50mm G lenses are quiet, fast and perform extremely well indoors and outdoors. Their low aperture numbers 1.4 and 1.8 make them ideal for low light. I get some of the best pics almost effortlessly. My sample pic can be seen on amazon (cake cutting one in newly added).
Owned other branded cameras but after moving to Nikon, I am asking myself everyday...why did I not do it sooner ? Its quality is surreal and unsurpassed. This 85mm lens is perfect for portraits but also for any photo really includes landscape.
I would highly recommend this one and the 50mm 1.4G.
+14points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

for the price...great lens

PostedMarch 1, 2013
the kid from da Bronx
Location Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens from Amazon...I did research and read the reviews.
All were favorable...I bought the lens for portrait shooting, I like nice tight shots..Received the lens today March 1, 2013...This lens is very sharp...and has nice bokeh.
I was shooting at F2.2 the images were very crisp...at F5.6 and above the images were phenomenal..
If you're considering this lens get it you won't be sorry...Nikon you done good...
Willie...
+13points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Lens

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Eugene W
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this as a portrait lens for my D7000. My selection was based mainly on the favorable reviews I had read and the affordable price.
The first time I actually used it was in a low light situation (a Christmas Lights Festival) and I was not disappointed at all. Though not a "tiny" lens, it was small enough and light enough to carry around the whole night with no trouble. The images were sharp were the bokeh was very smooth.
I am thrilled with this lens... This piece of glass is is must have.
+10points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens!

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Nikonfan
Location Kansas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wanted something for portrait and street photography, chose this lens and have never regretted it. Focus is pin-point sharp with beautiful bokeh and works very well in low light.
+16points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Image Quality!!!

PostedNovember 20, 2012
RookieDSLR
Location Kansas, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This lens is just down right beautiful! If you need a perfect portrait lens you have to leap on this one. I am just blown away by the quality of images I was able to get out of this lens. I am extremely happy with the purchase and in my opinion the best BANG for your BUCK!!! A must get.
+12points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Value for money

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Jogi
Location India
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I myself Joginder, brought this lens 10 days back, it is so light weight and sharp that I do not have words to express. One of Nikon's best lens ever made. Full marks to Nikon. And keep on making the lens like this which are value for money.
With best regards,
Joginder
+14points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens, value for the money

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Przemek
Location Chicago, IL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens produces beautiful portraits on the D700. It's sharp even wide open and has a pleasing bokeh. You get a lot for the price. I highly recommend it. It's a marked improvement over the older 85mm f/1.8 D which I used to own.
+19points
1 2 next>>