Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G

The AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G close-up lens captures stunning details at any distance including details practically impossible to detect with the human eye.
Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 41 reviews
5 stars
36
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 73 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Review 1 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Value Micro Lens

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This 40mm micro lens performs as well as other micro lenses three times the cost. The photo of the flower below was taken with a Nikon D7000 camera body at the following camera settings: a shutter speed of 1/250 of a second, an aperture of f/8, an ISO of 900, Auto White Balance, and Matrix Metering.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
-2points
Review 2 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Detail at Close Range

PostedJuly 24, 2014
DustyLensCap
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased this Lens for the purpose of capturing small objects at close range.
Right out of the box the first few images that I took were astounding. Although it doesn't have
zoom feature, it will however focus automatically and I knew this when I purchased it. Some of
the sample pictures inspired me to acquire this lens in which I have no regrets. At close range
it is very important to utilize a tripod and remote shutter release to avoid or reduce camera shake
causing blurry captures. Here is are a few photos using a Nikon D-7100.
+14points
Review 3 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedMay 6, 2014
jryd
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I do a lot of macro work and I wouldn't be able to shoot what I love without this lens.
+10points
Review 4 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and affordable!

PostedApril 19, 2014
ClassicDigital
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is incredibly sharp. When used for macro work the images you can capture with it are just amazing. You can heavily crop your images as much as you want and you won't loose detail until the file literally starts to pixelate! I love using this lens for macro. You just have to keep in mind that since this lens is only 40mm you will have to watch just how close you get to your subject.
I wouldn't recommend this lens for insects but for everything else this lens is just amazing. It will also double as a portrait lens to. This lens has a focus limiter switch which limits the lens from traveling though its entire focus throw. This is handy when the lens isn't being used for macro work.
I'd highly recommend this lens if your looking for a small compact macro/portrait lens. It really is a great buy.
 
My product recommendations
 
+22points
Review 5 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Product

PostedMarch 26, 2014
MaggieAR
Location ARKANSAS
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was an answer to my problems in photographing jewelry for listing at Ebay and other online sales sites. The lens hood gets rid of unwanted glare from sparkling rhinestones or polished gold. I can even successfully photograph the designer stamp (designer name, 925 sterling silver stamp, 12k, 14kGF, etc.) on the back of a piece of jewelry without resorting to a magnifying glass. I just received the lens yesterday and was able to start photographing right away. So easy. I love this lens!
+12points
Review 6 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens, high quality, and low price!!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
MaulePilot
Location Arkansas, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens to do light macro work and it has exceeded my expectations. I shot a variety of photos, handheld, well below 1/60 with no blur.
+14points
Review 7 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must-have for amateurs and pro's.

PostedJuly 30, 2013
A lot of power for a little price!
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this lens. I a not much of a macro shooter however on a recent trip I was inspired and really wanted to have some fun and step out of my normal comfort zone.
Simply put, this lens allowed me to see things, everyday things in a brand new light.
This lens is now a staple in my kit whether I am travelling or at home.
-2points
Review 8 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedApril 17, 2013
snapbeauty
Location Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great macro lens. With or without tripod you can create great photos.
0points
Review 9 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice macro lens

PostedMarch 16, 2013
joemav57
Location Upland, PA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Purchased this lens for my Nikon D3100. It has been a great addition to my camera bag. Have used it in capturing flowers and insects. It has exceeded my expectations. Have had it for only a few months. Looking forward to spring and taking more upclose shots.
+25points
Review 10 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and sharp

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
Camera crazy mama
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I was looking for a lens that would be versatile and let me take portraits in lower light than the kit lens and this was a great choice. Loving it! Takes great indoors can still catch the bugs I have always enjoyed shooting outside.
+26points
Review 11 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente lentre macro para el trabajo de campo.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
APache
Location Orizaba, VER, México
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Estuve usando el lente 18-105 provisto con mi D90, pero mi problema era la distancia tan lejana al objetivo que este lente impone al trabajar fotografía macro. Adquirí el 40mm f/2.8 y estoy muy contento con los resultados, he podido lograr muy buenas fotografías a pulso a distancias mínimas de 10 cm al objetivo. Por otro lado, es excelente para retrato. Donde la luz no es suficiente para otros lentes y habría que hechar mano del flash, con este lente se logran excelentes resultados por su gran apertura focal. Trabaja muy bien con el flash integrado de la cámara, aunque para usarle en distancias muy cortas hay que quitar el parasol para evitar sombras en la fotografía. Estoy muy contento con haberlo adquirido.
+14points
Review 12 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality in affordable price

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Guy from Finland.
I bought this lens few days ago. Compared to 18-55 kit zoom lens, images are more sharp and vivid trough this lens. I find that blue flowers are more purple, instead worn-out blue trough this lens. The autofocus motor is silent and the manual focusing ring has a very good feeling and response. Even in 2.8 aperture images are sharp enough and vignetting is very low. I recommend this lens as multi-purpose lens for closeups, landscapes and street photograpy.
 
My product recommendations
D3100
4.7 out of 5(1,343)
 
 
 
 
 
+31points
Review 13 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Gem to Keep Handy

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Trekker
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Most of my photography is either with the 70-200 2.8VRII, or rather wide with the 12-24. While I have a half-dozen older 24mm and 50mm lenses in my lens rack, their control of CA has not been great, and on the D7000 found I needed to adjust focus. I bought the 40Micro-Nikkor and fell in love with it in its own right. No sign of CA, sharp and contrasty, and just a great lens to work with. I keep finding new uses for this lens, but have come to especially love it when using it as a 'normal' lens - check out the attached image of our skittish Norwegian Forest Cat. I use it for fast close-ups when I don't want to use my 105Micro, but mostly it is just that the 40Micro is so fast to work with. It gets the job done, with sensational quality.
+30points
Review 14 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All Purpose Lens

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
P229
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens recently with a D7000 body instead of the kit lens. I have been using it as a walk around lens and found it to be not so limiting. The image quality is superb. The photos are very sharp. Very nice for portraits as well. Close up shots have great detail. I find it to be sharper and has better contrast than my Nikon 50 1.8 D. I really love this lens as I find it to be versatile enough and very sharp at a good price. Of course it is not as convenient as a zoom lens and macro is limited given the relatively short focal length. I doubt I would have been as happy with the kit lens or the Nikon 35 mm 1.8 G.
P.S. These are down-sampled images much lower quality than original files.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+47points
Review 15 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional, Stunning Detail for Both Close ups and Portraits

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
GRAVERAET
Location Hollidaysburg, PA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I HIGHLY recommend this lens. I own the Nikon D7000, which I LOVE. I have been using the lens from the kit 18mm-105mm. I took great photos. But, I was BLOWN AWAY from this 40 mm lens. I was skeptical because it's only 40mm and I have no range other than 40mm....I am taking the time to write this review because the quality of the photos has shocked me. Everybody from the professional photography realm has told me to put money in good lenses. Everybody should have this lens. Here is why: it took exceptional, stunning detail in photos up close and from far away. It is quite an unique lens that I am becoming obsessed with!
 
My product recommendations
 
+42points
Review 16 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Micro Lens

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Benny
Location Central Massachusetts USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I like it for it's compactness. Have used the 60 and the 105. But for traveling it is handy to have a Micro that is small and compact. I like it's design for the DX format. Another great lens from Nikon.
+7points
Review 17 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for close ups

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Mitch
Location Hollister, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
just bought this lens 2 days ago and I am amazed at what it can do. I like taking pictures of flowers and was looking to get more detail. This has helped me to achieve it.
+4points
Review 18 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

would recommend

PostedJune 12, 2012
fitzmak
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I love the sharpness and bokeh, great lens to introduce micro photography
+9points
Review 19 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT! BEST MICRO LENS!!

PostedMay 17, 2012
NikonUser:Drea
Location Milford, CT, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my first Micro-lens and i absolutely love it. Comparing it to the other lenses it much more cheaper and it gets the job done! If you are thinking about taking close-up pictures and want something inexpensive you are looking in the right place. I recommend this lens ! :)
+75points
Review 20 for AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens. Great price.

PostedMay 16, 2012
Eating Hash Browns
Location Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I wanted a lens that would allow me to do close-up and take great portrait pictures at an affordable price. Not at all disappointed.
+19points
1 2 3 next>>