Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

The Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens is a great prime lens choice for portrait and travel photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.87 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 108 reviews
5 stars
97
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
106 out of 108(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
155 Questions | 183 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST Lens.

PostedMay 23, 2016
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my favorite lens. Once I got it, I couldn't stop using it. The pictures come out extremely sharp. Everyone wants me to take pictures of them now that I have this lens because it's THAT good. It's a steal for the price it's at.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedApril 30, 2016
Location Willingboro, NJ, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
A friend of mine let me test his first, then I rushed to go get myself one. Best lens I ever bought in the 20 years of my photography career. Ive been using Tamron and Sigma for years, now I regret it. Tack sharp for portraits. Bokeh is beautiful. Now I am selling my Tamron and Sigma lenses.
+2points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon's best kept secret

PostedApril 2, 2016
Location Vernon, BC, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have used this lens on a D610 and D7100 for about a year, and what can I say that has not been said ...... super sharp ...super fast .... light weight..... and a really good price. Nikon's best kept secret !!! PLUS it works great on a DX body. I highly recommend this lens.
+1point
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing photos

PostedMarch 2, 2016
Role Professional photographer
A major upgrade to my previous lens, the starter lens of the Nikon D3200. The focus is much more intense and better. The f/1.8 allows me to place my shutter speed higher. It's just overall amazing and better.
+11points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lens

PostedJanuary 4, 2016
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I bought this lens for portrait photography of my family. I used it on a recent shoot with my Nikon d3200. I was able to take some amazing group portraits at f8. I used a strobe for my light source. I was indoors. The detail that you see with this lens is amazing. Clearly superior to the kit lens. I think you have to shoot at at least at f5.6 to bring out the full potential of the lens. I have not tried it at the more open apertures. Best bang for the buck. The limitations are that it has no zoom and no image stabilization so has to stay on the tripod. But if you can live with these limitations you will have crazy good pictures for only 220 dollars. It focuses fast and is silent. If you like to take pictures of people this is the lens to get on a budget.
+7points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Lens

PostedNovember 16, 2015
Location Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am by no means a professional at what I do, but I can tell you that this lens is phenomenal. I participate in yearbook at my high school where we have 15 different cameras with tons of different lenses and this is the only one I will use. In fact, I just bought a D3300 for myself this last week and made sure to pick up the nifty fifty 1.8G with it. Absolutely love it!! All photos on this site are taken with the lens: bartelphotography2.wix.com/bartel
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+21points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prime Lens, Prime Quality

PostedSeptember 29, 2015
Location Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I purchased this lens for the second after the first was stolen and I realized the magic of photography is properly back with it, again. Currently I am using this with the D7200 and the results are amazing. It's a stunning lens and is a must have for every photographer !
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+12points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens

PostedSeptember 25, 2015
Location Pretoria, South Africa
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an awesome lens, very sharp, fast AF and performs great in low light. I've been using the lens with my Nikon D7200 for the last few months and love it! Great value for money!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+10points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Phenomenal Portrait Lens

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Location Kent, WA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm a studio portrait and on location Photographer for about 10+ years and have been researching a new lens for several years. This 50mm 1.8 is so much fun to photograph with. It allows me to get up close in portraits and still get a great blurred background. I haven't used it for more then 5 feet away from a subject but it serves pretty darn well so far.
I feel this lens is a must have for any photographer looking for a portrait lens. The 1.8 f stop is perfect for portraits, newborns, and even if you are into product photography!
If you are looking to get into photography you Have to have this in your camera bag.
+11points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite everyday prime lens

PostedAugust 10, 2015
Location California
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
I love this lens immensely. For a novice or everyday lens, it works amazing and isn't hard on the wallet. I got mines as refurb from Nikon and I am overjoyed with the quality it has. Works amazing it low light or bright light. Definately a must for a photographer advancing from the begining kit lens or is tight on wallet. This prime lens is a must.
+7points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 5, 2015
Location Brunswick, GA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I feel as though this lens is fast and crisp. I use it for wildlife and portraits. very versatile for aprime lens!
+3points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Go-To Glass

PostedMay 28, 2015
Location Columbia, SC, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this lens. Watched Youtube videos where some reviews made critical comments about it being plastic instead of metal. That means nothing to me. This was my first lens, and it is miles beyond the kit lenses. This lens will immediately increase your confidence in what you can do with your camera. You will become very familiar with the word "bokeh" as you use this lens.
+13points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Prime Lens

PostedApril 7, 2015
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this lens! Takes sharp pictures and is lightweight. This is the lens I always have on my camera, you won't regret this purchase!
+34points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solução dos meus problemas

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Location São Paulo - SP, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Esta 50mm além de me dar lindas fotos ainda reviveu o mágico habito de fotografar com lente fixa, ter que se mover para enquadrar a imagem. Usava um zoom 4.0 e perdi ótimas fotos por falta de iluminação , com essa 1.8 isso não ocorre mais.
Uma lente leve, clara e rápida no foco.
+15points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fast prime lens!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I got this lens primarily to do head shots for musicians and actors and I couldn't be happier with the results I've gotten. Tack sharp detail, great depth of field for bokeh, and very vivid colors especially in the f/2 range. Light weight and very quiet auto focus round out the best qualities of this lens. If you can only afford one prime lens, this is the one to get.
+21points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Location Minnesota, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is perfect for the price. Fast focus, very sharp, and quiet. Some chromatic aberrations but far better than any other 50 I have ever used and not that noticeable unless you are pixel peeping and easily fixed in PS or LR . In a pinch I have even used this for portraits this full frame lens works with just about every Nikon body and in my opinion excels with the crop censored bodies I have used it on a body I use for wild life the d7100 and it is amazing it becomes around a 75mm lens hens the good for portraits other bodies I have used it on are the d800E, d610, d600, d7100, and I bring it along to use on family cameras at birthday parties so I have also used it with the D3000, d3200, d5000, and the d5200 all photos were great you can not beet this lens especially if you have a crop sensor body you are basically purchasing the 85mm for 200$
+19points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens!

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Location Massachusetts, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is one of my favorite lens I owe. It comes with me on all shoots and is a preferred lens when that focal length works! I use it on my D800 with amazing results. Awesome sharpness and fantastic bokeh, highly recommended lens especially for the price!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+6points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Valeu cada centavo

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Location Macap
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Uma lente rápida, boa para fotos a noite ou com pouca luz, fotos de rostos, flores. Excelente em relação ao custo benefício.
+12points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Running it at about 75mm on a DX camera. It is a sharp fast lens that works decently indoors without a flash. Don't miss it not having VR either as with the f1.8 lens it is quick enough in most situations you won't miss it.
Everything I read so far was right. You do need a fixed focus lens for your first DSLR and this is a great one for the money.
+12points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is problably best money spend on lens ever

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Coming to prime lens which is a further extensive decision that i took, I got stuck with lot of options. There are too many prime lenses available and was unable to find the best one suitable for me. I have gone to many reviews and recommendations through out the net finally i purchased this lens. What can i say.. its so awesome for street photography and Bokey is just Bockelicious..! (sorry my spellings are wrong)
The lens is very fast and very compatible with my D7100.
The AF speed good and decent, and it can be overdrive anytime- I found this more useful feature - better than 1.8D. Sharpness is good wide open and excellent from 2.2 and up- the tested copy of 50mm G's on SLR gear site must be a lemon copy ( also at 2.2 has little less vignetting and bokeh fringing), contrast is very good wide open and it's not hazy(!) like in other primes wide open apertures. It' renders good natural colors with neutrall feel in them perhaps little towards warm side and not very ''cold'' looking ( at least on my copy). A lot of people say that 50mm is useless on dx- I don't agree on this I think this is totally fine focal length on dx !
+29points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>