Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

The Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens Wide-Angle Lens is a great prime lens choice for portrait and travel photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.921 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 76 reviews
5 stars
70
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
75 out of 76(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
139 Questions | 162 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glass

PostedJuly 24, 2014
NikonSuave
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This 50mm 1.8 is a great piece of glass. This on a DX body acts as about a 75mm lens. Because of this, it is a very good and affordable portrait lens for DX users. This was the first lens I bought with my D5200, and I have gotten very good and very sharp results. At times, the image can look a little soft when at 1.8 (or at least close to 1.8). I will admit that sometimes this is my fault, but there are other times I would put the blame on the lens. I do not experience a lot (or any) distortion for the most part, and very minor chromatic aberration, so there is not a lot of fixing you need to do in Lightroom. I have probably had the best results around f/2.8 and on people, animals, and plants. It can sometimes not yield the best results for landscapes because it might not be wide enough, but if the conditions are right, you're bound to get a sharp shot because this glass is very good. I would just like to note that there is no VR and there is a M/A setting which lets you use the focus ring while also being able to autofocus (comes in handy for video). All in all, it is a good piece of glass, just remember you might have to take a few steps back when taking a shot and to shoot around f/2.2-2.8 for a sharp and good bokeh shot.
+3points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Most Bang For Your Buck!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Alexandria
Location DuBois, PA 15801, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I am an amateur photographer that is broadening my skill set. Someone suggested to me to either try the AF-S 35mm or the 50mm. I went with the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G and I am so glad that I did. The way that this lens performs in low light situations is perfection. The bokeh it produces is beautiful. I have tested it on my dog and on people and the way I can easily transition on the manual settings is unmatchable for any of the other lenses I have. I can easily change the Aperture and Shutter Speed in a jiffy and the quality is consistent. I highly recommend this lens for anyone because it's so fairly priced, you cannot pass it up.
+4points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedJune 17, 2014
Davidwilliam
Location Idaho, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens refurbished a few months ago. I have loved the pictures it helps me create. Saved a few bucks and so far it has operated flawlessly.fast in low light completely happy with it!!!!
-1point
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Nikon Deal Available

PostedMay 31, 2014
childeroland43
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
In all honestly, this is by far the best value you can find for a Nikon lens. It works with FX sensors so it can provide great portraits along the entire line of DSLRs. The quality of photos with this lens is incredible. A prime lens can cause you to focus with your feet more than some like, but I never leave the house without the lens in my camera bag.
+4points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50mm 1.8G Can't enjoy enough !

PostedApril 25, 2014
dandi
Location Seattle, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
NIKON -thank you very much for 35,50 and 85mm 1.8G. Finally I bought 50mm. Now I am done with lenses for a long time because I don't think that there is anything better than these three. Combination of quality, size, weight and price-nothing is better. Of course you can get 24-70 or 70-200. But it will cost you thousands, they are huge and heavy. I can't imagine being on vacation in Europe and walking around with 70-200 2.8. I would worry-lens cost as much as vacation. Two years ago I was overseas with D70 and 35mm 1.8 and it was great, never miss another lens. Now I am using D5100 and my pictures are even better. The lens balances great on D5100, you can walk all day like that and always ready for the shot.
The beauty of these 3 lenses (35,50,85) is that they are compact and light and inexpensive. Also very fast. By the way - they are very sharp even wide open at 1.8(in the center), at 2.8 - sharp all over the frame, yet shallow DOF, excellent. Nikon-great job, I am very happy with the purchase.
+12points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just great!

PostedApril 19, 2014
ClassicDigital
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have both this lens and the older 50mm 1.8D. I own both versions because I own two D7000's that I use for video and photography.
This review will be like a comparison between the two. I'm basically just stating my personal opinions and observations.
This G lens is better suited for photography. It produces slightly smoother bokeh but much nicer and rounder bokeh balls when compared to the older D version. Wide open both lenses perform well but this G version produces sharper images at f1.8~2. However once you stop down to say 2.8 or smaller then you'd be hard pressed to tell the differences.
As for subject tracking the newer G lenses just stick to your subjects like glue. The SWM motors just seem to track moving subjects quicker and with better precision. The old D version is no slouch either, but once you use an AF-S G lens to track someone running or people moving around in a play then you'll really start to appreciate Nikon's SWM motor. Of course this is also assuming that you know how to properly setup your cameras AF system. I like to use 9 or 21 points in AF-C mode on my D7000. I find those modes to be perfect for moving or unpredictable subjects.
As for video well Nikon has breathed new life into their older AF-D lenses. The D lenses have an aperture control ring which can be enabled and used on bodies like the D7000 and higher ( f6 in the custom menu). With the aperture ring enabled you can now change your aperture settings without leaving live view. You can also change your aperture while recording video. The aperture control ring alone is why I also bough the older D version.
Overall if you don't shoot video and don't mind spending the extra money on this new G lens then by all means go for it. Also if you own a D3k or D5k series then this lens is your only option. As those bodies don't have built in AF motors. However if you do own a D7000 or higher end body then consider the older AF-D lens. Its very compact and its performance is amazing. Both lenses are great and you really can't go wrong with either one.
+15points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Superb

PostedApril 6, 2014
jd66
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
After using this lens for over a month I have zero complaints. I've been using this on a D3200 and couldn't be happier. The switch from the kit lenses was phenomenal. Super sharp, great color, and fast autofocus. It doesn't get much better than this.
+18points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
hatingdrum
It has fast focus and great picture quality. It is small and light too.
+1point
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
hannah7
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this is a great lens. It is very easy to use, and the photos come out great. I am only 14 years old and I completely understand how to use this lens. I use this with my d3100 camera, and I love how I am able to switch between manual and auto focus. I also love the depth of field it has.I would definitely recommend this lens!
 
My product recommendations
D3100
4.7 out of 5(1,343)
 
 
 
 
 
+22points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50mm 1.8 G

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
aerohugh
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A no brainer, just get one. On a D7100 this lens captures an amazing image in near dark conditions. It is crystal clear, handles depth of field possibilities superbly, and portraits are as good as you'll ever need. Spend $1000 if you must; for 99% of us your images won't be any better than this lens produces.
+14points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this lens

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
LoMeYo
Location Huron, IN 47437, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm a long time photographer, but new to DSLR. I bought this lens on the recommendation of wedding photographer. I love it. I'm using it for everything from portraits to pet photos.
+8points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop reading and buy it now!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Sabit
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Probably the best deal in Digital Camera world. Billion times better than the canon's 1.8 and as sharp as my manual focus zeiss planar.
+5points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good even for D5000

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
jamdvx
Location Mexico
Age 35-44
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm another one D5000 user using this excellent lens, sincerly I don't take care about DX, FX or crop sensor or formats, I see the photo results and I'm fine and so satisfied. Good price, nice performance, sharp images, fast focus through viewfinder, good option to manual-focus even when the automatic is swithced on, the settings in the D5000 work good with this lens and of course the automatic functions work good and excellent depending the situation or scene . Don't be afraid to get this one , 50mm is not wide angle but enough to portraits or outdoors and landscapes or scenes, you won't repent. f/1.8 or come other aperture like f/4 brings nice bokeh blur.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+4points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Lens that packs a punch!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Dawn
Location Kentucky
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I just purchased this lens and used it for the first time. What an incredible lens. Take a look at this shot.
-5points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good things come in small packages!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Just me...
Location London, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
An incredible lens for a can't be beat price! Absolutely a *must have* in your gear kit! Pin sharp & fast!
+1point
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Images

PostedDecember 31, 2013
JRDPHOTOG
Location Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York.
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I opened the box and was surprised to find this very light lens within. The reason it was purchased was because I needed to have a fast 50mm because most of my work is with available light. I could not believe the sharpness and image quality from this lens...and the price!
+8points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Steal for Money

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Jaybee
This lens is the highly recommended prime lens for every eventuality- from amateur to professionals-- best bokeh, high detailed portraits, works good on low- light situations and manages to give that tact sharp image every time you press the shutter release. This is my one and only prime lens that is very flexible in every aspect that I wanted it to cover. A perfect companion. It rarely leaves the body of my DSLR. Highly recommended. Better get one for yourself! Really worth it.
+3points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this little gem!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
NikonMom2013
Location Pennsylvania, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have only had it a few days, and I am using it on my old D40. Gave the old girl some new life per say!! Photos attached are straight from the camera, no post processing, except for the b/w.
+16points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente para fotografar em qualquer ambiente

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Júnior
Location Santos - SP
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Lente perfeita para levar para viagem; leve e não necessita muita luz ambiente para ter uma imagem perfeita. Qualidade da imagem impressiona.
+11points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features for such a small lens

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
begPhotog
Location Asheville, NC, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I ABSOLUTELY love this lens!! I just bought it a few days ago and can already tell it is going to be my favorite lens!!
+5points
1 2 3 4 next>>