Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

This updated classic with a fast maximum aperture is ideal for everyday shooting, perfect in low lighting situations and great for producing images with beautiful background blur (Bokeh).
Average Customer Rating:
4.914 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 70 reviews
5 stars
64
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
69 out of 70(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
132 Questions | 153 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Superb

PostedApril 6, 2014
jd66
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
After using this lens for over a month I have zero complaints. I've been using this on a D3200 and couldn't be happier. The switch from the kit lenses was phenomenal. Super sharp, great color, and fast autofocus. It doesn't get much better than this.
+5points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens.

PostedMarch 21, 2014
hatingdrum
It has fast focus and great picture quality. It is small and light too.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
hannah7
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this is a great lens. It is very easy to use, and the photos come out great. I am only 14 years old and I completely understand how to use this lens. I use this with my d3100 camera, and I love how I am able to switch between manual and auto focus. I also love the depth of field it has.I would definitely recommend this lens!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+10points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

50mm 1.8 G

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
aerohugh
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A no brainer, just get one. On a D7100 this lens captures an amazing image in near dark conditions. It is crystal clear, handles depth of field possibilities superbly, and portraits are as good as you'll ever need. Spend $1000 if you must; for 99% of us your images won't be any better than this lens produces.
+14points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this lens

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
LoMeYo
Location Huron, IN 47437, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm a long time photographer, but new to DSLR. I bought this lens on the recommendation of wedding photographer. I love it. I'm using it for everything from portraits to pet photos.
+6points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stop reading and buy it now!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Sabit
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Probably the best deal in Digital Camera world. Billion times better than the canon's 1.8 and as sharp as my manual focus zeiss planar.
+5points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good even for D5000

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
jamdvx
Location Mexico
Age 35-44
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm another one D5000 user using this excellent lens, sincerly I don't take care about DX, FX or crop sensor or formats, I see the photo results and I'm fine and so satisfied. Good price, nice performance, sharp images, fast focus through viewfinder, good option to manual-focus even when the automatic is swithced on, the settings in the D5000 work good with this lens and of course the automatic functions work good and excellent depending the situation or scene . Don't be afraid to get this one , 50mm is not wide angle but enough to portraits or outdoors and landscapes or scenes, you won't repent. f/1.8 or come other aperture like f/4 brings nice bokeh blur.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+3points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Lens that packs a punch!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Dawn
Location Kentucky
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
I just purchased this lens and used it for the first time. What an incredible lens. Take a look at this shot.
-5points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good things come in small packages!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Just me...
Location London, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
An incredible lens for a can't be beat price! Absolutely a *must have* in your gear kit! Pin sharp & fast!
+1point
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Images

PostedDecember 31, 2013
JRDPHOTOG
Location Professional photographer, Clifton Park (Albany burb) New York.
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I opened the box and was surprised to find this very light lens within. The reason it was purchased was because I needed to have a fast 50mm because most of my work is with available light. I could not believe the sharpness and image quality from this lens...and the price!
+6points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Total Steal for Money

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Jaybee
This lens is the highly recommended prime lens for every eventuality- from amateur to professionals-- best bokeh, high detailed portraits, works good on low- light situations and manages to give that tact sharp image every time you press the shutter release. This is my one and only prime lens that is very flexible in every aspect that I wanted it to cover. A perfect companion. It rarely leaves the body of my DSLR. Highly recommended. Better get one for yourself! Really worth it.
+4points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this little gem!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
NikonMom2013
Location Pennsylvania, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have only had it a few days, and I am using it on my old D40. Gave the old girl some new life per say!! Photos attached are straight from the camera, no post processing, except for the b/w.
+15points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente para fotografar em qualquer ambiente

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Júnior
Location Santos - SP
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Lente perfeita para levar para viagem; leve e não necessita muita luz ambiente para ter uma imagem perfeita. Qualidade da imagem impressiona.
+10points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Features for such a small lens

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
begPhotog
Location Asheville, NC, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I ABSOLUTELY love this lens!! I just bought it a few days ago and can already tell it is going to be my favorite lens!!
+5points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good lens for the money!

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Janik
Location Western, NY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was looking for a good standard lens and this one fits the bill very nicely. Only had it a few days but i'm impressed so far. The auto focus works great even in somewhat limited light.
+6points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma ótima lente

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Eduardo "Dehian"
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Fotografo eventos sociais e ela me serve muito a esse proposito, tanto para fotos de retratos como detalhes.
Não é uma lente muito recomendada para Macro, mas excelente para ambientes com pouca luz e quando se deseja fazer efeito Bokeh de forma rápida e versátil.
Praticamente uma lente obrigatória para qualquer usuário Dslr Nikon.
+7points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENTE RESOLUCIÓN Y BOKEH

PostedMay 30, 2013
SQUONK
Location Argentina
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
A grandes aperturas sigo notando gran definicíon en todo el fotograma, la uso con una D7000 que es formato DX, pero igualmente me sorprendió su calidad óptica.
+5points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

remarkable results

PostedMay 7, 2013
mlnuwan
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I recently brought this lens. image quality is remarkable!!
i am so happy with the product
+8points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Size Doesn't matter...

PostedApril 29, 2013
ehdram D5k
Location Bangkok, Thailand
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got this lense for almost 2 months now and got an amazing result in terms of sharpness. This is my stay on lense for my everyday adventure outdoor when an unexpectable moment captures by my D5100.
+20points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BUY THIS LENS.

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Its knee-kon not "nykawn".
Location Sk. Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Perfect lens if you want to upgrade your 18-55mm kit lens. Very affordable. Has amazing blur and exceptional picture quality overall.
+4points
1 2 3 4 next>>