Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G

The Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Lens is a great prime lens choice for portrait and travel photography.
Average Customer Rating:
4.866 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 97 reviews
5 stars
87
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
95 out of 97(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
151 Questions | 179 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedJune 5, 2015
Location Brunswick, GA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I feel as though this lens is fast and crisp. I use it for wildlife and portraits. very versatile for aprime lens!
+4points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Go-To Glass

PostedMay 28, 2015
Location Columbia, SC, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this lens. Watched Youtube videos where some reviews made critical comments about it being plastic instead of metal. That means nothing to me. This was my first lens, and it is miles beyond the kit lenses. This lens will immediately increase your confidence in what you can do with your camera. You will become very familiar with the word "bokeh" as you use this lens.
+4points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Prime Lens

PostedApril 7, 2015
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this lens! Takes sharp pictures and is lightweight. This is the lens I always have on my camera, you won't regret this purchase!
+19points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solução dos meus problemas

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Location São Paulo - SP, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Esta 50mm além de me dar lindas fotos ainda reviveu o mágico habito de fotografar com lente fixa, ter que se mover para enquadrar a imagem. Usava um zoom 4.0 e perdi ótimas fotos por falta de iluminação , com essa 1.8 isso não ocorre mais.
Uma lente leve, clara e rápida no foco.
+2points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great fast prime lens!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I got this lens primarily to do head shots for musicians and actors and I couldn't be happier with the results I've gotten. Tack sharp detail, great depth of field for bokeh, and very vivid colors especially in the f/2 range. Light weight and very quiet auto focus round out the best qualities of this lens. If you can only afford one prime lens, this is the one to get.
+15points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Location Minnesota, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is perfect for the price. Fast focus, very sharp, and quiet. Some chromatic aberrations but far better than any other 50 I have ever used and not that noticeable unless you are pixel peeping and easily fixed in PS or LR . In a pinch I have even used this for portraits this full frame lens works with just about every Nikon body and in my opinion excels with the crop censored bodies I have used it on a body I use for wild life the d7100 and it is amazing it becomes around a 75mm lens hens the good for portraits other bodies I have used it on are the d800E, d610, d600, d7100, and I bring it along to use on family cameras at birthday parties so I have also used it with the D3000, d3200, d5000, and the d5200 all photos were great you can not beet this lens especially if you have a crop sensor body you are basically purchasing the 85mm for 200$
+13points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens!

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Location Massachusetts, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is one of my favorite lens I owe. It comes with me on all shoots and is a preferred lens when that focal length works! I use it on my D800 with amazing results. Awesome sharpness and fantastic bokeh, highly recommended lens especially for the price!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+5points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Valeu cada centavo

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Location Macap
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Uma lente rápida, boa para fotos a noite ou com pouca luz, fotos de rostos, flores. Excelente em relação ao custo benefício.
+4points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Running it at about 75mm on a DX camera. It is a sharp fast lens that works decently indoors without a flash. Don't miss it not having VR either as with the f1.8 lens it is quick enough in most situations you won't miss it.
Everything I read so far was right. You do need a fixed focus lens for your first DSLR and this is a great one for the money.
+9points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is problably best money spend on lens ever

PostedJanuary 4, 2015
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Coming to prime lens which is a further extensive decision that i took, I got stuck with lot of options. There are too many prime lenses available and was unable to find the best one suitable for me. I have gone to many reviews and recommendations through out the net finally i purchased this lens. What can i say.. its so awesome for street photography and Bokey is just Bockelicious..! (sorry my spellings are wrong)
The lens is very fast and very compatible with my D7100.
The AF speed good and decent, and it can be overdrive anytime- I found this more useful feature - better than 1.8D. Sharpness is good wide open and excellent from 2.2 and up- the tested copy of 50mm G's on SLR gear site must be a lemon copy ( also at 2.2 has little less vignetting and bokeh fringing), contrast is very good wide open and it's not hazy(!) like in other primes wide open apertures. It' renders good natural colors with neutrall feel in them perhaps little towards warm side and not very ''cold'' looking ( at least on my copy). A lot of people say that 50mm is useless on dx- I don't agree on this I think this is totally fine focal length on dx !
+26points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AF-S NIKOR 50mm f/1.8 G Great great lens

PostedDecember 2, 2014
Location Gilbert, AZ, USA
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Works with D50, great lens, good for indoor low light. Happy with it. recommend it.
+3points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Location Carmel, IN, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I was deciding between the 1.4 and the 1.8. After reading many reviews, I picked this lens, didn't disappoint!
+11points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this lens!

PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Location NC
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I'm new to the DSLR community so I did some research on what lens would be the best fit for my needs...mainly taking photos of my nine month old. I'm so glad I chose this lens - the photos I've taken with it are beautiful. I still have a lot to learn so I can't wait to see everything this lens is capable of!
+22points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fastest Lens Ever

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Location Istanbul, Turkey
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This lens is very fast and very high response.
Every photographer had this lens.
-4points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Little lens, big output

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Location Burien, WA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this little lens. It's great for portraits and night photography because of its f1.8. I also love it for its size. It's nice and light when having to carrying it around on a day-long shoot.
+6points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bokelicious

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
It is a very fast lens with some excellent Boke(h). AF is fast and smooth.
if you want a relatively inexpensive lens for everyday shooting
This one is a winner & should be in your go to bag.
0points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gran objetivo,imprescindible

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
pensaba comprar el 1.8D ,y sinceramente creo que este le supera con creces el bokeed es mucho mas suave y atractivo a la vista y el efecto estrella en las fotografías nocturnas resulta sorprendente ,junto al 35mm 1.8G ,se me hacen dos objetivos imprescimdibles y con una calidad /precio que pone a disposicion de los aficionados opticas de pro
+2points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glass

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This 50mm 1.8 is a great piece of glass. This on a DX body acts as about a 75mm lens. Because of this, it is a very good and affordable portrait lens for DX users. This was the first lens I bought with my D5200, and I have gotten very good and very sharp results. At times, the image can look a little soft when at 1.8 (or at least close to 1.8). I will admit that sometimes this is my fault, but there are other times I would put the blame on the lens. I do not experience a lot (or any) distortion for the most part, and very minor chromatic aberration, so there is not a lot of fixing you need to do in Lightroom. I have probably had the best results around f/2.8 and on people, animals, and plants. It can sometimes not yield the best results for landscapes because it might not be wide enough, but if the conditions are right, you're bound to get a sharp shot because this glass is very good. I would just like to note that there is no VR and there is a M/A setting which lets you use the focus ring while also being able to autofocus (comes in handy for video). All in all, it is a good piece of glass, just remember you might have to take a few steps back when taking a shot and to shoot around f/2.2-2.8 for a sharp and good bokeh shot.
+19points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Most Bang For Your Buck!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Location DuBois, PA 15801, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I am an amateur photographer that is broadening my skill set. Someone suggested to me to either try the AF-S 35mm or the 50mm. I went with the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G and I am so glad that I did. The way that this lens performs in low light situations is perfection. The bokeh it produces is beautiful. I have tested it on my dog and on people and the way I can easily transition on the manual settings is unmatchable for any of the other lenses I have. I can easily change the Aperture and Shutter Speed in a jiffy and the quality is consistent. I highly recommend this lens for anyone because it's so fairly priced, you cannot pass it up.
+17points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedJune 17, 2014
Location Idaho, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens refurbished a few months ago. I have loved the pictures it helps me create. Saved a few bucks and so far it has operated flawlessly.fast in low light completely happy with it!!!!
0points
1 2 3 4 5 next>>