Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G

Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 9 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Wonderful All Around Lens

PostedJuly 6, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had the 35mm f/1.4G for a couple of years and still enjoy using it as when I first bought it. I love the smooth bokeh when aperture is wide open though there's color fringing on the out of focus portion of an image, it doesn't take away from the exceptional sharpness and clarity in detail it produces. This is the third prime lens I purchased as I transitioned away from zoom lenses to accompany my 24mm f/1.4G and 85mm f/1.4G. I've used the 35mm f/1.4G to photograph sports and corporate events to impress clients. I especially enjoy using it to photograph my Pomeranian during our walks and travels together.
Should you find yourself in the position to owning the 35m f/1.4G, you will not be disappointed with the results. It's versatile for photographing everything from open spaces of the outdoors to inside close quarters of a small room. Overall it's a pleasure to use and hope you get to experience and capture wonderful images to share.
0points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never leaves my D800E

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Location washington, DC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
i purchased this lens to use doing Street Photography because it's less obtrusive than a 24-70. I have not regretted that decision. The sharpness and Bokeh are phenomenal and coupled with to 800E's resolution make this easily one of the best lenses Nikon has ever made. I've been shooting with Nikon products since 1973 and this is the first lens I just can't take off my camera.
Try it, you'll LOVE it.
+1point
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bright and Optically Superb

PostedDecember 25, 2014
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This lens is perfect for interior low light situations. Below is a photo taken by candle light with a Nikon D4 camera body. The shutter speed is 1/125 of a second, the aperture is f/1.4, the ISO is 2200, with Auto White Balance and Matrix Metering.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+6points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing detail and bokeh

PostedJuly 28, 2012
This is perhaps the best 35 mm lens there is for a nikon FX DSLR. I find it to be perfect for my D800. Portraits and landscape photos are breathtaking.
+10points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Magical!

PostedJune 23, 2012
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is by far my favorite Nikkor lens. I own a range of zoom and fast primes, but, the 35G lives on my camera most of the time. I do love 24G and 85G, but for versatility and image quality, I always fall back to this focal length. The 24G is fantastic, but for closeup shots, distortion can get ugly. The 35G has magical bokeh with slightly exaggerated perspective that sets itself apart from the 50 and 85. When I go through the images in my lightroom, I can always pick out the ones shot with the 35G. It is one of Nikon's true classic, and will always stay in my bag.
+40points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens

PostedApril 15, 2011
Location Minnesota
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I am so happy I purchased this lens! The photo quaility is amazing in all the portraiture work that I do, as well as everyday shots!
+5points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features,quite and smooth

PostedApril 14, 2011
Location carnesville,ga
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Exactly what I was looking for great in low light, smooth and quite lens love everything about it!
-17points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Focal Length Excellent Sharpness

PostedNovember 19, 2010
Location Montreal
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own the 24f1.4 AF-S, 50f1.4 AF-S and the 85f1.4 AF-S, adding the 35f1.4 AF-S made me realize how just right this focal length. It is wide enough but not too wide, which makes it more versatile than the 50 and 24 mentionned above. It is very sharp. Very well built, just like the other ones except for the 50f1.4 AF-S. Autofocus is faster than the 85, 50 and the 24 at least indoors. For me this is clearly the sweet of the bunch.
+58points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 35mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good quality

PostedApril 14, 2011
Location Eindhoven, Netherlands
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I find this lens to be very good as a low light lens. I would use it more if I did not also have the 50mm f1.8. I often mount this one on a second camera to complement my 18-200. Great buy for the price.
-26points