Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR

Compact 5.5X DX-format telephoto zoom lens with High Refractive Index lens element and ED glass is ideal for capturing distant subjects at athletic events, family pictures, dramatic sunsets, travel and more. Nikon VR (Vibration Reduction) image stabilization provides 3.0 stops* of blur free handheld shooting, assuring dramatically sharper still images and HD video capture.

Average Customer Rating:
4.394 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(104 Reviews) 104
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 104 reviews
5 stars
58
4 stars
36
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
95 out of 104(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A gem indeed

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Panujit
Location India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Being a hobbyist, I find the lens excellent. Autofocus is good (with my D7000), VR works fine, excellent bokeh and light weight. Colour representation & contrast is nice. Macro capability is awesome at 0.28X, and I am using very cheap (1$) macro add-on filter with it and got some acceptable result. Con is it is not a low light lens, doesn't work with FX bodies. I personally never used its heavier sister the 70-300 VR so cannot compare the two.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+98points
Review 2 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All in One Lens

PostedOctober 17, 2011
35mmToDSLR Newbie
Location Michigan
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This lens can do it all. I used to carry and swap the 18-55mm lens with this one. The lens is very light by the way. After a while I noticed that most of my shots were at least 6 to 10 feet away. Perfect for the low end of the 55-300mm range of this lens. Plus when I take it to sporting events the 300mm allows me to stay in the bleachers. Alot of our friends have the 200mm lens and have to get alot closer for the same shots. The image stabilizer allows for crisp action photos at any distance.
+117points
Review 3 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for beginners like me...

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Jayz
Location Doha, Qatar
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Love this lens so much... Its great combination with my d3300..
+8points
Review 4 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens - great quality

PostedJune 28, 2014
NikonUser77
Location Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Bought this when I started going to horse shows because I needed something with better zoom.. took it to my second show & was absolutely amazed with the quality of the photos. I'm the type who likes her artsy photos & was quite impressed with how good they looked. If anyone is looking for a zoom lens, I suggest going with this one. Works really well with squirrels & birds in trees too!
+3points
Review 5 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment!!!!

PostedMay 23, 2014
dsanther
Location Alexandria, VA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I was in need of a lens that would go beyond what my small camera would go. I decided to go for this zoom lens after my 18-55mm lens that came with my D40X completely died.
I've had my camera for 6 years and I use it a LOT. Getting this lens reignited my passion for photography. I am not an expert photographer, just like to take good pictures. This lens is awesome. It produces crisp images and complements the camera settings to produce excellent pictures with great colors. I am very happy with this lens.
Pros: It is not heavy and it is easy to carry/fit in a bag; great colors; crisp images; zooms to great lengths keeping details.
Cons: Closer objects are difficult to photograph, but not impossible (I bought extension tubes to resolve this issue)
+6points
Review 6 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lens

PostedApril 22, 2014
Lens
Location St. Petersburg, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I wanted a lens that would get close up from far away. This lens really is better then I expected.
+1point
Review 7 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Investment

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
J053PR
Location Puerto Rico
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Just getting started with photography
I have this lens recommended by a photographer in Best Buy and show me why this one was better than the 55-200mm. I'm glad that I heard his arguments because I love this lens and has a good range for the price. I am not a expert in photography but seeing and making some research in the internet has help to understand more this art. I will say a most have if you want to take pictures of animals.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+18points
Review 8 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great features!

PostedDecember 19, 2013
NikonPhoto
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The lens is great, the VR is great the quality is EXELLENT. I have taken many photos with it combined with my D3100 and they are a great combo!
 
My product recommendations
D3100
4.7 out of 5(1,343)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Review 9 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have for any DX format Nikon.

PostedDecember 1, 2013
McKendree
Location Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use this with my D3200 and rarely use another lens for nature photography. It even takes great portraits when zoomed in to create Bokeh. Need to reach out a bit farther than your kit lens? You wont regret this one, its a higher quality than the 55-200mm, plus it reaches much farther.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+11points
Review 10 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens, excellent value for money.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
askssh
Location Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Compact, lightweight, good performance. Suitable for nature photography. (by the way, I experienced trouble uploading sample photos here)
 
My product recommendations
 
+14points
Review 11 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens!

PostedJuly 11, 2013
gmcbride
Location Lake Lotawana, MO 64086
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Took this little baby out on the water right after I bought if for some sailboat racing photography and was very happy with the results. Even in lower light it performed very well. I pumped the ISO up a little to insure that the shutter speed would stop the action. But the results were dazzling, to be honest. Resolution as sharp as a tack. The autofocus tended to 'hunt' a litte from time to time. But I could live with that. Light weight. Ergonomics just fine. And I guess that the Vibration Reduction was working well as could be expected, considering that I was shooting from a small boat aiming a larger boats moving pretty fast. Nice lens.
+6points
Review 12 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great images, Great Flexibility

PostedMay 27, 2013
pingpaul
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens has demonstrated great flexibility from closeups to field shots. It has performed well as a portrait lens, and done better than yeoman service in the fiield.
+12points
Review 13 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

really good lens. I am very satistfied. Good price.

PostedApril 29, 2013
nikonween
Location Pomona, CA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
very happy with this lens. great focus and sharp images. the price is fair. the lens is a little heavy, but overall worth my investment!
+7points
Review 14 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unparalleled Lens

PostedApril 27, 2013
Killer Lens
Location North Carolina, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Impecable product from NIKON...My only beef is Nikon cameras are no longer made in Japan.
-1point
Review 15 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fly me to the moon.

PostedApril 25, 2013
Just Nikon 1
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My picture with 55-300mm + Nikon J1 + FT1 adapter.
I am not a photographer.
I am a taxi driver.
+7points
Review 16 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value zoom lens, especially if bundled with camera

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Bob
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought mine together with a D3100 just after Christmas and got the bundle discount deal for the lens ($150 off). Have used for high school sports photography and recently at the local nature center. Works well in both locations - nice and sharp at the 55mm end, but a little fuzzier at times at the 300mm end. Works reasonably well in low light, despite the smaller aperture sizes. Lightweight and easy to carry. Better at the 55mm end than the 18-55 kit lens due to bigger aperture - gives a higher shutter speed for sports etc. Lens hood attachment seems flimsy compared to the bayonet type used by other NIKKOR lenses but hasn't broken yet! VR works very well as long as the subject isn't moving too fast or you can use a flash (see attached pictures as examples) - all are hand-held. The ski racing is at dusk/ night time so a difficult combination to capture.
 
My product recommendations
D3100
4.7 out of 5(1,343)
 
 
 
 
 
+12points
Review 17 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for price

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Pathum
Location Wichita, KS, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm not a professional photographer. But I read a lot..I own this product for more than a year. Overall performance is better even though focusing is kind of slow...
+8points
Review 18 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Own a Nikon DSLR ? You Need This Lens......

PostedDecember 6, 2012
JerryZ
Location Waukesha, WI, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is one very versatile lens, takes you from the D5100 kit lens 55mm all the way to 300mm (82 to 450 equivalent on 35mm), and it's extremely sharp on the autofocus, resolution, and color rendition. My first day out with this lens, I went to a race track and shot 450 frames. Used the D5100 motor drive to shoot cars running by at 100+ MPH, some panning, some stop action, some stills, and all the results were great. An excellent lens that I really enjoy using.
+12points
Review 19 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
PhotoTouch
Location Virginia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Not a professional photographer by no means, but I've had nothing but great experiences with this lense. Used with D7000.
+18points
Review 20 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good lens!

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Bjnzzzle
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been used this lens for 2 months. This lens is good for zoom, blur, bokeh....
Worth the money!
+12points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>