Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Nikon’s first all-in-one 16.7X zoom lens with 18-300mm coverage and VR II image Stabilization is designed to go anywhere and tackle any kind of subject.
Average Customer Rating:
4.793 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 29 reviews
5 stars
25
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 29(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The One Lens to Rule them All!!!

PostedJuly 12, 2014
ABG113
Location Green Bay, WI, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Instead of going on some Get Away 25th wedding anniversary trip, my amazing husband bought this lens for me.
I LOVE IT. I'm able to do everything without switching out lens. I haven't missed a single shot opportunity. It's a keeper! My husband too!
-1point
Review 2 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens

PostedOctober 27, 2013
NukePR
Location Florida
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really like this lens. I have a D5100 and had been using a Nikon 18-70 and a Nikon 55-300 as my lenses, which I was constantly changing, and in the process losing shots. I bought this about six months ago, and have used it in a variety of situations, including photographing receptions, photographing art show entries, taking pictures in nature, and some really close-up shots where I used it like a macro. It does an excellent job on all of these. It is heavy, but it is a wonderful all-purpose lens that gives the user many options of focal length to capture a wide range of photos.
+51points
Review 3 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Amazing Lens

PostedJune 10, 2013
Shutterbug
Location Toronto, ON, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
When this lens was announced I was one of the first to get one. I've been happy with it since that day.
Now first of all let's get the negative stuff out of the way. The lens is not razor sharp at all focal lengths. It is also not distortion free at all focal lengths. And it is not very fast, so you can't use it at dusk very well without bumping up the ISO. In Nikon's defense however, it is not possible to design a lens with this range and create the same quality available from a prime lens. If you must have a razor sharp, fast lens you'll have to buy a bag full of prime lenses and a wheel barrow to carry them around in.
So, with that out of the way, while I have a few FX bodies and many razor sharp lenses and while I do a lot of artistic stuff, I also do a lot of travel stuff. The first rule of travel is to travel light. So when I head out on a trip I pack two cameras, a high end point and shoot and a DX SLR body with only one lens, the 18-300. And with that single lens I am able to easily do ten thousand pictures on a trip and return knowing each will be perfect for its intended purpose.
What is amazing is that I can take a picture of a flower in a flower bed near a cathedral (the lens is not a macro but it seems to work on small objects very well), then I can tip the camera up and do the entire cathedral since the minimum focal length is like a 28 mm wide angle lens. And then I can tip the camera up even further to capture every subtle detail of the endless carvings all the way up to the top of the steeple. All of this happens with a single lens and each image is sharp and well exposed. That allows me to capture far more images than I would had I a bag of lenses with me and were I spending a lot of time constantly changing the lenses.
I very much appreciate the image stabilizer too, it seems to allow me at least a three stop latitude, sometimes four stops. This keeps my ISO to a minimum as a rule which adds to image quality of course. The focus motor in the lens is deathly silent, you don't even know it's working, and it's fast, snapping focus into place about the time it takes me to blink and focus my own eyes. The M/A capability is something I love too. Auto focus is not perfect, so sometimes it's necessary to intervene. Setting the lens to M/A allows me to override the selected focus and get the picture without having to change any settings and without having to wait for the camera to hunt for focus. This too is a great time saver.
A side benefit to this is sensor protection too. Before I head on a trip I meticulously clean my sensor and mount this lens. Since I don't have to change lenses throughout the trip, I don't have to worry about the sensor needing cleaning half way through. All I need is some lens cleaning gear which can't be helped, no other cleaning gear is needed.
I do have expensive high end lenses for a variety of different uses but despite that, I love this lens for its utility and the quality of the images it takes. It was worth every penny and replaced the earlier 18-200 which I used to use for travel too.
+53points
Review 4 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You'll love it!

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Liberty 4 me
Location Dallas, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased the 18-300 to put on my D5200. I have been amazed. I really love pet portriat & pet action, nature and sunrise/sunset photography. This all-in-one has not let me down. I would switch lenses frequently, and worried about dust getting in the camera. Now, I never have to remove the lens from the camera and I'm always ready for any shot, whether it be a close-up of an flower or a wide angle sunset. It does have a little weight to it, so it won't spend much time just hanging on the strap, you'll want to hold it. It's well worth it... Another thing that I love is the ability to override the autofocus. When the shutter release is pressed half-way and the camera focuses, you can override it and focus manually simply by rotating the focus ring. No switching back & forth from auto to manual. If you can find one in stock, BUY IT! :-) I love the versatility and image quality. THANKS NIKON!
+71points
Review 5 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

D5100 + 18-300

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Badluck919
Location Phoenix, AZ
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I finally bought when it went on sale for 700.00 almost everywhere. I sold my 55-300. I can say with out a doubt this thing is amazing, I can't believe all the wide angle shots I've been missing, I truly love this. It has reviews for all its downsides, distortion, boeing, pincushion, chromatic, but the can all be fixed easily in post production. I actually like the bowing as I do landscape. It's worth every penny.
+25points
Review 6 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

18-300 mm lens

PostedMarch 6, 2013
My # 10
Location Burnsville Minnesota
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens for my D-5100 camera feb 25th,
mainly used for wildlife and found it to be way
byound my expectations, i highly recomend
this lens to any nature photographer.
Dave A.
+29points
Review 7 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for hobbyist

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Sojee
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens replaces my 18-105 & 70-300. I'm very pleased with it's versatility and sharpness of image.
+13points
Review 8 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

AMAZING!!!!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
PPK
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
What a surprise! It replaces everything i have... The 18-300 is big.. but a lot smaller than the collection of lenses shown in my photo... Amazing. I have compared it to the 80-400 and it looks a little better. It really trumps the 18-200. That has been a great lens for me.. in many trips to Alaska and other fine vacations. The 18-300 is sharper .. nicer color.. and 300 mm. A photo of a bunch of lenses it pretty pitiful, but you can see the color and sharpness of the lens at 300 mm.
Now i have to get rid of all these old lens... Amazing innovation. All this for $300 off too!!
+11points
Review 9 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikkor Lens 18-300mm

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Vince Photography
Location Philippines
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
To be fair, you do get a top-specified lens for your money. It incorporates Nikon's 'Silent Wave Motor' for focusing, and is one of the few superzooms that allows focus to be tweaked manually when set to autofocus (like its little brother, the AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II). It also includes Nikon's 'VR II' optical image stabilization, which promises the ability to shoot handheld at shutter speeds four stops slower than usual without your images being ruined by camera shake.
 
My product recommendations
AN-DC3 Strap (Black)
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-9points
Review 10 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastique

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Nikon Bob
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
J'ai acquis cette lentille dès sa sortie et je suis toujours aussi impressionné par sa précision, son piqué. J'utilise cet lentille avec un D90 et j'arrive à faire des photos à main levé (sans trépied donc) à 1/40e de seconde, sans aucun flou ! Le poids de cette lentille (830 gr.) surprends au début, mais on s'habitue très vite. C'est la première fois que j'ai l'impression d'avoir une véritable lentille passe-partout.
-6points
Review 11 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best Yet

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
photojunky
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I waited until I used this lens as my primary lens for almost 2 years before deciding to write a review. I've put it through every kind of situation and opportunity. Of all the telephoto lenses I've had (don't need the high speed lenses) this one is by far the best. The first thing I noticed right away was the surprising sharpness of my images at full 300mm. All the lenses in the 200mm to 300mm range were very inconsistent in sharpness and left me with many disappointments. The next surprise was the short distance between the subject and the lens at full 300mm. I didn't have to back up over a cliff to take a closeup. The telephotos I had before this one all had wobble and jerky manual focusing - one cost me 700 bucks! I won't mention the big-time manufacturer. I'm hard on camera equipment since I take it hiking and kayaking. This lens is built like a tank as is my 300s. Together they make one tough, reliable picture-taking arsenal. Now I own only one other lens and rarely use it.
+21points
Review 12 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One lens does do it all!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
John in Black Hawk
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I recently purchased the 18mm-300mm DX lens to mount on my D300s. To put it simply, "I love this lens!" I have been shooting with various Nikon cameras for over 40 years! I have lugged up to 65lbs of camera equipment on frequent trips to Alaska and, quite frankly, I'm getting too old to do that anymore. When I started shooting with the 18mm-300mm zoom, I was awe struck with the ease of use, the moderate weight and the images are what I have grown to expect from my Nikon lenses. This is the only lens I need to take with me - it focuses to about 16" at ALL of the zoom ranges! There is nothing else like it on the market.
Yes, it's hefty #just under 3 lbs# and yes, it's expensive #$999.95# but it's the only lens you'll need for a very wide variety of subjects. Ask yourself this, "What are my photos really worth?" If I could have had a lens like this a couple of decades ago I wouldn't have had to haul all those lenses! This is a spectacular lens and it transformed my D300s into a highly desireable camera.
Nikon has done it again! They have eclipsed the competition and made this old photographer a very happy camper! Well done!
+34points
Review 13 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super versatilidade!!!!

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Ricardinho
Location Brasília - DF, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
É uma lente surpreendente!!!! Possui uma grande versatilidade e uma ótima qualidade de imagem, mesmo no fianl do zoom.
Aposentei outras lentes para usar somente esta. É uma ótima opção para quem não quer ficar trocando de lente para fotografar em diferentes ocasiões.
Estou extremamente satisfeito!!!
+14points
Review 14 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

OMG! THAT IS WHAT YOU NEED!

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Antonio
Location USA
FANTASTIC LENS YOU NEEED!!!
PLEASE BUY IT AND ENJOY IT!
-22points
Review 15 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

superb all-around lens

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
jan-jan
Location Philippines
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
if you are a hobbyist who wants to have just one lens that can cover from wide angle to super telephoto, then this is the perfect one for you. this is just a great all-in-one lens. partnered with a 50mm 1.8, then you are complete.
+25points
Review 16 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around lens

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Nikon for Life
Location Concord, NC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been using a Tamron 18-270 and could not wait to get my hands on the 18-300. Clarity is excellent even at the long end, and being a semi pro you cant ask for more in a walk around lense. If you shoot portraits get a prime, if outdoors use this lense and it won't disappoint. I shoot with both a 300S and a D7000 and always use my SB 900 so shadows are not issue. The on camera flash will cast a shadow since it is not tall enough to get over the lens.
+61points
Review 17 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing versatility

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Nikon new fan
Location Chicago
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I conceder myself true amateur but with this model of Lens and D7000 body you can achieve magnificent results. I just purchased D7000 with VR 18-105mm Lens within kit, but when I read the specs on 18-300mm, just released Lens, my mind was set in stone to "must have". From portraits, micro shots , nature, several hundred miles per hour flying objects even , maybe, little heavier Lens is still allowing you to capture great photos, just like a "pro". Chicago Air show , August 2012 was perfect opportunity to put Lens and D7000 with 6sec per frame to test. I am not sure what else would you ask for, accept to hope that maybe in time price will drop down some. Otherwise, I love it. Thumbs up to Nikon new addition AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR.
 
My product recommendations
 
+33points
Review 18 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Experience

PostedAugust 18, 2012
JDChats
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is exciting. The reach is amazing and the pictures are very clear for the magnification. Usually at 300MM the pictures would not expect to be so sharp and clear.
It is a bit heavy and feels well constructed.. I love this lens.
+6points
Review 19 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Un peu lourde mais quelle lentille

PostedJuly 28, 2012
Bass
Location Châteauguay, QC J6J, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Je l'ai acquis afin de remplacer ma 18-55mm et ma 70-300mm. Elle fait des photos magnifiques. L'auto focus travaill rapidement et elle est silencieuce.
Le seul point un peu défavorable, elle est lourde comparativement a sa consoeur 70-300mm. Malgré tout , je n'ai plus besoin de plusieurs lentilles lorsque je voyage, donc je sauve en poid dans mes bagages..
-10points
Review 20 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ocean Grove,NJ

PostedJuly 24, 2012
hbbozsr
Location Ocean Grove, NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great product and the nikon len 18-300 is a good walk around len to take pictures with. I traded 2 lens in for the nikon len 18-300 see sample photo of the nikon len 18-300
 
My product recommendations
 
-13points
1 2 next>>