Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G

FX-format ultra-fast classic portrait lens with high picture quality, high performance, beautiful Bokeh (background blur) and outstanding reliability
Average Customer Rating:
4.943 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 35 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
34 out of 35(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great size and supper sharp !

PostedOctober 1, 2014
profoto
Location Colorado, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I just received this lens yesterday after a six week wait due to a back order issue, however after using it for just one day it was well worth the wait. This lens so far is the best lens of this focal length that I have ever used. Great Lens!
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A melhor de todas

PostedMay 27, 2014
Veronicajjm
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Comprei em janeiro minha 85mm e entre outras que tenho hoje, é incomparável a qualidade, vale muito a pena cada centavo investido.
+3points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Uma das melhores lentes Nikon

PostedMay 23, 2014
Paulo
Location Porto Alegre
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Possuo 3 lentes rapidas da Nikon entre outras da marca, porem, a 85mm se destaca de longe como a pequena notável de todo o kit. Trabalho com full frame e o prazer no resultado da união das características entre o corpo é a lenta é de excelência. Sua aberração é mínima, quase imperceptível e sua luminosidade da liberdade e segurança para fotos mais desafiadoras. Vale realmente a pena. Para mim é a melhor fixa da Nikon.
+2points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Portrait Lens

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
MKPhoto
Location Walnut Creek, CA, USA
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This has become my go-to portrait lens. The image quality is amazing even when shooting wide open. Virtually zero distortion and focuses like a champ.
One of the best lenses in my stable
+6points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

superb lens

PostedNovember 13, 2013
ruel
Location Staten Island, NY, USA
Nikon Family 6-10 years
just sold my 85 1.8g and got this lens and oh boy what a BIG DIFFERENCE. everything is tack sharp even @ 1.4 iam very satified with the switch. and if you thinking doing the same too or thinking of buying one go ahead you will be one happy camper :).
+13points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have used this lens twice, I'm in love with it.

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Artie
Location Maine, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First time using this lens was easy. Put it on my brand new D-800, ( last camera was a D-7000 ). Every picture taken was great. The back ground out of focus but the colors of the fall leaves were just what i was looking for. This is a great portrait lens, I'll be useing this lens a lot.
+9points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Mike
Location Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a great lens with fantastic bokeh qualities. I use it with my D4 and am able to achieve desired results with great consistency.
+26points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In my opinion the best 85mm I have seen.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
gtwhogger
Location Lawton, MI 49065, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I am semi pro in that I earn money to support my Camera addiction and the Nikon 85mm f/1.4G is in my opinion the best glass I have seen even in a medium format equivalent lens this is one of the fastest and cleanest portrait and medium focal length lenses I have owned in a 35mm FX format, Super FAST in low light Sports as in Basketball, and a superb portrait lens with beautiful Bokeh, I couple it to my D3 and D3x and the results are breath taking.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
D3
4.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
+26points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply The Best!

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
McMac
Location Yorkton, SK, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is simply the best lens I own, hands down. It is a great combination with the D800 for sharp images with incredible bokeh. I use this lens for both portraiture and landscape.
+23points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Do It

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Billmcq
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I could write paragraph after paragraph about this lens but everyone before me has said it, so lets keep this simple. There is nothing about this lens that you will be dissatisfied with...absolutely nothing. So if you're thinking about buying it, stop it and just do it. Twenty years from now it will be one of your most favourite and a classic that everyone talks about and wishes they had.
+6points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Portrait Lens

PostedJune 11, 2012
TES Photography
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is a must for all portrait work. I was at a family wedding where I was not the wedding photographer and all the people who saw my images commented that they were superior to the official photographer's work.
Crisp, tack sharp results are almost guaranteed. Be careful shooting @ 1.4 however, all the subjects must be on the same focal plane or some softness in some faces may occur.
Expensive yes but worth every penny.
+21points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best portrait lens

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Neko Mimi
Location TX, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use it on my D7000. I love the focal length on DX. It becomes approximately 135mm on FX. Sometime, I think this focal length is too long in small space, but then it will be fine if I just do the head shot or switch to my trusty 50mm 1.4D. If you are one of those who love portrait photography, I highly recommend it.
+27points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely Superb Chunk of Glass

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
CraigH
Location Orlando, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a fairly large kit of Nikon products and I've been shooting Nikon since I switched from the P brand in 1968. Of all the Nikon glass I've owned, both my older 85 f/1.4 AFD and this new 85 f/1.4 AFS G have been a couple of legendary lenses which deserve that status of legendary. This new one will spend time in the studio but because of its fantastic IQ edge to edge, will also serve as an excellent tight landscape and superb street lens. When you nail a shot with this baby, you really nail it.
The only down side is that it's a little slow in focusing. The reason is the focusing accuracy. Remember, this lens was designed typically as a portrait lens where accuracy trumps the speed of a less accurate lens. As this lens focuses, it moves then locks dead on without hunting. I'll take that. It required no fine tuning with my D300 or D700 which I felt was pretty amazing too.
With regards to classic portraiture, I prefer the 85 over my 105 most of the time though I tend to shoot a lot of head shots. I'm just comfortable with that range both in the studio and outside. The micro contrast in skin tones is crazy beautiful requiring zero to very little editing of the RAW files from my defaults.
The only thing I don't care for is the new two piece plastic hood. If it fits, I'll probably purchase the HN-31 Screw-On Lens Hood which is made of metal.
If you want the very best, go ahead and get this model regardless on the hit on your wallet. You just will not regret it later. The 85 f/1.4 G doesn't disappoint ever if you do your part.
+43points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Cjc
Location Bethlehem PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
You get what you pay for! This lens is nikon's finest 85mm offering yet. Supreme bokeh - a superior lens for portraits or just plain low light work such as basketball. I've been waiting for the older 1.4 to be updated and this lens was worth the wait!
+15points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

85mm 1.4G - Among the greatest lenses ever made.

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
NikonPortrait
Location NYC
User submitted photo
This lens is the most practical 85mm lens every made, taking its uses far beyond that of portrait photography. You get the typically amazing, creamy bokeh at larger apertures that the other wide aperture 85mm lenses from Nikon, Canon, Zeiss, Sigma will provide, but you also get superb corner to corner sharpness when stopped down that no other 85mm lens rivals. Get a look at the MTF charts, rent it, or just buy one. So happy to own this baby. Terrific for general and street photography, and of course GORGEOUS portraits.
+26points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedAugust 2, 2011
songeun7
Location Beaverton, Oregon
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I had Sigma 85mm f1.4 for a few days and I didn't like it because it had too much C.A. problems. I returned it and I bought this Nikon Lens. Simply put this lens is smaller, lighter, quieter and shaper without too much C.A. than Sigma. I am a happy owner of this lens.
+6points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing bokeh and perfect focal lenght!

PostedJuly 21, 2011
"BOKEH MASTER"
Location Urban, IL.
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I am a wedding photographer and was looking for a lens that would give me that "creme de leche" bokeh effect. The subjects just pop out of the page. Lens is a tad slow on focusing, nothing like the speed of the 70-200 vr II, but it does the job. As far as low light photography it dominates second to none. Canon has the f1.2, but the bokeh is equal and the nikon is much faster. Def buy, every penny will be worth the investments to bring your photography to the next level
+28points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The results are excellent!!!

PostedJuly 10, 2011
sigpho
Location Toronto
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is one surefooted piece of glass that rarely misses. Every time I use it I feel like I’ve got something special in my hands. The photographs always look sharp and the bokeh is dreamy. It’s not the fastest focusing lens I have, but it’s one of the most accurate I’ve ever used, tested, rented or borrowed. If you’re serious about getting great results, this is a must have.
+14points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Lens

PostedMay 18, 2011
AGuyWithACamera
Location Phoenix, AZ
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is very nice. I knew it would be good but I was still blown away at how well it worked in low light. Pictures are crisp and focus is perfect. Has a little problem locking on to focus in dark situations but other than that it is perfect. If you are thinking about it you won't be disappointed when you purchase it.
+12points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 85mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still picking myself up

PostedMay 12, 2011
NikonJunkieGirl
Location Berkshire County, MA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I don't use this lens as often as I use the 24 f/1.4 --but when I put this 85 on my D700 I simply fall over. Then it seems to be the only lens I use for a while, until I go wide again.
It's that good. Outstanding clarity. Beautiful mood and bokeh. I say mood because this lens also seems to deliver it! AF is rock solid even in low light and low contrast. I was lucky and got one of the first copies of this lens--and it was perfect--no issues with it at all.
I love this lens. I really do--and you will too. It's expensive, sure, but you get what you pay for. And while all my lenses are sharp -- this one is the king of sharpness.
+17points
1 2 next>>