Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Upgraded standard zoom lens for FX-format D-SLRs offers a constant maximum aperture to maintain exposure settings throughout the entire zoom range.

Average Customer Rating:
4.426 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 61 reviews
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
56 out of 61(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
25 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Nikon Landscape Zoom Lens

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
After visiting numerous National Parks in the United States, this lens has the best combination of focal lengths and optical quality for my landscape needs. Below is a photo taken with this lens and a Nikon D800 camera body at 6:18 AM in Death Valley National Park in California. The shutter speed is 1/4 of a second (on a tripod), the aperture is f/8, the focal length is 24mm, the ISO is 100, the exposure mode is manual, and the white balance is auto.
0points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatilidade e qualidade

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Mazombo
Location Belo Horizonte - MG, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Quando me resolvi pela aquisição da minha primeira câmera de quadro cheio, precisei considerar qual a melhor opção de objetiva para formar o conjunto. Esta objetiva teria que ser capaz de me atender como única lente para levar em algumas viagens e ocasiões em que não estivesse disposto a levar muito equipamento. Descartei a excelente 24-70mm f/2.8 por causa do preço (mas contou também o peso maior e da ausência do VR). A 24-120mm me chamou a atenção por ter todas as características das melhores lentes, além do f/4 fixo. O alcance de 120mm é um ganho na versatilidade da objetiva. Combinado com o sensor de quadro cheio da D610, é possível ampliar este alcance, imaginando que se o sensor fosse APSC, chegaríamos a 180mm com 16 megapixels. A lente não é grande. É preciso ter cuidado apenas com a queda de nitidez em 120mm com f/22. Neste caso, basta usar o diafragma em 5.6, ou 8, com aumento de ISO, se necessário, para se ter ótima nitidez em 120mm. É uma lente magnífica e surpreendente. Estou plenamente satisfeito com a aquisição, por combinar versatilidade e qualidade inegáveis em toda o alcance do zoom.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Standard - Hard to Take Off

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
tthom53
Location Richmond, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While this may not be the sharpest lens in Nikon's bag. it has performed wonderfully as the standard lens on my D300 and D800, and it will reclaim that position on my D810 following the theft of my D800. I have numerous prime lenses (50mm 1.8G; 85mm 1.8G; 105mm micro 2.8G among them), but for pure flexibility and the confidence of knowing I'll get the perfect shot regardless of the distance, this is my lens. My last one was stolen along with my D800, and the new one has a firmer "turn feel" (not a technical term), and I'm hoping it remains so to prevent the lens involuntarily lengthening as it hangs on my shoulder.
+2points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

General purpose FX zoom

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Wasp
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the second 24-120 zoom that I have purchased. The first version I bought did not have VR and I used it extensively when travelling and taking landscapes, etc, on my Nikon film cameras (FM2N, F100, F5, F6's). The lens was sharp and very robustly made. When I bought a D3 I upgraded to the 24-120mm f/4 ED VR version. This newer lens is just as sharp and has the added advantage of VR, which is particularly useful when photographing subjects in low light without a tripod, etc. The lens is robustly constructed and is pretty compact. I often use the lens on my D3 when I do not want to carry a bag full of lenses around. The 24mm focal length is really good for landscapes, etc., whilst the top end of 120mm is good for portraits, etc. All in all a really versatile lens.
+12points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MARRIED TO MY NIKON D800 FOREVER !

PostedMarch 10, 2013
GERBS
Location FAIRFIELD,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just bought a D800 last FEB 14,2013 and deciding if going to get the 70-200mm 2.8 0r 24-70mm 2.8 lens plus the SB910 flash,but budget forbids it.This is my first lens NIKON 24-120MM for my D800. I bought this lens because of the overall coverage when taking a variety shots,you can go from wide to zoom and get good results.With 2 ED glass and 3 Aspherical lens plus VR,Nano coating ,you can never go wrong with this LENS. I suggest you grab one of this until they have $$$ off. This is an upgrade to my ever faithfull Nikon FA.
NIKON D800 BODY-$2999.95
NIKON 24-120 MM-$1296.00 THIS ARE REGULAR PRICES , but with $$$ OFF you can save a lot of money and still have some left to buy a flash.
NIKON D800 W/ $200 OFF =2796.95
NIKON 24-120 MM W/$300 OFF = 996.95 YOU SAVE $500 TOTAL
NIKON SB910 FLASH - $546.95
If you're budget conscious,I suggest you get yours now before instant rebates are gone.
+14points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb general purpose lens

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
JR
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens as a replacement for the kit lens that came with my Nikon D600. The fixed aperture, VR II, internal focus and excellent lens coatings make this wide angle to medium telephoto lens a great all around choice for my general purpose "go to" unit. It is solid without being overly heavy and it balances well. The zoom range covers a bigger range for normal shots than the more common 24-70mm size. It is a professional class lens without the high cost and excessive weight of going to the Nikon f2.8.
I also purchased the new Nikon 70-200mm f4 zoom and together this combo provides everything I need for tack sharp images at an affordable price.
No regrets!
+13points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it

PostedDecember 30, 2012
carioca
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was going to go with the kit lens, but the constant aperture and little extra reach sold me on it. I am glad I went with this lens. It is very contrasty, sharp, very quick to focus, VR is a welcome addition and works brilliantly. A bit heavy, but hey, it's a lot of glass. Loads of distortion, but easily fixable in post processing... all zooms have a lot of distortion. CA seems to be under control and bokeh is quite nice.
+27points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nature photos

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
beamonphotography
Location Frisco, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an awesome lens!Its beyond amazing! All images are sharp! Focus is fast! This is a must buy! Take a look at these photos I've attached. I'm using a D800 camera.
-16points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The one lens solution

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Crusader
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
No, its not the equal of a half a dozen prime lenses. It's not the equal of Nikon's holy trinity of fixed aperture zoom lenses covering the same range. But its remarkably robust compared to the competition, its plenty sharp, and its distortion is acceptable in all but the most critical applications. Five stars for a lens that's good enough for all but the 99th percentile. The only lens I need in my bag.
+48points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Vincent
Just bought this lens today and has blown me away with the VR and sharpness. I was going to get the 2.8mm 24-70 instead but in spite of this one being a stop lower the aditional feature of VR clearly trumps it.in working in low light conditions without a tripod
+16points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent Investment for portraits & much more!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Hards420
Location San Diego, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens 3 months ago and it has not left my camera ever since. I use this lens for everything ranging from in-house portraits, parties, low-light, sunset photography, landscape and much more. This is a MUST have lens to have in your arsenal if you are a serious hobbyist or a semi-pro. The picture quality is super sharp. Overall I rate this lens 5/5. If you have a decent DSLR and want to invest in only one lens then this is the one. You dont need any other lenses apart from this one. It covers good range (24-120mm) for close-ups as well as zoom. For regular people, it is little expensive lens but trust me, you'll love the results. I would recommend to save some money and buy this lens other than any other lenses out there. I have the Nikon D5000 and it matches perfectly with it. I absolutely LOVE this lens!!
+17points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is exceptional lens

PostedNovember 12, 2011
braaj
Location Cerritos, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Fantastic lens, light, sharp and look gorgeous on nikon d700, this is a fantastic lens, just buy it and won't regret. Thank you nikon,
+1point
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thumbs up !!

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
A_ndut
Location East Java, Indonesia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm a newcomer to Nikon Family. Just bought the D7000 paired with this lens less than a month.
I took the system to a resort island in West Java, Indonesia and capture lots of pictures... The result is unarguably amazing. Even my friend, who is a pro-photographer with C***N system, were admiring the IQ.
All of the pictures i took were made handheld..
+3points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This lens is everything I expected and more.

PostedJune 14, 2011
NikonLifestyle
Location Dana Point, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens came highly recommended. I am not disappointed. My first day of shooting showed me that the improvements made over the older 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6 version were truly worth the wait. Blew me away!
+4points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Nikon Zoom!!!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Mike
Location Provo, Utah
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I fought with myself for several months over what zoom lens to upgrade to. I have to say that I have no regrets!!
This lens almost never comes off my camera. It is an excellent walk around lens and despite the max F/4, the VR makes up for it in low light. I was amazed at how crisp the results were even down to 20-30th of a second shutter speed!!!
It is also nicely compact (compared to the other Pro lenses that Nikon has produced). It is solid but not too heavy, and I was pleased to find out that there was no zoom creep like my brothers 18-200.
The only problem that I have found is that you can't use the pop-up flash on your camera with this lens, it is just too large and casts a huge shadow when fully extended. But I have the SB-700 so this is not a problem for me.
+17points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all around lens

PostedMay 11, 2011
swedehiker
Location New York, NY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens covers 90% of my needs and what it doesn't cover my legacy lenses do. It is an excellent combination of speed, weight, focal length, and build.
+15points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best in Class

PostedApril 24, 2011
Anselmeek
Location Lake Charles, LA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
The lens Nikon was missing, I have never really seriously considered moving to the DARKSIDE (Canon) but they did make a 24-105 F4 that left me longing for the equivalent in a Nikon product. Well not only have they meet Canon in this range they have doubled down and surpassed them with this lens. It is my favorite lens and I am considering sell my 24-70 2.8. The 24-120 is sharp and the colors are out of this world. Do buy it.
+48points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 21, 2011
Viewfinder
Location Los Angeles, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Bought this lens as a backup for my 24-70mm f.28 and love it; very sharp at both ends and nice having the extra mm on the telephoto end. A great lens for event photography which I do a lot of. Focuses as well as my 24-70mm in low light using
the SB800 or SB900 infra-red assist. Thanks Nikon
for upgrading this lens!
+30points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 19, 2011
Gucio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been using this lens for about 6 months and have been very impressed with the quality of the photo and the sturdiness of the lens construction.
It's a great multi purpose lens that I seldom have to remove from the camera and the AF is lightning fast.
+19points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

At long last

PostedApril 18, 2011
A serious pro
Location Minneapolis, MN
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The new Nikkor 24-120mm f4 is a long-awaited addition to the Nikon professional line of zoom lenses. I do mainly travel photography, and have found it to be very sharp and well balanced. When I am in a situation where I prefer to travel light, this lens works admirably with my Nikon D300s. The f4 aperture is more than adequate, and reduces the weight from an f2.8 lens considerably. An f2.8 lens in this zoom configuration simply is not necessary.
+42points
1 2 3 4 next>>