Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Upgraded standard zoom lens for FX-format D-SLRs offers a constant maximum aperture to maintain exposure settings throughout the entire zoom range.

Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 76 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
70 out of 76(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
36 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens for every occasion

PostedApril 7, 2016
Location Caracas, Venezuela
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great lens. Beautifull colors, Excellent sharpness. Very fast focussing in low light.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Un zoom parfait pour les voyages et les vacances

PostedJanuary 17, 2016
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
J ai posseder la 28-300 pendant 2 ans, mais lors de l achat de la D810 j ai decider de faire le compromis de migrer vers la 24-120
et ce dernier repond beaucoup mieux en terme de qualité de rendu avec ce nouveau boîtier.
Il y a bien de la distortion et du vignettage mais il est simple de faire la correction logicielle en "bach" et j accepte ce compromis
pour obtenir son excellent piqué, contraste et rendu des couleurs malgré le range relativement étendu de cet objectif!
J ai aussi la 24-70 et la 24-120 m offre la même qualité de piqué pour un poid réduit et une plus grande versatilité!
La construction est excellente avec une bonne fluidité de la bague zoom et aucun jeu dans le fût des lentilles.
La mise au point est précise et rapide.
C est objectif n est pas consu pour remplacer des focales fixes spécialisé mais pour les vacances ou les voyages
où ont aime ne pas être contraint aux changement d objectif et ainsi partir avec un fourre tout plus léger,
cet objectif est impeccable autant en ergonomie qu en excellence des résultats photos!
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow-the refurb is spectacular!

PostedJanuary 5, 2016
Location JAX, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought the refurbished AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR lens direct from Nikon. It arrived double-boxed and securely packaged. I mounted it on my D810 and went out to shoot scenes around my neighborhood. My immediate impressions were that the 24-120 focused accurately and quickly. Images were tack-sharp hand-held, yet only when I went into my home studio to do post-processing did I notice that I had not switched the lens to VR on. So tonight I tried the lens with VR on and I am completely satisfied...VR is astonishing, even at the wide 24mm setting! So just buy this lens, especially if you can order the refurbished model directly from Nikon USA.
+4points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice lens for daily photography.

PostedDecember 9, 2015
Location California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I read couple reviews on this over internet when decide to look for a nice lens for my daily photo shooting needs, I decide to give it a try. The picture is very good to me though my skill has more room to be improved. I will recommend this lens to everyone.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+4points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's the lens I use most, but the bokeh can be cringe-worthy

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Location Washington, DC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had debated whether this lens would be an adequate alternative to a 24-70mm f/2.8 as a "walk around" lens for travel. It's a great value. I love the extra range, and when combined with the incredible light sensitivity of the D750, would I miss the extra speed?
My conclusion: The compromise is real. Not from the speed as much as from the inferior bokeh.
Don't get me wrong. This lens is so versatile, I almost never take it off my D750. The range is irresistible and I can shoot in near total darkness at f/4 with remarkable results.
But when I am shooting against a bright or busy background and want to soften it by shooting at f/4, the bokeh produced by this lens can be cringe-worthy.
Conclusion: A great value. Just know what you're buying. Recommended with reservations.
Attached are a couple of photos where the bokeh made me cringe, and a couple where I thought it was perfectly acceptable. If you can't tell which is which, then you'll absolutely love this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+23points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great walk-around lens.

PostedAugust 17, 2015
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I can't find anything bad to say about this lens.
The constant aperture is a must have and the VR is terrific.
If you buy this lens you will not be disappointed.
Note to Nikon: 28 to 150mm would be a better range.
+4points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Long term quality

PostedJune 21, 2015
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This lens lives on my D800E. I have 18 FX lenses, and it's my favorite.
+12points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice bokeh,light on weight and sharp lens

PostedApril 17, 2015
Location Wyong NSW, Australia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought Nikon D610 FX in March 2015 together with 50mm f1.4G,..50mm 1.4 is a good standard lens however because of short in my finance, I decide to swap 50mm f1.4G with medium range lens zoom so I could take a shot and use the zoom,..took me few weeks decided to swap standard lens with AF-S Nikkor 24-120mm F.4G.... I would like to recommend for the beginner of photographers who short on finance.. 24-120mm F4G is light on weight compare with mid range zoom,sharp lens and nice bokeh..
+21points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Qualidade incrível

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Location Esteio, RS
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Lente de qualidade excelente, utilizo ela em uma câmera DX mas comprei ela já pensando na migração para FX, utilizava antes a lente do kit 18-55mm e uma 55-300mm e essa lente 24-120mm tem uma qualidade de imagem muito superior. Equipamento incrível.
+2points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cores mais vivas e perfeitas

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Location Mogi das Cruzes
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As fotos da natureza que tenho fotografado com essa lente são muito melhor, em termo de cores e nitidez, em relação ao, lente de 18-200mm DX .
+1point
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Useful Zoom

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have been using this lens for the last two years with my D700 mostly for landscape or family photos. it turned out to be an excellent all purpose lens. It has good autofocus speed and is flawless across the frame at all focal lengths and apertures. Additionally, it exhibits wonderful contrast and surprisingly pleasing bokeh. Very happy with the purchase, great job Nikon.
+10points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vs 24-105L this one crushes!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Location Los Angeles
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just switched from Canon 24-105L. You will not be sorry. This lens is just outstanding. I have done many types of settings including flash, indoor, outdoor, portrait, etc. It's just fantastic.
+26points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Nikon Landscape Zoom Lens

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
After visiting numerous National Parks in the United States, this lens has the best combination of focal lengths and optical quality for my landscape needs. Below is a photo taken with this lens and a Nikon D800 camera body at 6:18 AM in Death Valley National Park in California. The shutter speed is 1/4 of a second (on a tripod), the aperture is f/8, the focal length is 24mm, the ISO is 100, the exposure mode is manual, and the white balance is auto.
+28points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatilidade e qualidade

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Location Belo Horizonte - MG, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Quando me resolvi pela aquisição da minha primeira câmera de quadro cheio, precisei considerar qual a melhor opção de objetiva para formar o conjunto. Esta objetiva teria que ser capaz de me atender como única lente para levar em algumas viagens e ocasiões em que não estivesse disposto a levar muito equipamento. Descartei a excelente 24-70mm f/2.8 por causa do preço (mas contou também o peso maior e da ausência do VR). A 24-120mm me chamou a atenção por ter todas as características das melhores lentes, além do f/4 fixo. O alcance de 120mm é um ganho na versatilidade da objetiva. Combinado com o sensor de quadro cheio da D610, é possível ampliar este alcance, imaginando que se o sensor fosse APSC, chegaríamos a 180mm com 16 megapixels. A lente não é grande. É preciso ter cuidado apenas com a queda de nitidez em 120mm com f/22. Neste caso, basta usar o diafragma em 5.6, ou 8, com aumento de ISO, se necessário, para se ter ótima nitidez em 120mm. É uma lente magnífica e surpreendente. Estou plenamente satisfeito com a aquisição, por combinar versatilidade e qualidade inegáveis em toda o alcance do zoom.
+13points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Standard - Hard to Take Off

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Location Richmond, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While this may not be the sharpest lens in Nikon's bag. it has performed wonderfully as the standard lens on my D300 and D800, and it will reclaim that position on my D810 following the theft of my D800. I have numerous prime lenses (50mm 1.8G; 85mm 1.8G; 105mm micro 2.8G among them), but for pure flexibility and the confidence of knowing I'll get the perfect shot regardless of the distance, this is my lens. My last one was stolen along with my D800, and the new one has a firmer "turn feel" (not a technical term), and I'm hoping it remains so to prevent the lens involuntarily lengthening as it hangs on my shoulder.
+24points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

General purpose FX zoom

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the second 24-120 zoom that I have purchased. The first version I bought did not have VR and I used it extensively when travelling and taking landscapes, etc, on my Nikon film cameras (FM2N, F100, F5, F6's). The lens was sharp and very robustly made. When I bought a D3 I upgraded to the 24-120mm f/4 ED VR version. This newer lens is just as sharp and has the added advantage of VR, which is particularly useful when photographing subjects in low light without a tripod, etc. The lens is robustly constructed and is pretty compact. I often use the lens on my D3 when I do not want to carry a bag full of lenses around. The 24mm focal length is really good for landscapes, etc., whilst the top end of 120mm is good for portraits, etc. All in all a really versatile lens.
+14points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MARRIED TO MY NIKON D800 FOREVER !

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Location FAIRFIELD,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just bought a D800 last FEB 14,2013 and deciding if going to get the 70-200mm 2.8 0r 24-70mm 2.8 lens plus the SB910 flash,but budget forbids it.This is my first lens NIKON 24-120MM for my D800. I bought this lens because of the overall coverage when taking a variety shots,you can go from wide to zoom and get good results.With 2 ED glass and 3 Aspherical lens plus VR,Nano coating ,you can never go wrong with this LENS. I suggest you grab one of this until they have $$$ off. This is an upgrade to my ever faithfull Nikon FA.
NIKON D800 BODY-$2999.95
NIKON 24-120 MM-$1296.00 THIS ARE REGULAR PRICES , but with $$$ OFF you can save a lot of money and still have some left to buy a flash.
NIKON D800 W/ $200 OFF =2796.95
NIKON 24-120 MM W/$300 OFF = 996.95 YOU SAVE $500 TOTAL
NIKON SB910 FLASH - $546.95
If you're budget conscious,I suggest you get yours now before instant rebates are gone.
+16points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb general purpose lens

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens as a replacement for the kit lens that came with my Nikon D600. The fixed aperture, VR II, internal focus and excellent lens coatings make this wide angle to medium telephoto lens a great all around choice for my general purpose "go to" unit. It is solid without being overly heavy and it balances well. The zoom range covers a bigger range for normal shots than the more common 24-70mm size. It is a professional class lens without the high cost and excessive weight of going to the Nikon f2.8.
I also purchased the new Nikon 70-200mm f4 zoom and together this combo provides everything I need for tack sharp images at an affordable price.
No regrets!
+18points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was going to go with the kit lens, but the constant aperture and little extra reach sold me on it. I am glad I went with this lens. It is very contrasty, sharp, very quick to focus, VR is a welcome addition and works brilliantly. A bit heavy, but hey, it's a lot of glass. Loads of distortion, but easily fixable in post processing... all zooms have a lot of distortion. CA seems to be under control and bokeh is quite nice.
+30points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nature photos

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Location Frisco, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an awesome lens!Its beyond amazing! All images are sharp! Focus is fast! This is a must buy! Take a look at these photos I've attached. I'm using a D800 camera.
-22points
1 2 3 4 next>>