Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR

Upgraded standard zoom lens for FX-format D-SLRs offers a constant maximum aperture to maintain exposure settings throughout the entire zoom range.

Average Customer Rating:
4.47 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 66 reviews
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2
61 out of 66(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice bokeh,light on weight and sharp lens

PostedApril 17, 2015
Location Wyong NSW, Australia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought Nikon D610 FX in March 2015 together with 50mm f1.4G,..50mm 1.4 is a good standard lens however because of short in my finance, I decide to swap 50mm f1.4G with medium range lens zoom so I could take a shot and use the zoom,..took me few weeks decided to swap standard lens with AF-S Nikkor 24-120mm F.4G.... I would like to recommend for the beginner of photographers who short on finance.. 24-120mm F4G is light on weight compare with mid range zoom,sharp lens and nice bokeh..
+6points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Qualidade incrível

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Location Esteio, RS
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Lente de qualidade excelente, utilizo ela em uma câmera DX mas comprei ela já pensando na migração para FX, utilizava antes a lente do kit 18-55mm e uma 55-300mm e essa lente 24-120mm tem uma qualidade de imagem muito superior. Equipamento incrível.
+1point
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cores mais vivas e perfeitas

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Location Mogi das Cruzes
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As fotos da natureza que tenho fotografado com essa lente são muito melhor, em termo de cores e nitidez, em relação ao, lente de 18-200mm DX .
0points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most Useful Zoom

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have been using this lens for the last two years with my D700 mostly for landscape or family photos. it turned out to be an excellent all purpose lens. It has good autofocus speed and is flawless across the frame at all focal lengths and apertures. Additionally, it exhibits wonderful contrast and surprisingly pleasing bokeh. Very happy with the purchase, great job Nikon.
+4points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vs 24-105L this one crushes!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Location Los Angeles
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just switched from Canon 24-105L. You will not be sorry. This lens is just outstanding. I have done many types of settings including flash, indoor, outdoor, portrait, etc. It's just fantastic.
+17points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultimate Nikon Landscape Zoom Lens

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
After visiting numerous National Parks in the United States, this lens has the best combination of focal lengths and optical quality for my landscape needs. Below is a photo taken with this lens and a Nikon D800 camera body at 6:18 AM in Death Valley National Park in California. The shutter speed is 1/4 of a second (on a tripod), the aperture is f/8, the focal length is 24mm, the ISO is 100, the exposure mode is manual, and the white balance is auto.
+15points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatilidade e qualidade

PostedOctober 15, 2014
Location Belo Horizonte - MG, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Quando me resolvi pela aquisição da minha primeira câmera de quadro cheio, precisei considerar qual a melhor opção de objetiva para formar o conjunto. Esta objetiva teria que ser capaz de me atender como única lente para levar em algumas viagens e ocasiões em que não estivesse disposto a levar muito equipamento. Descartei a excelente 24-70mm f/2.8 por causa do preço (mas contou também o peso maior e da ausência do VR). A 24-120mm me chamou a atenção por ter todas as características das melhores lentes, além do f/4 fixo. O alcance de 120mm é um ganho na versatilidade da objetiva. Combinado com o sensor de quadro cheio da D610, é possível ampliar este alcance, imaginando que se o sensor fosse APSC, chegaríamos a 180mm com 16 megapixels. A lente não é grande. É preciso ter cuidado apenas com a queda de nitidez em 120mm com f/22. Neste caso, basta usar o diafragma em 5.6, ou 8, com aumento de ISO, se necessário, para se ter ótima nitidez em 120mm. É uma lente magnífica e surpreendente. Estou plenamente satisfeito com a aquisição, por combinar versatilidade e qualidade inegáveis em toda o alcance do zoom.
+9points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Standard - Hard to Take Off

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Location Richmond, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
While this may not be the sharpest lens in Nikon's bag. it has performed wonderfully as the standard lens on my D300 and D800, and it will reclaim that position on my D810 following the theft of my D800. I have numerous prime lenses (50mm 1.8G; 85mm 1.8G; 105mm micro 2.8G among them), but for pure flexibility and the confidence of knowing I'll get the perfect shot regardless of the distance, this is my lens. My last one was stolen along with my D800, and the new one has a firmer "turn feel" (not a technical term), and I'm hoping it remains so to prevent the lens involuntarily lengthening as it hangs on my shoulder.
+17points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

General purpose FX zoom

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the second 24-120 zoom that I have purchased. The first version I bought did not have VR and I used it extensively when travelling and taking landscapes, etc, on my Nikon film cameras (FM2N, F100, F5, F6's). The lens was sharp and very robustly made. When I bought a D3 I upgraded to the 24-120mm f/4 ED VR version. This newer lens is just as sharp and has the added advantage of VR, which is particularly useful when photographing subjects in low light without a tripod, etc. The lens is robustly constructed and is pretty compact. I often use the lens on my D3 when I do not want to carry a bag full of lenses around. The 24mm focal length is really good for landscapes, etc., whilst the top end of 120mm is good for portraits, etc. All in all a really versatile lens.
+13points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MARRIED TO MY NIKON D800 FOREVER !

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Location FAIRFIELD,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just bought a D800 last FEB 14,2013 and deciding if going to get the 70-200mm 2.8 0r 24-70mm 2.8 lens plus the SB910 flash,but budget forbids it.This is my first lens NIKON 24-120MM for my D800. I bought this lens because of the overall coverage when taking a variety shots,you can go from wide to zoom and get good results.With 2 ED glass and 3 Aspherical lens plus VR,Nano coating ,you can never go wrong with this LENS. I suggest you grab one of this until they have $$$ off. This is an upgrade to my ever faithfull Nikon FA.
NIKON D800 BODY-$2999.95
NIKON 24-120 MM-$1296.00 THIS ARE REGULAR PRICES , but with $$$ OFF you can save a lot of money and still have some left to buy a flash.
NIKON D800 W/ $200 OFF =2796.95
NIKON 24-120 MM W/$300 OFF = 996.95 YOU SAVE $500 TOTAL
NIKON SB910 FLASH - $546.95
If you're budget conscious,I suggest you get yours now before instant rebates are gone.
+16points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb general purpose lens

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens as a replacement for the kit lens that came with my Nikon D600. The fixed aperture, VR II, internal focus and excellent lens coatings make this wide angle to medium telephoto lens a great all around choice for my general purpose "go to" unit. It is solid without being overly heavy and it balances well. The zoom range covers a bigger range for normal shots than the more common 24-70mm size. It is a professional class lens without the high cost and excessive weight of going to the Nikon f2.8.
I also purchased the new Nikon 70-200mm f4 zoom and together this combo provides everything I need for tack sharp images at an affordable price.
No regrets!
+14points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth it

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was going to go with the kit lens, but the constant aperture and little extra reach sold me on it. I am glad I went with this lens. It is very contrasty, sharp, very quick to focus, VR is a welcome addition and works brilliantly. A bit heavy, but hey, it's a lot of glass. Loads of distortion, but easily fixable in post processing... all zooms have a lot of distortion. CA seems to be under control and bokeh is quite nice.
+29points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

nature photos

PostedSeptember 21, 2012
Location Frisco, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an awesome lens!Its beyond amazing! All images are sharp! Focus is fast! This is a must buy! Take a look at these photos I've attached. I'm using a D800 camera.
-23points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The one lens solution

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
No, its not the equal of a half a dozen prime lenses. It's not the equal of Nikon's holy trinity of fixed aperture zoom lenses covering the same range. But its remarkably robust compared to the competition, its plenty sharp, and its distortion is acceptable in all but the most critical applications. Five stars for a lens that's good enough for all but the 99th percentile. The only lens I need in my bag.
+53points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazed!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Just bought this lens today and has blown me away with the VR and sharpness. I was going to get the 2.8mm 24-70 instead but in spite of this one being a stop lower the aditional feature of VR clearly trumps it.in working in low light conditions without a tripod
+18points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent Investment for portraits & much more!

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Location San Diego, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens 3 months ago and it has not left my camera ever since. I use this lens for everything ranging from in-house portraits, parties, low-light, sunset photography, landscape and much more. This is a MUST have lens to have in your arsenal if you are a serious hobbyist or a semi-pro. The picture quality is super sharp. Overall I rate this lens 5/5. If you have a decent DSLR and want to invest in only one lens then this is the one. You dont need any other lenses apart from this one. It covers good range (24-120mm) for close-ups as well as zoom. For regular people, it is little expensive lens but trust me, you'll love the results. I would recommend to save some money and buy this lens other than any other lenses out there. I have the Nikon D5000 and it matches perfectly with it. I absolutely LOVE this lens!!
+19points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is exceptional lens

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Location Cerritos, CA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Fantastic lens, light, sharp and look gorgeous on nikon d700, this is a fantastic lens, just buy it and won't regret. Thank you nikon,
+1point
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thumbs up !!

PostedSeptember 5, 2011
Location East Java, Indonesia
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm a newcomer to Nikon Family. Just bought the D7000 paired with this lens less than a month.
I took the system to a resort island in West Java, Indonesia and capture lots of pictures... The result is unarguably amazing. Even my friend, who is a pro-photographer with C***N system, were admiring the IQ.
All of the pictures i took were made handheld..
+4points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This lens is everything I expected and more.

PostedJune 14, 2011
Location Dana Point, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens came highly recommended. I am not disappointed. My first day of shooting showed me that the improvements made over the older 24-120mm f/3.5-5.6 version were truly worth the wait. Blew me away!
+3points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-120mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Nikon Zoom!!!

PostedMay 15, 2011
Location Provo, Utah
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I fought with myself for several months over what zoom lens to upgrade to. I have to say that I have no regrets!!
This lens almost never comes off my camera. It is an excellent walk around lens and despite the max F/4, the VR makes up for it in low light. I was amazed at how crisp the results were even down to 20-30th of a second shutter speed!!!
It is also nicely compact (compared to the other Pro lenses that Nikon has produced). It is solid but not too heavy, and I was pleased to find out that there was no zoom creep like my brothers 18-200.
The only problem that I have found is that you can't use the pop-up flash on your camera with this lens, it is just too large and casts a huge shadow when fully extended. But I have the SB-700 so this is not a problem for me.
+24points
1 2 3 4 next>>