Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II

An ideal one-lens solution for DX-format D-SLRs, features 11x zoom versatility, ED glass superiority and VR II image stabilization for incredible performance.

Average Customer Rating:
4.364 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(341 Reviews) 340
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 341 reviews
5 stars
221
4 stars
68
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
16
297 out of 341(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
71 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Review 1 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lens creep

PostedJuly 11, 2014
sparky437
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I found a easy solution that has worked for years. I took a 2'' elastic strip found at a sewing counter and made a band around the lens, just snug enough to allow manual turning, but will not let the lens creep.
Easily removed, but I keep it on all of the time. It is black so it is barely noticeable Good luck.
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lens creep solution...maybe!

PostedApril 12, 2014
StanJan
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience More than 20 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just bought this as a refurbished lens from a Nikon dealer on eBay. The price was reasonable and I have had good experience with a Nikon refurbished D7000. The reviews have only good things to say about the lens' optical performance. The only complaint is the mid-range zoom creep. So I checked this out and sure enough my unit also exhibited this behavior when it was held almost vertically up or down. This is no problem for me. For fun I tried a solution that seems to work.
Right behind the lens there is a non-rotating tube that slides inside a rotating tube as the lens zoom position changes. Zoom the lens to the 200mm position. Attach a 1¼-inch piece of black electrical tape lengthwise on the bottom of the non-rotating tube. The tape's thickness seems to provide enough friction within the rotating tube to prevent zoom creep. Make sure the tape lies flat with no wrinkles.
With the camera on its back and the lens cap on, of course, I placed a 3.3 oz. weight and the lens started to creep back from about the 100mm position. So, it seems, that little piece of tape is just right. It is hardly noticeable because it's the same color as the lens. Now let's see if this fix lasts after long lens use. Incidentally, the lens cap and shade weigh 1.1 oz. and cause no creep.
On another matter, I notice that this is referred to as a "walk-around" lens because of it's zoom range. Well, a D7000 with this lens, an MB-D11, lens cap and hood weighs 3 lbs. 13.5 oz. A lot of weight to just "walk-around." That's what I like about Nikons...solidly built!
+7points
Review 3 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

covers my zoom needs

PostedApril 6, 2014
jha2
heavier than expected, but, really does the job. i am very pleased with the quality of pix across all ranges
+3points
Review 4 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Wonderful All In One

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
By far I have taken the most pictures (Thousands) with this lens. It is my go to when on vacation. I like this lens so much I kept it when I bought my D800. As you may be aware the D800 is excellent at showing you any inconsistencies or mistakes in your equipment or skills.
Attached are recent photographs taken with this lens on my D800. Prime example, the middle picture showing the the Green Monkey was shot handheld at 1600 ISO, 80mm, f/5, 1/60 sec. in a fairly dark environment and is sharp with excellent color. Hope this helps remove any concerns you may have with this lens.
+20points
Review 5 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens.

PostedMay 21, 2013
NikonConvert
I have been using this lens for about a month and find it to be great. I've had to do a little reading to learn how to focus with this lens but I'm learning quickly and am delighted with my photos. They are very sharp - even on shots that are at the end range of the lens. My Nikon D5100 came with two lens as a package but I found that having to switch lens every time I wanted to do a close-up was a nuisance. I also didn't like having to carry the two lens around. I had been going to sell the whole kit but when I read about this lens (all very positive by the way) I bought the lens and am very glad I did.
+31points
Review 6 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Este lente no funciona con la D7000

PostedApril 3, 2013
Conever
Location México
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Me compre la camara D7000 y el lente 18-200 VR II, pero con tanta distancia focal no se puede ajustar el foco con la camara, al hacer pruebas con una plantilla y la camara en tripie y a 45° , pude ajustar por ejemplo a 200 mm pero si el lente lo ponia a 18 mm no salian las fotos enfocadas y vicerversa si ajustaba el foco con el lente a 18 mm despues al hacer pruebas con el lente a 200 mm ya no enfocaba, en servicio Nikon me dicen que cada ves que cambie la distancia focal DEBO hacer el MICRO AJUSTE en la camara (que impractico para tomar fotos, no creen.....??????????), mejor me compre un 35 mm fijo que ya ajuste el foco y ya no se lo quito a la camara, y el lente 18-200 una lastima lo tengo guardado y todavia con su garantia.
-57points
Review 7 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great in concept, not in practice

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
SongSnap
Location Boulder, CO, USA
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love the broad range this lens covers, shooting with it offers everything you need on travel shoots and outings with the camera. It easily switched from wide angle room shots, to landscapes, and then decent close-ups of birds. The photo quality was great, the autofocus silent, nice lens....
...then I took it on a winter day shoot. The autofocus stopped working completely around 30F and the lens creep was ridiculous, I'd frame my shot, go to adjust it slightly with the polarizer, or manual focus and everything in the shot would have changed. It wasn't a well made lens, and I so wanted it to be. I also use a UV filter with a polarizer (UV for lens protection) and the vignetting was horrible at 18mm unless I took a filter off. That might be true in all the DX wides though... Not sure.
Anyway, had to return it, in the end for the lens creep, can't work with that.
-7points
Review 8 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

If Nikon improves the problems I would recommend with more stars

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
lifestyle
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Since the lens came with my D300 back in June 2010 I have owned it and used it as my primary lens. It is a great action lens, as well as a portrait lens. Just very good over all.
So why do I give it lover marks? Becuase after the first year of usig it it started to have "Lens Creep" meaning if I was pointing up or down (other than level) it would start zooming on its own. I checked with other professionals with nikon equipment to only hear the same thing and that Nikon would not fix it as a defect. So I have a wide black rubber band around the barrel to hold the zoom in place.
Also when I zoom it all the way to 200mm it now goes out of focus.
So it is now a lens with limited uses for me. I have had to purchase other lens to replace it as a daily use lens.
I'm still a die-hard Nikon user, have been for over 40 years. Just not happy with this lens.
+34points
Review 9 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Lens creep

PostedDecember 18, 2012
vickun
Location Hawaii, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
My second time purchasing this lens. First purchase as brand new.
Sold original to help finance purchase of a Tamron 70-200 2.8 (non-VC). Love the Tamron, but it's slow focus motor, and sometimes hunting for focus, and also it's big size and no image stabilization, had me longing for this lens again.
So bought this lens once more, as refurbished, direct from Nikon's outlet store online.
My first one had lens creep...where if you face it down, the lens will extend from the weight...this is a common complaint from lots of people, so I just accepted it as is...
Also on that first lens, when I start zooming, the zooming feel was not consistent...where
a. ...when I first zoom out from 18mm it was nice and "sticky" a little bit, but not enough to prevent lens creep.
b. ...then became super loose
c. ...then became "sticky" again
d. ...then at far end loosened up just for a little bit of the last zoom
...also a common complaint by others....
Now with this refurbished lens, there is NO CREEP at all, and the "sticky"-ness of the zoom is pretty constant throughout!
Much happier with this lens this time around!
+15points
Review 10 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One lens to rule them all

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Raisemore
Did anybody say this lens isn't sharp? Mine sure is. I have a whole series of Nikon AF-D prime lenses and under normal lighting conditions there is barely any difference in the color or detail. I like the 18mm lock switch which makes for easy carrying between shots. You'll never again miss an opportunity while changing lenses and internal camera dust is minimized. Oh and by the way, leave the tripod at home.
+14points
Review 11 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent!! Must have as first lens!!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Sidd
Location Fort Wayne, IN
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens along with my first D-SLR an year ago. Being a point-n-shoot type of a guy till my D-SLR happened, I wanted the ease of not changing lens to take different pictures, and have wide angle and zoom at the same time. This lens looked most versatile. And it lived up to its reputation. I am very happy with my decision to have it as my first lens.
- It takes great pictures in daylight
- It is very good for portraits. I love the bokeh it renders
- It has a nice zoom
- I love the wide angle it provides
With my lens I haven't noticed any lens creep. It worked wonderfully, right out-of-the-box. I found few reviews complaining about the sharpness, but I have no complains. I am very happy with my lens.
Even though it is expensive compared to the basic 18-55mm lens offered in most D-SLR/lens bundles, I would recommend all first timers to buy this lens. It's worth every penny!!
+22points
Review 12 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lens is not sharp

PostedNovember 1, 2012
JKismyname
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very versatile lens. Love wide range, BUT it is not a sharp lens. I've never abused the lens but I was never happy with results. Sent to authorized service center and spent $250 for servicing. It came back well serviced, but is still not sharp. It cannot compare to the old AF NIkkor 80-200 1:2.8 lens I've had forever.
+4points
Review 13 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent! Great walkabout lens that rarely leaves my camera!

PostedAugust 24, 2012
David
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens came with my D200 when I bought it in 2006. I was skeptical at first, doubting that a single lens covering such a wide range of focal lenghs could possibly provide the quality results I needed. I fully expected to be buying a "real" lens within a few months.
I could not have been more wrong. I fell in love instantly. I now have 30+ years of Nikon lenses I have aquired over the years that I could use but this lens is on my camera 99% of the time.
The range, of course, is wonderful. I can walk through the forest and shoot everything from wide angle get-pulled-into-the-woods shots to a close up of bird without changing lenses. My wife has a D60 with an 18-55 and 55-200 and is often frustrated that whichever lens she has on, she sees something that requires the other! I have gotten shots that she has missed because all I had to do is shoot and not worry about changing lenses.
The quality is excellent. One of my first projects was to shoot photos of my son's soccer games. I walked the sidelines shooting the action at a wide range of focal lengths. When I assembled them for presentaion I included wider shots of the team in action, but also included shots of individual players that I pulled out of the center of wider shots. Even those were great and everyone loved them.
Nikon has sharper lenses available but the difference in sharpness is not going to be noticed by most of us in most applications. When I do need that difference, I use another lens. But that is rare and I would rather capture a beautiful image with an almost perfect lens than miss a great shot with the perfect lens!
A note on LENS CREEP: Yes, if you are not paying attention while pointing up or down, the lens can be pulled down by gravity, changing the focal lengh. This has never been a huge issue for me and I think it is because of the way I hold my camera. I use the classic -read "old guy"- style of holding the lens and not the camera. I place the camera along the heal of my left palm, my thumb and middle finger in position to focus and change aperture. Well, used to anyway when everything was manual! But the same finger placement will adjust focal length and hold it in position. If you are used to holding a smaller camera by the edges your fingers won't be in position and will allow the lens to creep.
+47points
Review 14 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A dependable and versatile workhorse

PostedMay 22, 2012
Iceman
Location Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is my travel lens, and I travel a lot! It has proven durable and reliable, and the images are stunning. I haven't noticed any lens creep at all. The VR gives me the option of hand-holding to reasonably slow shutter speeds (or upping the ISO a bit - I shoot on both a D2X and my newer D7000). The 1080p HD video shot with this lens also looks great!
All in all I'm very happy with this product and totally recommend this lens, particularly if you need a versatile workhorse while on the road. Even though the range is very good, I'm thinking of getting the 10-24 to give me a bit more wide angle and provide a two-lens complete kit.
+19points
Review 15 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shockingly Durable

PostedMay 16, 2012
Tom
Location Stuart, FL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for years - since the D2X - never had a problem with creep - especially when comparing it to my old creepy Leica 90 mm - If it wasn't so heavy, I'd put it on and never need to change lens. I gave away my old 18-200 and just bought a new one. After taking it out of the box and going upstairs, I dropped it and watch it bounce down 2 flights of stairs. I had no expectations that I would remain alive and well. However it is working perfectly since the accident. Just one more anecdote that will keep me loyal to Nikon Forever.
+14points
Review 16 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoom relativement puissant

PostedMay 3, 2012
Beemer
Excellent rapport qualité/prix. Images nettes, facile d'utilisation.
+2points
Review 17 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lens creep

PostedApril 16, 2012
Joh Bloh
Location Brisbane
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
The lens started creeping within a few weeks of purchase ,I didnt worry about it too much at the time ...Nikon...A fine reputable company will be able to repair this lens when I return home to Australia,
OK here goes nothing ,I am about to return the lens to the store ...wish me luck....!!!!!!
-35points
Review 18 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

lens creep on the 18-200 mm lens (VR I)

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Creep hater
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I hate this creep (!). It is difficult to take pictures aiming the camera up or down. I checked the technical support and was told that there is nothing I can do about it. I am getting rid of this lens. Does the VR II creep similarly? Perhaps I should go to another lens manufacturer.
-34points
Review 19 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid All Around Lens

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Infl8edEg0
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is an overall solid lens. It has a good heft to it. But like many have complained about, there is quite a bit of lens creep in the mid-range of the lens, but I just put a rubber band where it turns, and it fixed up quite nicely. Because of the 18-200 range, it's a lens that I rarely take off of my d7000, although on occasion I do remove it for my 50mm 1.4G.
Photo quality wise, I'm very happy with it, although this is coming from a guy who upgraded from a 55-200. The photos were sharp, and I was quite pleased with the quality. Just change the aperture a bit, and you really won't be able to complain about sharpness. There is some distortion at the extremes, but that's to be expected. The only real complaint I have is the fact that I had to fix the lens creep, but it really is no big deal.
The photo of the puppy was shot at ISO 400, 135mm, f/5.6, 1/320 sec.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+18points
Review 20 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very versatile in a variety of situations

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Option Miser
Location Calgary, AB, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have now used this lens on my D7000 DSLR for almost a year. I am amazed at how versatile it is, from portraits to landscapes, action shots to movies. For my amateur photography, I do not need any other lenses.
Since I am not a perfectionist, I am not 100% sure of the benefit of Vibration Reduction although I have used it without any problems, even in movie mode. Pictures are very sharp.
Note - when subject is over 8 metres away, and the lighting requires a flash, the built-in flash on the D7000 is inadequate for this purpose.
+2points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>