Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

An ideal lens for FX-format D-SLRs, featuring a 10.7X zoom, close focus to 18” at every focal length and VR II image stabilization <img width="1" height="1" alt="" src="http://tr.webantenna.info/_webantenna.png?ga=WABnVM-1&jse=0&cv=USA_lineup" mce_src="http://tr.webantenna.info/_webantenna.png?ga=WABnVM-1&jse=0&cv=USA_lineup">
Average Customer Rating:
4.604 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 96 reviews
5 stars
73
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
3
89 out of 96(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 96 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

You can't go wrong with this lens

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Nikongeniality
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm really happy with this lens.
When I bought my D800 six months ago, I looked at the Nikon lens offering and debated the 28-300 vs 24-70 + 70-200 combination in order to get the focal length coverage I wanted for every-day picture taking. For once in my life, I decided to go with the cheaper solution. Am I ever glad that I did.
While I lose a little at the wide end (28 vs 24 mm), I get an extra 100 mm at the narrow end. And, while I lost a few f stops in going with this lens, I saved enough to buy a 14-24 mm, f2.8 and a 50 mm f1.4 which more than makes up for lost stops.
I've taken great portraits, great landscapes and great still-lifes (by my humble standards, anyway) with this lens.
If you're a photo-enthusiast looking for an all purpose lens to cover 95% of your requirements - this lens is a great candidate.
+4points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If you only buy one lens this is the one!!

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Photomaster Studios
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
You have to remember that this is a zoom lens and not a fixed focal length lens. Its not a fast lens, its starts at F3.5-5.6. with that said, this lens is fantastic. I take portraits of people all day, and this lens works great for individuals and groups. I shoot in the studios at f9 mostly and I find my results are just great. Had 2- 24x30 prints made last week and I can't find anything that I could improve on from this lens. Camera is d800e, this lens gives me very thing I need for 90% of what I do. Yes i still need those fast lenses and if I want that soft bokeh I use my Dc 105mm F2. and if I'm in the hockey rink i still want my 80-200mm F2.8. But I did go on Vacation to the big US of A. and all i took was my 28-300mm and that was all i needed. No Camera bag just the camera over my shoulder and my sb800 in my wife's purse. I was in grand central station in new york one evening and was watching a young lady with this big canon camera and lens combo trying to capture the train station. Thing were not working out for her but i did want to say anything (because i never used a canon before or want to) I asked her to take a photo with my camera of my wife and I and i told her just push the button that was all she needed to do. with the camera set at 1/125 sec f.3.5 at 28mm iso set to 1600 and sb800 set TTL -1 stop. well the look on that photographers face was priceless. I think she wanted my camera. Just remember what you have, what your are using it for, then you will see that for the most part this lens is perfect for 90% of the stuff you need. Im a Master Photographer with 32 years in this field and i can tell you i have lots of lenses and cameras and i think i found a winner with this one.
+6points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My best lens in 40 years

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Billy K
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Well, finally, after several months of sleepless nights, and reading countless reviews online, wondering if I should purchase the 28-300 lens for my built-like-a-tank D300, I finally took the plunge a few weeks ago. However, I had to return my first purchase because it had a focus problem. Sometimes I had to turn the camera off and then on again for it to focus properly. The one I now have is super, and actually, for the size of the lens, I think the focus time is very, very good. Also, from the reviews I have read online, it has received many good reviews. It is a little heavier than my 18-200mm was. But I have decided that this is a great all-in-one lens. It is good for sports, portraits, landscape, and wildlife. I’ve found that my lens hood fits it very nicely and is good and snug - no worries about it coming off. One of the main reasons for my purchase of the 28-300 FX lens , was my not-so-far-in-the-future plans are to purchase an FX camera. On my D300, I now get 42mm to 450mm, and find it really sucks the picture in close at 450mm. So, for now, my D300 and the 28-300mm lens will be my main pair, even if the two together weigh 7 pounds. I know that after a short while, I will not even notice the weight. I like to hold my camera with the strap on my shoulder, supporting the lens with my hand., I figure I can walk for 2 to 3 hours easily. Believe it or not, pictures with this lens are crystal clear, sharp images and colors are brighter than the 18-200 lens. $1,200 (tax included) is a chunk of money to me, and when I read reviews that call this lens a "cheap" lens, let them buy the new 800mm lens for the low price of $18,000.... that's right... look it up. Please remember this is only my opinion, and whatever you decide on, camera or lens, they are "old technology" as soon as you walk out of the store. I give this lens a 5 star rating, because it focuses quickly, gives you unbelievably crystal-clear, sharp images, awesome color, and for $1,200, in my opinion, it deserves it.
+18points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most versatile lens in Nikon world

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
fnu brawijaya
Location Jakarta, Indonesia
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have this lens for over a year, about one month after it has released. This lens is so versatile that I make it to my top best 10 Nikon lens. The first time my friend showed off his lens during one of our photo huntings. He point the lens at about 30cm (1ft) to my face and showed the result on his D3s camera at 300mm. The image is so sharp. Okay, I write it again: 300mm at a distance of 30cm (1ft)!! I was sold immediately and when I got back to my town, I ordered one for me. I have brought this lens to several countries, together with 16-35, 24-70, 70-200 f/2.8, 16mm fisheye, 35mm f/1.4 as my usual whole setup for photo huntings. This lens is however always on my D4 almost all the time. To give you guys the importance of this lens to me, I have almost all recent Nikon lenses up until 400mm f/2.8 VR (except 24mm f/1.4 and 200 f/2), but 28-300mm is the best lenses for me, and for all Nikonians in my photo club. I wrote a little list of my best 10 Nikon lenses in my personal website (no commercial site) http://www.fnubrawijaya.com/berita-153-my-nikon-10-best-lenses.html. I apologize for my broken English. Oh yes, I am more in landscape and street/human interest photography. It is important to have two kind of interest to make our photo hunting worth every time (you cannot take photos during rain).
+21points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great clear pleasure

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Domguyanais
Location On travel, actually Mayotte, french island with coral barrier.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Semi-professional photographer
Had this lens on the famous D800. Was a big pleasure to shoot in Paris, at tourists having fun in parks . The lens is clear , enough even at 300 mm . For travel its making the majors pics you have to do. Not so heavy and no heavy work to change lens according to the subject. If not satisfied by the accuracy, just work a bit with your laptop and all becomes well. I just need a wide angle beside, i will choose the wonderfull 16 35 VR. Weight will be all right for having a walk and good shoots !
DD.
+20points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Much better than expected!

PostedNovember 17, 2012
MO
Location Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Most reviews indicate an extremely useful all around lens with average optical quality. Well, I might have got a good number because the detail obtained on both a D300 and a D800 is impressive, quite superior to the results obtained with 18-200mm, regardless of the camera pixel count. The lens was reported as soft at 300mm. Not mine, which I found at par with the 80-400mm. The VR system appears to be better than the one of most of my lenses. In addition, at 300mm, the lens gives excellent results in the macro range, with an impressive working distance. Fantastic for insects!
+29points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent FX travel lens

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Longstanding Nikon enthusiast
Location Litchfield County, CT, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Altho' a tad heavy, this is a reasonably compact and very versatile lens that is ideal for travel photography with a D800. No longer do I have to carry multiple lenses when touring with limited time and space; I still carry my AF-S 17-35mm f/2.8 for the extreme wide-angle perspective. Among often unmentioned assets is that it uses 77mm filters, the same size used with many of Nikon's best lenses (eg, 24-70mm f/2.8, 70-200mm f/2.8). At its focal-length extremes, it's not quite as sharp or as free from aberrations as one might like, yet its versatility and generally very good image quality make this a fine product.
+28points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens..Everything I expected and much more..

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Long Time Photographer
This is a great lens to have in your bag. This one lens does it all, and I mean all..
From wide to telephoto to Macro...I have never been disappointed.
+12points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great travel lens

PostedJune 23, 2012
Andean Micky
Location Quito, Ecuador
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been doing a lot of traveling in the last months, always having my Nikon gear with me. This lens has saved me a lot of effort avoiding to carry a few heavy lenses in my bag. On top the picture quality I get with the 28-200 is very good.
+9points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Indispensable Quality Lens

PostedJune 5, 2012
TES Photography
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
When walking around making images, I carry this lens affixed to my D3 with my 17-35/ 2.8 in my bag. These two quality lenses accommodate 99% of my creative vision and capture stunning photographs. The 10x+ zoom range is indispensable in composition. Quality Nikon optics make this lens a must-have for every photographer.
+7points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great All Around Lens

PostedMarch 20, 2012
jmrajaz
Location Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been using Nikon equipment for over 25 years and managed a camera store for some years. I have used and owned several other brands, but have always stuck with Nikon.
I use this fine lens on my D7000 with terrific results. While it's not the fastest lens in the world, it is extremely sharp and versatile. I find it useful in quite a variety of situations. It is smooth functioning and reliable.
This tends to be the lens I have on my camrea 80% of the time, as I can catch most photos I want with it and only occasionally need to change it out.
Very enthusiastically recommend this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+17points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all purpose lens!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Patty
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Of course for $1000, one cannot expect the performance of a $6000 professional lens, but for the serious hobbyist or travel photographer, this lens keeps things simple while shooting high quality photographs. In that regard, this lens is a bargain. Last summer, I spent four weeks on a scientific research vessel in the Amazon (constant heat, humidity, rain) and then two weeks in the Andes (bitter cold, dusty) and this lens performed well in all situations. I shot thousands of photos with the 28-300mm on my D300 almost exclusively, and In these difficult environments was most helpful to have only one lens for that very wide range. I now travel with a simple kit of the 28-300 and a close-up lens. Wonderful!
+24points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW. Super Sharp

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Nikonuser
Location Round Rock, TX
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I finally took the thousand dollar plunge. This lens will replace three of my lenses for my D7000. I no longer need the junk 18-105mm kit lens or my super sharp 70-300mm VR. With the VR2 on this lens, I don't see myself using my 35mm 1.8 dx much any more either. It is super sharp. I am counting eye lashes on my wife and daughter. The only softness I see is at 28mm f/3.5 but that sharpens greatly at 28mm f8. The lens is super sharp from 50mm to 300mm wide open. I rarely need wide for my style of shooting, but if I do my Tokina 11-16mm is available.
+26points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens - near and far

PostedMarch 3, 2012
denkb
Location Denmark
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Mount the 28-300 mm on your cam, and you are ready for almost every situation.
I have taken astonishing photos at long distance from the town hall tower, indoor action with the swim team, as well as closeup pictures of flowers.
The 300 mm multiplied by 1.5 on my D5000 bring birds and animals extremely close.
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent walkaround lens especially for FX camera

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Danny
Location Chicago, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I love how this lens can be used as my 1 all-purpose setup. I look forward to taking this lens when I go traveling. The only thing I want to mention is that this lens does produce quite a bit of barrel distortion but it can be easily fixed in post-processing.
Here is a pic I took at the 2012 Chicago Auto Show.
+9points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful Product

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
birdiewatcher
Location Southern Oregon's Rogue Valley
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is an exceptional lens that provides optimum performance in any situation. It has a fast focus for sport shots and a wide range focal length to accommodate landscapes. Auto focus is spot-on and fast. It has become my workhorse. Especially appreciate the auto-manual mode. Although some may consider it weighty, I've given up the traditional straps for the Blackrapid sling which provides better stability and carry-ease. Zoom lock is a necessity and does not hinder rapid responses. I use it with the SB-700 speedlight at sport events with great results for close-ups and distance shots.
I spent a lot of time researching the many brands and product lines for a 300 mm range lens and ultimately felt you get what you pay for; it was very true for this lens.
I use it with my D90, and for the most part, it has replaced my other four lenses.
Having used Nikons for 43 years, this was a key buy for me.
+6points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Tommy
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I use this lens on my D90 and D7000 cameras, the images just outstanding. I already have 18-200mm VRII, but this lens just give that extra reach. So far it did not disappoint me. Perfect for traveling. This lens including Nikon 35mm f1.8, 17-55mm f2.8 & 10-24mm f3.5-4.5 I'm all set.
This lens made in Thailand. Not heavy as I thought. So, I decided to purchase the lens after I borrowed from a friend of mine. I would recommend this to anyone that wants multi purpose or travel lens, works for DX and FX cameras.
+14points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant "walk-around" lens

PostedOctober 21, 2011
NikonRuss
Location Hong Kong
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just purchased this a couple of weeks ago and am thrilled. I've taken just over 300 shots so far using a D700 and am amazed. For photo walks and travel it's a superb "all-in-one" lens. I'm no longer flipping back and forth between my 24-70 and 70-300 often causing the miss of good shots.
There is noticeable distortion at the extreme but easily corrected in post-processing. This really is a must have in my opinion.
+9points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding lens

PostedOctober 6, 2011
joelb
Location Charleston, SC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I can't be happier with this lens. I use it with my FX D700 camera and it saves me from switching lens back and forth and/or missing the shot. I have an 18-200 lens which I used with an older camera but it cannot be used with the FX format camera and still maintain all capabilities of the camera. This 28-300 performs well, has VR which works well and is fast enough for anything i have used it for.
+6points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mountain View

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Vedauwoo
Location Cheyenne, Wyoming
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I never spent so much money on a lens before. It took a good cup of coffee and a pleasant disposition to have the strength to hit the enter key of the computer and process the purchase from Nikon. My wife and I wanted a lens to utilize the potential of our new D5100. This turned out to be the right decision.
Here are some pictures taken with this lens on our D5100. They are mountain pictures taken at 10,000 feet elevation looking 4.2 miles to the 14,259 foot elevation Longs Peak. The view was to the southeast looking into the sun at mid-morning on Labor Day. The sky was dirty from a forest fire. The camera was set at the “action setting” featuring fast shutter speeds; the VR was on at Normal. Picture A was at an indicated 50 mm to give a normal perspective. Picture B was at the indicated 300 mm. Picture C is a crop of the image of B showing four people on the summit. Picture B is 16 Mp = 4928 x 3264.
(When viewed on my computer, the people are visible on picture B. If you know the place, then you will recognize that they are looking down the 1,000 foot vertical face of the diamond. But of course they must be taking photographs with their Nikon cameras!)
I was concerned that the AF motor would run down the camera battery faster. But I did not notice any effect after 200 pictures per day. I use the viewfinder, not Live View.
The lens is heavy; a noticeable feature of its quality and not a criticism. This is not my walk around lens. I found a neoprene bottle jacket that holds the lens and fits in the water bottle pouch (safely accessible) on my backpack. I use a tripod with this lens typically. This is my wife’s lens of choice.
Best Features: Sharp focus. Constant focus through the zoom range. Focal length range. Quality & value.
Worse Features: (Checking…)
Recommended Accessories: Nikon’s cable release. Nikon’s coffee tumbler as shown in the Logo Shop.
-4points
1 2 3 4 5 next>>