Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III

Nikon Inc. AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III

AF-S Teleconverter doubles the effective focal length of select compatible NIKKOR lenses, offering an affordable and portable gateway to extend telephoto reach; ideal for sports shooting, wildlife, surveillance and more.

Average Customer Rating:
4.231 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 13 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 13(77%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
104 Questions | 132 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Review 1 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente accesorio para sus telefotos

PostedAugust 31, 2014
Claudio
Location Cancún, QROO, México
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
He utilizado este teleconvertidor con el 70-200 2.8 y me sorprendió ver la rapidez en el enfoque, automáticamente el f más grande se establece en 5.6 y la calidad de la imagen es formidable.
También lo utilicé con el 105 2.8 macro con las mismas bondades antes expuestas.
0points
Review 2 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just a wonderful addition to my camera bag

PostedApril 23, 2014
Owen
Location Bayside, Queens, NY, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I shot the foto, below, of the moon mid day, useing my Nikon D800 and my Nikon 70-200 VR 2.8 Series 1 lens, and useing the AF_STC20E 111 Tele Converter, the results truly are stellar.......
+2points
Review 3 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BUY IT !

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Dean
Location Marysville, OH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Purchased a refurbished sample from my favorite store in NYC. Excellent teleconverter for 70-200 f/2.8 G lens, at least when paired with my D3s. Extremely sharp and fast focusing. I have even gotten good results in the 1.2x format (480 mm) and DX setting (600 mm) hand held but typically use with a monopod or tripod for best results.
+31points
Review 4 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

When length and close focusing matter most

PostedDecember 17, 2011
pictureted
Location Redwood City, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this occasionally on my 300/4 AF-S and 105/2.8 VR macro (on D7000). While AF can work in good light, I usually manually focus. The fact that the minimum focus distance doesn't change results in 2X life size with the 105 and 0.5X with the 300 (at 600mm it's my longest "macro" lens). I have used both combinations wide open, and had acceptable results, but a stop or two helps with IQ.
If you need reach and can't afford the 600/4, this gets you there. If you want more than 1:1 with your 105VR (and a 210mm focal length) this gets you there. If you want a 600mm 0.5X macro lens, this gets you there. If those are places you want to go, get the TC.
+104points
Review 5 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp and clear!

PostedSeptember 3, 2011
PV
Location Leesburg, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I love this teleconverter! I use it with my 70-200 2.8 VRII lens which gives me the equivalent of a 600mm lens on my Nikon D300s. Tack sharp!
Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
I shot the hawk with this set-up. Look at the detail. Unbelievable!
+137points
Review 6 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent teleconverter!

PostedMay 12, 2011
Vince in Yakima
Location Yakima, WA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is an incredible addition to the lens arsenal. The bokeh, for me, is just plain smashing than can range from creamy to abstract.
A good solid tripod and shutter release cable are my only recommendations to produce superb images! Well worth the money!!
+52points
Review 7 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the wait

PostedApril 14, 2011
robosolo
Location Canaan, NY
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I purchased this teleconverter for use with a Nikkor 70-200 VR II but had to wait over 6-months for it. That's how much it is in demand. It was worth the long wait. I have it mounted on a D700 and - with appropriately high ISO settings and that great VR - I can actually hand-hold and get a tack sharp shot. I didn't think I could shoot this rig without a tripod, but it performs admirably well hand supported.
+36points
Review 8 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 14, 2010
Nikon Glenn
Location Los Angeles
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I originally thought a teleconverter might be a glass to have but hesitated to buy one until the TC-20EIII came out. Still I hesitated cause maybe I can do without it. Money's tight you know. But planning for this Hawaii family trip gave me anticipated needs of reaching those far away subjects. Have to get it. Boy was I glad. The images I collected with my D700/70-200g2.8II/TC20EIII were unreal. I was told by a friend to keep the center focus point in the center for best results. You have to get one. It is going to blow you away at what images are possible.
+91points
Review 9 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for a TC; much better then predecessor

PostedJuly 30, 2010
PAStime
Location Kingston Ontario Canada
With the usual caveats regarding the usual loss of two stops of light with a 2X TC, and the extra challenges this has for AF in dim scenes, this is an excellent TC when used with the 70-200 f2.8 VRII. If your results are not sharp, consider your "long lens technique"; camera support and/or high shutter speed for 600mm effective focal length are critical.
+162points
Review 10 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Not Great!

PostedDecember 26, 2012
RSC3516
Location Raleigh, NC, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
I/Q is just not there as it is with 1.4 tele. I guess I am very spoiled after shooting the long lenses that I have without this converter . Don't get me wrong, in a pinch for that bird high in a tree ect. this comes in very handy. I use it on my 300mm2.8 and 200-400 mmF4.
 
My product recommendations
Capture NX 2
3 out of 5(64)
 
 
 
Nik Color Efex Pro 3.0 Complete Edition
4.2 out of 5(5)
 
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 11 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It was not advertised to only work with certain lenses. You must be sure you have the right lens, before buying.

PostedMay 21, 2014
DNash
Location Wilderness, Tennessee and Kentucky
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Role Professional photographer
I ordered this converter lens yesterday, 5/20/2014 and Nikon delivered it the very next day, 5/21/2014.
I was so thrilled about this. Then, when I tried it on my camera, a Nikon D4s, it fit beautifully. Then when I attempted to use my lenses, the Nikon 18-300 AF-S DX VR lens, it would NOT fit. Then I tried it on a dedicated 400mm lens, Sigma, that I also use and no go.
So with that in mind that I know the lens will most likely not fit the new lens I just ordered, the Tameron 150-600mm that is yet to arrive, I'm now in the process of working with Nikon on returning this lens converter.
I have had the lens in my hands for 20 minutes now and I am so disappointed that I cannot use it.
Had I known that this converter will only work with a limited number of dedicated lenses, I would have kept my $500+ dollars.
Now, I'm waiting to get approval from Nikon to return it, as I cannot use it and the Nikon website here, did NOT say that this converter will only work with a limited number of special lenses.
So, just to save someone else from this same problem, you must look at the manual, under the "Support" tab, to see if you have the right lens that this converter will work with, before you buy.
Just wish I had known this before I ordered. So disappointed.
-17points
Review 12 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

not up to all the hype

PostedApril 14, 2011
gus
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Finally received the AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III after 6 months on order. I think I could get the same quality by cropping and enlarging . Used with 200-400afs manual focus. I have yet to try it with my 200mm f2, but what´s the point when I have the 200-400mm f4
-116points
Review 13 for AF-S Teleconverter TC-20E III
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor image quality

PostedApril 30, 2013
Kennebunk Larry
I recently purchased the TC 20E III along with the Nikon 300mm f/2.8 VR II. During the six months I owned it, I had little opportunity to use this equipment. During the few times that I did make some test images, I could detect NO additional detail in pictures taken with the 300mm alone and in combination with the TC. A few days ago, after also adding the TC 14E II and the Nikon 70-200mm VR II, I was able to spend many hours shooting ducks with all possible combinations of these two lenses and these two tele-converters. The result is that I am very disappointed in the quality of my 2.0 converter. The 1.4 TC clearly added more fine detail of the birds’ feathers to photos of the birds taken with both top notch lenses without TC’s attached. The images taken using the 2.0 showed LESS detail than the 1.4 and perhaps less than the lenses without any TC attached. This is the first Nikon product I have ever owned which has required repair.
-6points