Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II

Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 10 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BIG... VERY BIG! BOLD... VERY BOLD! BEAUTIFUL... AMAZINGLY BEAUTIFUL!!!

PostedMarch 16, 2013
MK_in_MKE
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love shooting portraits... I love my 85mm 1.4... Well, now i love my 200mm F2... Bokeh on this lens is second to none.
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Experience

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
rejibhaskar
Location Kerala, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
May b i m d first person in kerala , this lense is using, m so happy with dis sharpness and quality, loved d bokeh, VR 2 is working well, so i can shoot withut tripod, m using it with nikon d3x, realy enjoying d shooting nw, i ve already 135mm f2, 85 mm 1.4 , 50mm 1.4, 105mm 2.8, 180mm, 70-200 , 2.8 ,20mm, 24mm, 16mm fish eye, 24-70, 2.8, etc.....
but no lense can compare with dis lense,
-4points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A well deserved 'Nikkor legend'

PostedJune 24, 2012
NikonNVa
Location Northern, VA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I'm a very passionate and serious photo enthusiast with a great appreciation for quality and fine engineering. I purchased the 200 f2 VRII about 6 months ago, partially as an additional tool for shooting indoor sports, but I have to admit a lot of it had to do with the tremendous reputation this lens
(and the previous 200 f2 VRI) possesses. I have not been disappointed in the least. I own several other high-end Nikkor lenses to include the 300 f2.8 VR and the 500 f4 VRII, and this 200 f2 is fast becoming my 'favorite of favorites'. Image quality is stunning even when shot wide open at f2. I've found the lens to retain a very high quality when shooting with my Nikon teleconverters as well. A simply spectacular lens!
 
My product recommendations
 
+11points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

If could only have one lens -- This IS that lens

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Nikonian 13
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am not a pro, but rather a passionate 'photo junkie' striving for pro like perfection in my images. Heavy, awkward, expensive, this lens is like medicine -- sometimes bitter or painful to take, but the end results -- priceless. Wide open, there isn't a lens in my cabinet that can compete with this awesome marvel crafted by the Nikon brain thrust. Natural light, low light, moon light -- nothing escapes. And the images -- pro like. At least to my 'unqualified' eyes. :)
I HIGHLY recommend this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
+12points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Words barely do it justice...

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Shooter2jim
Location Atlanta, GA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
It would be impossible for me to compare the 200 VRII to lenses I have never used, but suffice it to say, you would be hard pressed to find a better piece of glass to put in your arsenal, regardless of manufacturer or price. I had recently purchased the legacy AF85 1.4, and never having owned the lens previously, was truly impressed by the image rendition for portrait work. Since the 200VRII, I now only use the 85 for portraits if there's not enough working distance for the 200. Nano-coat, Super ED glass, VRII... all come together to create a masterpiece. The VR is amazing, as is the AF speed and accuracy. Bokeh- everything you could ever ask for and then some. Sharpness and contrast wide open- beyond belief. If you buy this lens with the intention of shooting everything stopped down two stops to maximize sharpness, you're just wasting your money. F/2.0-4.0 is where the magic happens. At the same time, diffraction at the other end of the F-stop scale is not worth mentioning- a feat in itself. As if all this weren't enough, the real secret stunner is color rendition. Colors are vibrant and saturated, and flesh tones are simply perfect; like no other 35mm lens I've ever used. This lens, the 200 2.0 VRII, is a statement to the world. That statement is this- "Nikon makes great lenses. A few are spectacular. But if you really want to see state of the art....."
+17points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedJune 15, 2011
Semprasectum
Location Kearney, NE
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens is very heavy, very expensive . . .and worth every cent. This is the best indoor sports lens on the planet . . . period. Nothing I can write can do this lens justice. Unless you are planning on owning this lens, I would not recommend ever using it. Once you use it, you will never be happy with anything else. Prior to using and purchasing this lens I used the 70-200VRII for 95% of my indoor sports shots. I haven't used that lens in over a year. . . not even once.
+17points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am very pleased with this lenses it improved me

PostedApril 15, 2011
HILAL899
Location Mclean VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I feel so sorry for the time I lost with other lenses now I have the power and the qulity in my hand.
+7points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile and Amazing images

PostedApril 14, 2011
The nicest piece of glass!
Location New Jersey
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I do a substancial amount of inside sports photography where focal length is secondary to aperture and speed. This lens is by far the nicest piece of glass I have ever worked with...period. The files produced are amazing to work with and the speed, color and sharpness for high speed indoor action are unmatched! A hefty investment but worth every penny!
+10points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible detail

PostedMarch 23, 2011
DB
Location Jackson Hole, WY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Although I have heard a lot of praise for this lens nothing can prepare one for the clarity that comes through the first time you see images on the monitor or light box. It simple is a legend in its time.
+8points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 200mm f/2G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best glass there is

PostedNovember 14, 2010
handdr
Location Gig Harbor, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is probably one of the finest glass you'll find at any price. The quality and optics are superb with a smashing bokeh. One of the best investments I've ever made.
+33points