Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II

This powerful super telephoto zoom lens offers incredible image quality. Enhanced Nikon VR II image stabilization, a constant aperture and Nano Crystal Coat make this lens an ideal choice for sports photography, wildlife and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 16 reviews
5 stars
14
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 16(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Raid
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
It's a great lens with smooth & fast focus & the VRII working perfect
the most best thing in this lens you can go between the normal zoom 200mm to the super tele zoom 400mm I use it to photograph birds with the TC-14E II the focus will be little bet slower with the teleconverter
the only problem is the wight of lens you will need a tripod to help you with it.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Piqué superbe. definition super, bonne vitesse de mise au point.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
zipgate
Location Thurso, QC, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Il est un peu lourd et avec le pare-soleil il est tres encombrant (longueur)
Ne peut s'utiliser à main levé comparativement au 300 mmf/2,8
Malgré tout c'est une exellente lentille pour le sport et la nature surtout les oiseaux
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Ducky
Location Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I owned the VRI edition for seven years which I sold for the VRII edition.
It's my main wildlife lens and I love it.
It's sharp, versatile and fast.
In the very beginning I had some issues regarding sharpness on long distances but that happened to be human error.
Nowadays I use it on a D800E with the TC2.0III at F/8 and it is absolutely stunning.
+17points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a lens!!

PostedDecember 5, 2012
Springfield Jim
Location Springfield, OH, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have owned this lens for a few months now. I still am amazed at how clear and crisp the pictures are. I have had the wonderful opportunity of photographing NFL teams, many local high school teams, and the United States Olympic Wrestling Trials in Iowa. The clarity of the pictures made me look so good.
Weight is only a problem if you don't use a monopod or tripod. I look forward to the photographic opportunities when I can use this amazing lens.
I have now attached a 2x teleconverter and have taken simply amazing pictures of the moon. Very graphic and detailed. I can't wait for the next adventure when I get to use this lens.
+11points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not good, but yes excellent

PostedMay 29, 2012
Victor-BRA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The 200-400mm is sharp, fast to focus and great vr. Many people say that it is heavy, well is heavy, but not too heavy that made impossible carry in a hand hold. I walked 6 km with this lens on my hand, also in a rainforest, here in Brazil and don´t get any problem. I have a tripod for the 200-400mm, because the wildlife photography have some moments that you stay in a place for several hours, and this is a sittuation to use the tripod.
+25points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than the VR I

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
artizen65
Location Littleton, CO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I find it interesting to read the other reviews. :)
Sharper than its predecessor by far. I have put this lens through its paces for more than a year now on both a D700 and a D300s and it rocks. For both sports and wildlife an excellent choice. I shoot on a monopod with a ball head most of the time. Although having shot hand held when necessary. The results are sweet. I did have issues with deep crops and the 1.7 teleconverter at long distances with the D700 (I did not try this combination on the D300s). With the 1.4 teleconverter no issues at all on the D700 or the D300s. Remember at apertures above 5.6 on any body you may have focusing issues. Although with the D4 out now it appears that is no longer an issue, at least with the D4.
There is so much that goes into getting the shot. Deep crops are always tough especially at long distances, as guaranteeing your focus point without it being locked on a tripod is very difficult. If you are shooting an elk at 500 yards the smallest movement can change your focus lock from the elk to the grass or tree. Therefor at distance I do not recommend that you hand hold this beast.
With the DOF on a crop sensor being less than on an FX sensor the focus point becomes all that more important.
I recommend a good solid support when shooting with this piece of glass.
Alas per my wife you need a small Sherpa to carry this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
+34points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the lens, excellent image quality

PostedNovember 21, 2011
NatureGuy
Location Florida
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
The image quality is excellent. The lens a little on the heavy side, but again if you want great quality, you need glass and not plastic.
The VR works great, much improvement from the previous version.
+13points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW...What a lens!

PostedMay 5, 2011
Photo-Junke
Location New Jersey
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Not for the faint of heart. This lens is the REAL deal, and takes getting used too. However, once you dial it in and realize you CANNOT shoot like you normally do. WOW...what results. Worth the Cost, weight and every other negative people may say. Just a FANTASTIC lens! Great job Nikon!!!!!!
+10points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spectacular

PostedApril 14, 2011
CalifDude
Location Monrovia, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Sometimes no one can explain how a lens turns out great. All the gods smile on a manufacturer and everything turns out right. That is what happened with this lens. Incredible detail, flexible. Shoot with a D3s and it just becomes an animal. The only downside is that it is heavy, but you need the work out anyway, right?
+7points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Sharp Lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
NikkorNut
Location Denver CO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own a lot of Nikon lenses but the 200-400 F4 is the greatest of them all.
For absolute sharpness it is the best. It is not as heavy as I would have expected and in emergency situations where the action was happening and I did not have time to get my tripod out, I have handheld it and had great results.
The case it comes in adds great protection. I wish Nikon would include such a case for all their larger lenses.
The lens is very expensive but I have no regrets in getting it.
+4points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a lens!!!

PostedApril 14, 2011
mac
Location Lisle, Illinois
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
So far it has been great. It is large and heavy so a monopod or tripod with a good head makes it easier to handle. You can shoot it handheld though. Photos are sharp and the focus is quick and dead-on. With double the reach of my 70-200 I'm looking forward to better wildlife shots. Even the lens case is incredible. Nikon quality throughout!!!
+3points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Crisp!!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Professor Jim
Location Aldergrove, B.C., Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It has been my pleasure to use my Nikkor 200-400 mm VRII for action photography of Para-gliders and aircraft at Air shows in B.C., Canada. This lens is ultrafast in focussing and I believe it is one of the sharpest zoom Nikkor lenses I have used in the 42 years that I have been a Nikkor shooter. I absolutely love this lens for bird photography and anywhere there is action. The fit and finish of the lens is superb and second to none.
+21points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens!

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Joe
Location Pacific Northwest
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens in mid-June with a Nikon D300S camera, mainly for photographing birds. I had previously used a high-end point-and-shoot with a super zoom lens. This camera and lens combination is AWSOME! Focus is very crisp and very fast. So far I've been shooting the combination hand-held at speeds as low as 1/250 of a second... great results! As you can see from the dragonfly photo, the lens is also great for closeup photography!
+23points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Detail !

PostedAugust 3, 2010
NC Enthusiast
Location Charlotte, NC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I’ve been using the AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II for a little over a month now and have been extremely pleased by the results I’ve had. I’m a photo hobbyist/enthusiast and have never had as large a lens as this before but it is quickly becoming a favorite. In the short time that I have had the lens, I’ve mainly taken wildlife photos. What has impressed me most is how quickly the lens focuses and how spot-on the focus is. People are amazed when they see the detail the lens provides. I’ve actually handheld the lens using the VR II feature and the images were just as sharp as the tripod-mounted photos. Very impressive!
All-in-all, I’m very pleased with the results and have no buyer’s remorse whatsoever. I would recommend this lens to anyone looking to jump into the high power zoom category.
+55points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedApril 15, 2011
Ed
Location Pine Bush NY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I'm sorry to say in all the years I have used Nikon equipment I have never had any problems until I received the 200-400 lens. I sent the lens back to Nikon to have them look at a focus problem and Nikon did a minor repair with a major part. The lens did work better but when I received it back from Nikon it arrived with two dents on the shade holder ridge which Nikon said I sent in that condition..The lens also produces a soft image at all f stops.
+10points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 200-400mm f/4G ED VR II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

expensive,heavy and not so sharp

PostedApril 24, 2011
mick7
Location chicago
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
this is an expensive and heavy lens and for the price its' performance should be stellar. should be. if you use it at relatively close ranges (ie under100m) it is a decent lens. but how often will you use a lens of this range at close range? i do surveillance work and it is always at long range. it is quite soft when you try to do really large crops with it. i was not pleased with the quality. i talked to others online who have (had) the lens and they experienced the same problems with it. so it is obviously a design problem. it is fine for shooting birds and such at close range, but pretty much worthless at long range. my 300 2.8 blows it out of the water even with a 2x attached to it. i no longer have the lens for obvious reasons.
+17points