Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Professional, fast-aperture super telephoto lens, now enhanced with Nikon VR II image stabilization and featuring Nano Crystal Coat, is an ideal choice for sports photography, live performance shooting, wildlife and more.

Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 15 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon delivers excellent quality with this lens

PostedJuly 1, 2014
JohnC
Location Houma, LA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is the benchmark for measuring the quality of other lenses on the market, speed and focus accuracy is amazing and the sharpness and contrast is striking. Certainly can be used for shooting handheld because VRII works perfectly. When used with D800E the possibilities are endless with remarkable cropping power. The Nikon 300mm f/2.8G VR II is a bokeh champion it produces exceptionally good-looking background blur, especially wide open at maximum aperture of f/2.8 and higher.
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Class Lens

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Kiter
Location Okinawa, Japan
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I read hundreds of reviews before purchasing this lens and I can attest that the praise this lens receives is warranted. This is a workhorse lens. Very fast auto focus. Very sharp images with proper holding/mounting. I put it through it's rigors w/D800 and I cannot see any vignetting or other aberrations. Accurate color representation. Impressive in low light.
Of note: The case it comes with is impressive too. Padded of course, with shoulder strap, handle for hand carry and velcro for attaching to belt or whatever...
+10points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is one serious lens

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
jowdawg02
Location Holliston, MA, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had zooms before, and in fact I have the 70-300 zoom that came with my d600 kit. This guy is in a completely different league. Just got it today and tried some handheld shots playing around. It is big and relatively heavy but the stabilization works wonders.
-5points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

For Wildlife in action!

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Leo
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If your name of the game is wildlife in action this lens is for you. Birds in flight, ext, ext
-8points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bucket List

PostedAugust 8, 2011
CraigH
Location Orlando, Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens was on my bucket list since the late 1970s when a friend had one on a shoot with me and let me try it. I finally purchased one.
I have to say this glass is the finest glass I've ever owned bar none. If I do my part, it can produce brilliant images with amazing micro contrast and tonal blending. It's also razor sharp wherever you want it from wide open to stopped down a good bit.
One thing to mention is the obvious. It can be heavy to hand hold for a fairly long time and at least a monopod comes in handy if just to give me a rest.
With a Nikon 1.7 converter, it has so little degradation that I rarely carry my old Nikon 500 f/4-P in the field anymore. The 300 f/2.8 gives me 500 f/4.8 in the EXIF with this converter, so I'm not losing anything much and it's much lighter and faster to use on birds, perched or in flight.
It also makes a superb portrait lens, with or without the converter. The unique perspective will give you a change for the good from your standard portrait glass. It also allows you to stand far enough back outside as to allow a little more candid images of your kids or grandkids.
If you're like me and getting older but want that ultimate glass in this focal range, please do yourself a favor and afford it while you can
+44points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding sharpness.

PostedJune 23, 2011
Maddog
Location Fredericksburg, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I recently purchased the Nikon 300mm 2.8 VR II lens and my first use was to shoot the launch of STS-134 from the NASA Causeway. I was 6.3 miles from the launch site. I mounted the 300 on a TC 17 E II teleconverter and my Nikon D300. The rig was of course mounted on a tripod. The pictures are amazing. Too bad about the cloudy sky but still very, very nice. I am quite pleased.
+10points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent quality and performance

PostedJune 9, 2011
ctb
Location Albuquerque NM
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is an excellent lens, it's a little bulky but it's what I use when I want a good telephoto with low ISO in an active environment. I frequently shoot this lens at f/2.8 and always like the results.
+2points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2011
John738
Location San Antonio, Texas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I use this lens for sports and nature photography. The fast focus is incredible, and the sharpness is incomparable. Although heavy, used on a tripod or bi pod, the weight is unnoticeable. This lens is just what the doctor ordered.....Love it.
+14points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprisingly versatile lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
scjohn
Location Hermosa Beach, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was familiar with the great color rendition this lens provides, the reach and the focusing speed.
I was unprepared for the beautiful OOF rendering and the ability of the lens to create fine portrait shots. The 2.8 and the nano really seems to make all of the difference in the world.
+17points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Expectations Exceeded

PostedApril 14, 2011
Mobius
Location Bainbridge Island,WA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very fast focus that has been spot on. Heavy, but shoot hand-held at times and pleased with results. I prefer to shoot with monopod or tripod ... I find D700 and 300/2.8 easy to carry over the shoulder with monopod attached ... pleasant surprise.
Use it for birds, moon, field sports.
Plan on being social if you have one ... people are always stopping and asking about the lens and an opinion of how it performs.
+22points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb lens

PostedFebruary 1, 2011
Soitgos
Location Utah
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is the best lens I have ever used. The focus is quick and accurate and the VR makes hand-holding this large lens possible. I am an avid amateur wildlife photographer and am quite capable of holding the lens steady even while following birds in flight.
+18points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens!

PostedAugust 26, 2010
Neurophoto
Location Fort Myers, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This is a great lens. It's a little heavy to hand-hold, but I do it all the time. If not for a bicycle crash, it would probably be an easy hand-hold. Optics are every bit as good as you'd expect. I shoot birds in flight, and this is my go-to lens. No complaints, whatsoever.
+59points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

caveat

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
perplexed
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have had the lens for less than a month, and am extremely pleased with its performance, which I consider to be a five star. However, the carryiing strap padding is woefully inadequate and the webbing is already showing signs of wear where it passes through the slots on the lens, which have sharp edges rather than being rounded. I am considering a Kevlar webbed well padded strap by another manufacturer. So, in saying that I would recommend the lens, such a recommendation would be accompanied by this serious concern.
-19points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Verify the AF Accuracy Before Use

PostedJune 12, 2013
JLT3
Location MD
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Please see the attached graphs. I used LensAlign and FocusTune to test the Nikkor 300mm f2.8G ED VRII lens, Serial Number 209819. The lens was mounted on an Arca-Swiss Z1G (giant) monoball and Gitzo 5000 series carbon-fiber legs, at a height of 42 inches. The ISO was 1600 and the shutter speed was 1/320. The lens-to-target distance was 26 feet and I used a shutter release cable. The camera body was a Nikon D4 that last week came back from Nikon NY after being adjusted for a back-focusing issue. For an overview of the lens AF performance, I took 4 shots at each micro-adjustment value from minus 20 to plus 20 in steps of 5 units. Based on this overview test and to look for a peak in the curve, I took 9 shots at each micro-adjustment value from plus 10 to plus 20 in steps of 2 units. As you can see both curves go up from left to right, but do not come down. This means, there is no peak. Conclusion, this high-priced lens is focusing in front of the target by greater than 20 micro-adjustment units.
If this was my first such experience, I would not be so appalled.
Sad to say, that last month I tested a new Nikkor 85mm 1.8D lens, only to find that it was focusing behind the target by greater than minus 20 micro-adjustment units.
This 300mm f2.8G ED VRII lens, Serial Number 209819, was returned to B&H (RMA) for a new lens. The B&H representative was very professional. He said, it happens.
I tested the replacement 300mm f2.8G ED VRII lens, Serial Number 209868, in exactly the same way that was used for the defective lens. The replacement lens (209868) was also front focusing, but not as badly as the defective lens. The replacement lens could be adjusted for accurate focus on the target with the AF micro-adjustment set to plus 16.
Can we pro photographers trust Nikon’s quality control?
Yes, but verify.
The 300mm f2.8G ED VRII image sharpness is impressive.
The service from B&H is also impressive.
-7points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 300mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

300mm f/2.8G ED VR II

PostedMay 29, 2013
Alan
Location Peterborough, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I have only been able to get clear shots with the VR turned off. On a tripod I have experienced double imaging with the VR on. This is 2 images about 1/8th of an inch apart directly up and down from each other. This lens takes more learning to get it to do what you need that my other lenses. Focusing has been a challenge. Depth of field takes some getting use to. At 10 meters f/8 at small bird (Chickadee) will be only be partly focused. I am sure this is a capable lens and may take some getting use to. The filter slot doe not have a circular adjustment knob, although Nikon sells one. Using a Nikon Polarized filter is a problem without the ability to adjust the filter. Having this as an option(a pricey one) on a lense at this price range is not comforting. I have had this in for service for the VR issue and they say there is nothing wrong. I have owned this for 1-1/2 years now.
-20points