Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(191 Reviews) 191
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 191 reviews
5 stars
178
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
184 out of 191(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredibly Versatile Lens

PostedMay 9, 2015
Location Montreal, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have had this lens about three weeks now and I have already used it in a variety of settings—outdoors, in a church, in studio—with terrific results. Focus is quick, bokeh is stunning at wider apertures, and my images are super sharp.
Owning this lens has been a "dream" of mine for a long time, and now that I actually have one, it is definitely a dream come true.
Thinking ahead to other uses, I am even thinking of a teleconverter to extend my range at outdoor sports events; taking this to f4 (1.4x) or f5.6 (2x) will still be fantastic in outdoor light for things like motorsports, field sports, cycling.
I have been a Nikon user since I was a teen in the 1980s, and this is by far the best piece of Nikon kit I have owned; in terms of "love" for a lens, it rivals the 300mm f2.8 that I have rented from time-to-time with great results.
While the 70-200 f2.8 is a pricey lens, if you are an amateur/hobbiest thinking about it then save the money, you won't regret it. If you're a pro, like I'm working on becoming, you already know why you want/need this lens. It's worth the investment.
+6points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gorgeous lens!!!

PostedApril 1, 2015
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I just bought this lens about a week ago and just shot it for the first time.. it is AMAZING!! It focuses so fast. I'll be using it for most of my outdoor photoshoots!
+7points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Location Florida, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great Lens, Heavy, Very Sharp, 2.8 so it helps me to work better in sports and low light conditions.
+16points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Location Bluffton, SC
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I own the original version of the 70-200mm telephoto lens and use it with a D810. About all I can say is that it is an incredible lens. I take photos of wild life at various distances with VR on or off and the results are amazing. Zooming in during post edit can bring out perfect eyes, strands of fir/feathers, perfect patterns on butterfly wings, etc. I can't imagine that the second version of this lens can possibly be better. This is a great piece of glass and is well worth the money.
+18points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tack Sharp!

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I've had this lens for a few years now and love it! I use it for portraits, sports, weddings. Love the clear clean pictures it provides coupled with it's quick response!
+17points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this lens.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Location Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. This lens is a bit of a monster, but it is so versatile. It's great, not only for portraits, but slso for landscapes and sports/action events. I'm getting more and more comfortable with the weight.
 
My product recommendations
 
+19points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The greatest lens I have ever used.

PostedSeptember 29, 2014
Location Victoria, BC, Canada
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Hello all, wether you're wealthy and just scanning over a couple of quick reviews or obsessing over this lens like I did, you obviously want to know about this lens. I know that before I bought it I was constantly trying to justify the price as an aspiring photographer at the age of 15 who was lucky enough to get a summer job. I have personally tried the Nikon 70-200 f4, and the Sigma and Tamron 70-200 2.8s. Personally, (and If you're a Sigma user, brace yourself) If you're trying to decide between the 3 2.8s, I would forget about the Sigma entirely. Camera bodies will come and go, but good glass lasts forever which is why it's always best to buy the nicest quality glass, and the Sigma simply pales in comparison to the bad boy on your screen right now. I have had this lens for over a month now and it still does not cease to amaze me. Sure, its pretty big and fairly heavy when you get it, but those things I got used to within a couple of days of shooting with it. The image quality is nothing but the best coming from some of Nikon's best quality glass yet, and the VR works, as expected, like a dream. I was popping off shots handheld at 1/20 racked out at 200mm, and they're still incredibly, unbelievably, stupid sharp. I am totally comfortable taking this into torrential downpour, (obviously with a plastic bag over my D5100, which is by all means NOT weather sealed...) and shoot all day without a worry. I found the sigma's sharpness and VC to be slightly sub-par, and the image quality didn't have a whole lot of contrast. Did I mention this thing grabs focus like a freaking machine? Set it to infinity-5m and you've gone through it's range in 1/4 of a second. Great for wildlife and sports. Now, what it comes down to, or at least what it came down to for me, was this: What made this thing worth the extra $1,000 over the Tamron? and the truth is, not one single thing made me choose this one, rather a multitude of things. Its the many subtle yet obvious edges this lens has over the Tamron that make it an absolute joy to use. Everything about it is perfect in my mind, (then again, that may just be the honeymoon effect still taking place) and I definitely wouldn't trade it for a Tamron and $1,000. Best lens I've ever used. Magical. Bite hard and buy it. You won't regret it for a second.
+51points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

AFS probelm

PostedSeptember 27, 2014
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased new lens a month back and its AFS does not works after 2 weeks. Is it a common problem with Nikon expensive kind lens. I am totally disappointed with this after it happens. Also it was purchased from US and I am working in Middle-east it is very hard to send back to US for repair and too expensive for shipping back to US. It is very bad such kind of expensive lense does not providing a one year international warranty minimum.
Response from Nikon:By Tech SupportOctober 10, 2014
If you would like Nikon USA to troubleshoot this with you please send us some sample images for us to review. Instructions on sending us sample images can be found here: https://support.nikonusa.com/app/an...
-10points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive for a Hobbyist but no Regrets

PostedJune 24, 2014
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As an amateur photographer, with an 80-400mm zoom lens already in my bag, this lens was a purchase of the heart, not the head. Any regrets? None. This lens is superb. While it may be a similar weight and length to the 80-400mm zoom, it is thinner, making it a little less obtrusive. The f2.8 aperture and fast auto-focus are wonderful. The image quality is 2nd to none.
The negative, for me, weight and size. I travel almost weekly, and admit hauling a D610, plus a couple of lenses, can get tiring. On those weeks I want to travel light I take a 28 - 300mm lens. It does the job and fits in my carry on bags.
Yes it is expensive for a non-professional, but if you are looking to purchase a lens that will give years of service, and thrill you with the quality of the pictures, the 70 - 200mm f2.8 has to be on the list.
+17points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast focus, great IQ

PostedJune 19, 2014
Location New England
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was purchased when I owned a D700 and like my other Nikon lenses, was permanently mounted until I switched to D800 bodies. Still my fastest focusing lens, with great sharpness, color and contrast; the vibration reduction feature works very well to reduce motion blur while photographing from my kayak.
+7points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Low Light lens. Sharp, vibration control excellent

PostedMay 13, 2014
Location Staten Island, NY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
OK. I finally bought the lens that I needed and my photos of my daughter in her high school play were what I had always hoped I could capture.
+3points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Lens

PostedMay 6, 2014
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This is probably the Sports Nikon lens (Period) I recommend this lens for anyone that is serious about photography. Always get good shots with this one using a D4.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+3points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

content content

PostedApril 8, 2014
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
wow , quelle merveille, rapide, silencieuse et précise, quelle différence avec la lentille que j'utilisais avantcelle-ci soit la 80-200mm 2.8.
-3points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broken

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Unknown to me this was a gray market lens. The VR motor broke in less than a year and I am unable to repair the lens. It was a gift and when I registered the lens, there was no alert that it was gray market or I would have returned it. A very expensive paper weight.
-71points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJune 5, 2013
Location NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Please check out my reviews of the 14-24mm and the 24-70mm lenses for context. I bought this lens after buying my dream lens (300mm, F2.8) and finding it was too heavy for an old guy like me...that was a sad day. However I checked out the 70-200mm VRII and found it better suited to my capabilities. Years ago this would not have been a discussion. Regardless I added a Nikon 1.4x teleconverter and a Nikon 2.0x teleconverter. The lens is typical of what one would expect from Nikon's Pro lenses: it is fast to focus, tack sharp and easy/intuitive to control. The only suggestion I would have would be the addition of a removable ring mount.
+29points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glass!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Location Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this lens for about a year and have taken many shots with it. While I do agree that this lens is a little heavy, it's a minor detail to get great photos. The AF is very fast and performs well even in low light. I haven't used the VR very much so can't comment on that. This lens delivers every time and is worth every cent.
+2points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Love

PostedMay 1, 2013
Location Arkansas, USA
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I waited a year to buy this lens. It's truly amazing and worth every penny. The real test will be a horse show this weekend and I KNOW it won't disappoint. I bought a Carry Speed FS sling strap to make it more manageable to carry. It's definitely heavy but so worth the photos I can get with it!
+1point
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 18, 2013
Location New Jersey
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this lens a couple of months ago and have shot quite a lot with it on both my D800 and D7000 (with and without the TC20III extender). All combinations rendered nice crisp shots and on the D7000 a 600mm f5.6 to play with. Great wildlife and bird lens.
+11points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent optics

PostedApril 18, 2013
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Dont even think twice to buy this lens. It delivers every time.
+7points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best ever . very sharp

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Location Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this one was bought for following the grand kids. its so sharp and fast focus its scary. this with the 24/70 and i cant believe the difference in the rest of the lenses. theres no coparison . its a little heavy but if u want clarity and colors get one today.
+3points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>