Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Fast aperture, f/2.8 zoom features VR II image stabilization, ED glass and Nano Crystal Coat. Excels at low-light sports, fashion, portraits and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.841 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(183 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 183 reviews
5 stars
171
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
177 out of 183(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive for a Hobbyist but no Regrets

PostedJune 24, 2014
AustinMan
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
As an amateur photographer, with an 80-400mm zoom lens already in my bag, this lens was a purchase of the heart, not the head. Any regrets? None. This lens is superb. While it may be a similar weight and length to the 80-400mm zoom, it is thinner, making it a little less obtrusive. The f2.8 aperture and fast auto-focus are wonderful. The image quality is 2nd to none.
The negative, for me, weight and size. I travel almost weekly, and admit hauling a D610, plus a couple of lenses, can get tiring. On those weeks I want to travel light I take a 28 - 300mm lens. It does the job and fits in my carry on bags.
Yes it is expensive for a non-professional, but if you are looking to purchase a lens that will give years of service, and thrill you with the quality of the pictures, the 70 - 200mm f2.8 has to be on the list.
+2points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast focus, great IQ

PostedJune 19, 2014
Anonymous
Location New England
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was purchased when I owned a D700 and like my other Nikon lenses, was permanently mounted until I switched to D800 bodies. Still my fastest focusing lens, with great sharpness, color and contrast; the vibration reduction feature works very well to reduce motion blur while photographing from my kayak.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Low Light lens. Sharp, vibration control excellent

PostedMay 13, 2014
TonyMo
Location Staten Island, NY, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
OK. I finally bought the lens that I needed and my photos of my daughter in her high school play were what I had always hoped I could capture.
-1point
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality Lens

PostedMay 6, 2014
DepthJulz
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This is probably the Sports Nikon lens (Period) I recommend this lens for anyone that is serious about photography. Always get good shots with this one using a D4.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+1point
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

content content

PostedApril 8, 2014
Bigdan
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
wow , quelle merveille, rapide, silencieuse et précise, quelle différence avec la lentille que j'utilisais avantcelle-ci soit la 80-200mm 2.8.
-2points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

broken

PostedDecember 26, 2013
DocD
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Unknown to me this was a gray market lens. The VR motor broke in less than a year and I am unable to repair the lens. It was a gift and when I registered the lens, there was no alert that it was gray market or I would have returned it. A very expensive paper weight.
-54points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJune 5, 2013
@forensic_photog
Location NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Please check out my reviews of the 14-24mm and the 24-70mm lenses for context. I bought this lens after buying my dream lens (300mm, F2.8) and finding it was too heavy for an old guy like me...that was a sad day. However I checked out the 70-200mm VRII and found it better suited to my capabilities. Years ago this would not have been a discussion. Regardless I added a Nikon 1.4x teleconverter and a Nikon 2.0x teleconverter. The lens is typical of what one would expect from Nikon's Pro lenses: it is fast to focus, tack sharp and easy/intuitive to control. The only suggestion I would have would be the addition of a removable ring mount.
+24points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Glass!

PostedMay 24, 2013
Barfly77
Location Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this lens for about a year and have taken many shots with it. While I do agree that this lens is a little heavy, it's a minor detail to get great photos. The AF is very fast and performs well even in low light. I haven't used the VR very much so can't comment on that. This lens delivers every time and is worth every cent.
-1point
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Love

PostedMay 1, 2013
MaoMingMom
Location Arkansas, USA
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I waited a year to buy this lens. It's truly amazing and worth every penny. The real test will be a horse show this weekend and I KNOW it won't disappoint. I bought a Carry Speed FS sling strap to make it more manageable to carry. It's definitely heavy but so worth the photos I can get with it!
-5points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 18, 2013
wrangler10
Location New Jersey
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this lens a couple of months ago and have shot quite a lot with it on both my D800 and D7000 (with and without the TC20III extender). All combinations rendered nice crisp shots and on the D7000 a 600mm f5.6 to play with. Great wildlife and bird lens.
+6points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent optics

PostedApril 18, 2013
F2.8Junkie
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Dont even think twice to buy this lens. It delivers every time.
+3points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

one of the best ever . very sharp

PostedMarch 14, 2013
earl
Location Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this one was bought for following the grand kids. its so sharp and fast focus its scary. this with the 24/70 and i cant believe the difference in the rest of the lenses. theres no coparison . its a little heavy but if u want clarity and colors get one today.
+2points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So annoyed...that I waited so long to buy one.

PostedMarch 11, 2013
JTMichael
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
Title says it all. For years I lusted after the 70-200 VR, and then VRII but never could pony up and buy one. Well I finally decided to pull the trigger, and I can't believe ups didn't do it sooner. It's just so good. Lighting fast auto-focus, super sharp, great DOF, VR is incredible.
If you're like I was, and lusting...I recommend it. I immediately realized how much easier my life would have been with this lens years ago.
+2points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAST FAST FAST! Superb upgrade in the VR, Great optics and perfect AF for sports (though for kids and brides)

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Irak P.
Location Mexico City, Federal District, Mexico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I previously owned (and reviewed) the 80-200, but I upgraded to this lens a couple of months, and I've shot like crazy since then, lets start:
The pros:
Impecable performance of the AF, absolutely dead on, if you get OOF images it might be a selection point issue, I mean, if you select the 21 point AF-C setting (like the one on D700 and higher bodies) it is easy to get what you meant in focus, if it is not you may try with 9, because quicker bodies like D4 and D3s the average of hits of in focus images (depending on the technic) will sky rocket like in 100% like in my case that recently updated from the non VR 80-200. AF is just perfect in fewer words.
I never owned but used fairly the VR I version of the 70-200 and I never felt in love with it, that was why I kept the non VR until I tried the VR II, but I have to say that it works as expected or better for a lens this price. You can get annoyed for the sound of the VR if you are in a really quiet environment, but if you are at the courtside of the gane you'll never notice it. IT DOES RECOGNIZE PERFECTLY THE PANNING MOVEMENT! like never before, like no other lens (the ones from the white teles company for example)
this is more than welcome for sports, but useful for any kind of shooting.
The "ACTIVE" mode works weird but fine also, I dont use it that much like the "NORMAL" mode anyway.
The "FOCUS BREATHING ISSUE (FBI)": Not an issue to me, in fact it's kind of welcome to me for two reasons; first, it is only noticeable at 200mm at the really closest distance (which is way closer than the 80-200) and you forget about the focal length loss in about a couple of metter away from the minimum focus distance anyway; and second, it is not really noticeable at the 70mm end. Besides, the short focusing is so well improved that your eye will be so pleased for that reason that will loose track of the FBI.
Image quality is just as great as the 80-200 or even better, I could say... if I I let out the pixel peep inside of all of us that It might be slightly softer at 2.8 at 200mm (and only there) compared to the 80-200. You might find also slight distorsion (ONLY IF YOU SHOOT AT PATTERNS, at 2.8, which you won't, this lens is not intent for that).
Build quality is just superb, 'Nuf said,
Weight: It is heavy, yes. Name a good 2.8 zoom that it is not... you can't, all good lenses have great heavy glass.
Price: ok, it is pricey, again, name a good....
Tripod shoe: great! you can remove from the collar (not recommended with full bodies (D3series, D4)) works just fantastic. Collar stays put though.
AF-S... ultra silent, super quick and super responsive, Manual overrides are easy and easier with the AF-M mode. This is a mayor improvement for the wedding photographer !!!! Super silent focusing.
Ok, THE CONTRAS:
G type... what if I want to use this lens in an really older camera?
The lens hood is expensive if you lose it, and it is not as strong as the one used on the 80-200.
You cannot place the lens with the hood facing down on the hood, since it is a tulip shaped you will drop the lens if you do.
Summarizing:
If you want it then get it, if you have the VR1 version UPGRADE IT, you wont regret it. If you own a 80-200 2.8 well... think really well about it, but you might be as happy as me anyway.
+29points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile gem

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Mibrooks27
Location Fly fisherman, fly tier, author, engineer
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I had tried one on my D7000 and loved it. Been saving up money from quitting smoking and finally bought my own, yesterday, from the Shutterbug, here in Eugene. Something not much talked about is just how versatile this lens is. With a TC-17 or TC-20ii, you get a birding lens that is every bit as good as the f4 300mm - as sharp as can be, fast autofocus, and zoom capable. This lens is simply amazing.
+16points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good lens

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Audiman: Serious Hobbyist
Location Waianae, HI 96792, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recently upgraded to D600 and this lens from a D5000 and several DX lenses. I also have the 105mm 2.8 that I like very much. I've been wanting to upgrade to full frame and the 70-200mm 2.8 VRII for about 2 years. Very good lens that's excellent in low light. First images were taken on the Leeward coast of Oahu.
Plan to purchase a 14-24mm 2.8, or the 24mm 1.4 next.
 
My product recommendations
 
+4points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon es la mejor marca

PostedDecember 22, 2012
denisse
Location Vancouver, Colombia Británica, Canadá
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than 20 years
Role Professional photographer
ami me sirve demaciado porque soy una fotografa profecional y me eh dado cuenta que hay otros productos Nikon que tambien son para pequeños
-29points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blurry images every time

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Dave
Location Utah, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Hate it. And Nikon, blames me. Not in the auto mode, or this or that. Come on, own up, let me send it in already. The other lens of the holy triune, fantastic!
-106points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great Lens, when it works!

PostedNovember 29, 2012
Fweberich
Location Houston, TX, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
IO have this lens for 6 months now, and since I got it I noticed that the VR takes too long to kick in and it makes the AF terribly slow and not precise. 30 days ago the lens simply stopped working in some occasions and I noticed that it was a little loose. It shows F/0 in the camera and the lens immediately stops working. I had it happening in several occasions and as I shoot weddings, this is unacceptable.
-31points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible Lens Even in Low Light

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Trekker
User submitted photo
The incredible sharpness, contrast and control of CA and other matters makes this the best, most versatile lens I have owned during 40 years of shooting with Nikon. I regularly push the envelope of slow shutter speeds, and the rate of keepers is amazing. I shoot it wide open and the smooth background and snappy subject detail leave me entirely satisfied. I like to photograph species of bees (I don't tell most people that), and the 70-200 VRII keeps up with them. I use a TC-14ii and don't see a difference in quaiity once one stop down. I normally handhold, but since I have an Arca-Swiss ball head, did replace the foot for convenience. Most of the time that stays in the bag because the 70-200 is SO good hand-held. Quite simply, about 70% of my images are made with this lens - the other 30% mostly with a 12-24 and the 40macro, and some with the 105macro.
+11points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>