Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED

Compelling wide-angle perspective combined with an ultra-fast f/1.4 aperture serves the needs of demanding professionals in exacting conditions.

Average Customer Rating:
4.269 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 26 reviews
5 stars
19
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
22 out of 26(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

24mm f/1.4G is worth the high price

PostedNovember 8, 2013
JimL
Location Granite Falls, NC, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Love the lens. It is a perfect compliment to my D800E. I do recomment stopping it down to 2.0 for better color corner to corner (some vignetting at 1.4). Really becomes sharp from f/4.0 to f/16. This is a great landscape and interior focal length. Resolution is a good match for the D800E. I expect this to perform well with future cameras as demands on lens quality continues to be challenged.
+6points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Karl
Location East Coast, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great lens. Matched up with a D800e, it captures incredible detail and dynamic range. Combined with its fast aperture of 1.4, it is a very versatile and capable product. I was amazed at the colors captured with this combination (D800e and 24mm) while taking pictures at the National Conservatory and in the DC area around the monuments. I was able to hand hold the majority of the shots, keeping an ISO below 400 (100 for most of them) and still have shutter speeds fast enough to eliminate any blurring or loss of sharpness. When I saw the picture later on my computer, I could hardly believe the range of colors that were captured of the flowers. The fast aperture allowed me to focus on the main subject within a frame, creating a soft and very pleasant bokeh. Those shots I took using a tripod with very slow shutter speeds are sharp and have great color consistency. Despite the high price tag for this lens, I have absolutely NO regrets for buying it. It is a great product and can really show the capabilities of a D800e when matched with this camera.
+13points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely an outstanding lens

PostedDecember 17, 2012
psartorello
Location Parker, CO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Unfortunately my current camera body (D80) doesn't really support the highest quality of this lens, I'm so amazed by this lens and the high quality of the lens, such as the motor is extremely quite and quick. I've only had this lens for a short time (sorry guys but only for a day), but the good news is that I've taken over 200 pics with it yesterday and now it's is clearly one of my most favorite lens that I have in my camera bag! All I have to say is thank you Nikon for making such a high quality product. Now I'll have to upgrade my Camera!
+6points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have lenses for pros.

PostedJune 10, 2012
agata-photo
Definitelly best lenses i have ever used in my proffesional life.
-14points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best lens in my kit, ever

PostedApril 19, 2012
Jurppa
Location Stockholm, Sweden
Age 25-34
I have lots of great lenses the 70-200/VRII, 85/1.4G, 105/2.8 Macro. The 24/1.4 is the creamiest of the bunch! Of course, it's a difficult lens you need to learn how to use it well. At f/1.4 the focus is shallow but the bokeh is so creamy you want to shoot it wide open most of the time. It's not perfect for sure, focus is a little slow and the lens is heavy but it's just that good. Go get one if you can afford it!
+9points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finest Modern Nikkor yet tried

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
UES
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Along with a normal lens ( currently 50mm F/1.4 AF-D & AIS choices ) I live in wide angle country. I preferred a 35mm but went to a 24mm when doing an article, then some spreads in NYC. I felt freed using a 24mm in tight city streets. That was almost 30 years ago. Having been shooting various 24mms ever since. Mostly Nikkors, then some Leitz’s & Zeiss, but also on set using Canon, Pentax
And this one is good. Which is direct opposition to what I have found with most modern Nikkor lenses. They seem to be dummied down to the quality of digital sensors, compromising on saturation, depth, richness and just plain biting contrast that rocks you out of your seat. Nikon should have improved the sensors to match the glass, rather than compromised the glass to match the sensors. Alas, modern society.
This 24mm G lens also shares this characteristic, but to a surprisingly low degree. It is truly sharp, edge to edge from 2.8 down, and close wide open. I see no practical distortion, which of late has been rampant amongst modern Nikkors and my biggest customer complaint. They will no longer buy images with noticeable distortion. So on this account I would buy this lens alone.
In fact, it appears so sharp, I can see the hairs on the inner eye lids on a half length portrait shot at F /4.0, hand held under incandescent light at 1/15 of a second.on an old D90.
It’s color is also extraordinary. It is actually both it’s greatest feature and noticeable flaw. It is so pure - refined and delicate are better words. Elegant in fact. Separating different tones distinctly and continuously. On Velvia film this attribute is so awesome it will make you weep. Hypnotic.
Yea, the auto focus blows. As it does on every G lens I have used, in comparison of course to older D Nikkors. But it’s manual focusing is extraordinary. It almost ( but doesn’t and perhaps cannot ) matches a manual focus Nikkor in response, control and usability.
Now for the dark side. The strangest thing is that whilst it is so sharp it’s image for want of a better word looks papery. Almost like it was “painted on”. Again, I have noticed this in all modern Nikkors. Less so here than elsewhere, but still noticeable. And as superb as the color is, and it is superb, the shadows go that blue gray/cyan color. Seen this too on most modern Nikkors. Probably the Nano coat ( if it does anything other than help marking propaganda ). I actually don’t mind this characteristic as much as other things. But if shoot fashion or other high end stuff where people demand ( and deserve ) perfection you may have a problem.
And of course, despite it’s Nano coat rave rave reviews, whether real or planted/paid off, the lens flares more than most older Nikkors. Clearly more than any of my old Nikkor 24mms – F/2.0, F2.8 wither AF-D or AIS. Not like the new 50mm F/1.4G which is basically useless to me for a variety of it’s many serious shortcomings, including it’s tremendous propensity to flare. But still problematic. So care needs to be exerted in cross or close light.
But it’s big issues that regulate this lens to lesser use than the older AIS & AF-D 24s is it’s lack of bite and three dimensionality. It just doesn’t have that killer bite. That depth. Of color and overall weight. And that magic “glow”. The Leica Look if you will. Not that a lot of Nikkors do. But many of the older “pro” targeted lenses did. You would think modern technology could give us that. Or perhaps manufactures just don’t care? Unknown. But in comparison to my older Nikkor 24mm F/2.0 AIS the images suffers in this area. The old 24mm F/2.0 AIS image looks like you are there. It jumps. It’s so real, you think you can reach out an touch it. I think this may be a function of the G lenses lack of biting contrast. In comparison it is quite shocking. Because looking at the G lens image in isolation it is great. But not side by side. And the Nikkor 24mm F/2.0 AIS’s reputation is actually horrible, despite it’s extreme popularity ( and subsequent extreme used selling price ) in some quarters. And it is at least partially justified in some samples. It usually had very low contrast and limited sharpness. But I have 3 good ones ( out of 30 trys ). And they still are very suspect lenses. Still whilst the 24mm F/2.0 AIS relatively low in contrast, it is significantly snappier and more biting than the G lens. And the sharpness of the old lens also has a terrible rep. But I have good ones and would say that perhaps they remain sharper than the G lens. Hard to tell and the older lense just jumps and hits harder. And the G lens color - despite it's greatness does not suprass the old lens. Despite the AIS F/2.0's somewhat less ( noticably but slight # refinement in color, it the AIS is more accurate and more realistic. And the Nikkor 24mm F/2.8 AF-D or AIS is even better than the F/2.0 AIS # If you get a good one - good luck! #.
The flaws should be taken into context. As they are strictly in comparison to older “golden age of western manufacturing” products. Compared to newer Nikkors or other Japanese manufacture’s modern lenses I would say this is the best I have used. If you have owned a new 85mm F/1.4G or 35mm F/1.8 and have seen it’s image as wanting # after 3 tries each dumped mine a while back ) you will understand the problem. That is not the case here.
I would say this is the finest modern Nikkor available. A great piece of glass. Highly recommended and should be the high speed auto focus wide angle of choice in anybody;'s bag. It is in mine. I hope the 35mm G F/1.4 is as good, will get one too love the length. Good shooting.
+12points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Fast Low Light

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
IanBphotography
Location Indianapolis, IN
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Love it ! Great crisp fast wide angle. Did not pick up my 70-24 the whole day of shooting. I have put my zooms aside and only use my 200 F2G VRII, 85 1.4 G, 50 1.4 G, and this amazing lens as my shooting lenses.
-7points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing

PostedMay 12, 2011
NikonJunkieGirl
Location Berkshire County, MA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my favorite lens. 24mm is just the focal length that seems to suit me.
Sometimes I want it slightly wider, but then I use the 14-24. For most things though, this smaller, lighter prime is just the ticket. Most of the time it simply amazes me... it's my workhorse lens!
I'm very keen on getting close to my subjects--this lens lets me get right in there when I want to!
+11points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for theater

PostedApril 19, 2011
JDSNikon
Location Aiken, sc
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is very sharp and has great bokeh. For low light theater photography, it is unsurpassed with the ability to hand hold at a decent shutter speed and low ISO for best quality. Even on the smaller sensor, it gives a good wide angle so it is useful for all Nikon DSLR cameras. Best for full frame ones though.
+10points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedApril 16, 2011
Charley
Location Surprise AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
I use it for indoor ambient light shooting. Most of the time it is wide open. Super sharp pics, good color. Very well constructed. Auto focus is spot on.
+7points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In Love

PostedApril 14, 2011
CIPhotog
This is definitely my most favorite lens! I love the wide angle, with minimal distortions. The extreme speeds on the 1.4 make this incredibly versatile in low light needs. Wonderful lens!
+7points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Right lens for many jobs

PostedApril 14, 2011
Utility Photographer
Location South Carolina
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My favorite lens when shooting conditions are low lighting. Sharp, fast, and lower ISO setting. A great all purpose wide angle lens that stays on my D3 unless another lens is required.
+16points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It handles low light quite well.

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
OvN
Location California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This lens is definitely for low light environment. It has some problem with AF in wide open aperture. On some test shots, it causes the camera sporadically pickup wrong focus, beyond the intended focus spot in well lit area.
I have to turn to manual focus and it works well.
The image I took over the New Year Festival night shooting at 1/15s - F/1.4 ISO 500. It was a completely dark surrounding.
+17points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing in low light!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Vino
Location Chantilly Va (Washington DC)
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens has taken my low light photography to a new level. From the first night I used it to every night after that I've gotten great images. its also one of the sexiest things you can put on your camera.
+15points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite lens!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Alberto T.
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
My lust for this lens began last spring, when I tested it at Nikon's Ginza showroom in Japan. I promised myself I would own this beauty in the not too distant future. Fast forward five months and I finally got the lens in hand. Honestly, I did run into some focus issues. After determining it was not my technique, I fine tuned the autofocus on my D3 body, and the focus problem was gone completely. Its image quality is unbelievable! At f/1.4 it matches what I usually get from my 17-35 at f/5.6, it's that sharp! And its bokeh is incredible. People don't usually associate a wide angle with beautiful bokeh, but this 24mm possesses this virtue. The Nano Coat helps this lens retain contrast against back lit subjects, and greatly minimizes flare. The autofocus is quieter than a whisper, but it's not as fast as my f/2.8 zooms'. That's not to say it's slow, just that the f/2.8 zooms are lighting fast already. What the AF may lack in speed, it makes up in accuracy. The lens is nice and light, but well built to tight tolerances.
+40points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon serves notice, pro primes are back!

PostedAugust 16, 2010
KJDoyle
Location Andover, MA
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
In the past ten years, Nikon has re-invented itself...they make the best cameras, both in low light (D3s) and Hi res (D3x). Some of their new zoom lens designs were so good Canon users were buying adapters just to use them manually (14-24mm f/2.8)...BUT... the Nikon primes were generally long in the tooth, and while good...they were not as good as these new Nikon zooms.
Now the laws of physics have not changed over this time, a prime made with similar and contemporary design considerations as a zoom will be superior optically simply because the design does not have to compromise for changing focal length. Problem was, Nikon had not made any new technology seriously pro primes UNTIL NOW.
This 24mm f/1.4 is the best Nikon lens made to date, probably the best lens I have ever seen or owned in 35+ years, and that includes Leica, Zeiss units costing triple or more the price of this beast...also including the Nikon 28mm 1.4 discontinued a few years back.
It is super sharp at all apertures, has color saturation and micro contrast you have to see to believe. The bokeh is amazing from a 24mm lens, very smooth...but the most impressive part is how the design of this lens allows you to separate your subject from the background with authority...it just pops like 3D.
I am convinced that clients will observe this dramatic difference, basically because this allows you to produce results that they have not seen before. It looks like Nikon is on a march to update its primes to the new standard it set with its pro zooms. Personally, I have always preferred to zoom with my feet and have the best glass on the camera.
As of this writing it looks like Nikon is releasing a new 85mm 1.4 next week, with a similar price point, and I assume similar stunning results...place my order now, and keep those pro primes coming, Nikon!
+37points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Expensive But Worth It!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Nikon4life
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Great Boken. Sharp corner to corner. Fast auto focus. Beautiful color rendering. Perfect weight. You would be nuts, not to add this masterpiece to your collection.
The 24 like the 85 1.4 will be a Classic!
+20points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A True Nikkor Pro Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
happysnapper
Location Pacifica, CA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens is simply put outstanding. It is sharp edge to edge even wide open at 1.4. The auto focus is very very accurate and relatively fast given the amount of glass being moved around and the accuracy it needs to be positioned at to achieve the tack sharp images it makes. It is built like a true pro lens, heavily overbuilt and rugged and weather sealed to match the likes of the D3s, D700 and D300s. If you need to do any lowlight hand held photography this lens should be your first consideration, you will make photographs in places you never though possible.
+20points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very special specialty lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
wafer
Location NJ/FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
You have to use this lens to really appreciate what it can do. Shooting wide open allows for effects that are just stunning. It is actually an excellent performer across the board in that I would not hesitate to use it at higher focal lengths. Add to that an excellent build, balanced feel, quiet and fast AF, and it all adds up to a lens that, if you have a use for it, you will not be disappointed with.
+1point
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24mm f/1.4G ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lens. Heavy.

PostedMay 19, 2011
Tony
Look, everyone needs to evaluate what their kit will consist of. Are you carrying zooms or primes? If you're a prime shooter, the 24, 50, 85 are great lenses. Maybe even the 105 micro. However, this lens is as good as it gets for a wide angle prime lens. Sure, there are wider choices, but @ f1.4 you get a pretty darn fast lens. More importantly, on a DX sensor, you're getting a 35mm...one of the best focal lengths available for every day shooting. Sure, you could get a slower 24 and muck with your ISO settings, but I hate doing that. This is a great lens. Sharp to the edges. Wish it had VR, but no standard or wide angle Nikkors have VR. Not the 24, 35, 50, 60, or 85. So, you get what you can get and with f1.4, you have lots of choices to freeze the action and get some great bokeh.
+11points
1 2 next>>