Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR

High-performance wide-angle zoom features Nano Crystal Coat and VR image stabilization for dramatically sharper still images and video capture.

Average Customer Rating:
4.78 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 50 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
48 out of 50(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely Sharp Ultra Wide Angle Zoom Lens

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This Nikon ultra wide angle zoom lens has exceptional resolution and an excellent focal length range. Its wide breath of focal length is well suited for landscape images without having to change lenses. Attached is a photo of the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, taken at a shutter speed of 1/250, an aperture of f/4.5, an ISO of 100, and a focal length of 16mm, taken with a Nikon D800 camera body.
-2points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is the Wide Angle Lens You Need

PostedApril 4, 2014
JohnC
Location Houma, LA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I would not hesitate to recommend this lens. If you have money to burn, buy the 14-24mm; but if you buy the 16-35mm you won't be sorry and you'll save money. I use this lens with a Nikon D800E mainly for scenes in the FX mode. The filter thread on the lens is 77mm, which is the same thread used on many of the best Nikon lenses. You can buy one set of quality filters and use the filters on multiple lenses. This lens is awesome in every aspect. It's only competition is the 14-24 2.8 which only goes 2mm wider and is about $750 more than the 16-35. Plus 16-35 has a lot more useful focal range. Built solid, ZERO slop in the focus ring. Highly recommended if you're looking for a pro wide lens.
+17points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharp,sharp,sharp

PostedMarch 24, 2014
jakedsnake38
Location S. California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I really like this lens. I have had it for a couple of months by now, and I am still amazed by how sharp it is. Highly recommend it!
Note to Nikon: I really miss the f-stop ring
+2points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best of class

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Librarian7
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I read all the reviews and commentaries and took the plunge. I was using the D90 with 10-24 Nikkor and decided it was more important to have UWA in that range with my FX D600. The 10-24 is an amazing lens, but so far the 16-35 seems even better. VR actually is very useful (I often need to take advantage of mega depth-of-field) and stopping down to f11ish I can hand-hold at crazy-slow shutter speeds, this is particularly useful when I am shooting at an angle that is not conducive to tripod use. As noted, it is a big lens, but if you want all the bells and whistles of today's cutting-edge optical tech best start doing some bench presses, ha ha.
+5points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Freddie
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
If you're looking for a wide-angle zoom that will cover an FX sensor, you should consider the 16-35mm f/4 VR. I'm very happy with this lens. It may not be quite as good as the 14-24mm f/2.8 lens when it comes to sharpness, but they're very close. The 14-24mm is an excellent lens. However, there are some
advantages to the 16-35mm. In my opinion, a big advantage is the ability to attach filters to the front of the lens ---- you can't do that with the 14-24mm. The 14-24mm is faster (f/2.8) but the 16-35mm has VR which allows shooting at slower shutter speeds in lower light without a tripod.
At the 24mm setting and either f/5.6 or f/8, the lens is EXCELLENT. At some of the other focal lengths there is slight softness in the extreme corners, but it's minor.
I use this lens with a Nikon D800 mainly for scenics in the FX mode. The filter thread on the lens is 77mm, which is the same thread used on many of the best Nikon lenses (the 24-70mm f/2.8, 85mm f/1.4, 70-200mm f/2.8). You can buy one set of quality filters and use the filters on multiple lenses.
I would not hesitate to recommend this lens. If you have money to burn, buy the 14-24mm; but if you buy the 16-35mm you won't be sorry and you'll save money.
+71points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value and quality

PostedAugust 1, 2012
parrothouse
Location Alberta, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Purchased for landscape and general purpose photography for use with my D800. Focus is instant and accurate, images are exceptionally sharp. Barrel and pin-cushion distortions are linear and easily correct. Construction quality is superior, handing ergonomics very comfortable. Excellent value and quality.
+11points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ideal WA zoom for general use.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Boxbrownie
Location SE, England, UK
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Purchased for use on a D3X as a general WA lens, jobs range from WA room views in an industrial/enginnering environment to personnel presentations and very large (500+) group shots which have been enlarged to 3 metre wide and every face is recognisable, this lens covers the lot, I've not had a duff shot from it yet. The VR is a boon when only hand held can be used on certain jobs and although the 16mm distortion is noticable it can be managed in PP.
Also quite often my lenses get oil mist and dross thrown on them so having the front filter facility is an essential for me and very welcome compared to the 14-24.
After 40+ years of using Nikon professionally I think I have finally found the perfect WA zoom, well until Nikon bring a new one out...................
It may not be the perfect lens, but it is a great one.
+22points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tempted between this and 24-70, f2.8

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Tekkie
Location NJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I was willing to go either way on lenses as a new user of the D800, but letting my head rule the heart for a change on this decision and realizing that many of my landscape shots would benefit from wider angle, I invested in it.
I love this lens and it provides interesting perspective with superb quality. Distortion is there at the widest angle but I merely adjust as needed. One should think and compose when looking through such a wide lens in any case. The 24-70 was recommended to me as a great walk about lens for my D800 but it is too heavy for me and this is not good on a D800 camera that reveals shooting compromise/ camera shake. This lens is lighter and has VR. It's a terrific lens for landscape and an indispensable travel tool for low light. Mine will be complimented with the 85mm 1.8 for portraits. Buy it if you work landscape and hate carrying tripods.
+24points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Absolute Keeper

PostedNovember 24, 2011
NikonUser.Lindy
Location Artesia, CA.
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens last november 16,2011 and i took my first picture on thanksgiving of this year the result is amazing.
-10points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Wide Angle. Superb. Must Have!!

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Hards420
Location San Diego, CA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just got this lens today and I just love it. I started shooting around the house taking wide angle pics of corridors and doors. Such a pleasure to shoot with this lens. This lens is an absolute must have wide angle for a photographer to have in its arsenal. I think this lens is going to stay on my D5000 for a while until I get bored with it. :) Love the lens.
-4points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Get One!!

PostedOctober 29, 2011
WA 2 FAST
Location Green Bay, WI
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just got the lens the other day. I had about 2-3 hrs. shooting things around the house to get a feel for it with different lighting etc., and had to shoot a retirement party that night. I mainly shoot College sports with a D700 & the 70-200 2.8. I usually carry the 50mm 1.4G also.
As a back up, and "wide" zoom I have been using a D200 and the 18-200mm VR.
I have been wanting an FX wide zoom for quite some time now and was torn between the offerings! I finally decided on the 16-35mm 4.0 VR. Cost and being able to use filters entered into the equation. This thing loves the D700! The higher ISO's and VR definately make up for the f4 of this lens. Plenty of capability! True, the barrel distortion is there at 16 to 19, but either composition or Photoshop can eliminate it!
My images came out sharp, and the AF worked flawlessly for me. The color rendition was great! This will probably become my new "walking around" lens! It just feels "right" on the D700! I wish now I hadn't waited so long to pull the trigger on this one, but I'm really glad it's in my bag now!!
+18points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp as a razorblade

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Urayoan
Location Puerto Rico
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very sharp lens and VR feature make it perfect for low light situation. A good alternative to the venerable 14-24 lens.
0points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my most used lenses - excellent

PostedMay 16, 2011
hs_photo
Location Israel
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought the 16-35 a year ago for my D700, to replace the 20-35/2.8. Needless to say that the 16-35 outperforms the old 20-35/2.8 in every aspect: no color aberration, improved corner sharpness, better colors and more "pop" to the images. I carry this lens where ever I go. It's excellent for landscape, with a very useful zoom range.
The close focusing ability allows great perspectives. I shot a rhino at a safari park from 10" distance capturing the entire rhino at an incredible angle - and you can see every detail on the skin of the animal.
Distortions are noticeable at 16mm when shooting straight lines / buildings, but can be easily fixed in PP.
VR has allowed me to shoot the Vegas strip at night with no tripod, where others had to use tripods.
Colors and contrast are superb. At f4 one can even isolate subjects and the lens produces a nice, unobtrusive bokeh.
In addition to landscape work, the lens renders itself equally well for tight indoor shots - family gatherings and group shots indoors, as well as museums, churches, etc. VR is a real bonus here.
It also works well with bounced flash - the metering on a D700 is always spot on.
About metering - I feel that this lens requires less metering correction than for example the old 20-35 or the 70-300 VR, the latter of which tends to overexpose in bright sunlight and contrasty scenery. It might be because of the wide angle view, but definitely something I noticed.
In the past year I have turned to prime lenses for most of my shooting, EXCEPT the 16-35/f4. It balances well on the D700, though it could be a bit smaller. Though it's almost the size of the 24-70, it is less heavy and easier to carry around.
This lens together with 2-3 prime lenses (50/1.4, 105/2.5 and 180/2.8) make a relatively lightweight kit and are my everyday tools for what I shoot: travel / landscapes / cityscapes, people / portraits and available light (including night) photography.
I can definitely recommend this zoom.
+33points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally found the right wide zoom

PostedApril 29, 2011
Jazmo
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
My first FF wide zoom was the 14-24/2.8, which is an incredible lens, but the limited range and lack of filters keeps it from getting into my bag very often. I got the 17-35/2.8, thinking it would fit the bill, but it just doesn't have the same level of sharpness. When the 16-35/4 was announced, I thought it might be the one. I've had it now for about 9 months and it goes with me everywhere. It's wide enough, but has the range to be useful in many situations. And I can use the very thin 77mm Nikon Circular Polarizer! And it's very very sharp. Much has been made of the relatively high distortion, but I've never noticed it in real world shooting. Seldom does the f/4 maximum aperture limit my shooting. On my D700, there always seems to be more ISO to use, and the VR also helps when using slower shutter speeds.
It's a really great lens!
+16points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 16, 2011
DutchUSNikonshooter
Location San Antonio,TX
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Excellent lens, lightweight, VR works very well. Sharpness is excellent. There is some distortion in the widest settings but easy to correct (or even automatically). Now we need f/4 versions of the 24-70 mm and 70-200 mm with VR and an updated 80-400 mm!
-9points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Lens

PostedApril 15, 2011
IslandNikonShooter
Location Hawaii
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great lens for scenics and shooting in cramped interiors. Focal length range is a short, but still very useful. Allows for very short camera to subject distance with distortion very well-controlled at all apertures and focal lengths. Great depth-of-field. Internal focusing means the physical length of the lens doesn't change when focusing or zooming. Solid build.
+5points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great wide zoom

PostedApril 14, 2011
EddieClarkMedia
Location Boulder, CO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very sharp wide zoom with great clarity, and fast focusing. VR2 makes slow shutter speeds hand held much easier and more reliable = more keepers. Also lighter than an equivalent 2.8 lense, not obtrusively big like the 24-70 2.8, and less expensive than a 17-35 2.8.
But, it does suffer from distortion at the wide ends, which isn't a problem if you shoot accordingly- rating should really be a 4.5 because of the distortion. Not an ideal lense for architectural photography. Photoshop or LR 3 make it easy to correct in post if need be though.
+22points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful, versatile lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
jmiller1948
Location Hickory, NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Exceptionally sharp. Great for landscapes. Has become one of my favorite lenses.
+3points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect solution

PostedApril 14, 2011
sgandy
Location Lafayette, CO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I love this lens. Dead sharp. Fast focus. All my filters fit it. I never need anything wider than f4. Terrific price.
-1point
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 16-35mm f/4G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJanuary 30, 2011
fotomode
Location Quebec city, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Since l pass from the D300 to D700, l was waiting for a good lens to replace my Nikon DX 10-24mm. This 16-35mm is just superb. Fast autofocus and very sharp.. In the beginning l was asking to me why a VR on this kind of lens. Wow you can shoot at 20mm at 1/8 sec. very easy. So l recommend this lens and for the price, this is a "must" in your gear.
+4points
1 2 3 next>>