Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.846 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 52 reviews
5 stars
47
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
51 out of 52(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well worth every dollar!

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Nikon D7000 user
Location Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens is awesome, the difference between my 18-105mm and this is huge. I love this lens, its perfect for real estate and landscapes. Just buy it.
+4points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wider than expected

PostedJuly 22, 2014
ScottL
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
What an awesome lens. The difference between 18mm on my existing lenses to 10mm on this one is dramatic. Exciting possibilities. Expensive, but worth the investment. Can't wait to take this on my next trip.
+4points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

10-24 Nikkor AF-S DX for D7100

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
NevadaJayHawk
Location Sunrise Manor, NV, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The clarity of this lens is fantastic. The feel is right. The weight is nominal for a lens of this caliber. If you like the outdoors and especially like landscapes this lens is for you. I looked at several other brands but kept returning to the Nikkor. My decision was a three month test and review of different wide angles. I am confident with this lens and expect it to perform well for many years. This lens will be used primarily on the D7100. I put a B+H XS-PRO Digital UV Haze MRC nano filter on the front. I am looking forward to hiking the Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, and the Wasatch range with this lens. Hope to see some of you out on the trail. Happy hunting!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
SB-800 AF Speedlight
4.6 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Brilliant lens, outstanding image quality

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
cropdaddy
Location Portugal
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Bought one of these second hand and I´m addicted to it... it´s a superb, tack sharp and free of CA lens, and it has given my love for photography a big boost. This lens is brilliant!
+45points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

PostedNovember 27, 2013
User9704
I just got this lens about a week ago and I'm very happy with the pics taken
what a big difference between my old Tamron 10-24 and this one.
You should buy it.
+5points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Every Penny.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
ClassicDigital
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a must have lens if your into videography, architecture, landscape, interior photography or just want to capture a scene from a different perspective.
This lens creates a wide angle buy pushing out both the foreground and the background.
You can bring objects in close and push out the background as well. This can be accomplished by getting close to and focusing on your subject. You get a really nice effect that will pull you into the photo and really give you a different feel on a scene or landscape.
This lens is sharp all over. If used properly you can get photos sharp edge to edge. The key is knowing how close your foreground and objects in your foreground are in relation to the lens. The closer objects are to the edges of the frame the softer the edges of the frame will look. That's just how the DOF works with wide angle lenses
I have taken some really amazing photo's with this lens. I actually use this lens almost as much as my 16-85mm VR. The 16-85mm does give you a wide angle, But its not the same effect as what this lens produces. The 16-85 is just wide at 16mm. The 10-24mm spreads out the sky and pushes out the background at any focal length. You get to choose just how wide or "tight" of a wide angle shot you want to take between 10 and 24mm.
The build quality of this lens is right in line with all the other mid to higher end G lenses. In that its built with a mixture of metal and polycarbonate plastic parts with a metal mount and rubber gasket. The zoom ring feels very smooth, the focus ring also feels smooth. This lens is equipped with Nikon's ring type SWM motor. So as a result you get instant manual override and quiet and fast AF operation. Though all of Nikon's higher end AF-S lenses have a ring type SWM motor. If the lens features instant manual override then it's got a ring type SWM motor.
This is one of the heavier lenses I own. It's almost as heavy as my 16-85mm which is probably attributed to the amount of glass inside this lens. Though compared to other lenses on the market this lens is still considered a lightweight.
I use this lens on my D3100 and my D7000's. It produces wonderful sharp and contrasty images. With this lens set to F8 everything is in focus. Which is perfect for landscape use. I have also used this lens for automotive photography.
You just have to keep in mind that this lens can distort your subject if you get too close. Which is why I keep this lens between 16 and 24mm for certain types of work. I also pay close attention to how I frame my subjects. Straight lines and square structures can get exaggerated if this lens is used carelessly.
Overall this lens is sharper and better made then its third party competition. I owned a 10-24mm lens made by a third party company before I bought the Nikkor and just wasn't happy with its image quality. It was just too soft on the corners.
If you've got the money then don't hesitate to buy this lens. Its amazing.
+41points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nikon (Nikor) 10-24mm Lens

PostedApril 10, 2013
PhilJ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
The 10-24mm lens takes great photos with my D3200 Camera
-16points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens for Interiors

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Raisemore
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very sharp ultra wide for interior shooting. I like using an SB-400 bounced off the ceiling with my D7000 but ambient light is even better. The broad focal range comes in handy. Many shots look better than the actual subject in real life. Foreground close in is essential for great wide angle shots. This and the 18-200 VR II are all any DX owner needs today.
+11points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very low distortion

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
brianf
Location Oakville, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I do part time real estate photography. Obviously a super wide angle is needed for those large rooms. I had read about a fair bit of distortion at the 10 and 12 area of the lens but it is minimal. On a D7000 the in camera editing almost eliminates any horizontal curving along the walls where they meet the ceiling. The in camera correction works so well that any post correction on Capture NX2 is not needed. On a large blown up photo it would be needed. The only time I am bothered by the curving effect at 10 to 12 mm is when I flip the camera around and shoot portrait orientation. It just seems to stand out more this way.
The color reproduction is very good when you nail the white balance.
Even in tricky mixed light conditions it focuses quickly and spot on. It is also very quiet. Vinneting is minimal at any setting.
You cannot use a built in flash as a large shadow is cast. Putting my sb700 on fixes this even if you use the top shoe. (I usually use the SB700 on a side mount bracket)
80% of my use for this lens is indoors but on a recent trip I used it for some wide outdoor landscapes and it was again A1 with little or no distortion.
Whether indoor or outdoor if you get to 14mm or more the distortion is a non issue.
Build quality seems excellent and it has a nice heavy solid feel.
+29points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Below average lens

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Joe H.
Location Seattle, WA, USA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Overall I have been quite disappointed with this lens. I use it on a D7000. It resolves very poorly (a lot of detail is lost) when the subject is at a distance, making it a poor landscape lens (tripod does not help). I also own the Nikon 17-55, and at overlapping focal distances the 17-55 far out resolves the 10-24, it isn't even close. For the price, it has definitely been a disappointment. If the subject is closer then the lens performs a little better, but still not well enough. The D7000 AF-Fine tune has been of no help with this one, there is just an overall lack of clarity. But when I need a really wide shot, at least it goes to 10mm.
-35points
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful wide angle lens

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Grimbot
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
The Nikkor 10-24 is a wonderful lens for landscape photography providing a great field of view...approximating a 16-35 FX lens. I used this lens extensively on my D7000 during a photo trip to Utah and found it to be superb. Photoshop easily corrects the small optical flaws of this lens.
I have also used this lens on my D600 when doing corporate video work. It is very handy to have this wide field of view especially when shooting in cramped warehouses and similar situations. This lens is expensive for a DX format lens but as the old saying goes you get what you pay for.
+17points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra-wide Travel/Interior Architecture DX Lens

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Roger Dodger-SF
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been shooting industrial design, transportation, interior, and travel photography with primarily Nikon Cameras and Lens with excellent results for over 50 years. When switiching over from film to the more affordable DX/Cropped Sensor DSLR D70, D90, and D300s I ran into the typical issues and cost factor of finding an affordale ultra-wide lens solution to supplement the Nikon 20mm F2.8 lens that was so usefull when used on my 35mm F100 DSLR for shooting interiors of retail stores, yachts, and cars without having to buy the expensive 14mm 2.8 series lens. The Nikon 10-24mm Zoom has become more useful in the areas of travel photography in the narrow streets of Greece, Italy, and other European locations where I photograph a lot of fishing ports along with my maritime photography. I especially find this lenes invaluable when photographing U.S. Coast Guard Cutters, large Navy Ships exteriors/dockside and on-board activities at commissioning ceremonies. The lens has an excellent build quality and weather sealing gasket for use in many of the areas where dust and moisture environmental conditions are an everyday problem. The ability to use a front element protective filter, unlike the Nikon 14mm F2.8 or 14mm 24-70 2.8 makes this lens less vulnerable to accidental damage. The careful use of the supplied lens shade is important to reduce lens flare issues from off angle lighting, and directly shooting into the sun. I have gotten terrific color rendition and fantastic color saturation and image sharpness when reducing the exposure by one thrid stop. I plan to add a FX DSLR by Nikon if it prices out between the D7000/D300s and the D800. I plan to purchase the Nikon 16mm-35mm F4 VR for use on both DX and FX formats and continue to use the Nikon 10mm-24mm especially when traveling with my D90 or D7000 to save weight and space. My present travel choice is packing the D7000 and the 10mm-24mm, 16mm--85mm VR, 70mm-300mm VR, Nikon G 50mm F 1.8, and a Coolpix 7000 for hiking and back-up. With this set-up I can shoot practically anything and everything that captures the total experience of discovering new places and people---and end-up with publishable professional results. My excellent Nikon equipment helps me to capture---truly magnicifant "optical eye candy."
+46points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

On my camera most of the time.

PostedJune 17, 2012
weirdohenrico
Location Philippines
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my go-to lens. I don't have a walk-around-zoom-lens and the reason is because I have this lens. From landscape to close up still life and even portraits -- I enjoy using this lens. I can't complain about the sharpness because to me it is a very sharp lens. Distortion is fine and to be expected. This is my first UWA lens and has made my photography more enjoyable.
Build quality is great -- It feels really solid even after two years and many vacations. I would definitely buy it again. In the beginning I was considering the 12-24 f4 which is more expensive but the money I saved I got the 35mm 1.8 DX and another lens. Really happy with this lens and would definitely recommend it.
+21points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for landscapes

PostedOctober 6, 2011
stanleymcp
Location Minden, NV
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I was concerned that this lens may be too wide and put everything too far off in the distance. I was wrong. I probably use this as much as my 18-200. I've found that it is a great lens for hiking the Sierra.
+68points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Lens, Great Value

PostedAugust 19, 2011
tomkellyphoto
Location Park City, UT
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Very economical lens for quality. Offers amazing wide angle with DX cameras. Have been totally satisfied with lens quality.
+17points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good wide angle lens

PostedJune 10, 2011
ivaylomm
Location Chicago, IL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Very useful lens. The range is awesome. The colors are beautiful. Focuses close. Good even for portraits if you don't mind the funny bokeh. Wide angle lens is always a good thing to have ,so I think it is worth buying one and with Nikon you always get what you're paying for, many times you get a lot more, not in this case, but I'm still very happy with purchasing this lens and I would buy it again, no doubt ! It is an awesome product !
That is what Nikon does, after all.
+25points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm a Wide-Angle junkie!

PostedMay 30, 2011
D5000Shooter
Location Sewanee, TN
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This 10-24mm lense is great piece of glass! I have used it in urban and rural landscape settings as well as taking pictures for events for my employer (a private school). People are so impressed with the way it can capture a setting. Advice: get in close as possible and really fill that frame up! If you just stay back to get as much in frame as possible, you will end up with ants and small figures in boring pictures. Photoshop CS5's lense distortion filter can help correct slight distortion this lense can produce in the wider settings (10-12 mm).
+27points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for APS sensor

PostedMay 12, 2011
Nikon Enthusiast
Location Lakeland, Florida
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great for APS sensor gives 15mm equivalent. Works in small interior spaces.
+2points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunning view and angle

PostedApril 22, 2011
Okuto
Location St Paul,MN
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I've been shooting with a 35 mm for years and with this lens it 's a new approach how to re-frame my shoots. This wide angle offer a spectacular view and the clarity of the pictures are astounding.For some cases I had to move closer from subject to make the shoot.I am not disappointed with this product you will love it.
+16points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to any gear bag

PostedApril 16, 2011
Ray
Location Seven Hills, OH
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens fills the gap for taking group shots and landscape photography.
+3points
1 2 3 next>>