Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G

Ideal for travel, event, environmental and general photography in a wide variety of conditions, with superb optical formula and an ultra-fast f/1.4 maximum aperture.

Average Customer Rating:
4.633 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 98 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
21
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
94 out of 98(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
66 Questions | 104 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent and Bright Interior Lens

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I use the Nikon 50mm f/1.4 lens to photograph famous paintings around the world in dimly lit museums. This lens provides excellent resolution, even at f/1.4, with little distortion. Below is a photo of Vincent van Gogh's "The Mulberry Tree" that hangs in the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena, California. I used a Nikon D700 camera body, a shutter speed of 1/200 of a second, an aperture of f/1.4, an ISO of 1000, Tungsten White Balance, and Center Weighted Metering.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lens for daytime or evening on the town

PostedNovember 3, 2014
BCOLMAN
Location Ottawa, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Sharp, fast focussing, excellent low light performance, perfect on my D4 and D810, no worries about tripods and flashes!
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it for indoor basketball

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Daddio
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Purchased this lens because it's a great prime lens / focal length for general purpose use and specifically to improve results for indoor basketball under challenging / artificial lighting conditions. Score! Other lenses have come and gone but this one stays in the bag. 50mm / FX is "right" for a lot of situations -- so everyone should have at least one -- and this is a fundamentally very good performer for the price point -- stills and video... Nikon covered the bases nicely here. The photos are beautiful. Build quality is A OK in my book. If you need a Nikon 50mm for FX you won't be disappointed with this one. Spending 3x as much will not produce better results for 99% of us. Improve your technique instead and pocket the money. Camera bodies will come and go. Glass holds value. This particular lens will always have a place in the bag.
+4points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice for nighttime street photography

PostedJune 9, 2014
NevadaJayHawk
Location Sunrise Manor, NV, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have found this lens to be the perfect companion for nighttime portraits of street people in Las Vegas. I use it with a D7100 and it gives me the perfect reach for finding subjects in the crowds of Fremont Street. This is the perfect FX lens to use on a DX body. It is clean, fast, and sure. If you have a DX it makes perfect sense to add this one to your collection. Now go have fun finding your subjects.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+15points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super lens

PostedApril 4, 2014
Gwar
Location Cherryville, OR 97055, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
I just got it, and with the f stop breadth It has boosted my creative ability. As a food wine and travel writer this lens will be my go to piece. A great value !
-3points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A brilliant, tack-sharp, butter-smooth bokeh, low-light speed demon.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
LoyalNikonEnthusiast4Life
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Bought the 35mm 1.8G DX along with my D7100, and it never leaves my bag. The 50mm 1.4G is now my go to choice when I'm chasing my toddlers around my house, running and gunning. The "keeper" rate is off the charts and I'm nailing focus 80% of the time, even with my fast-moving "targets." Sharpness, color and contrast is amazing wide-open, and has really elevated my photography to the next level, if you'll excuse the cliche. I'll probably go "full-frame" in the future, and I'm glad thus little gem will be able to make the move with me.
On a side note, remember that only FX-compatible lenses will make the transition with you if you upgrade to a full frame body later. Good glass is key to producing good images, so invest wisely.
+15points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all purpose lense

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Geomickey
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my first FX lens. After dropping $3K on the D800E, I wanted a good portrait lens at a reasonable price. The 50mm f/1.4G has certainly exceeded my expectations for a lens in the $500 range. Auto-focus is spot on , photos are sharp and crisp, great colors and very good bokeh. At 1.4, I can take low light shots without a flash. I am very glad that I chose the 50 1.4G as my first FX lens. I highly recommend!!! Every Nikon owner should have one in their camera bag.
+27points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Spartaco
Location Federal District, Brazil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
You can focus close to you target, and it has a realy nice bokeh, it`s a great lens for a good price!
-7points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have.

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Goldrimmer
Location Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
For the price and quality, this is a must have lens for anyone who has a Nikon DSLR.
Since the purchase, it has been my indoors go to lens. The images are sharp, auto focus is right on, light, and the manual focus overwrite works great. Perfect portrait lens.
If you are considering buying this lens or some other lens, buy this one first!
And I believe this lens should have a gold ring on it. just saying.
-1point
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Compact and Sharp

PostedApril 6, 2013
Hindsight2011
Location Canonsburg, PA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This lens is very clear and very sharp on my D800 firing at 36mp. Focus is fast (fast enough for most of us anyway) even in low light and there is almost no distortion. Dollar for dollar, in the context of fast lenses, this 50mm 1.4G provides a great value to the consumer.
This is one to consider for an everyday walk around lens or a compact/light carry in your pocket lens for when evening sets in. It is fast becoming the lens I leave on my D800 most of the time.
+21points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Go-To Lens

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
JMM Shutterbug
Location Colorado, USA
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
Just received this lens and I am thrilled with it. Great in low light and for portraits. I find it to be fast and the bokeh is nice and smooth. The lens is substantial on my DX Camera.
+18points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very fast prime lens perfect to start your Nikon adventure

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Artborghi
Location Zurich, Switzerland
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
There is no situation where this lens cannot win over many others. It is very fast, very sharp, very light and with a good price. Stop it at f/2 if you crop huge pictures to maintain picture perfection. Full open it gives some vignetting and softness at the corners which are just as expected. A lens to always have, mounted or in your pocket.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+13points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp, Nice Contrast & Affordable

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Vic
Location Midwest, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
A wonderful lightweight lens rendering sharp, brillant images consistent throughout its aperture range. Careful focus when shooting wide-open will be rewarded by sharp images. The bokeh from this lens I've found to be quite nice. AF is smooth, quiet and fast enough for my needs plus the feel of the focus ring when manually focusing is perfect. This lens has been a great addition to my camera bag. Thanks Nikon!
+19points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My goto lens for D800

PostedDecember 21, 2012
RWJVan
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Used this lens for my last photo class exclusively, get optics and so sharp from edge to edge. I would recommend this lens on a full frame or a DX format camera as I have used this lens both on my D90 and D800 and and extremely happy and impressed in it's low light ability. Best bag for the money it's nice owning a lens that is able to goto 1.4 stop.
+6points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear & Bright

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Vedauwoo
Location Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This review is about the 50mm 1.4G, catalog 2180.
I decided to buy the lens for low-light situations, such as indoor ceremonies. I was not disappointed; the lens is admirable. Keeping the settings of my D5100 camera the same, I tried other lenses and found that this lens gave consistently brighter, colorful indoor shots. As can be expected, the field of focus gets short when the aperture is opened. A couple of cropped pictures are attached to illustrate the lens:
One photo shows a meteor trail from the recent Perseid meteor shower. I used a manual setting at 1.4 and a 1.3 second time exposure. No one beats Nikon for photography in low light.
The other shows a bee visiting the blossoms of a Russian Sage. Bees are constantly moving; so I believe they provide a convenient, conclusive “field test” of the ability of a camera’s computer to quickly appraise the situation and order the focus and aperture of the lens. In other words, the camera and the lens worked well together to get a difficult photograph. The D5100 was set on full automatic – point and shoot. The picture illustrates the narrow depth of field and how out-of-focus objects are displayed. The foreground and background bokeh are consistent.
Best features:
Image brightness and color are superior.
Compact size.
At 50/75 mm the lens gives a “natural” perspective.
Value for price.
Nice match with D5100.
Worse features:
Careful focus is required, or thoughtful selection of the camera’s focus mechanisms.
Accessories:
A neutral or UV filter to protect the lens.
+17points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quiet & Quick

PostedJuly 1, 2012
NewtoNikon
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am very new to the Nikon dslrs, I purchased my camera 1 year ago today(d5100) I just purchased this lense today and absolutly love it! The focal distance is just right and it is awesome for portraits! I would definintly recommend this lense, when using the 1.4 apeture the pictures are stunning. It also takes great stop motion even in the 1.4 apeture. Worth the money!
+16points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp, fast

PostedMarch 30, 2012
HVA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I bought this lens about 2 years ago for my D300, it's fast and sharp.
0points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Exceptional Lens

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
nikonsigma
Location England, UK
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have used this lens for a few months now, and I am still impressed with the quality of the images it produces. Sharp as you like from f/2.8 onwards, and nearly as sharp wide open. Focus is quick and quiet, and more importantly, accurate. The images have plenty of contrast, and despite the lack of Nano Crystal Coat, flare is very well controlled.
This lens is perfect as a general use lens on FX, and a short portrait lens on DX. I would highly recommend this lens to any Nikon SLR user.
+20points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens - opened box two hours ago!!!!

PostedNovember 1, 2011
tsaddik
Location Riverside, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just received this lens for my birthday (71), and haven't taken that many shots, but it seems terrific! The images are much sharper than I expected them to be, The lens is lightweight, but obviously sturdy. The few images I took at full aperture show me that this will be a perfect lens for portrait photos of my family and friends. This was one wonderful gift!
+21points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.4G
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have lense

PostedOctober 10, 2011
azizi
Location egypt
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
this is a must have lense,ive been using it for 1 month without switching to other lenses,its perfect for portraits and excellent for low light condition. it is remarkably sharp and stunning colors.it also have fast focusing motor,besides lens built quality is great.
+9points
1 2 3 4 5 next>>