Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR

This 5.8x zoom, designed exclusively for use with Nikon’s DX-format, features Nikon’s VR image stabilization and is perfect for portraits and action.

Average Customer Rating:
4.137 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(168 Reviews) 168
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 168 reviews
5 stars
85
4 stars
47
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
8
139 out of 168(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 78 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Review 1 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent prodct

PostedJuly 16, 2014
binudebbas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great in Value and quality. Sharp images, excellent colour reproduction, quick in focus and blurr-free photos.
As a new user I am really happy with performance of lens as well as camera (D7100)
 
My product recommendations
Marketplace: D7100 HD-SLR
 
 
 
 
 
0points
Review 2 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Carry Around Lens

PostedMarch 7, 2013
The Love Doctor Strange
Location Florida
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Really the title says it all. I have used this lens with the D90 since I got it with the kit. I think this lens has better color reproduction and response then all the other kit lenses provided with the other cameras further down the Nikon Hierarchy. My D90 is the first SLR camera of any type I have owned and I love it. Since I got the original kit I have purchased several Nikon lenses (professional and consumer) but the original 18-105mm ended up the tool of choice most of the time. Its just that versatile. My only complaint, in very low light without the flash and a tripod, there are clearly much better performers within nikon's line up.
+33points
Review 3 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatile of them all

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
MagarVu
Location Milpitas California
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great lens for over all use in daily basis. Its excellent enough for my family memory keeping.
+24points
Review 4 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great entry level zoom lens

PostedNovember 27, 2012
NaveenD90_18105
Location Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have been using this lens with my D90. I am a big fan of it.
Its a great lens which can take sharp images. I always use manual camera in 100% manual mode, but gave a try to auto focus also and it does its job good, with very minimum of noise. Zoom and focus rings are very convenient to use. Body feels to be very solid and nice to hold. On full zoom body extends to a reasonable length. Not a great lens to take portraits, need to have good distance between the subject and background. VR feature is great to have especially beyond 70-80 mm.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+26points
Review 5 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Melhor que a 18-55 mm e excelente contraponto à 55-200 mm

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Walter
Location Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Reúne os recursos mínimos da 18-55 mm com um alcance incrível para fotografias de retratos e de eventos. Excelente!
+24points
Review 6 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent all around lens

PostedJune 14, 2012
Tariq
Location Burlington, ON, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
* Zoom range is just perfect for regular indoor/outdoor.
* Lens is fairly light (compared to 18-200) and photo quality is still comparable
* Perfect for indoors also if used with a bounce flash (like SB-700)
+11points
Review 7 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great everywhere lens.

PostedMay 14, 2012
PhotoBug
Location Maine, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I got D90 that came with this lens. I later bought a Tamron 18-300mm lens. But this lens always produces much better images, even though it doesn't zoom as far. I finally packed and Tamron lens away and sold it. Go with Nikon!
+43points
Review 8 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great all around lens

PostedApril 4, 2012
GalacticWonderer
Location Hungary
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Ease of use: it is well balanced on a D5100 - it is far from that front heavy feeling that deteriorates mirrorless APS-C cameras. I love the focus ring... but it could be a bit more wide. It weighs just as much, that it is comfortable for a walk. Zoom rings and tubes are OK, no creeping, and turning smoothly. Plastic bayonet?? I can't state anything about it, because I use it since less than two weeks. I have read many users stating it is strong enough, but I will handle with care.
Sharpness: excellent at the center, and no dramatic drop towards the edges. Great color rendering.
Distortion: really exists, and somewhat pronounced. Sometimes ADC is a Must.
Vignetting: pronounced with max. aperture at the wide and long end - stopping down by 2/3-1 stop helps much. But in some situations you have to live with it.
Macro: it is not really intended for macro, but makes nice pictures of flowers.
Out of focus blur: I love it at 105mm - but obviously, there are far more powerful bokeh-makers.
VR: helps much. At wide end, even 1/2.5s handheld is possible with appropriate shooting technique.
Focus speed: not a speed demon, but fast enough in most of the situations.
Zoom reach: usually you won't need more at the tele end, but if you shoot wildlife (butterflies, birds, mammals etc.), a 70-300 VR tele will improve the situation much. Wide is nice, but nothing more than standard.
Final words: bearable compromises, great performance for price.
+69points
Review 9 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 Stars based on class of lens

PostedApril 1, 2012
Am-Expat
Location St Petersburg Russia and Sacramento California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I originally got this lens with my D90 when it was first introduced 3 years ago, when I was new to Digital SLR after decades shooting film with Canon equipment. The 18-105 is the most versatile lens in my kit now in that it handles a wide range of shooting styles from landscapes, travel, portraiture, and almost macro close up very well but excels in none of them. Over the last several years I have gotten some of the best lenses Nikon makes, which are stellar for their specialty but none, are more versatile regardless of price. I recommend this lens for beginners who are not sure of their special interests yet and probably will not know until after taking thousands of photos. This lens allows someone to explore such a wide variety of shooting subjects that it is almost an essential lens for newcomers.
I also recommend this lens to travelers and casual shooters because it is light weight and quite capable of producing images that anyone regardless of experience, would be proud of.
What is its strengths: Light weight, wide range of zoom, very close minimum focusing distance(almost macro), nice flare resistance, good contrast, excellent Vibration Reduction(VR), smooth manual focusing, good sharpness at widest apertures and excellent sharpness stopped down to, say f/8, good out of focus rendering at longer focal lengths which is really effective at 90mm or so for portraits that blur the background pleasantly to isolate the very sharply focused subject, and bargain price.
What are the weaknesses? It is not as good for ambient light indoor photography because its maximum aperture not optimized for it....use a flash when the light is dim, moderately slow automatic focusing in low light, geometric distortion at the widest focal lengths, a little pincushion distortion at 105 mm focal length, Software correctable CA at wide apertures. These all sound bad but they impact every lens to varying degrees and compared to other lenses in its class and price range, these are better specs than others.
Note that this lens has a plastic lens mount which I've heard is criticized for potential weakness but my experience is that after 80,000 shots on two different Nikon cameras(D90 and D7000) in rough conditions of event and back country shooting it seems rugged and I would have no qualms about taking it anywhere.
So, with $10,000 in great, heavy lenses in my bag, the 18-105 is still shot frequently, particularly for walks and travel, or anywhere when using the great SB900 flash with it.
+62points
Review 10 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lens

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Photoguy
Awesome lens, works perfect for every occasion, great lens for a great price
-1point
Review 11 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It is what it is...

PostedFebruary 20, 2012
AerialPro
Location Kingston, ON, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Understand that many of these reviews lack objectiveness - it's mostly peoples' opinions and if we stand back and look at the "big picture", we'll come up with a more balanced perspective. One thing to keep in mind is that this is a sub $400 lens - period. If you want to subject your body and lens to chasing antelope across the desert, don't include this lens. If you want zero distortion throughout the zoom range, forget it. This is certainly the area whereby if you want more, you have to pay more. Also, taking great photographs isn't always technical - it's artistic. Some great photographers take better photos with their phone-cam than others do with a $5000 DSLR kit.
Having said that, this lens performs very well for where Nikon has it priced. When you add this lens to today's entry level DSLRs - 3100 through 7000, you have a package that people could only dream about having just 5 years ago at a price that nearly everyone can afford.
The lens performs well under most conditions. If you find yourself in low light, mid zoom and you can't use the flash, then crank up the camera's ISO. I've used this lens on my low end 3100 with the ISO at 1600 and was mildly impressed with what I got. Outdoors with lots of light is a no-brainer. Wide angle shots are reasonable for the amateur who wants an inexpensive starter kit without dragging around multiple cameras or lenses and/or shelling out multiple thousands of $$$.
If you want a good performing, all-in-one lens that will give you just a bit more reach than the 18-55, this one works very well for the PRICE. If you want a better lens, be prepared to pay for it.
+61points
Review 12 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Most used lens

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Cat
Location Wellington Oh
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a 18-200 lens, I use this lens most of the time. I always seem to go back to this lens.
+5points
Review 13 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'd call it a "Prosumer" lens....

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Tommy D
Location New York, NY
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
....I think "kit" lens is a little demeaning for this lens. I've been using my 18-105 for about a year, bought brand new after I dropped my 18-70 and broke it. I've used on my D100 and D80 with spectacular results.
I've done portrait shoots with this lens, using two strobes, camera at ISO 100, the lens set to f/5.6 as well as f/8 and the sharpness and color of the results blew away not just me, but the people who hired me to take the pictures. The lens produces a beautiful bokeh as well. I have a Nikkor 50mm 1.4 lens as well which, of course, at f/5.6 is mind boggling but it is a prime and on a DX is almost telephoto....not ideal for wide shots, unless you stand in the next room over from your subject!
Whether I want to walk around NYC or Upstate NY in the mountains, the 18-105 is all I need, covers just about every situation I'm in. I carry around my 70-300mm in case I see bird of prey out there I want to capture but it's a rare occasion, believe me. The 18-105 has been a fantastic lens for me.
+38points
Review 14 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Dujeneke
Location Los Angeles, CA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Got this lens as an upgrade to the 18-55mm.
The lens is very sharp and works without any
problem with the D7000. Read a lot of reviews before buying it and found it to have no negetives in its use after 500+ photos in low light, bright Sun, inside or outside, under any condition. Great Sharp Lens for the Price.
+20points
Review 15 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing but pure excitement

PostedOctober 15, 2011
grschoon
Location southern Wisconsin
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
One great lense. Picture are sharp and clean. I'm glad to have this for the fall color.
+6points
Review 16 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versatile starting lens

PostedAugust 29, 2011
NYC photo
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great versatile lens to get started. Very broad range from wide angle to zoom. The AF-S is great for quick accurate focusing. Solid speed though f/stop naturally a bit limited. Also very affordable.
+4points
Review 17 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great replacement for my old 18-70mm lens

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Nikon Shuttrerbug
Location Montreal (Quebec) CANADA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It came as a pleasant surprise that my new D7000 came with this 18-105mm lens that is so much sharper than the 18-70 that came with my old D70 - thank you, Nikon!
+16points
Review 18 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Go To Lens

PostedAugust 14, 2011
M.R. Herron
Location Crescent, PA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a variety of lens from Nikon and continue to purchase new and used. But day in day out I have found this lens to be my go to lens for everything from night photography to landscapes to portraits. This lens is resonably priced and does a great job. In fact if you have a D3100 all the way to a D300s you should have this lens. I'll add a few photos
so you can see what it is capable of. Nikon please continue to make lens of this quality at this price point. Most of us can't afford a 1600.00 plus F2.8 we want one but..... Anyway boys and girls buy this lens it will be your most used lens I promise.......
+41points
Review 19 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing lenses for the price

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Giraffe
Location Israel
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Come with my Nikon D7000
really Great Lenses for the price
good job Nikon :)
+5points
Review 20 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great versitile lens

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Light Catcher
Location Houston, Texas
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I love this lens on the DX format, as it works great for all around shooting from moderate wide angle to moderate telephoto, making it great for action shots, where things change quickly, to buildings and landscapes. This is my primary lens for the DX format. Qualtiy, of course, is great. All images are sharp., no problems at all. Sure, some geek with a microscope can probably find some imperfection, but I'll bet you won't notice it!
+11points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>