Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED

This compact, versatile Micro lens for close-up, copy work and general photography provides continuous autofocus from infinity to life-size (1:1).

Average Customer Rating:
4.872 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 47 reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
46 out of 47(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Review 1 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine lens

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Nitedawg
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
No problems... Nice micro. Easy to use. What you would expect in a Nikon lens.
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

versatile and sharp

PostedMarch 16, 2014
PhotoMate
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens provides the versatility that I needed when traveling in Thailand, I shot scenery and portrait using this lens with very satisfying results. I recommend this lens when you are traveling light and want sharp quality for all conditions. Excellent in low light conditions, great depth of field.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+6points
Review 3 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedAugust 23, 2013
sterling
Location Madison, WI, USA
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have gotten some really excellent close-up shots with this lens. Amazing image quality. I've been using it for general photography as well and it works great.
The only thing to note is that in order to get true 1:1 macro shots you will need to be within an inch of your subject. If you are hoping to get shots of insects that won't like that then you may want to consider a longer focal length.
+7points
Review 4 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Clarity

PostedJune 11, 2013
AussieInLondon
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I bought this lens to add to my professional kit. I never thought I could hand hold a camera still enough for a macro shot but I was wrong. This is a fantastic lens that lives up to every expectation you can ever imagine you would need a macro lens for.
Don't dither, buy it!
+11points
Review 5 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Prime Example of Fine Art

PostedMay 3, 2013
dmbNik
Location VA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens loves doing Micro work and feels like a natural fit on your camera body.. It is small, light, and does double duty as your standard lens in a single package. It works very well in situations for working in botanical gardens, in the park or where tight crops or wider whole plant portraiture is important. You can't ask for a better walk around lens with Micro capabilities than this 60mm. Makes almost anything pop off the page with detail.
I love it because it is short, compact, carry proof for all day outings, and has a wider field of view for whole plant portraiture.
+5points
Review 6 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENTE LENTE

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
RODOBETO
Location GUADALAJARA, JALISCO, MEXICO
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
ES UN EXCELENTE LENTE. YO TENIA UN POCO DE INCERTIDUMBRE CUANDO LO COMPRE YA QUE EXISTE EL 105 MM CON FUNCION DE VR, PERO LA EXPERIENCIA QUE HE TENIDO CON EL 60 MM HA SIDO MUY GRATA, UNAS IMAGENES IMPRESIONANTES, BUENO SE NECESITA SOLAMENTE UN POCO DE ATENCION A LA HORA DE ENFOCAR PARA QUE LA FOTO NO SALGA MOVIDA, PERO EN REALIDAD ESO NO ES INCONVENIENTE. EL PRECIO CREO QUE LO VALE POR LAS IMAGENES QUE BRINDA.
UN MUY, PERO MUY BUEN LENTE. MUY RECOMENDABLE.
+4points
Review 7 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Macro Lens

PostedNovember 17, 2012
torogito
Location Gig Harbor, WA, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I sold my 90mm macro and bought a Nikon, I should've stick to Nikon in the first place! This 60mm f/2.8 af-s works like a charm! I bought it used but works like new and the AF is very fast although I don't use it on macro but AF works and helps on portraits -) great lens!
+10points
Review 8 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Many uses for this sharp lens!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
ScottnLaguna
Location Laguna Beach, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I bought this to photograph oil paintings. It is 1:1 and basically zero distortion. On my D800 it is simply amazing. For copy work I use f5.6 but this is a great 2.8 for portraits! It is almost too sharp, Every tiny hair is recorded. Rediculous. As an artist, I like to use my photos as reference for making artwork. The 1:1 ratio and lack of distortion make this the perfect lens for many things. I did buy it as a refurb but in 3 1/2 months it has been perfect. I need to look into the 105mm micro version as well.
One more thing, it is the least expensive Nikkor lens recommended to use by Nkon for the D800. I can see why. You will get all the resolution from that 36mp camera with this lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+16points
Review 9 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent lens

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
jim
Location Texas
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Flat field over the entire frame of a D3 camera, Excellent for copying art work as well as extreme close up of flowers, insects and other extremely small objects/
+3points
Review 10 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Macro Lens for the Price

PostedAugust 6, 2011
rrandan
Location Waco texas
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
just took this out of the box and started shooting. Never had a lens that took such good photos that close up. this is exactly what i need for work. Great lens
+17points
Review 11 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens and great image quality, without $$$

PostedMay 12, 2011
LetTheLightShine
Location San Jose, CA
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
After owning this lens for more than a year now, I'm still amazed when I shot with this lens. Yes, you read it right, I'm amazed even when I just look through the view finders of my Nikon D700 and D7000. And the IQ is simply great when I later look the raw image files at my PC. This is one of the few great Nikon lenses that requires minimum raw file adjustment in Lightroom. The color, contrast, saturation, sharpness, and details are just gorgeous.
+26points
Review 12 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hours of fun!

PostedApril 15, 2011
Wwendy
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens a couple of years ago and pull it out frequently for macro shooting and also standard 60mm portraits. Great for ebay shots as well. Well constructed and dependable.
+9points
Review 13 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Macro Lens!

PostedApril 15, 2011
JBS
Location Anacortes, Wahington
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
For a cropped sensor this is the perfect macro lens, at least for me. The AF-S is a wonderful addition and it focuses fast and accurate on a D300 body.
+4points
Review 14 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent lens on both frame cameras

PostedApril 14, 2011
Dave
Location Sacramento, CA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens on all of my 5 Nikon cameras. It is sharp with good color and is as good as a landscape lens as it is as a macro. I totally recommend it
+12points
Review 15 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 14, 2011
Kalle Color
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Sharpest macro on the market? With very low distortion.
+9points
Review 16 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb resolution.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Huck
Location Paradise Valley, AZ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
In addition to the close focusing, its also a great medium telephoto lens.
+6points
Review 17 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 14, 2011
decline99
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Great lens! Definitely my favorite lens in my bag. I would recommend this lens to anyone who loves macro photography!
+7points
Review 18 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lens I can "get close" with...

PostedApril 14, 2011
Weekly Photo Tips
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens for a few reasons, it's highly rated quality glass, it's fast, and it's a macro lens (what Nikon calls "Micro"). Being a macro lens was a big factor as I did not have a macro in my bag.
So I put it on my camera and headed out I go to grab some shots of water droplets. While I was shooting I was surprised at how quiet it was (important when shooting events like weddings and you don't want to be intrusive), and just how close I could get to my subject, within a few inches.
Now I could bore you with technical blah, blah, blah about this lens, but the most important thing to most photographers is, "what do the images look like?"
Here are four samples straight out of the camera, no filter was on the lens while I shot, no post-processing of any kind was done, the only thing I did to these images was reduce their size for posting.
I am extremely happy with the quality of the images and looking forward to using this lens more in the future.
+46points
Review 19 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
StanS
Location St. Louis
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
I have owned a 55 micro as well as the first generation of the 60 mm AF (which was stolen), so I recently purchased the new 60 AF-S. I have to say, I did not think I would be "stepping up" as much as I thought, but I was surprised, the AF is much better and the tendency of the old AF to hunt for the focus is much improved. The 60 was always a super sharp lens, and it still is, the major improvement with the AF-S is the autofocus.
+8points
Review 20 for AF-S Micro Nikkor 60mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my favorite lens

PostedApril 14, 2011
EDU
Location Orlando, Florida
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
For macros is the ideal lens,It is inexpensive and the photos are with amazing clarity
+3points
1 2 3 next>>