Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR

Super Integrated Coating offers superior color reproduction; silent Wave motor ensures fast, quiet AF operation.

Average Customer Rating:
4.046 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 130 reviews
5 stars
57
4 stars
44
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
9
106 out of 130(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
55 Questions | 86 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Review 1 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lens failed within 90 days of purchase

PostedJune 1, 2014
jknikon
Auto-focus suddenly stopped working. I have had this lens less than 90 days. I know the AF-S DX 18-55mm lens is faulty because there are no problems using my Nikkor DX AFS 55-200 with my D3200. Now I have the hassle of filing a warranty claim and shipping the lens.
+3points
Review 2 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Decent beginner's lens.

PostedMay 14, 2014
RicanzDrummer
Location Lansdale, PA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The lens was being used on a Nikon D80. I bought this to serve as an all around events tool...family gatherings, outdoor adventures, auction photos. The motor is a little noisy when focusing, and sometimes the VR jitters, but ultimately catches the focal point. I liked using a reverse mount macro lens ring with this lens. The lens was light-weight, fast, and the results were pretty clear.
I sold it when I upgraded to the Nikon D800E, since I didn't want DX format photos anymore. My next purchase will be a Nikon VR II...probably the 70-200. I'm trying not to be a lens hoarder, so I'll only purchase one or two premium multi-task lenses from this point on.
+2points
Review 3 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wife loves it = I love it!

PostedApril 27, 2014
GYSGTSends
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Ease of use and installing or removing was a click. Wanted DSLR that wife could learn on and I could enjoy using also. This has done every thing we wanted.
+1point
Review 4 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

le faltan marcas de enfoque, no tiene la reseña de hiperenfoque

PostedApril 24, 2014
noscriptstyle
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
me resulta un poco incomodo el hecho de que no cuente con graduación en la zona de enfoque, sobretodo en fotografías de larga exposición nocturna
-1point
Review 5 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

not a bad lense

PostedMarch 2, 2014
nyeekawn!!
Location Saskatchewan, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
Have had this lense for about a year now but have only used it for a couple of months at most. It came with my d5100 that I still currently use but was easily replaced by my 50mm 1.8 almost immediately. That being said it's not a bad lense at all. For the price you can't go wrong. The quality is there and it covers a good range for family and Facebook type photography. I wouldn't recommend buying the lense itself for the reason that you can save and get a better lense for a little more money.
+4points
Review 6 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Limited Use but Excellent Pictures

PostedDecember 30, 2013
JDMueller
Location Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Slow lens but...
I have this lens paired with a Nikon D3200. While the focal length is limiting at times I will not hold that against this lens rating since that problem is easily solved by purchasing other lenses. For an included lens this thing works great. Even if you flip it into auto mode and shoot away the pictures come out clean and crisp. The aperture of 3.5 does leave much to be desired in many situations. However, for what you can use this lens for, it does it very well. Let my sample images speak for themselves. I am new to photography with inexpensive budget equipment and I think the images look amazing.
The VR works fairly well although I do not know the specifics or technicalities behind this feature. I do know that all the shots I shoot handheld come out sharp and clear.
This lens does NOT blur the background the way that I would like for portraits so if you do a lot of that you will probably want to purchase the 35mm DX 1.8G lens.
All in all however, for the price (or included in your kit) this lens allows you to capture most of your photographic ideas nicely. A great place to start.
It usually takes a lot to impress me and I must say that I am impressed!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+10points
Review 7 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

THINGS STARTED OUT WELL ENOUGH ...

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Keithus001
Location Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
My initial impressions of this lens were very favourable. It seemed to be well made (for a plastic lens), and the sharpness of the images I got with it were very pleasing. The zoom ring worked well, with no trace of sloppiness at all. The range of the lens, from, effectively, 27mm wide angle, to 82.5 mm telephoto, was very useful (allowing for the cropping factor), enabling it to be used in a variety of conditions, and it was not too bulky, even when zoomed out to the 55 mm setting.
Time, however, was not kind to this lens. Annoying issues became noticeable as the months passed. For example, I could never find a lens hood that didn't intrude at the edges of the image when the lens was used at the 18 mm setting. It meant I had to crop images a bit more than I wanted to.
The other issue was the distortion in vertical lines at the wide angle setting. This would render things like trees, and the edges of tall buildings, with curved sides, and the images would not look good. Using the distortion correction option on the camera menu made little difference.
The most unpleasant surprise came more or less one month after the year's warranty expired: the lens developed a “wobble,” in that the front element would move noticeably up and down when the zoom ring was used (and the zoom ring itself had become very stiff and jerky to use). This “wobble” could be seen as a distinct up and down movement through the viewfinder, as if somebody had nudged the camera. So, forget about using the zoom when taking video images, as this up and down movement would be too obvious.
At first, the wobble didn't affect the operation of the lens, but after a couple of weeks the focus became worse, and in some conditions, such as low light, the lens hardly focussed at all.
Some research on the Internet revealed this “wobble” was a common problem with this kit lens, being that it is made down to a price. My research also told me that getting the issue rectified would not be easy. Some owners reported a six to eight week delay whilst the lens was with Nikon USA (and Nikon have now made it impossible to get your equipment repaired locally), and attempts to get any information were usually met with explanations like: “The item is held awaiting parts.”
The deal breaker, as shown by Internet forum comments, was that the price of out-of-warranty repair was such that it was far cheaper to look online for a replacement lens. I have to ask, what is the point of making this lens of such cheap quality that it is only going to last you about a year?
I should point out that I am neither a professional photographer, nor a “prosumer” snapper (whatever that means!). No, I am not anything other than a weekend photographer, so I hardly think I subject my lenses to overly rough treatment or excessive use. I honestly expected this lens to perform flawlessly for a lot longer than just over twelve months.
Then again, I have read forum posts by photographers who have subjected their 18mm-55mm lens to far more use than I have, and it has failed in less than a year. In one case, a user reported about how the whole front element of the lens fell out whilst he was using it.
Would I recommend this lens? No! Most definitely not! I would recommend that people purchase the camera body only, and then pay the extra for a different lens to the 18mm-55mm.
My recommendation would be to go for the 18mm-105mm lens. The extra cost would be worth it. Also, the extended range of this lens would come in very handy. It would be far more useful to you in a whole range of photographic applications than the 18mm-55mm. Yes, the 18mm-105mm is just another plastic lens, but, hopefully, the build quality is that much better, so you would get more use out of it before it, too, exhibited the dreaded “wobble.”
+19points
Review 8 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Lens

PostedDecember 4, 2013
LateralDegree
Age 35-44
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
The lens came with the camera and I've really enjoyed the wide angle view the lens provides along with the easy use of the VR feature.
+2points
Review 9 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK In a Bundled Kit

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Boogaloo
Location Coastal Georgia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This lens was bundled with the 55-300 mm version in a D5200 kit that joins my Canon 60D gear. The included 18-55 mm lens will not get the most out of your Nikon body. Its results are meaningfully 'soft', but you are also not going to get the latest-greatest in a price point bundle. It simply gets you started with a lens that will be suitable for snapshot sized prints. However, you may find that it can make for a suitable portrait lens where soft results are desired. When you want razor detail in a close up macro type shot, it won't be there.
The lens is okay in a start-up bundle, but a serious shooter looking for sharpness would not purchase a stand-alone copy. The sample shot included would not well tolerate a blow up even though the D5200 body used with it is highly capable.
+12points
Review 10 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Lens

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Pictures4fun
Location Arlington, VA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this lens for about 3 years now and I take pictures for fun. This is easy to use and takes nice pictures. For an entry level lens I think you will be very happy with it.
+1point
Review 11 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good For a Kit Lens

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Tiffany
Location Milwaukee, WI, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I got this lens as a kit lens with my D3200 and it is a good lens for a kit lens. Even though some people tend to say that the kit lenses aren't very good, this one surprised me. It's great for the price. This lens however isn't for all people. I would recommend this lens to anyone who is looking to take pictures for memories, someone who doesn't have a ton of money, or someone looking to carry around something small. Don't count on this lens for good zoom though. If you can manually focus, you can also get good macro type pictures if you're willing to get up close and/or on your knees. It's not a lens to use all the time(for photographers or beginning photographers) but it's a nice lens to have. Overall, it's impressive for a kit lens.
+7points
Review 12 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Okay lense. Cheaply made

PostedJune 4, 2013
Rick
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lense was recommended online as good value for money. Pictures were pretty good, not real sharp. I had this lense for about 2 months and it took a slight knock when it swung into a rock. Zoom mechanism was damaged. I got it fixed. Bumped it again. Another repair. Well, three strikes and it's out!
It is getting thrown in trash. Local shop repair guy said he would not get it repaired (something I had already decided).
I would not recommend this lens. Shoddy construction, long repair turn around.
-34points
Review 13 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR

PostedApril 17, 2013
Rose
Location Seattle, WA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens was part of Nikon D5000 camera package I received as a gift. A 55-200mm VR lens was also included.
The package got me started and this lens lasted two years before it malfunctioned. Nikon repaired it under the warranty. About a month later the lens fell on a carpeted floor and had the same malfunction as before; the zoom and focus would not work. This time the type of damage (because it fell)was not covered under the extended warranty and the cost to repair almost equaled the cost of a new lens. I read the reviews and decided not to have it repaired.
Talking to experts I learned that this is an okay lens (it's more affordable than other options), but there are better options to consider if you're willing to pay a little more, which is what I did. I replaced the two lens with one that covered much of the same range and added a AF-S DX 35/1.8G Nikkor lens for low light/ portrait conditions. I'm ready to go to the next level with my picture taking.
This lens is a good start and may be all you need. For me it was a nice beginning lens.
+13points
Review 14 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good value but low-end

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Wade
Included in a kit it's actually pretty good value - it's a decent, lightweight lens with very little distortion, so the photographs you get from it (if you're shooting RAW and don't benefit from all the in-camera corrections) require little if any tweaking.
The big limitation is sharpness. It's just not very, especially at the tele end. On a modern entry-level DSLR like the D3200 or D5200, with which this often ships, the 24 megapixel sensor is nowhere near challenged with this lens.
But that's okay, because unless you're a pixel peeper, a cropper, or getting really into it, you won't care.
+8points
Review 15 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Starter Lens

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
mm89
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This lens came with my D3100 camera. I was new to photography so I literally had no idea what I was getting myself into! This lens is really good but once I got the hang of the basics, I wanted to do more!! This is what it is: a starter lens. I am attached to mine for sentimental reasons now but it is handy in the majority of every-day events.
+14points
Review 16 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kit lens that produce great photos

PostedNovember 7, 2012
ShawnQ
Location Philippines
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
got this lens when i purchased my nikon d5100. pictures taken from this lens are exceptional considering that it is a kit lens.
+15points
Review 17 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

El lente estándar

PostedOctober 31, 2012
TeexSG
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Este es el objetivo que mas uso ya que venia con mi cámara, muy pocas veces lo quito de mi cámara, tiene enfoque muy rápido, funciona muy bien para paisajes y retratos, tiene buena calidad de imagen y es muy liviano.
-7points
Review 18 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light, good and cheap!

PostedOctober 24, 2012
MO
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens, including the mount, is made of plastic, which does not imply bad quality. I bought it with a D5000 for my wife, and she gets very good general results, at par with the ones obtained with a 18-200mm, with less distortion. Surprisingly, the lens shines in the macro range: 8x11 prints of butterflies taken with this lens and the 200mm micro Nikon that costs about 10 times more are hard to differentiate.
+4points
Review 19 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good beginner/travel lens.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
CineMike.
This is the kit lens I received with my D3200. It is a pretty decent quality lens for the price. Its not great, but it gets the job done. It does occasionally have trouble focusing when in Auto-Focus, but I usually leave it in Manual so it's not much of a problem for me. No real issues with it, it does what it's supposed to with relatively good results.
I would recommend this lens to beginners and those who just want a decent travel lens.
+3points
Review 20 for AF-S DX NIKKOR 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G VR
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Starter Lens but thats all

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Laugh
This is a great starter lens because you have a wide angle at 18mm and a slight zoom to the 55mm and comes with the VR and AF-S so there is automatic focus although that takes a while.
pros
- cheap
- simple
- light
cons
- slight distortion
- slow autofocus
- nothing special
+2points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>