Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II

This compact, lightweight 3X zoom, designed exclusively for use with Nikon’s DX-format, is perfect for a wide variety of shooting situations.

Average Customer Rating:
3.636 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 55 reviews
5 stars
18
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
10
1 star
4
40 out of 55(73%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 54 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Review 1 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After 3 years, Excellent Results

PostedMay 27, 2013
pingpaul
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Three years after I received this lens in a D3100 kit it continues to perform very well. It is a general workhorse I use for hundreds of web portraits, small product shoots, 16x20 inch wall portraits and artistic images.
+14points
Review 2 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for its price

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Anne
Location New York, NY, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I love this lens! It came with my D3100 Camera, and it is great for general shooting. I've heard complaints about the Macro and low-light conditions, but it isn't for those purposes first of all, but I think they are pretty stinking good for the price. It is a great lens for beginners, like me.
+14points
Review 3 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Melhor lente para estreia da máquina

PostedMarch 30, 2012
Maragogi
Location Vitória - ES, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Esta lente veio com a câmera que comprei, uma D5100, e é ótima. Não sou profissional, apenas gosto muito de fotografia e de fotografar. A lente é versátil e bastante útil em muitas situações para minhas incursões fotográficas: registrar todos os eventos dentro de casa, fotografar meus filhos e esposa, fazer retratos e boas fotos de paisagens e documentar meus passeios ao ar livre. Para esportes velozes e macrofotografia existem lentes mais apropriadas. O alcance do zoom me agrada pois consigo enquadramentos em grande angular mais que suficientes para o dia-a-dia. As funções de autofocus têm uma boa velocidade, mas posso também focar manualmente, em situações específicas. A lente é leve. Como primeira lente me atende perfeitamente.
-3points
Review 4 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Extremely good lens

PostedDecember 25, 2011
DPBelfry
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have taken many pictures and know the value of the lens in picture quality. In my opinion this has provided the quality picture I'm looking for.
+6points
Review 5 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens!!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
akpruitt
Location Tampa, FL
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 18-55 came as part of my D40 kit. I must've gotten a fantastic copy of the lens b/c I've never had issued with this lens when used within its range. Of course I have trouble w/autofocus when in low light. It's not a meant for extremely low light. It IS however an amazingly fast lens that takes crisp, clear pictures. I've grabbed awesome
+23points
Review 6 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, So good..

PostedApril 24, 2011
melomeep
Location San Francisco, CA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I have only had it for a couple days, but so far i have enjoyed it. I can use both manual and auto focus to get good pictures. Auto focus can be a little slow, but otherwise a nice product.
-10points
Review 7 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full of Quality and Dependability

PostedApril 8, 2011
SDW1031
Location Philadelphia
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got the Nikon 18-55mm AF-S DX VR with my D60 kit, my first DSLR, and used it until I felt comfortable enough with the camera to upgrade to the 18-105. The 18-55 was perfect for a learning curve. It takes outstanding shots, especially landscape and architecture. Indoors, with longer exposures, it also delivered crisp clear images without a tripod because of the VR feature.
The qualities of all functions are extremely good, especially considering the price of the glass. Sometimes, especially the first few months, it took a bit to focus but that may also have been my own ignorance of various functions that both the camera and lens offer. I have read some reviews where people experienced distortion at the bottom and top of the range but I never noticed this in my captures. Though it is made of plastic it seems durable enough and it connected and disconnected with ease from the D60 body.
While I had this lens for the first 7 months of my DSLR usage, I probably clicked about a thousand shots a month on average. The D60 and 18-55 were with me on my trip to England and the comments I have received on castles I photographed have been great. In fact, many friends and relatives requested framed 8x10s and 11x14s. That certainly makes one feel good. And I thank the D60 and 18-55 for that to a major degree.
I would recommend this to anyone starting their DSLR life. For the money I do not think it can be beat.
-1point
Review 8 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wonderfull Kit Lens

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
koelner
Location Cologne, Germany
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
it's an easy use and great Kit - Lens
great for using every time and sharp for all you need
0points
Review 9 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than anyone could expect

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Tim
Location Toronto, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lens came with my D80 and I kept it when I upgraded to the D90. I have wanted to try the VR version but can't get away from this lens - for the money, it is startlingly good. I recently bought the 60mm 2.8 macro, and after many attempts have gone back to little 18-55 for most of my macro shots - it's that good and the depth of field is much better. I now use the 60mm macro for mostly portrait work, which it is quite good at- go figure. Anyway, great, great lens - don't let the price throw you off.
0points
Review 10 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent steal.

PostedAugust 23, 2010
Luc
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
First off, I'd like to dispel rumors of it's flimsiness. I've had the thing for six months. I've dropped it, stepped on it, and thrown it at cats (not really). The only part of it that shows signs of wear is the filter on the front. The point is, it can keep up with you if you don't abuse it.
+6points
Review 11 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It does what it is designed to do.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
F-Stop Fitzgerald
Location Tempe, AZ
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
This lens, like the more than 20 others I have used in nearly 40 years of professional photography, is meets the usual high Nikon standard quality. If and when a photo goes badly, it is invariably my mistake, not the equipment. I have and still use large format, 35mm, and digital format lenses.
When you hit your thumb with a hammer, it isn't the hammer's fault.
+11points
Review 12 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No better lens for the money

PostedJuly 30, 2010
ccie8122
Location Salt Lake City
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
There is flat out no better lens for the money than this one (except perhaps for the VR version of the same lens, which I have no experience with).
I shoot this lens on my D40x and D300, and it is sharp across the zoom range. You often get this lens virtually free with a low-end kit. I dont have experience with other kit lenses such as the 18-105 or 18-135, but from reviews I have read, those have a lot more distortion and are softer than this lens. This lens when paired with the 55-200 VR are about all an amateur needs 95% of the time. The pair is significantly superior to the Nikon 18-200mm lens in multiple respects (see my review there).
You just flat out will not find a bang for the buck out there, period (again, the VR update of this lens may be the only exception to that).
+3points
Review 13 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
scienceguy
Location Mesa, AZ
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens a lot. Coupled to my D5000 I am getting excelent results.
-1point
Review 14 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Sharp Bang for the Buck

PostedJuly 30, 2010
NikonF3D50D200User
Location Dallas - Ft Worth area
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This lightweight supersharp lens is a no brainer. It has both an aspherical and an ED element. It doesn't weight you down - a great grab and go lens that is versatile enough for 80% of the time.
+1point
Review 15 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good lens

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Vlad
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very good lens given a fact that you understand it's not a fast lens. At a daylight performs very well, fast AF, silent, excellent application in street photography.
Night time - you can use it, but you better of rely on your ability to focus it manually.
Being a wideangle-to-normal-range-zoom it never leaves my bag.
It is a very light-weighted lens.
Downsides: I don't put slipping autofocus at night here because you expect to have it, you just don't have that light in the output, but here' something else. You have to use a ND filter to protect the lens from fingerprinting it, it's really easy to do w/o the filter. And the filter will give you all sort of glares very visible at night.
0points
Review 16 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable for the Price

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Baltimore_Will
Location Baltimore, MD USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The 18-55, even without VR, is probably the best all-around zoom lens I have ever used. It delivers consistently good results over its entire range, demonstrating its optical quality. I wish it was a little faster, but of course that tiny complaint vanishes with the newer 18-55 VR version.
After using several lenses, the 18-55 is now the lens that is on my camera by default.
You simply can not beat this lens for the price.
+1point
Review 17 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value. Excellent product overall

PostedJuly 30, 2010
JM
Location Stratford, NJ
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
Unfortunately I only had a chance to use this lens for about a two week period before it and my camera were stolen. Normally, since I own many other Nikon lenses besides those I've reviewed here I only buy a camera body but for some reason I opted to purchase the 18-55 lens when I purchased my new D300s to supplement my D300 and D700 bodies. Like I said, it was stolen but in the very short time I owned the lens I was pleasantly surprised at the lightness, ease of use, and the excellent, sharp images it produced. For the price, you can't go wrong if you need to get a kit lens. Excellent clarity, short, compact. Very unintrusive in it's use if you like fast street photography. A joy to carry on your shoulder. Almost un-noticable.
+1point
Review 18 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A convenient and high quality compact lens.

PostedJuly 29, 2010
danielm46
Location Montreal, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is a real winning combinaison with a compact SLR like the Nikon D40. A perfect fit in term of ergonomics. When travelling with the camera, this package will give you very high quality picture mostly similar from result done with higher end pro lenses. VR stabilisation is only option missing but the newest version got it for the same price level. Another advantage of the lens is its filter diameter of 52mm wich allow you to try different types of filter at low cost like for a circular polarizer.
If you are looking for stronger magnification, the Nikon AFS 55-200mm VR can fill the gap nicely.
In one word, a perfect compact good quality fit!
+1point
Review 19 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A real value

PostedAugust 6, 2012
wheelchairshutr
Location St Albans, VT, USA
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am handicapped and the weight of my kit is extremely important. Anything that doesn't prove useful is gone in short order. This lens is an impressive blend of price, size, weight and performance. I don't use it a lot but its good enough to have found a permanent place in my "always carry" kit. It may not be as durable as some other items in the Nikon line, but I recommend it as a fine value for any amateur photographer.
+1point
Review 20 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6G ED II
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

There's a reason these are in starter kits.

PostedApril 19, 2012
TN
Location Eastern NC
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Found one of these on the floor and behind a desk of the newsroom of a near-bankrupt publication I got a job with. It works relatively well, even though it's horribly dirty and I've even dropped it five feet onto a concrete floor while changing lenses. For a half-busted (the zoom gives me resistance now since dropping it like an idiot), dirty, inexpensive lens, it has done remarkably well and stays in my camera bag for those need-to-get, last ditch wide-angle shots. The fact that it comes in most starter kits makes them ubiquitous too. Every reporter who shoots Nikon should have one of these things.
+2points
1 2 3 next>>