Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED

Nikon Inc. PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED

This ultra-wide lens with perspective control features tilt, shift and rotation capability, perfect for architectural, nature and commercial photography.

Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 12 reviews
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Review 1 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An outstanding lens in every way.

PostedJune 29, 2011
Earthlight Photography
Location Cary, NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I've owned the 85 PC Micro for several years and have used it in a variety of settings. I recently acquired the 24 PC and it is a stellar performer. Having used 4 X 5 view cameras for almost thirty years it is a pleasure to have similar movements and yet to get instant feedback. I use the lens on both a D700 and a D300S. The lens is sharp with high contrast and the close focus distance enables some unusual landscapes.
+14points
Review 2 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Clear, Colorful & Enjoyable

PostedMay 29, 2011
dmbNIK
Location North Virgina
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
How many times have you purchased a lens and had second thoughts? It has taken me a few years to finally convince myself to buy the Nikon 24mm PC-E. I am very happy with the lens. Using a D700 I read that the lens when rotated will strike the camera body - which it does. However, I just rotate the lens the other direction, placing the larger knob underneath if I need to shift up.
Technically this is a fantastic lens and when coupled with a D700 or D3/x your aperture readout is automatic.
This is a manual focus lens and requires you to start in the "Default" position to acquire your meter reading before shifting or tilting - It takes just a little practice (retraining yourself). I catch myself having to reset the lens to default sometimes because I forget to get the meter reading first. For those who visit and use your manual settings of your camera you can almost guess the shutter/aperture after seeing the results in your display if you forget; but it is best to get the reading before you do the tilt or shift the lens for your base and go from that. This is a very fun and useful lens, I now realize why it is so sought after by those who shoot landscapes and architect. Level your camera, and shift the lens up (not your camera) to include more sky or down to include more ground, no more tilting your camera and seeing weird converging lines with trees or buildings that fall back from the center. You can also swing the lens left or right to create effects blurring the edges while keeping the center in sharp focus + you can rotate the lens in increments which causes the shift and swing to rotate as well, creating some amazing effects.
The lens takes a couple of days to get used to so I spent the entire weekend with this attached to my camera trying to fully explore the new jewel. I mostly do nature photography and have thus far enjoyed the clear, crisp and colorful photos this lens has captured.
Some small quirks; The tensioning knobs are kind of small with the shift tensioner requiring more force to lock down the lens once set. The lens does not work "perfectly" with a D700 but I knew that and it just a matter of rotating the lens in the other direction.
Pros: Built to Nikon Standards - Solid through and through. Sharp and contrasty. Fairly easy to use - takes a few days to train yourself. Great Results with pleasing images.
+44points
Review 3 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

architectural fun!

PostedApril 15, 2011
Christian
Location Montréal, Québec
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens to work on a documentary and architecture project. With it, I've discovered a new way to shoot, showing off the greatness of spaces surrounding me or the subjects.
Lately, I've been using it to also shoot objects close up. The shapness is amazing!
+4points
Review 4 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slick lens

PostedApril 15, 2011
Nikon pete
Location Saskatoon SK
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I am always happy with the way this lens renders a subject. My only grief is that Nikon doesn't offer the 14mm in a PC lens or I'd buy it too. This lens is contrasty and sharp with great color. It's fun to use and gives great results.
-1point
Review 5 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like a Medical Device

PostedApril 14, 2011
F5 Shooter
Location Annapolis, MD
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This is a great lens and so sharp and accurate it's a dream come true. We waited for this lens and it lived up to all expectations..
0points
Review 6 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I dream of architecture

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Desphils
Location Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Very little distortion, vignetting and lateral color fringes.
Using Lightroom and Photoshop I developed scripts to batch correct the very little distortion their is on this lens ( just about +0.5 ), color fringes and vignetting also are corrected very easily since their is none at center point ( no shift/tilt ). As for tilt and shift movements, when they are applied, I leave a comment on pictures with rise/fall and left/right shift to correct them accordingly. So what's left to say is that this lens is perfect for architecture. The drag and feel of all the adjustments (focus, aperture, rise and tilt) is just perfect. Someone did their homework. Everything is easy to move and it stays put. Controls do feel like they could be bigger, but if you consider replacements are available from Nikon then this is no problem. They did consider the fact that not everybody owns a D3 ( for clearance ).
+7points
Review 7 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent glass, sharp and vibrant.

PostedJuly 30, 2010
chasman
Location Santa Fe, NM
Age 55-65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
This lens delivers the high quality I expect from Nikon. Very sharp, excellent contrast and color. Negatives: the control knobs are a little difficult to access when the lens is rotated and there are some positions that are not available on my D700 due to the prism position. All in all I prefer the functionality of the old 35 PC and 28 PC that I still use, though the glass is clearly as good or better on these new PCE lenses.
+11points
Review 8 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens!

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Zehrh
Location Broadway, VA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is an excellent lens overall. Used with NX2, it controls fringing very well. The manual isn't very helpful - if you've never used a view camera you may want to do some research on the web to help with tilt/shift adjustments. I'm enjoying the control that I missed when I gave up my view camera.
My only gripes are these:
*The locks are hard to tighten adequately, especially with the small knobs. (Nikon will put on larger knobs for a fee).
*Landscape photographers will want the tilt/shift and the rise/fall on the same plane. Nikon charges $125 to do this. However, the modification is a simple one and can be undone easily; there is a video on the web that shows this step-by-step.
+9points
Review 9 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optically good but mechanically bad

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Ralph
Location Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I do a lot of architecture and high end realty. I use the 24mm PC a lot, in all conditions. Although I love the lens for its optical quality, mechanically I have problems with it, especially working outside in the cold in Montreal often with gloves on. The shift and tilt knobs are too small. In the different temp. conditions, the shift lock sometimes jams completely. I now find its difficult to keep the shift locked, it slips sometimes while focusing. I use the tilt mainly with very small increments around zero and its difficult to control accurately. Other manufacturers have done a better job mechanically in-spite of the obviously challenging size constraints.
+10points
Review 10 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

incredible lens!

PostedDecember 5, 2011
JoeC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
It's been only a few months, but this lens had already become my favorite wide-angle for landscapes and cityscapes in tandem with my D3.
The perspective control is allowing me to do things I was not able to previously, not only correcting perspective, but also being able to shoot near-far compositions with good dof at moderate apertures. The combination of low noise @ high ISO on my D3 and moderate aperture allows me to shoot high shutter speed HDR's under less than optimal conditions outdoors (windy!) and still render excellent subject detail.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because the set screws to hold the shift and tilt settings are not large or robust enough to hold the shift and tilt settings under all conditions (walking around etc.). This shouldn't be considering the cost of this lens.
Other than that, this is an excellent lens.
+6points
Review 11 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Optically Superior - Mechanically Average

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Don
Location Rochester, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I waited a long time before I plunked down the 2k for this lens. I shoot a lot of architectural images and this lens has been on my wish list for quite a while. I have not been disappointed by the wonderful images that it has delivered. I don't mind it being all manual either - it makes me think about what I'm about to do. However, the little tiny thumb-screws used to unlock and tilt/shift the lens are way too small. I'm a big guy with big hands. This is just frustrating to deal with. I would think that Nikon could have come up with a better solution.
+7points
Review 12 for PC-E NIKKOR 24mm f/3.5D ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Long Overdue

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Misterpix
Location Cleveland, OH
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
This is a great daily workhorse for architectural assignments, and a must have lens. Terrific optics & lots of shift latitude. On a D3X with heavy tripod and pre-released mirror mode the results are stunning. That said, I prefer the old 28 & 35mm pc design, as the mechanical features of this unit slow me down. The shift lock often slips and clunks the adjustment fully to the negative end, which I'd never use anyway. The old design allowed me to rotate either direction from a vertical format for a quick combination adjustment of rise & "shift". I'd buy a Nikkor 18mm or wider pc if offered.
+14points