Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for (Unknown)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nikon.

(Unknown)

Average Customer Rating:
4.397 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 126 reviews
5 stars
81
4 stars
30
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
6
112 out of 126(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for (Unknown)
Review 1 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

pena a regulação do zoon ser na ponta das objetivas

PostedMay 27, 2014
Melo
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
É pena A abertura da Lente ser feita na ponta da Lente , acho ridiculo e desmotiva a compra, pq não fizeram como a antiga 28-70 na regulação do zoom ?
-3points
Review 2 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Lens for the Price

PostedMay 12, 2014
TomServo
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens is the one that's on my camera 80% of the time. The main reason is that it performs great, is very clear and the Auto Focus and VR options perform above what one would expect from a $250 lens. The second reason is that I frequently bang my camera into stuff. So if I damage a lens, better it be a $250 lens than a $1000 lens.
+5points
Review 3 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

PostedApril 29, 2014
pvc2112
Location Texas, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased this lens to be a companion to my 18-55 and I have been pleasantly surprised by the quality of the glass and the function of the lens. I highly recommend this lens to the beginner or seasoned veteran!
+4points
Review 4 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente telefoto para principiantes

PostedApril 5, 2014
MarGoCor
Location Distrito Federal, México
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Este lente es excelente para los principiantes que estamos comprendiendo apenas las técnicas para la telefoto. Es el lente que llevo cuando salgo a algún parque u otro sitio familiar para fotografiar animales y gente en movimiento. 200mm es suficiente para fotos de "fauna fácil" (así le llamo yo) como perros, gatos, ardillas y aves en el suelo. El VR ayuda muchísimo al usarlo con el zoom máximo y para los que todavía no logramos estabilidad máxima o no estamos acostumbrados a cargar el tripié.
Personalmente he conseguido imágenes muy nítidas y congeladas con este lente; lo recomiendo mucho, especialmente para principiantes y aficionados. Además, es barato para la calidad que ofrece.
+2points
Review 5 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light, compact and very usable for a very reasonable price.

PostedApril 3, 2014
HumblePhotog
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I'll preface this review by detailing what this lens isn't:
- It obviously isn't on par with Nikon's top-of-the-line lenses in terms of build quality and clarity, and obviously shouldn't be reviewed as such.
- It isn't the best option when you need ultra-fast focusing speeds for action shots.
- It isn't terribly responsive in low lighting.
- It isn't going to impress a photographer who expects miracles from it.
However, what it is:
- It is extremely lightweight and, even at 200mm, stays relatively compact.
- It is capable of producing surprisingly sharp photos (wide angle and close-up) of still subjects when given enough light.
- It is very respectable for portraits and gives a nice, dreamy bokeh.
- It is a quality lens equipped with a very usable VR at an extremely affordable price.
I have an assortment of lenses at my disposal, so I won't go so far as to say this is one that I rely on frequently or use as a daily walk-around. But, don't get me wrong, if you are relatively new to photography and/or don't have much of a lens budget to play around with, this would make a fine lens for most general use. I do use mine and haven't been disappointed with the quality of the shots I get from it.
I don't use it constantly and so I can't attest to its ability to take a beating, but with several thousand shots through mine, I don't have any reason to believe a malfunction is lurking around the corner. The VR still works great when I want to use it, the AF is still as responsive as it was when I got it new, and the focus/zoom rings are still light and smooth.
Again, don't expect miracles from it and you won't be disappointed with it. Trust me, you can spend ten times as much on a lens and you still won't get miracles, especially if you don't have a firm grasp on the fundamentals of photography itself. Once you learn how your camera actually works, and the role lenses play in getting the perfect shot, you can take an 'entry-level' lens like this one and get some pretty amazing photographs with it.
+22points
Review 6 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muito boa!

PostedNovember 25, 2013
CA[Floyd]
Location Natal - RN, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
A lente tem ótimo alcance e faz belas fotos. A qualidade dos produtos é o que me motiva a usar Nikon.
-4points
Review 7 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandes produtos

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Robinho B.H
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
Lente de excelente qualidade e alcance; Isso sem contar no visual elegante que completa o charme no corpo das câmeras fotograficas. O zoom é perfeito e atende super bem em fotos de esportes, pessoas e natureza. Dou um 10 (Incluindo o preço). A Nikon se superou mais uma vez.
-4points
Review 8 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Serve more than you payed

PostedMay 25, 2013
mlnuwan
Location Sri Lanka
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Good lens, good image quality, used more than 9 months.
+46points
Review 9 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

un buen teleobjetivo

PostedOctober 31, 2012
TeexSG
Location Ciudad de México, D.F., México
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Es un muy bien lente, para fotos a distancia lejana, no es muy recomendable en condiciones de poca luz, pero funciona muy bien, tiene motor de enfoque rápido.
-15points
Review 10 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

you get what you pay for

PostedOctober 9, 2012
TimE
Being a long time enthusiast, I bought this lens for two reasons, as a supplement to use before going to FX and to just try a low end (cheap) lens from Nikon. It didn't take long to realize the results reflect it. The lens is not very sharp at full zoom and has noticeable distortion. It is average at best on the other end. The lens performs at an acceptable rate for basic day to day shots, but for quality and critical photography one needs to pay the price.
-1point
Review 11 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Definitely a bright light lens, but detail is promising.

PostedOctober 1, 2012
rightmeowsmith
I tried this at home at night after I bought it, and it has a hard time focusing in low light, but it will be AMAZING in bright light situations. I still have my basic 18-55 that works a little faster in the low light shots, and I'll probably be using a tripod for anything shot at night, but I do like this lens!
+13points
Review 12 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Zoom e estabilidade.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Maragogi
Location Vitória - ES, Brasil
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Sempre desejei uma lente com bom alcance de zoom e que permitisse capturar imagens de animais na natureza sem me aproximar muito deles. A mesma lente serviria também para fotografar meus filhos a distância enquanto brincavam distraidamente. Essa lente faz tudo isso. Embora a máxima abertura seja um pouco lenta (4.0) o resultado tem sido muito bom, sobretudo com a capacidade das câmeras atuais de aumentarmos o ISO, sem prejudicar a qualidade, e ainda mais com o recurso de VR que dá a estabilidade para fotos sem tripé. Vale o tamanho que ocupa na mochila, pesa pouco, boa para capturarmos detalhes distantes nas fotos de viagem. Custa relativamente pouco e dá a aproximação que eu sempre precisei. Não me arrependo e recomendo para amadores como eu. Só não consegui com essa lente bons resultados em objetos com movimentos velozes.
+6points
Review 13 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It has great features

PostedApril 27, 2012
AmaturePhotographer
Location Omaha, NE
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I use it mostly for Nature pics but some times i use it for sports and it is really an amazing piece of work.
+29points
Review 14 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cheap Lens!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
A VT Photographer
Location Burlington, VT, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this lens as a hold over for myself until I would be able to get a 70-200 f/2.8 lens, but I have had this lens for two years and still haven't moved a finger for the 70-200. Although it obviously doesn't hold a candle to the legendary focal range, it does an extremely good job as my hold over. I'm very impressed with it.
Although you obviously can't expect this to be incredible for indoor, dark lightings, the VR can do a really great job. Its small form allows it to be carried easily in a nice small camera bag while still on the camera.
Even though I would of course rather have the 70-200, there is definitely a kind of pride that the user of the 55-200 holds. Saying that the photo is not about the lens, but the shooter, and being able to prove that for about $150-$250 is pretty darn cool. Very impressive performance to price ratio.
Buy this lens! Even if it's just a hold over ;)
+39points
Review 15 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

let the photos speak for themselves....

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Questography
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
this was a lens that came with a package deal at Best Buy. This lens works great. I'll post pics from 55mm all the way to 200mm so you can see what an amateur can do with this lens.
+20points
Review 16 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Review: UNTOUCHED PHOTOS

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Alysee Leana
Age Under 18
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have had this lens for almost a year now, and there is definitely a lot I can say about it. Pros: I love the zoom. The detail this lens captures is absolutely amazing. It is perfect for daylight photos, you will have absolutely amazing results. However, once it hits night time, the photos range from good to bad (personally I am a no flash person though). So yes, wonderfully precise and accurate photos, no detected vignetting. However, the cons are that it is a little on the heavy side, and just one weak after buying it I turned the delicate zoom a little too hard and actually broke the lens all together. It just snapped and I couldn't take any more photos, 1 WEEK after. I got it fixed for $20 thank god, and still have used it without an issue until now. So overall I really do think it is a great lens, almost professional with great zoom. Amazing for still life, animals, landscapes, and profiles. CANNOT GET UP CLOSE it will not focus, you need to step back at least 20 feet. Last but not least, zoom is audible but not "loud".
+37points
Review 17 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent low-price lens for everyday photography

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Nikola
Location Belgrade, Serbia
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been using this lens for more than a year, and It serves me well. Auto focus is not that fast, since it's using bundled servo, but if you're using manual focusing, you won't be disappointed. 4 stars because of slow auto-focus. Everything else -> 5.0
+32points
Review 18 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

d3000 w/ 55-200mm lense

PostedDecember 21, 2011
old timer
Location iowa
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
cant beat this pair or a unexpensive good picture takin camera and lense
-9points
Review 19 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

af-s dx zoom-lense

PostedDecember 11, 2011
crimefighter
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
i purchased this lense as an add on to a new d40x camera, i took approx. 100 shots with it and all are clear and in focus. it is a great lense for the money. i would recommend it for anyone
especially the beginner because it does all the calculating for u.
+8points
Review 20 for (Unknown)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

impressive

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Ohly
Location sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
Age 18-24
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Its a real good lens,
light weight and impressively resistant.
so, it's a good deal whit this lens. ^^
-6points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>