Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Fast-aperture, high performance wide-angle zoom optimized for FX and DX-format sensors and features Nikon’s ED Glass and Nano Crystal Coat.

Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(218 Reviews) 218
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 218 reviews
5 stars
183
4 stars
20
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
1
209 out of 218(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Fast. Versatile. Exceptional"

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Location Brazil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I have this lens for more than a 1 years and it never gave me a disappoint situation. The focus is very good on low light, so is perfect to night photography, further is very beauty to take photos of waterfalls, landscapes, and others...Also this lens is extremely sharp, and I think it's the best lens of Nikon for this propose.
+45points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great!!!

PostedAugust 18, 2015
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
amazing images... super sharp, fast focus and use in all kind of photography.. if you use DX format..never mind...to much money for crop sensor. FX user. best midrange zoom ever.
needless to say, The only downside is the weight.. If you can only get one lens to go with your new baby get this lens and treasure it as it won't let you down. I'm very happy and satisfied I finally bought it. The sharpness and speed focussing is amazing!... the second most used lens. was an essential part of every trip. Besides being my top travel and landscape photography lens, the Nikon 24-70mm has also served me well during various local photo sessions both in studio and outdoors environments. So, as you can see, it has seen a lot of abuse from me and knowing it inside out, I can speak of it with confidence. i have the 14-24 too but love this lens because you can attach filters, and the 14-24 don't.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!!!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Fast autofocus. Great contrast and color. Minimal flare. No drama, just beautiful pictures.
0points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Professional Standard for Normal Focal Length Zoom Lenses

PostedMay 6, 2015
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
The Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 zoom lens is not only extremely sharp, it is equally versatile. It is my go-to lens for weddings and other social events. It also does very well as a food photography lens, as evidenced below by an image taken at a shutter speed of one second (on a tripod), an aperture of f/11, a focal length of 45mm, an ISO of 640, Matrix Metering, and Auto White Balance.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+6points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ridiculously Amazing!

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Location Atlanta, GA, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Ok, I'm not quite a pro but I've been shooting long enough now to know the difference between sub-par quality and spot on accuracy. The 24-70 is a legend of a lens! I rented one a couple of years ago for a trip just to see what all of the hype was about and it didn't take 10 shots to realize just how special the 24-70 really is.
Here's why it's special: it's freaking sharper than a razor blade! Not to mention the color rendition you get with the lens is truly superb. Build quality is military grade with solid, super fast focus. It IS quite heavy but there is something about the feel of a heavy piece of glass that I kind of like, especially on a heavy body like my D810. I was coming from a 24-85 kit lens which was not too shabby either. I really didn't believe the 24-70 could possibly be that much better and to be fair, better is a relative term. I did get some fantastic shots with the 24-85, no doubt, but there's just something about the 24-70 that takes it to another level.
I even purchased the 24-120 (which has VR) thinking perhaps it would shake out to be a better overall choice due to it's employment of vibration reduction and it's added focal length. I REALLY wanted to like the lens better than the 24-70 because I could always use more focal length. I did numerous comparisons between the two, testing bokeh, color, sharpness, etc. But in the end, the 24-70 once again came out the winner! This was mainly in the area of sharpness for which it excels in every way. Thus, I returned the 24-120.
I find that there is a psychological aspect of shooting with such a legendary piece of photo gear. You just feel like what you're doing matters more. I've seen beautiful images taken with both the 24-85 and the 24-120 so I'm certainly not dogging either, but if you want the best overall image quality and are ok with sacrificing the added 50mm of focal length (and more importantly, the extra $$$) then you've got to go with this masterpiece of a lens!
+37points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The one to own lens

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Location Gatineau, QC, Canada
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Heavy but versatile. Fast and inspiring.
Since I own I almost use only this lens but a 105mm. for portraits.
The perfect fit with my D750
+7points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional's Kit Lens

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Why you have to have one?
- This is a lens that every professional has. If a professional can only use 1 lens in his life, this is the lens, because this is made for general purposes.
Why you don't have to have one?
- It's expensive; and if you're not really serious with photography, just try other lenses because this lens is built for the serious and professionals.
What's I like about this lens?
- It's sharp on all focal lengths and apertures, renders color very well, renders out-of-focus blur very well, and this is solidly built for professionals because it can withstand in any weather conditions and hazardous situations, for a bit.
- It's not too short, and not too long, it's just alright.
- This lens is made to be in between of the specialty lenses not only for Nikon but for the other brands. Hence, being called by many as a general lens.
What's I don't like about this lens?
- It's heavy.
- It's expensive.
- You get a bit of attention when you take photos of other people in the streets, but not too much. Take another lens for street photography, if ever.
- If this lens is not that wide for you, get a lens wider than 24.
- If this lens is a bit short for portrait and you need longer reach, get a longer focal length lens.
- If you're not satisfied with the bokeh, or you are not satisfied with how 2.8 handles low light situations, get a prime 50mm or 85mm with a 1.8/1.4 aperture lens.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+15points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A superior, versatile lens.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Location Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. I recently purchased a Nikon D810. This is my go-to lens. I like everything about it.
 
My product recommendations
 
-1point
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

content content

PostedApril 8, 2014
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
c'est ma lentille passe-partout, j'alterne entre celle-ci et ma 70-200 2.8, une autre merveille de Nikon
-1point
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect All-Around Lens

PostedApril 4, 2014
Location Houma, LA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great go-to lens. This is the range of focal lengths most often needed. Even though it's heavy, it rests well in your hands. The results are professional all the way. The 24-70 2.8 is right at home as a high-end portrait lens. Images are sharp and with the right camera attached, creativity is unlimited. The lens has a solid & balance feel and is easy to operate in manual mode. It seems to capture light like a sponge even in tough situations making the picture taking range quite wide. I am impressed with the performance and will keep it mounted most of the time.
+25points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only bullet I'm willing to bite

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been wanting lens for some time. I just couldn't justify the cost. I was about to buy a Tamron, but looked to see if Nikon had a refurbished one, Low and behold Nikon did and for the same price as a new Tamron. all i can say is I'm glad I bit the bullet and got it. took some photos of a fruit basket on my kitchen table under 60 watt house lights. I was blown away by the sharp colors under such bad lighting. I can't wait to use it this weekend and go on vacation with it
+29points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Lens, but use with Care

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Let me first say the 24-70mm is a great lens, but here is a story that may explain some of the lower rated reviews on this site. I purchased this lens to replace an 18-135mm DX kit lens, as I am in the process of upgrading my equipment.
I decided to run some tests to see what impact the ISO speed (D7100) had on noise. A tripod was used and shutter speeds were as low as 2 seconds (ISO 100). After running the tests with the 24-70mm lens I ran the same tests with the 18-135mm kit lens to see the difference. To my surprise the sharpness of the photographs was better with the kit lens.
The following day the tests were re-run in much brighter light and higher shutter speeds. The results this time were the reveres. The 24-70mm lens was sharper and with better color saturation. This is a heavy lens, compared to the kit lens, and the lack of sharpness at low speeds had to be due to tripod movement. With higher shutter speeds tripod movement was eliminated.
This is a great lens, but the extra weight means you will need to use reasonable shutter speeds (1/250+) for good results. Don't be surprised if you find yourself buying a heavy duty tripod for lower speed work.
Compared to my kit lens the 24-70mm lens has sharper focus, better color saturation and makes an ideal everyday lens. The investment was worth it for me. Just make sure you have a decent neck strap to carry the extra weight. Maybe Nikon should include one with the lens ;-)
 
My product recommendations
 
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
3.9 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
+30points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lens

PostedJuly 9, 2013
How does this lens not have 200 TIPA awards, 200 EISA awards, etc.? It's simply THE BEST in its category. I use it 90% of the time on my D800. The build quality, and most importantly the image quality is superb.
+10points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Must Have!!!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Location Louisville, KY, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I wouldn't even think about shooting an event without this lens. It is one of three lenses I must have for my wedding shoots. It is just unbelievably great. Before I could afford this lens I rented it to do several shoots because it wasn't the same shooting without it. I'm in love with it!!!! This thing is so versatile!!!!
+32points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Range/Fun to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
Location NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Please see my reviews of the 12-24mm and the 70-200mm for context. I go back and forth between my choice of 'always on' lens -- it is usually this one but it might be the 12-24mm or the 50mm 1.4D.
Regardless this is an easy lens to keep available since the range provides coverage which works for quick party snaps, animal portraits, industrial demonstration and even travel.
The lens is constructed as you would expect a fine Nikon lens to be constructed and the controls fall where they should. In addition it focuses fast and, as would be expected, it is tack-sharp.
One more thing: because of the resolving capabilities of the D800 this lens is a nice light option to go wildlife shooting.
+10points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse lens

PostedApril 18, 2013
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great mid range zoom. Goes hand in hand with the 70-200.
0points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible clarity

PostedApril 17, 2013
Location Boulder Colorado
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Had the the lens for 2 years and not a scintilla of a problem with it. It's what's always on the camera (D700) - no need for primes with this baby. Silky smooth telephoto and wicked fast autofocus. Lack of VR is not an issue. It can turn the most average shot into something much more. For anything within it's focal range, this is your guy.
+10points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

peeerrrrfect

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Location hillsborough nc
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
love this lens. so sharp. so sweet. i love the sharpness when im inside or out doing portraites. waited two years for this.
 
My product recommendations
 
+8points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STRONG, FAST, #1 LENS

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Location Wausau, WI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Best LENS I've ever used. It's so fast it doesn't even need VR. Built Quality is amazing and the weight just makes my camera body much much more AWESOME!
+5points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Quality and Color Rendition

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Location BC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was the first pro zoom I bought.It stays on my camera 85% of the time.Quick, precise and color rendition is fantastic.Build Quality is second to none.
+7points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>