Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED

Fast-aperture, high performance wide-angle zoom optimized for FX and DX-format sensors and features Nikon’s ED Glass and Nano Crystal Coat.

Average Customer Rating:
4.729 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 210
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 210 reviews
5 stars
176
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
1
201 out of 210(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

"Fast. Versatile. Exceptional"

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Victor-BRA
Location Brazil
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
I have this lens for more than a 1 years and it never gave me a disappoint situation. The focus is very good on low light, so is perfect to night photography, further is very beauty to take photos of waterfalls, landscapes, and others...Also this lens is extremely sharp, and I think it's the best lens of Nikon for this propose.
+33points
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

content content

PostedApril 8, 2014
Bigdan
Location Montréal, QC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
c'est ma lentille passe-partout, j'alterne entre celle-ci et ma 70-200 2.8, une autre merveille de Nikon
0points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect All-Around Lens

PostedApril 4, 2014
JohnC
Location Houma, LA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Great go-to lens. This is the range of focal lengths most often needed. Even though it's heavy, it rests well in your hands. The results are professional all the way. The 24-70 2.8 is right at home as a high-end portrait lens. Images are sharp and with the right camera attached, creativity is unlimited. The lens has a solid & balance feel and is easy to operate in manual mode. It seems to capture light like a sponge even in tough situations making the picture taking range quite wide. I am impressed with the performance and will keep it mounted most of the time.
+9points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Only bullet I'm willing to bite

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
BigRome99
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have been wanting lens for some time. I just couldn't justify the cost. I was about to buy a Tamron, but looked to see if Nikon had a refurbished one, Low and behold Nikon did and for the same price as a new Tamron. all i can say is I'm glad I bit the bullet and got it. took some photos of a fruit basket on my kitchen table under 60 watt house lights. I was blown away by the sharp colors under such bad lighting. I can't wait to use it this weekend and go on vacation with it
+13points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Lens, but use with Care

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
AustinMan
Location Austin, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Let me first say the 24-70mm is a great lens, but here is a story that may explain some of the lower rated reviews on this site. I purchased this lens to replace an 18-135mm DX kit lens, as I am in the process of upgrading my equipment.
I decided to run some tests to see what impact the ISO speed (D7100) had on noise. A tripod was used and shutter speeds were as low as 2 seconds (ISO 100). After running the tests with the 24-70mm lens I ran the same tests with the 18-135mm kit lens to see the difference. To my surprise the sharpness of the photographs was better with the kit lens.
The following day the tests were re-run in much brighter light and higher shutter speeds. The results this time were the reveres. The 24-70mm lens was sharper and with better color saturation. This is a heavy lens, compared to the kit lens, and the lack of sharpness at low speeds had to be due to tripod movement. With higher shutter speeds tripod movement was eliminated.
This is a great lens, but the extra weight means you will need to use reasonable shutter speeds (1/250+) for good results. Don't be surprised if you find yourself buying a heavy duty tripod for lower speed work.
Compared to my kit lens the 24-70mm lens has sharper focus, better color saturation and makes an ideal everyday lens. The investment was worth it for me. Just make sure you have a decent neck strap to carry the extra weight. Maybe Nikon should include one with the lens ;-)
 
My product recommendations
 
AF-S DX Zoom-NIKKOR 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
3.9 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
+14points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lens

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Nivekon
How does this lens not have 200 TIPA awards, 200 EISA awards, etc.? It's simply THE BEST in its category. I use it 90% of the time on my D800. The build quality, and most importantly the image quality is superb.
+5points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another Must Have!!!!

PostedJune 13, 2013
delikesenikon
Location Louisville, KY, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
I wouldn't even think about shooting an event without this lens. It is one of three lenses I must have for my wedding shoots. It is just unbelievably great. Before I could afford this lens I rented it to do several shoots because it wasn't the same shooting without it. I'm in love with it!!!! This thing is so versatile!!!!
+20points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Range/Fun to use

PostedJune 5, 2013
@forensic_photog
Location NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
Please see my reviews of the 12-24mm and the 70-200mm for context. I go back and forth between my choice of 'always on' lens -- it is usually this one but it might be the 12-24mm or the 50mm 1.4D.
Regardless this is an easy lens to keep available since the range provides coverage which works for quick party snaps, animal portraits, industrial demonstration and even travel.
The lens is constructed as you would expect a fine Nikon lens to be constructed and the controls fall where they should. In addition it focuses fast and, as would be expected, it is tack-sharp.
One more thing: because of the resolving capabilities of the D800 this lens is a nice light option to go wildlife shooting.
+7points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Workhorse lens

PostedApril 18, 2013
F2.8Junkie
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
Great mid range zoom. Goes hand in hand with the 70-200.
+1point
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible clarity

PostedApril 17, 2013
GreenlightPhotograhy
Location Boulder Colorado
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Had the the lens for 2 years and not a scintilla of a problem with it. It's what's always on the camera (D700) - no need for primes with this baby. Silky smooth telephoto and wicked fast autofocus. Lack of VR is not an issue. It can turn the most average shot into something much more. For anything within it's focal range, this is your guy.
+7points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

peeerrrrfect

PostedMarch 7, 2013
earl
Location hillsborough nc
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
love this lens. so sharp. so sweet. i love the sharpness when im inside or out doing portraites. waited two years for this.
 
My product recommendations
 
+6points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

STRONG, FAST, #1 LENS

PostedMarch 4, 2013
dthoj
Location Wausau, WI, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
Best LENS I've ever used. It's so fast it doesn't even need VR. Built Quality is amazing and the weight just makes my camera body much much more AWESOME!
+2points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Quality and Color Rendition

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
UG
Location BC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This was the first pro zoom I bought.It stays on my camera 85% of the time.Quick, precise and color rendition is fantastic.Build Quality is second to none.
+6points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fascinating piece of glass

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Hooked on Nikon
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I received my lens yesterday. I mounted that on my Nikon D7000 and I was really blown by the quality of the pictures. The size and weight as well as the build quality of the lens are just amazing. The focus is a breeze. I am really very happy with it and I don't regret any dollar I paid for it.
+6points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens WOW

PostedDecember 25, 2012
mickeyb48
Location Dacula, GA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is the first piece of a Pro Lens I've ever purchased. Clean, crystal clear, great color, fast. I tried a friends at church and put it on my D7000. I was blown away with her's shooting a program we were doing. Her lens was at least 5 years old. I was so impressed I had to break down and get it for Christmas. Granted its expensive, but wow what a difference compared to the standard kit lens. Can't wait to get a FX body.
Mike
+13points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Photographic gold...

PostedDecember 9, 2012
jvanart
Location Midwest
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Role Professional photographer
This lens is tight, bright, sharp -- basically awesome in all categories. Don't listen to anyone in these reviews on Nikon glass (or bodies for that matter -- I shoot a D600) complaining about weight (or size!). Those comments belong on the pocket-camera pages where it's relevant. It's kind of like buying a wicked-fast sports car and complaining the interior only seats two. The 24-70 is worth it's weight in photographic gold.
+43points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Lens and value.

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Mitch
Location Laconia, NH, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Great lens. I am glade I made the purchase. Corner to corner very sharp. I have not taken it off my D800 and probably never will. Both the camera and lens exceed my ecpectations.
+11points
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most useful of the Trinity

PostedOctober 11, 2012
A.Mistry
Location Karachi, Pakistan
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Pros:
Sharp at aperture 2.8, from 24 to 70 throughout
MOST useful focal length range (for full frame)
Weather seal
Smooth focus ring
Cons:
Expensive
Slight distortion at 24mm
No VR
Review: This lens never left my bag since the day I bought it. It is super sharp, focuses super fast and produces accurate colors and contrast. 70 mm at 2.8 will give you somewhat similar bokeh as a 50mm 1.8 would give. 24mm gives a superb wide view. This is the reason this focal length range is the most useful if you are using it on a full frame camera.
This lens takes 77mm filters. Using ND/GND filters is much easier than using them on a 14-24mm 2.8G because the latter has a bulbous end and you need special holders to hold the filters infront of the lens. Most of us would take wide angle landscape pictures at small apertures(around 7-10) so as to get a sharp picture, but you can very well use this lens at 2.8, for example for a group portrait. It is sharp up to f/16. After that you might get slightly soft or hazy pictures because of increased diffraction. There is some distortion at 24mm, but it can easily be corrected during post processing. There is also some vignetting(the blackish shadow that you get on the edges of an image) but only when the lens is used wide open at 2.8, and when the background is white or gray.
There is no vibration reduction in this lens, but one can take stable shots at shutter speeds as low as 1/50 at 70mm. Some third party companies are making 24-70 with vibration compensation/reduction which lets you shoot at slower shutter speeds.
Briefly comparing it to the Tamron and Canon variants, what I like about Nikon’s version is the quality control and fast focus. I have used all 3. The canon 24-70 is as sharp as Nikon, but what I don’t like about it is its thickness. It is fatter than Nikon’s 24-70 and is made for bigger hands. Tamron is not as sharp as Canon and Nikon at the centre, but the edges are equally sharp at 2.8. The difference becomes unnoticeable as you decrease the aperture. About the quality control, Nikon makes sure that every lens performs equally unlike the problems I have had with a third party company in the past.
Now this lens is expensive, but what makes the price worth buying? This lens has 3 ED elements and 3 Aspherical elements which help minimize chromatic aberration and make sure that you get sharpness both at the center and at the periphery. It has a nano crystal coat which is also responsible for this lens’ killer sharpness. It has a 9 bladed, rounded diaphragm which gives you lovely bokeh. It has a built-in autofocus motor, so it will auto focus even on cameras that do not have an auto focus motor. It focuses so fast, so fast that you don’t have to wait half way before fully pressing the shutter. You have to use it in order to believe it.
For those who find it difficult to spend 1900$ on this lens but need an all rounder lens, can go for a Nikon 24-85 f/3.5-4.5 lens. This lens is for 1/3 the price. You lose the 2.8 aperture but this lens performs so well that you will never regret purchasing it.
For the people who use DX ( cropped sensor cameras ): You can use this lens on a DX camera. It performs the same way as it does on an FX, the difference being the focal length change. On a dx, 24-70 would become 36-105mm. So on a DX, this lens can’t be called an all purpose lens since the wide angle 24mm is gone. I would rather use a 17-55 2.8 on a dx body so that it gives me an effective 25.5-82.5mm focal length. But keep in mind, you will not be able to use a 17-55 on a full frame unless you want to switch to dx mode.
For those who own a Nikon 28-70 2.8: This lens is as good as 24-70 in terms of optics and image quality. The only difference is that 24 is noticeably wider than 28.
 
My product recommendations
 
AF-S Zoom-NIKKOR 28-70mm f/2.8D IF-ED
4.8 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+66points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lens

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Papirus
Location Edmonton, AB, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i use this lens on dx body d300s, its perfect lens to own one.... even if you end up moving to FX format nikon, this lens will give you more and more for many years....
+10points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 24-70mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic all around zoom

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Pat D in MT
Location Billings MT
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I LOVE this lens. I switched from DX to FX and this lens replaced my 17-55, also an excellent lens. This 24-70 lens is absolutely superb ... ergonomics just right, balance great (it's heavy but that's part of the deal), zoom ring well placed, and the sharpness is phenomenal. I have been a Nikon user since 1980, and have owned or used (company equipment assigned to me) so many great Nikkors, and this is very high on the list. I do love primes, want the 35/1.4 and 105 Macro VR (the latter which I will get soon) but a short zoom is indispensable for photojournalism and other work. I can't imagine how they will improve on this lens, even with VR.
+9points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>