Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED

Fast aperture, high-performance, ultra-wide-angle zoom optimized for FX- and DX-format sensors featuring Nikon’s exclusive ED Glass and Nano Crystal Coat.

Average Customer Rating:
4.876 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 113
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 113 reviews
5 stars
104
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
111 out of 113(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Review 1 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow is all I can say

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Daddio
Location St. Louis, MO, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The only lens lacking after decades of enthusiast photography -- wide angle. Here's one of the many payoffs for being a "Nikon guy". Cannon doesn't have anything close to this solution. We've had it almost a year and thousands of photos demonstrate there is nothing like this high quality wide angle lens for certain situations. Family gatherings, tripod in corner, capturing the whole room, capturing the whole moment, with amazing depth of field (some folks say it's not for this, more for the next comment, but I see high value in the indoor family shots that cannot be achieved any other way). Then there is the get right up in there for the high impact shot. Been working this angle (pun intended) for family shots, awesome pet shots, landscape / flower close-ups, night sky (wow) shots -- all with very high impact. This is not a fisheye lens. Straight lines are straight. It is awesome. Love this lens. And as I'm always quick to point out, glass holds it's value, camera bodies don't. Glass makes all the difference in the world in 30 years from now looking back at the kids. Enough said!
+1point
Review 2 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My "Drama" lens

PostedMay 29, 2014
LarLac
Location Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've been using this lens on a working basis for a couple of years, and it's quickly become the favorite lens in my bag. On a full-frame (FX) body, you can't beat the kinds of angles you can get for dramatic effect (see samples). The edge-to-edge sharpness is better than any other lens I use, and that says a lot because it's all Nikkor glass. When zoomed all the way out to 14mm, you're going to get some distortion, but that's to be expected at that angle of view. That's what gives you that dramatic perspective - use it to your advantage.
This lens inspires a special kind of shooting. Practice with it to develop a style that normal lenses just don't get.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+25points
Review 3 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Sharp Lens

PostedApril 10, 2014
PhotoMate
Location Kanagawa Japan
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The first time out of the box I took a few sample shots and was sold. This lens produces extremely sharp images. You have to be aware of your horizon or you will get major distortion, but then again you may want that. It is heavy, lots of glass to produce the sharp image. As for a wide angle lens, this beats them all, get close to your subject and you will get very satisfying results. I have read some reviews about the lack of filter mounting capabilities, the colors are bright and vivid, just know your set up, and avoid having the light source at a 90 degree as it will make you metering difficult if in matrix. This lens is well worth the money if you plan on making large prints.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+23points
Review 4 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Used the 14-24 with D800 and built in Flash

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
shiva
While I am very happy with the quality of the pictures with this lens. A few days ago wanted to shoot a frame with this wide lens in a windy area, as I did not want to change lenses in that dusty atmosphere decided to proceed with the 14-24 wide and had to use the built-in flash to fill in a face.
It was strange to see the barrel of the lens cast a shadow in the picture,
-16points
Review 5 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Soft images at F2.8-F5.6

PostedJanuary 19, 2014
Sako
Location Valley Forge, PA 19460, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I purchased my 14-24mm approximately a year ago. Used 2-3x only. Recently came back from Yosemite NP where I had to switch to my 24-70mm F2.8. The images I got with the 14-24mm were unusable at all mm ranges when using F2.8-5.6. The images became usable only when stopped down to F8 or higher. I was using a tripod and ballhead with cable release. Have contacted Nikon to get their thoughts.
-29points
Review 6 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Dream Come True

PostedNovember 15, 2013
sharpshooter
Location Minneapolis, MN, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
It is a lens whose sharp images and full coverage without deterioration from edge to edge are without parallel in my experience. This is undoubtedly the best lens of any kind I have used or purchased. To see its full capability, use a weighted, stable tripod, Nikon Camera Control Pro 2 software, low ISO in a naturally lit room at dusk or later, with a timed exposure at f/2.8 on a camera like my D800. Then explore the result for hours at up to 200% magnification. You will not be disappointed. But, note that to get full performance, a carefully leveled camera held steady at fast shutter speed or on a stable tripod when that is impractical is needed.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
Review 7 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a special lens

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Nikongeniality
Location Canada
Age 45-54
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
When I see reviews that are overwhelmingly positive for any product, I try really hard not to join in the chorus of praise with just another "Great lens" review.
So, here are some of the already-stated down-sides to this lens: It's heavy, it's bulky and it can't take a filter. One other thing that has been mentioned but not emphasized - light leaks in from weird angles and I think it might have something to do with the way the hood is designed. The hood is a petal shape and the corners may go too deep allowing light to come in from the four corners. You can notice some smudges in the photo below of the star-field and tree tops. These happen when the subject is dark but there are light sources "off camera".
The up-sides to this lens are legion. It takes sharp sharp sharp photos in the worst lighting conditions and produces amazing colours with no hint of washout. Even at 14 mm, the distortion is minimal in most compositions. I take my best shots with this lens even though I probably only use it for 1 in 10 pictures.
When I show the photos below, I'm always told that I did a great job Photoshop'ing the shots with the Milky Way. I have no way of convincing people that there's zero post processing on any of these pictures. None. Zilch. I take the Photoshop comments as a compliment to the lens.
This is not a "snapshot of family vacations" lens or a selfy portrait taking lens. But if you're looking for a lens that will unleash some creativity in your compositions, this is the best that I have encountered for that.
+37points
Review 8 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lens!!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
CraigW
Location Ontario, Canada
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Most aspects of this lens have been covered in other reviews. I will just say, yes, it is a great lens!!
I will add this , in regards to the 'exposed' front element. It is a very exposed front element, and some are worried about scratching it. Well, I have to say, so far I have banged that glass twice, and it didn't leave a scratch on it.
The most recent, I swung the camera to take a shot out of a cockpit window, and caught the map holder on the control column ... a sort of side/sliding blow off the front element of the lens ... in looking at it, I though there was a scratch ... after a cleaning with a cloth, it turned out that it took paint off the map holder, and there was no damage to the lens. So, while I'm sure one could end up scratching it, that front element is far more resilient than most would assume.
+13points
Review 9 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Zackson
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
That's what describes this lens! I've been waiting too long to buy this lens and the whole time I've been thinking if it is worth the money. What about the BIG front crystal? What about the weight? What about the lens' filters? etc. At last I bought it, even though I still consider myself a beginner! Yes there's a big front crystal, yes it's a heavy lens and yes there's that filter problem! What I think? It's a pro lens! If it wasn't heavier because of ALL those crystals it has inside what would it be? Its sharpness is JUST incomparable. Its colors are extremely vivid even at night. Great contrast, ULTRA-WIDE. Note that I own a D7000 and that I haven't seen more than half of its potentials yet! I can't imagine how it performs on a full frame DSLR! It's a difficult lens to learn since it's professional! It's great for landscape, for tall and big buildings since it can capture the whole thing (with perspective). I have also taken some great portrait and even close-up pictures with this lens! Just perfect! Finally, there's a slight (and when I say slight I mean very slight) distortion (of course), since it's ULTRA-wide, which I personally think is a tiny problem and you can easily correct it if it bothers you! I don't think there's a lens with a maximum angle of view of 90° (on a DX) and 114° (on a FX) with such a slight distortion. I haven't regret buying this lens and I don't think I ever will.
+3points
Review 10 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My go-to lens

PostedJune 22, 2013
KyoshiPhotography
Location Los Angeles CA
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
Of all the gear in my bag this lens is my prime shooter. I dos wonders with distortion, is fantastic for small work environments, and at a uncommon focal length it it perfect for creative work too. As a press/sports photographer this lens allows me to focus on the story without losing the environment. When it comes to sharpness, this lens comes close to rivaling midrange prime lenses and it has very little falloff and no visible vignetting. I will also give kudos for having the strongest front element of any lens I own It to this day does not have a single scratch visible (under a magnifying glass) even though It has unfortunately found itself in some odd situations (one where it accidentaly hit a metal pole so hard that a piece of metal was stuck to the front element)
This lens is not without beefs however. Unlike my 17-35mm or Dx 10.5mm this lens tens to flare more when a light source (the sun) enters my frame.
Issue #2 is that this lens distorts a bit when coupled to a DX body (not that you should be using one) but when I put it on my D7000 it seems to have a bit of falloff on the edges not seen on my D700/N80 or friend's Fx bodies.
Issue #3 is both a question and a complaint... who thought it was a good ides to not manufacture a lip on the lens barrel for the lenscap to hug. I have wasted hours looking for that lenscap because it will just "fall off". The lenscap over time becomes loose and will eventually become loose enough to not stay on properly (you will especially notice this if you shoot with the lens everyday. That story above wouldn't have happened if the cap had bothered to stay on.
Issue #4 Is not really an issue, but being a superwide It might be helpful to mention that this lens has a distortion quirk. While you have to work to get any linear distortion (it is very good at that) the lens will "keystone" or accentuate the perspective of an object. It is more noticeable on a unorganic object and if used correctly may help your photography but it does exist
+8points
Review 11 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

By far the best wide zoom available

PostedJune 14, 2013
Anonymous
Location Sharon, CT
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I purchased one of these 3 years ago and found it to be exactly what is advertised. back then it was used with a D3/D2Xs with good results. Here we are and the digital film making era is in full swing and the need for a second angle that also has to be wide prompted the purchase of a second lens. Well worth the price, optical excellence and using it on the current bodies it really does shine. The store location is very tight and the 14-24 is the only option and I took this hand held at 1/60 f7.1 ISO6400 on the D600 as an example.
+6points
Review 12 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Astonishing

PostedJune 5, 2013
@forensic_photog
Location NC
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
I have shot only Nikon gear since the early 1970's and have used most if not all of the variations of F, and now shoot with a D800 which is my dream camera...everything I always wanted in a camera is provided by the D800. Therefore the lenses are the variable. The color rendition is spot on, the autofocusing is fast even in complicated settings and the images are tack-sharp. I have read conflicting comments about its ability to produce rectilinear images. My testing indicates that if the lines in the subject are straight, and if the camera is held straight, the resulting image will be straight with no curvature of the field. I found I was able to create a curved field, and curved straight lines but I also found the curvatures to be easily repaired if they are displeasing for some reason.
I love the slip off lens protector which reveals the lens and the affixed hood. This is a brilliant innovation and I hope they continue to use it in the future.
The zoom ring and the manual override focus ring are easy to access and, to me, they are where they belong, not to mention their material is easy to deal with.
Until I bought the 14-24, the 24-70 and the 70-200mm lenses I used only prime lenses except for a 17-35mm AF-S IF-ED. Given the work I do I'll keep my primes but, the three new zooms are amazing (read reviews of the other two as long as you're here).
+17points
Review 13 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb

PostedMay 24, 2013
Chris
Location Tidy Island, Florida 34210, USA and East Hampton, NY
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been shooting with Nikon glass for 30 years and I have accumulated a number of quality lenses. This one is on the top for clarity and color......they never cease to amaze me. Frankly, it's worth every penny
+5points
Review 14 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb performer!

PostedApril 18, 2013
F2.8Junkie
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
You will not be disappointed. Wow doesn't even begin to describe this lens.
+2points
Review 15 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best ultra wide I have ever used

PostedFebruary 20, 2013
pricey888
Location London, UK
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Travel
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Professional photographer
Since I was a young man at photographic college I have been testing and comparing lenses. Over the years I have been staggered at the low quality optics on a number of high end, particularly wide angle lenses. I recently jumped ship from Canon, back to Nikon for one main reason - the Nikon 14-24 lens! The D800 also had something to do with it, but having tried one of these lenses, I was delighted to find what I had been looking for, for years. A seriously sharp and contrasty wide angle lens at all apertures. It's a real beauty. I have owned prime Canon 14mm F2.8 which was an embarrassingly poor optic. The Canon 16-35 was horrendous at 16mm at every aperture. The Canon 24mm F1.4, I tried 3 different models because I couldn't believe this lens could be so average. Unfortunately all 3 turned out to be the same. So, back to the 14-24mm, yes we all know it is quite heavy and doesn't take standard filters. I stopped using filters when I switched over to digital (except protect). As an optic I can promise you, you will be unable to find anything on the market that comes close. Even the Canon/Nikon fit Zeiss lenses don't compare and that is comparing prime lenses with a zoom lens! It is simply sharp wide open, optimum at F8, getting a touch softer by F22. It is astonishingly sharp corner to corner, from F4 upwards at all focal lengths. The mild rectilinear distortion is easy to correct in many photo edit suites. I have a 24-70mm Nikon and when shooting at 24mm, I always go for the 14-24, as it is simply a far better lens. Buy one, you will love it.
+26points
Review 16 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic lens in all respects!

PostedFebruary 13, 2013
shortbyainch
Location Nebraska
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Sports
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I have owned this lens for over a year now, never leaving the shop with out it. Picture quality if not short of crystal clear and sharp. Noticed several comments regarding size and weight, but when I have it in my hands they are not noticeable or a problem, because of the super crisp pictures you will receive. Worth every penny and then some. NIKON ALL THE WAY!!!!
+8points
Review 17 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Lens

PostedDecember 26, 2012
DynamicFocus
Location Southern California
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
The Nikkor 14-24 has always been one of my favorite lenses. I doubt many prime lenses can produce a photo as sharp as this lenses. I recently purchased a D800. This combination can not be beat. If you mount the lens and camera on a tripod and use a cable release the photos are so perfect. I recently received my Lee filter kit for this lens. I really expect to producer some killer shots. Great job Nikon.
-1point
Review 18 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Photographic gold...

PostedDecember 13, 2012
jvanart
Location Midwest
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Professional photographer
This lens is magic. Like I said in my review of the 24-70, the weight of this lens is part of the deal. Complaining about it is the same as complaining about the legroom in a [name of your favorite fast sports car here]. The 14-24 is pure photographic gold...
 
My product recommendations
 
 
MB-D14 Multi Battery Power Pack
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Review 19 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Perfect Lens

PostedJuly 17, 2012
PT_Gold
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
For shooting interiors there isn't a better lens, I used the 14mm Lens and found that the 14-24mm is sharper. I love it more than my 16mm fisheye. I used this lens in low lite interiors as well as landscapes the results were awesome. If there is a down side I would say that it would be the weight. Overall I don't care about the weight as long as it will help make my images more sell able. I would highly recommend the 14-24mm lens for anyone shooting interiors, landscapes, or even wedding group shots. So far I have only owned the lens just over a month and have taken it on several photo shoots with D300s, I can't wait for D800e to arrive so I can see what this lens is really capable of.
+6points
Review 20 for AF-S NIKKOR 14-24mm f/2.8G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The second best lens in the Nikon lineup under $5000

PostedJune 14, 2012
Boris71
There is not much to say about this lens, except that it is a technological marvel and a photographic gem.
The only thing that can beat this lens is the AF-S 24mm f/1.4G, and that´s that.
And the only things I do not like about the 14-24 are the price, the weight, and that you cannot use any normal filters with it.
+12points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>