Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED

This high-power, high-performance 4.3x telephoto zoom with VR image stabilization lens allows better hand-held telephoto shooting ED glass.

Average Customer Rating:
4.469 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 226 reviews
5 stars
144
4 stars
58
3 stars
15
2 stars
4
1 star
5
212 out of 226(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
112 Questions | 141 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for action and nature!

PostedJuly 31, 2010
scottshot
Location Costa Mesa, CA.
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I bought this lens because I could not afford the 70-200 and actually the lens is very good and you get the added 100mm. This lens is not heavy, focus is fast and is easy to use. I use it for architectural detail shots, landscape, nature and sports. The VR works as designed and is priced right!
+86points
Review 2 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable lens

PostedNovember 13, 2014
coach14
Location Framingham, MA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my go to lens for landscape and wildlfie photography. I have used it on a D7000 and now on my D-610 and the results are the same. clear, sharp images all the time.
0points
Review 3 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Portable and Sharp Telephoto Zoom

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This 70-300mm zoom lens is easy to travel with and is optically excellent and affordable. The image of the Parthenon below was taken with a Nikon D700 camera body from the roof top of an open air taverna. The camera settings were the following: a shutter speed of 1/40 of a second (on a small table top tripod), an aperture of 7.1, an ISO of 6400, a focal length of 195mm, Tungsten White Balance, and Matrix Metering.
+1point
Review 4 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excelente

PostedOctober 30, 2014
Tokun
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Excelente precio/utilidad. Soy bastante principiante en fotografía, llevo apenas un poco mas de un año que compre mi DSLR y este lente me ha ayudado a sacar mejor provecho de ella. El zoom 70-300 que ofrece es excelente para hacer capturas de animales o detalles a distancia.
Muy recomendable.
+2points
Review 5 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb telephoto for budget-minded photographers

PostedMay 10, 2014
HumblePhotog
Location Atlanta, GA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Finally had a chance to get this lens out and have been nothing but impressed with it.
First of all; no, it's not on par with the faster - and vastly more expensive - telephoto lenses in Nikon's lineup in terms of clarity, sharpness, build quality, or low-light performance. It's also 1/5th the price on average and so it's really not a fair comparison to begin with. However, with that in mind, the optics and image quality are still top-notch. In fact, for a consumer-grade lens, the IQ and overall construction of the lens itself is among the best I've found in this price range.
I got this lens primarily to use for my son's soccer games, where lugging around my 70-200mm 2.8G on a monopod just isn't convenient or necessary even. With ample light, the 70-300mm shines and produces surprisingly sharp images, even at the minimum and maximum focal lengths. I found that the clarity tends to degrade minimally between 200-300mm, but is still very usable.
The VR II feature works and works very well. If you're hand holding, it definitely comes in handy and the difference with VR on vs. off is marked and noticeable. Given the relatively hefty weight of the lens, this feature might benefit some more than others, especially if you're not used to shooting with a lens that has a little bit of weight to it.
Auto focus is fairly quick and I didn't find much hunting at 300mm, even on an overcast day. This is especially nice with the crop factor if you happen to be using a DX body, letting you reach out and get the shot without much hassle or wasted time. You can always 'help' the AF by focusing manually from the start and letting the AF take over before getting the shot, but I haven't found myself needing to do that at all.
Overall, I would highly recommend this lens to anyone looking for a quality zoom for outdoor sports, nature shots, candids, and even portraiture. Like mentioned from the start, there are better and faster lenses out there but, for this price, you really can't go wrong and won't be disappointed with the quality you'll receive for the money.
+28points
Review 6 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grandes recursos em uma embalagem pequena!

PostedApril 7, 2014
arodrigues45
Location Júlio de Castilhos - RS, Brasil
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Ótimo produto, qualidade perfeita! Sempre tive curiosidade em experimentar uma Nikon, quando consegui eu me apaixonei, o produto é simplesmente perfeito!
+5points
Review 7 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One For The Travel Bag

PostedMarch 17, 2014
PhotoMate
Location Kanagawa Japan
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
This lens is the one you want in your travel bag. If you have limited space to pack, this lens offers a great degree of versatility. It is great for landscape as at 70mm you still have plenty of view angle, but when you want to get the close up shot, the 300mm zoom capability will get you in with the subject. Very sharp detail and good light gathering capability. And for the really close up shots you will get sharp detail with amazing depth of field to work with in aperture priority. Landscape, wildlife, and close up, this lens provides a quality results.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+12points
Review 8 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best fx telephoto for the price

PostedMarch 2, 2014
nyeekawn!!
Location Saskatchewan, Canada
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Experience More than a year
Role Just getting started with photography
Just recently purchased this lense and I love it. Does everything it's supposed to and is a perfect addition to my d5100. Doesn't exactly replace my 50mm 1.8 but it's not meant to. Produces sharp crisp images even at full zoom with minimal quality loss overall plus the added crop factor on DX is a bonus for me. Fast quiet focus and VR works as it should. Glad I picked up this lense. I would recommend it to any hobbyist or beginner like myself.
+3points
Review 9 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Otima Tele objetiva

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Simoes
Location Grão-Ducado de Luxemburgo
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
A tempos que ando a namorar essa lente compre-a na semana passada e valeu cada centavo investido tem uma qualidade de imagem nota 10 combina perfeitamente com a minha D600 !
+8points
Review 10 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

qualidade

PostedJune 23, 2013
nikon d5000
Location Blumenau - SC, Brasil
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
adorei essa lente muito rápida alta qualidade, robusta.
-3points
Review 11 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens !

PostedMay 28, 2013
TonySanJoseCA
Location San Jose, CA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have only two lenses at this point in time. The Nikkor 16-85 3.5-5.6 and the 70-00 4.5-5.6. I find myself continuously reaching for this lens. The lens is amazingly sharp, nice Bokeh!! Just looking through the view finder with this lens give you the feel that you are using professional quality glass. I would post some pictures here but they are severely reduced therefore you really can't see the true image quality.. Anyway, I too same as many other people doing the due dilegence research.But let me tell you now, if you are interested in this lens, don't waste your time any longer. Just go for it !!
+22points
Review 12 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Lens at an amazing price.

PostedMay 25, 2013
Neeraj
Amazing Lens at an amazing price. hard to believe that it would be so good
-2points
Review 13 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yes, Buy t!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Krisanie
Location Mukilteo, WA, USA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If you are wondering if you should buy this lens, the answer is "Yes!"
With my DX format camera it has an effective range of about 105-450, which I just love, as I do a lot of nature photography. The Vibration Reduction works quietly in the background, but really shows up in stunning, crisp images.
That said, for those of you who have never had a real glass lens, this one will feel heavy and you will need to learn to use your camera with the different balance. Go back to basics, support the lens with your left hand palm up, and you will be just fine. Some people might not like the extra weight, but a good photographer will just learn how to deal with it. I prefer the heavier camera/lens set, which seems to me to be easier to hold steady.
+23points
Review 14 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens

PostedApril 2, 2013
cskid
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I have had so much fun with this lens. From shooting the moon, wildlife, sun rises and sun sets, macroish shooting and panning for motion shots.
+4points
Review 15 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lens in affordable price

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Sky_line
Location Seoul, South Korea
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
bought this lens last month and I'm very happy with it, the photos were sharp, It was also an additional to my D7000. I also had a 85mm f 1.8.
 
My product recommendations
 
+3points
Review 16 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!!

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Samaire
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Just received it today and it's going to work perfect for my everyday outings with my kids!
-3points
Review 17 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Ford Man
Location MI
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Great lens for the money. sure the 70-200 II VR is way better but for the price you cant beat it. I use this lens when I am going to be at events that can get out of control, so my 70-200 II VR does not get hosed.
 
My product recommendations
 
-2points
Review 18 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect zoo lens for crop sensor DSLR

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Berkehaus
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This is my "go to" lens for most animal shots and zoo pictures. The 300mm zoom really lets you get in close on an animal for a perspective that shorter lenses do not allow. The VR works flawlessly and I can shoot handheld to 1/60th sec exposure. I even use this lens for isolation shots where I want a smooth blurred background. Bokeh is silky smooth with a 9 blade round diaphragm. Usually at the zoo I use this lens as primary on a shoulder strap and then carry a 2nd body with f/1.8 35mm in the bag. Love it.
+28points
Review 19 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELENTE

PostedNovember 22, 2012
RODOBETO
Location Guadalajara, JAL, México
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
ES UN EXCELENTE OBJETIVO. TIENE MUY BUENAS PRESTACIONES. TENGO EN REALIDAD POCO TIEMPO QUE COMPRE ESTE OBJETIVO Y ESTOY COMPLETAMENTE SATISFECHO CON SU DESEMPEÑO, HE REALIZO MUY BUENAS FOTOGRAFIAS DE ACCION, ADEMAS DE QUE NO TENGO QUE ACERCARME DEMASIADO A LO QUE DESEO FOTOGRAFIAR.
VALIO MUCHO LA PENA LA COMPRA Y RECOMIENDO AMPLIAMENTE ETE OBJETIVO.
+3points
Review 20 for AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great telephoto

PostedNovember 18, 2012
SimpsonTruckDriver
Location Deltona, FL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Need I say more? Takes wonderful shots, great price, I can't say enough. Photo taken on Daytona Beach, with a Circular Polarizer filter, on Labor Day this year.
-6points
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>