Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

This medium telephoto Micro lens is ideal for extreme close-up and portrait work with greater working distances and AF from infinity to life-size (1:1).

Average Customer Rating:
4.924 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 118 reviews
5 stars
110
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
118 out of 118(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
67 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optically wonderful lens - hunts a little

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Location Cincinnati, Ohio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for the last couple of months on a D300 camera. It has become my favorite Macro and mid-distance lens. Particularly like contrast and color.
105mm on a DX camera provides a good distance for macro work and is not too long for general "walk around" photography.
My only complaint is that it tends to hunt while focusing at times. The "limit" switch helps but it's still slow at times. Not a huge negative for me.
+77points
Review 2 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Location Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lense is light and I love the bokeh it produces which for macro shots is paramount. I like to use it hands free and have found it very easy to use with and without a tripod. Quality and sharpness is just as good as my 85mm f1.4 Nikkor I use for portraits.
 
My product recommendations
 
+1point
Review 3 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A sharp lens for so many creative possibilities

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Location San Francisco, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased the 105mm f/2.8G a couple of years ago because I wanted a fast lens with more reach than what I currently had in my camera bag. The aperture changes automatically from f/2.8 when up close to the subject and the sales representative thoroughly went over explaining to me why. After photographing macro shots with the 105mm f/2.8G, what he said didn't matter because I was amazed with the images. The lens being a Micro is a definite plus. The area I wanted in focus was sharp and everything outside the depth of field was beautifully smooth. The VR is nice when hand holding, especially when moving the camera around for video. Just remember to use an off-camera microphone for audio because the sound of the VR working can be heard and might not be the sound you want recorded in your video. I've used the 105mm f/2.8 for indoor sports using only available light and as soon as I aim my camera, it will focus immediately on what i want responding quickly as I select different focus areas.
I enjoy using the 105mm f/2.8 especially to photograph my Pomeranian in action during our walks and macros of my turtle relaxing under the sun. The lens has plenty to offer no matter what you want to photograph whether close ups or distant landscape or subjects in action it is able to keep up and astound. I hope you have room in your camera bag for this amazingly lens.
+2points
Review 4 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crisp Macro Images

PostedJuly 3, 2015
Location Alberta, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this lens primarily for macro nature photography with a D800 and am thoroughly delighted. The focal length gives good stand-off distance which minimized disturbance to subjects which is helpful with skittish insects, and gives enough space between the lens and subject for lighting (I use the Nikon close-up flash system -- an excellent accessory -- or occasionally a hand-held flash to get good lighting when the lens is stopped down). The lens gives crisp images with a pleasingly soft background. Other reviewers have described a tendency for the autofocus to hunt; I have seen this in macro mode, but get my best results when shooting extreme close-up with manual focus because it allows me to focus on the specific details I want so this has not been a problem. The specs for this lens list a minimum aperture of f/32 but the aperture can achieve smaller effective aperture in macro mode -- I think this is simply due to the physics the lens. The camera and metadata list the actual aperture; I've read other brands do not. Variable aperture at the macro end has not been a problem for me; TTL flash accounts for this very nicely. I've not encountered diffraction issues at small aperture. The lens gives terrific images with general photography. The images are crisp and have great contrast and bokeh.
+2points
Review 5 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great camera and equipment.

PostedJune 17, 2015
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
It is a great camera and easy to work with once I get comfortable with the grip
-5points
Review 6 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Almost perfect

PostedApril 19, 2015
Location Minnesota, USA
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is in my opinion the best of all prime lenses for portrait, wedding or macro photographers.
Portrait and weddings I get the same quality as my 70-200 maybe a little better backgrounds definitely sharper but very comparable and blends well with the rest of the workflow. The vr function does a good job in even handheld macro work making it perfect for those quick ring shots, bouquet, and textures/designs on the dress etc.. The focus is fast and silent with minimal seeking, the coatings are good with minimal chromatic aberrations I could see a photographer in a bind pulling off a whole wedding with just this lens on any camera body.
The only con is Nikon not stating when shooting macro it technically becomes a variable aperture lens. I believe it has too do this because of the depth of field when working in macro or nothing would be in focus this thing can literally focus on an ant and nothing else I just believe Nikon could have stated that fact for the photographer using it for the first time thinking they are stuck in some auto mode.
Solid metal construction feels great in hand this lens with its versatility is a no brainer
+15points
Review 7 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An excellent lens, near perfection

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Location South Carolina, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Having just purchased this lens and reading all the reviews I would think there is nothing else to say but there is. Some say the VR does not work well, it does. Some say it searches to much...(that is macro photography). It is great in all respects.
1. Put it on continuous focus.
2. Set the focus tracking. Just as if I were tracking a bird or lion.
3. I choose my f stop and all other factors
Then when the breeze blows the subject it will not fire until it hits focus, then I get 3 or 4 frames of the subject. I still use my D700 and I will continue to for a time at least. They both are great together and so is the Nikon Capture NX2 editing program.
+15points
Review 8 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portrait Lens in Addition to Micro

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This micro lens is also a superior and professional portrait lens. It is constructed quite well, provides great color, and yields terrific contrast. Below is a portrait taken indoors with a Nikon D800 camera body and a Nikon SB-910 Speedlight. The image was taken with a shutter speed of 1/125 of a second, an aperture of f/5.6, an ISO of 450, Auto White Balance, and Matrix Metering.
 
My product recommendations
 
+10points
Review 9 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best macro out there.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Location Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. This is a superior macro lens. The quality and clarity of the shots I've taken with it are wonderful.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 10 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Location Rockwall, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Since I returned to photography after a few decades doing other things, I enjoy photographing the smaller things in nature. This lens is absolutely outstanding for macro photography.
+10points
Review 11 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Macro

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this Macro Lens. It takes very crisp, colorful photos at a far enough distance away from bugs to not scare them off, (as much). I don't use the auto focus while doing macro, but I do make use of the VR. The VR is a little noisy, but doesn't seem to bother the bugs at all. The bokeh is also very nice, and having the ability to go to f32 is very awesome. My only complaint, (and it's not even really a complaint), is that it's a little front heavy. Overall this is a very sturdily built lens with amazing capabilities.
+18points
Review 12 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great prime lens, but maybe not for everyone

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Location Maryland
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens takes amazing pictures, but extreme closeups are challenging. Depth of field, even with a narrow aperture, is limited at its minimal focal range, but it is certainly capable of superb photos! I rarely use a tripod, priding myself at having a steady hand when it comes to handling a camera. But when a single mm can make the difference in being out of focus, a tripod would probably be helpful. All the attached photos were hand-held.
The green spider on the sample photo included with this review is less than 1/2 inch in length, and I had to hold the camera by hand above him due to the location outdoors. I used manual focus, which is easier in a situation like this.
The blue flower (a spiderwort) was taken at near-minimal focal range at f/14, and the crop version of it shows the incredible detail that the lens (and the D800) picked up.
For photos that are taken from 2 or more feet from the subject, the lens is much easier to use -- auto focus works reasonably well, and a millimeter of body sway is not going to have much impact.
Lens is great for portraits, except that it can show too many details, especially for those over 40 (lol). Be prepared to do a little skin smoothing, because the lens can find every flaw.
Unlike some reviewers, this is not a lens I use every day -- I still prefer the versatility of the 28-300. But when you really want to get close, or want to be really super sharp, this lens is fantastic.
For the novice photographer who wants excellent depth of field in macro work, consider a good high-end pocket camera; the smaller sensor and the closeness of the lens to the sensor combine to make this kind of work easier, though the quality may not be as good.
I have to add that the D800, with its incredible 36MP resolution, adds a new dimension to macro work with this lens, because you can crop and enlarge even further with little or no loss of resolution. The two together are truly a great combination!
Incidentally, this lens provides even closer macro work on a DX camera due to the 1.5X crop factor. I've used it on my D90 very successfully!
 
My product recommendations
 
+13points
Review 13 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Opens new horizons!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Favorite Subject Landscape
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens allows me to pursue areas I have alway wanted to explore. Outstanding combination lens for portraits and closeups. This lens needs to be tried to be believed.
+6points
Review 14 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Lens!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Location Houston
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I was skeptical of this lense at first because of the price, as I am new to photography as a hobby. It is definitely worth it. I am delighted to have purchased it! You can take nice macro shots from a reasonable distance. It also is good for portrait shots. It works works well with my D5200.
+6points
Review 15 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for macro.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Location Springfield, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After having read reviews for this lens all over i wanted a lens which would be suitable for macro and portrait photography. Ive never done macro work before and was keen on getting this lens as it had some of the best reviews all around. Just got it in my hand yesterday and in spite of knowing this lens was heavy feeling it in my hands made me realize the actual weight it carried. This lens is heavy!! I use a Nikon D600 and after attaching the lens to the body it felt pretty ok. I took a couple of trial shots on general setting, manual, shutter speed around 250 and aperture about 3.3, i cant bel;ieve how easy it was to get great pictures even for a novice like me.
The perspective that macro offers was new to me and just after a couple of clicks the pictures were pretty unbeleiavable. I soon realized that at macro level the aperture def needs to be played around with to get the crisp shots. The bokeh is out of this world. on smaller subjects the focus hunting was pretty noticable and frustrating, and i quickly set it on manual and noticed it to be much easier to focus than autofocus.
I havent had chance to try portraits using this lens.
I would highly recommend this lens as the quality is awesome.
I am attaching a few first sample shots from this lens and remember i wasnt even trying to get a professional quality.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+24points
Review 16 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lenses!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Location Alberta, CANADA
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently added this lenses to my bag and am glad I did. Mounted on my D600, the 105mm macro is very sharp and has great contrast. Nice glass....the detail is excellent. As stated by others, it hunts for auto-focus sometimes. Anyone considering macro photography should have this model.
No regrets!
+3points
Review 17 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great macro lens! very sensitive

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Location MA
Age 25-34
User submitted photo
Bought this lens with the R1C1 commander kit and the pair is perfect together. The speedlight flash kit goes together very easily and works real nice.
Paid the extra for the flash setup and it made life a LOT easier. Also, setup and breakdown is simple and the macro lens and flash kit travels easily in any camera bag.
+10points
Review 18 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sharp macro lens

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my favorite lens for both fx and dx bodies. I have made more good photographs with this lens then all my other lens. Though it is a bit heavy it is worth it for the images it produces.
 
My product recommendations
 
+31points
Review 19 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable , amazing lense for close up dental photos

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Location Los Angeles ,CA
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens for my dental practice photos and I got a great photos with this lense and my D7000 nikon camera.
+14points
Review 20 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpness of the lens

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Location Malaysia
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This Lens is really amazing, the sharpness of the lens is really like a razor, i love to use it. And i also use this lens to shot Landscape photo too. Is a really recommended lens for macro, portraiture, and etc purpose.
+12points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>