Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

This medium telephoto Micro lens is ideal for extreme close-up and portrait work with greater working distances and AF from infinity to life-size (1:1).

Average Customer Rating:
4.92 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 112 reviews
5 stars
104
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
112 out of 112(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
60 Questions | 84 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optically wonderful lens - hunts a little

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Larry
Location Cincinnati, Ohio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for the last couple of months on a D300 camera. It has become my favorite Macro and mid-distance lens. Particularly like contrast and color.
105mm on a DX camera provides a good distance for macro work and is not too long for general "walk around" photography.
My only complaint is that it tends to hunt while focusing at times. The "limit" switch helps but it's still slow at times. Not a huge negative for me.
+69points
Review 2 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Portrait Lens in Addition to Micro

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Scripps23
Location San Diego, California
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
This micro lens is also a superior and professional portrait lens. It is constructed quite well, provides great color, and yields terrific contrast. Below is a portrait taken indoors with a Nikon D800 camera body and a Nikon SB-910 Speedlight. The image was taken with a shutter speed of 1/125 of a second, an aperture of f/5.6, an ISO of 450, Auto White Balance, and Matrix Metering.
 
My product recommendations
 
0points
Review 3 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best macro out there.

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Nessman
Location Sammamish, WA, USA
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I've been a Nikon user and a fan for years. This is a superior macro lens. The quality and clarity of the shots I've taken with it are wonderful.
 
My product recommendations
 
+2points
Review 4 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Lens

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Opwe
Location Rockwall, TX, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Since I returned to photography after a few decades doing other things, I enjoy photographing the smaller things in nature. This lens is absolutely outstanding for macro photography.
+7points
Review 5 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Macro

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Nikonalypse
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than 10 years
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love this Macro Lens. It takes very crisp, colorful photos at a far enough distance away from bugs to not scare them off, (as much). I don't use the auto focus while doing macro, but I do make use of the VR. The VR is a little noisy, but doesn't seem to bother the bugs at all. The bokeh is also very nice, and having the ability to go to f32 is very awesome. My only complaint, (and it's not even really a complaint), is that it's a little front heavy. Overall this is a very sturdily built lens with amazing capabilities.
+8points
Review 6 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great prime lens, but maybe not for everyone

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Allan
Location Maryland
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This lens takes amazing pictures, but extreme closeups are challenging. Depth of field, even with a narrow aperture, is limited at its minimal focal range, but it is certainly capable of superb photos! I rarely use a tripod, priding myself at having a steady hand when it comes to handling a camera. But when a single mm can make the difference in being out of focus, a tripod would probably be helpful. All the attached photos were hand-held.
The green spider on the sample photo included with this review is less than 1/2 inch in length, and I had to hold the camera by hand above him due to the location outdoors. I used manual focus, which is easier in a situation like this.
The blue flower (a spiderwort) was taken at near-minimal focal range at f/14, and the crop version of it shows the incredible detail that the lens (and the D800) picked up.
For photos that are taken from 2 or more feet from the subject, the lens is much easier to use -- auto focus works reasonably well, and a millimeter of body sway is not going to have much impact.
Lens is great for portraits, except that it can show too many details, especially for those over 40 (lol). Be prepared to do a little skin smoothing, because the lens can find every flaw.
Unlike some reviewers, this is not a lens I use every day -- I still prefer the versatility of the 28-300. But when you really want to get close, or want to be really super sharp, this lens is fantastic.
For the novice photographer who wants excellent depth of field in macro work, consider a good high-end pocket camera; the smaller sensor and the closeness of the lens to the sensor combine to make this kind of work easier, though the quality may not be as good.
I have to add that the D800, with its incredible 36MP resolution, adds a new dimension to macro work with this lens, because you can crop and enlarge even further with little or no loss of resolution. The two together are truly a great combination!
Incidentally, this lens provides even closer macro work on a DX camera due to the 1.5X crop factor. I've used it on my D90 very successfully!
 
My product recommendations
 
+9points
Review 7 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Opens new horizons!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Woodsmith
Favorite Subject Landscape
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens allows me to pursue areas I have alway wanted to explore. Outstanding combination lens for portraits and closeups. This lens needs to be tried to be believed.
+4points
Review 8 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Lens!

PostedApril 19, 2014
TexPhoto
Location Houston
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I was skeptical of this lense at first because of the price, as I am new to photography as a hobby. It is definitely worth it. I am delighted to have purchased it! You can take nice macro shots from a reasonable distance. It also is good for portrait shots. It works works well with my D5200.
+4points
Review 9 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for macro.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
NikonGSpringPatch
Location Springfield, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After having read reviews for this lens all over i wanted a lens which would be suitable for macro and portrait photography. Ive never done macro work before and was keen on getting this lens as it had some of the best reviews all around. Just got it in my hand yesterday and in spite of knowing this lens was heavy feeling it in my hands made me realize the actual weight it carried. This lens is heavy!! I use a Nikon D600 and after attaching the lens to the body it felt pretty ok. I took a couple of trial shots on general setting, manual, shutter speed around 250 and aperture about 3.3, i cant bel;ieve how easy it was to get great pictures even for a novice like me.
The perspective that macro offers was new to me and just after a couple of clicks the pictures were pretty unbeleiavable. I soon realized that at macro level the aperture def needs to be played around with to get the crisp shots. The bokeh is out of this world. on smaller subjects the focus hunting was pretty noticable and frustrating, and i quickly set it on manual and noticed it to be much easier to focus than autofocus.
I havent had chance to try portraits using this lens.
I would highly recommend this lens as the quality is awesome.
I am attaching a few first sample shots from this lens and remember i wasnt even trying to get a professional quality.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+15points
Review 10 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lenses!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
JR
Location Alberta, CANADA
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently added this lenses to my bag and am glad I did. Mounted on my D600, the 105mm macro is very sharp and has great contrast. Nice glass....the detail is excellent. As stated by others, it hunts for auto-focus sometimes. Anyone considering macro photography should have this model.
No regrets!
+2points
Review 11 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great macro lens! very sensitive

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
semi-pro published
Location MA
Age 25-34
User submitted photo
Bought this lens with the R1C1 commander kit and the pair is perfect together. The speedlight flash kit goes together very easily and works real nice.
Paid the extra for the flash setup and it made life a LOT easier. Also, setup and breakdown is simple and the macro lens and flash kit travels easily in any camera bag.
+9points
Review 12 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sharp macro lens

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
MoT
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my favorite lens for both fx and dx bodies. I have made more good photographs with this lens then all my other lens. Though it is a bit heavy it is worth it for the images it produces.
 
My product recommendations
 
+28points
Review 13 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable , amazing lense for close up dental photos

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Dentist 1
Location Los Angeles ,CA
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens for my dental practice photos and I got a great photos with this lense and my D7000 nikon camera.
+14points
Review 14 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpness of the lens

PostedNovember 13, 2012
LSP
Location Malaysia
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This Lens is really amazing, the sharpness of the lens is really like a razor, i love to use it. And i also use this lens to shot Landscape photo too. Is a really recommended lens for macro, portraiture, and etc purpose.
+14points
Review 15 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunningly sharp lens

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Photo Enthusiast
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this lens for nearly 5 months and until recently had been using it with my Nikon D7000 and now with my new Nikon D600. This lens is superb on both the DX and FX format cameras. I use it primarily for shooting insects of various types but have occasioned to take a portrait or two and the sharpness of this lens is nothing short of breathtaking. With portraits I've had to soften the images or I get a lot of push-back on seeing too many blemishes or wrinkles from the subjects in the photos.
When I first got it I struggled a bit with auto-focus "hunting" but have gradually adapted to it to where it is no longer an issue. I can't be more specific because I didn't do anything special other than more or less learning how the lens likes to be operated. Also in that regard I've read many a report that the vibration reduction and even the auto-focus is virtually useless when doing 1:1 macros. I have not found this to be the case. I use both to great advantage and rarely have had to manually focus.
Overall this is one truly outstanding lens worth every penny I paid for it. Highly recommended!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+16points
Review 16 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility and superb image quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Grimbot
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought the Nikkor Micro 105 VR lens to match up with my new Nikon D600. What a fantastic combination! The VR works very well and I have been able to get some good macro shots hand held...I'm looking forward to some extensive tripod work with this lens.
Image quality with the Micro 105 VR is superb...tack sharp....and with the dynamic range of the D600 this lens really shines with outstanding colours and contrast...right out of the camera. Auto focus is very fast, although the D600 does "hunt' a bit with this lens depending on the subject being photographed (some of that could have been me working with a new camera).
The bokeh is very smooth and buttery which gives the Micro 105 VR even more versatility as a general purpose lens with perhaps even a bit of portrait work thrown in.
The shots below were taken hand held....the hole in the leaf is a 100% crop from a tiny segment of the overall photo. I shot the spider in its web with my D600 and D7000 about 1 minute apart. You can see the differences between how the the DX sensor D7000 and the FX sensor D600 work with this lens. The superior sensor in the D600 with its outstanding dynamic range was able to bring out so much more detail in the spider than could my D7000.....the spider looking dark and flat by comparison. The images were taken with identical camera settings, exposures etc. The D600 really enables the Micro 105 VR to excel. All images are jpegs straight out of the cameras with no adjustments what-so-ever.
I also have a Nikkor Micro 85 VR lens which is a very good DX lens but it simply cannot compete with the outstanding image quality of the Micro 105 VR. I have no hesitation recommending the Micro 105 VR...it is superb.
+30points
Review 17 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect - Multipurpose Lens

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Vishy
Location Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Awesome... has left me speechless on several occasions...
I would recommend this lens to serious hobbyists and others above that level already have this beauty... Macro world gives you immense opportunities and kind of "unlocks" a different world altogether.
Indoor Portraits in low light conditions are pretty sharp... I have actually not used my other lenses for the last 4+ weeks since this has been around. Portraits are primarily shot in the 85-125mm range, this lens sits smack in the sweet spot of that range. Use your feet to zoom in and zoom out if needed.
I have a D5000, and have not gone above 640 ISO. Have got crisp handheld shots ~1/25 with f16+ for macro (means very low light conditions). Macro mode will need some practice to get used to - but that is the way macro oughta be!
for Portraits... I've not gone below f9 and not higher than 200 ISO with exceedingly fast shutter speeds.
Highly Recommended. A Nikkor .... will always outlast.
+20points
Review 18 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best Nikon lens for close up & portrait

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Ed
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own this incredible nano technology coated lens since 2007 and I have to say no doubt this is my favorite len for portrait & close up. Efficiently fast, razor sharp and well built. This is not a cheap Len but affordable compare to other nano coated lens with Nikon. Most of my favorite images are taken with this Len.
+8points
Review 19 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Macro

PostedJuly 13, 2012
kilsonrj
Location Rio de Janeiro
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Ainda estou usando essa lente,é otima,pena que ela só chegue a 1:1,ja esta na hora da Nikon produzir uma lente que de uma ampliação de 5x,assim estamos perdendo e muito para a Concorrente.
+15points
Review 20 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 'Magic hour' portrait lens

PostedJune 27, 2012
Splash
Location Chino Hills, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I use this lens very little for macro work. I own the 80-200 f2.8 zoom lens and find that it's too large to take to weddings. There has been a rash of people stealing gear at weddings so I decided to start wearing my lenses on a belt This lens is my go-to lens for portraits. After sunset when the light is still out for a few minutes this lens really shines. Just turn on the VR. I also use it inside of churches handheld with the VR on. I have also found that it focuses quickly in low light and it's amazing to use during the first dance.
i cannot tell you how sharp this lens is, it's breathtaking. But, yes, to photograph the rings I use it for that as well. The macro excels at that. If i had to go a year with only one lens, it would be this one.
 
My product recommendations
D300
4.7 out of 5(46)
 
 
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+22points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>