Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED

This medium telephoto Micro lens is ideal for extreme close-up and portrait work with greater working distances and AF from infinity to life-size (1:1).

Average Customer Rating:
4.924 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 106 reviews
5 stars
99
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
106 out of 106(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Review 1 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Optically wonderful lens - hunts a little

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Larry
Location Cincinnati, Ohio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have used this lens for the last couple of months on a D300 camera. It has become my favorite Macro and mid-distance lens. Particularly like contrast and color.
105mm on a DX camera provides a good distance for macro work and is not too long for general "walk around" photography.
My only complaint is that it tends to hunt while focusing at times. The "limit" switch helps but it's still slow at times. Not a huge negative for me.
+67points
Review 2 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Opens new horizons!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Woodsmith
Favorite Subject Landscape
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens allows me to pursue areas I have alway wanted to explore. Outstanding combination lens for portraits and closeups. This lens needs to be tried to be believed.
+1point
Review 3 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb Lens!

PostedApril 19, 2014
TexPhoto
Location Houston
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
I was skeptical of this lense at first because of the price, as I am new to photography as a hobby. It is definitely worth it. I am delighted to have purchased it! You can take nice macro shots from a reasonable distance. It also is good for portrait shots. It works works well with my D5200.
+3points
Review 4 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lens for macro.

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
NikonGSpringPatch
Location Springfield, IL, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
After having read reviews for this lens all over i wanted a lens which would be suitable for macro and portrait photography. Ive never done macro work before and was keen on getting this lens as it had some of the best reviews all around. Just got it in my hand yesterday and in spite of knowing this lens was heavy feeling it in my hands made me realize the actual weight it carried. This lens is heavy!! I use a Nikon D600 and after attaching the lens to the body it felt pretty ok. I took a couple of trial shots on general setting, manual, shutter speed around 250 and aperture about 3.3, i cant bel;ieve how easy it was to get great pictures even for a novice like me.
The perspective that macro offers was new to me and just after a couple of clicks the pictures were pretty unbeleiavable. I soon realized that at macro level the aperture def needs to be played around with to get the crisp shots. The bokeh is out of this world. on smaller subjects the focus hunting was pretty noticable and frustrating, and i quickly set it on manual and noticed it to be much easier to focus than autofocus.
I havent had chance to try portraits using this lens.
I would highly recommend this lens as the quality is awesome.
I am attaching a few first sample shots from this lens and remember i wasnt even trying to get a professional quality.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
+14points
Review 5 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Lenses!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
JR
Location Alberta, CANADA
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently added this lenses to my bag and am glad I did. Mounted on my D600, the 105mm macro is very sharp and has great contrast. Nice glass....the detail is excellent. As stated by others, it hunts for auto-focus sometimes. Anyone considering macro photography should have this model.
No regrets!
+3points
Review 6 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great macro lens! very sensitive

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
semi-pro published
Location MA
Age 25-34
User submitted photo
Bought this lens with the R1C1 commander kit and the pair is perfect together. The speedlight flash kit goes together very easily and works real nice.
Paid the extra for the flash setup and it made life a LOT easier. Also, setup and breakdown is simple and the macro lens and flash kit travels easily in any camera bag.
+8points
Review 7 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sharp macro lens

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
MoT
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is my favorite lens for both fx and dx bodies. I have made more good photographs with this lens then all my other lens. Though it is a bit heavy it is worth it for the images it produces.
 
My product recommendations
 
+28points
Review 8 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Unbelievable , amazing lense for close up dental photos

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Dentist 1
Location Los Angeles ,CA
Age 25-34
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
I use this lens for my dental practice photos and I got a great photos with this lense and my D7000 nikon camera.
+12points
Review 9 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpness of the lens

PostedNovember 13, 2012
LSP
Location Malaysia
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
This Lens is really amazing, the sharpness of the lens is really like a razor, i love to use it. And i also use this lens to shot Landscape photo too. Is a really recommended lens for macro, portraiture, and etc purpose.
+13points
Review 10 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stunningly sharp lens

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Photo Enthusiast
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've had this lens for nearly 5 months and until recently had been using it with my Nikon D7000 and now with my new Nikon D600. This lens is superb on both the DX and FX format cameras. I use it primarily for shooting insects of various types but have occasioned to take a portrait or two and the sharpness of this lens is nothing short of breathtaking. With portraits I've had to soften the images or I get a lot of push-back on seeing too many blemishes or wrinkles from the subjects in the photos.
When I first got it I struggled a bit with auto-focus "hunting" but have gradually adapted to it to where it is no longer an issue. I can't be more specific because I didn't do anything special other than more or less learning how the lens likes to be operated. Also in that regard I've read many a report that the vibration reduction and even the auto-focus is virtually useless when doing 1:1 macros. I have not found this to be the case. I use both to great advantage and rarely have had to manually focus.
Overall this is one truly outstanding lens worth every penny I paid for it. Highly recommended!
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
 
+15points
Review 11 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Versatility and superb image quality

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Grimbot
Location Grimsby, ON, Canada
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Semi-professional photographer
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently bought the Nikkor Micro 105 VR lens to match up with my new Nikon D600. What a fantastic combination! The VR works very well and I have been able to get some good macro shots hand held...I'm looking forward to some extensive tripod work with this lens.
Image quality with the Micro 105 VR is superb...tack sharp....and with the dynamic range of the D600 this lens really shines with outstanding colours and contrast...right out of the camera. Auto focus is very fast, although the D600 does "hunt' a bit with this lens depending on the subject being photographed (some of that could have been me working with a new camera).
The bokeh is very smooth and buttery which gives the Micro 105 VR even more versatility as a general purpose lens with perhaps even a bit of portrait work thrown in.
The shots below were taken hand held....the hole in the leaf is a 100% crop from a tiny segment of the overall photo. I shot the spider in its web with my D600 and D7000 about 1 minute apart. You can see the differences between how the the DX sensor D7000 and the FX sensor D600 work with this lens. The superior sensor in the D600 with its outstanding dynamic range was able to bring out so much more detail in the spider than could my D7000.....the spider looking dark and flat by comparison. The images were taken with identical camera settings, exposures etc. The D600 really enables the Micro 105 VR to excel. All images are jpegs straight out of the cameras with no adjustments what-so-ever.
I also have a Nikkor Micro 85 VR lens which is a very good DX lens but it simply cannot compete with the outstanding image quality of the Micro 105 VR. I have no hesitation recommending the Micro 105 VR...it is superb.
+26points
Review 12 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect - Multipurpose Lens

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Vishy
Location Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Awesome... has left me speechless on several occasions...
I would recommend this lens to serious hobbyists and others above that level already have this beauty... Macro world gives you immense opportunities and kind of "unlocks" a different world altogether.
Indoor Portraits in low light conditions are pretty sharp... I have actually not used my other lenses for the last 4+ weeks since this has been around. Portraits are primarily shot in the 85-125mm range, this lens sits smack in the sweet spot of that range. Use your feet to zoom in and zoom out if needed.
I have a D5000, and have not gone above 640 ISO. Have got crisp handheld shots ~1/25 with f16+ for macro (means very low light conditions). Macro mode will need some practice to get used to - but that is the way macro oughta be!
for Portraits... I've not gone below f9 and not higher than 200 ISO with exceedingly fast shutter speeds.
Highly Recommended. A Nikkor .... will always outlast.
+17points
Review 13 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best Nikon lens for close up & portrait

PostedAugust 18, 2012
Ed
Location Vancouver, BC, Canada
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
I own this incredible nano technology coated lens since 2007 and I have to say no doubt this is my favorite len for portrait & close up. Efficiently fast, razor sharp and well built. This is not a cheap Len but affordable compare to other nano coated lens with Nikon. Most of my favorite images are taken with this Len.
+8points
Review 14 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Macro

PostedJuly 13, 2012
kilsonrj
Location Rio de Janeiro
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
Ainda estou usando essa lente,é otima,pena que ela só chegue a 1:1,ja esta na hora da Nikon produzir uma lente que de uma ampliação de 5x,assim estamos perdendo e muito para a Concorrente.
+11points
Review 15 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 'Magic hour' portrait lens

PostedJune 27, 2012
Splash
Location Chino Hills, CA, USA
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 11-20 years
Experience More than a year
Role Professional photographer
User submitted photo
I use this lens very little for macro work. I own the 80-200 f2.8 zoom lens and find that it's too large to take to weddings. There has been a rash of people stealing gear at weddings so I decided to start wearing my lenses on a belt This lens is my go-to lens for portraits. After sunset when the light is still out for a few minutes this lens really shines. Just turn on the VR. I also use it inside of churches handheld with the VR on. I have also found that it focuses quickly in low light and it's amazing to use during the first dance.
i cannot tell you how sharp this lens is, it's breathtaking. But, yes, to photograph the rings I use it for that as well. The macro excels at that. If i had to go a year with only one lens, it would be this one.
 
My product recommendations
D300
4.7 out of 5(45)
 
 
 
D200
4.7 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+20points
Review 16 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super sharp shots

PostedJune 26, 2012
brianf
Location Oakville, Ontario
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Just getting started with photography
This is my first Macro lens. I am using it on a D7000. Wow. I cannot beleive how clear the images are. It is heavy so I do use a tripod on my Macro shots. Do turn off the VR when using the tripod. I did not think it would matter but I experimented with it on and off on the same shot and it will be more in focus and respond to focus faster when switched off and using a tripod. To really see the fine detail this lens is capable of, crop some shots and reallly zoom in. Outstanding. So to sum it up, super clear, very fast focus, very sharp focus are all the pros. The only cons are it will not go to 2.8 when zoomed all the way in and it is a bit heavy but that is due to the super build quality.
+11points
Review 17 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Introvert's Lens

PostedJune 8, 2012
NewToDigital
Age Over 65
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I am an introvert. Photography is my hobby. I have found the perfect lens for the introverted photographer in Nikon’s AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED lens. Let me explain.
I find the medium telephoto fixed focal length of 105mm to be just right for taking candid shots of people, especially when used for street photography. I can keep my distance from my subjects to avoid either being too obtrusive or invading anyone’s personal space. Yet, the macro capability of this lens will allow me to get in much closer should the subject prove amiable and amenable to that.
We introverts are, on the whole, friendly people. It’s just that interaction with people takes its toll on us, and there is a point at which we need to call a “time out,” disengage, get away, and be by ourselves to reenergize. At such points it is a pleasure be able to walk around in solitude and explore the world that the “micro” feature of this lens presents. With this one lens I can photograph the world from both afar and up close, literally, from infinity to 1:1 magnification.
This is a wondrously wonderful instrument. Well done, Nikon optical designers, engineers, and technicians. And thank you.
+26points
Review 18 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing in every way, shape and form

PostedJune 3, 2012
professor
I've owned this year for almost 5 years now, and It's quality shines!! I need to get a nicer tele-converter than the Kenko tubes, this lens is so heavy that it creates visible gaps between the rings ;-/ .. it still works but just a little sketchy... I suggest going with nikon teleconverter if you plan on expanding your reach
-5points
Review 19 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Macro Dream!

PostedMay 24, 2012
DavidMark
Location Albany, NY, USA
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This lens is fantastic. The sharpness is incredible even with a d90. I use it to take pictures of flowers and insects and I could not be happier. I use it in the studio and outside. In truth I don't often use the VR but it is nice to have when you are taking action shots, or portraits in a low light setting. If you want something that is more versatile than consider the 24-70mm Nikkor Zoom lens. That doesn't have VR and doesn't cover the 105 range but can cover the edge of the macro range quite nicely. If you want to take your Macro to the next level than this is undoubtedly the lens for you. It works really well on my D90. I can't wait to try it on a full FX D800, which is where this baby will really shine!
+9points
Review 20 for AF-S VR Micro-Nikkor 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Macro

PostedMay 7, 2012
kilsonrj
Location Centro, Rio de Janeiro - RJ, Brasil
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Uso essa lente a quase um ano,com otimos recurso de clareza e profundidade de campo,é uma lente macro que recomendo a um amigo como já fiz,uma otima lente.
+4points
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>