Nikon Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED

Nikon Inc. AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED

Silent Wave motor enables ultra-high-speed AF with exceptional accuracy, super-quiet operation.

Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot 56 reviews
5 stars
33
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 59 Answers
Customer Reviews for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Review 1 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New

PostedOctober 17, 2014
Frankie
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
Haven't used it yet. Only had it 2 days. Works good so far.
-2points
Review 2 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice blurred backround with sharp focus.

PostedJuly 17, 2014
ColeMcl67
Location Canton, NY 13617, USA
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 6-12 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The lens is relatively cheap, takes amazingly sharp photos and blurs the background well. The lens is great for nature as well as portrait photography. I mainly use it for portrait photography.
 
My product recommendations
D5200 18-55mm VR Lens Kit
 
 
 
 
 
+4points
Review 3 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome lens for beginners or advanced users!

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Beginner
Location Wilmington NC
Age Under 18
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I am a beginning photographer and I wish to turn it into a career! I do enjoy this lens very much and it will be going with my on my trip to the UK this summer! It's super long zoom and manual focus are excellent. I really do enjoy this lens and would recommend it to anyone!
+11points
Review 4 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat the price!

PostedOctober 3, 2011
MacG
Location Portland, Oregon
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I just received the AF-S DX Nikkor 55-200mm 4-5.6 refurbished lens and used it for the first time this past weekend. A good companion to the 18-55mm 1.8-5.6. I primarily do portraits, but also enjoy documentary shots. The lens gives a feeling of being able to reach out and touch someone, even if at a distance. Light weight, and easy to use. I was also going to purchase a hood and lens bag, but to my surprise, the lens came with both.
With a name like Nikon, I felt comfortable purchasing a refurbished lens. How could I go wrong. At present time I can't afford to fork out too much and so "Thanks Nikon". You made it possible.
+57points
Review 5 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent deal

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
mustang
Location New Hampshire
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
This refurbished lens by Nikon is an exceptional deal and value .
The lens focus is fast and accurate
It looks like brand new .
Came with lens pouch and the hood .
also has a 90 day warranty by nikon
great value
+20points
Review 6 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent lens

PostedAugust 19, 2011
AJ
Location Melville, NY
Age Over 65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
Lens is lightweight. All pictures taken with this lens are clear and in proper focus.
+12points
Review 7 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedAugust 12, 2011
swa
awesome product
this is really awesome product
just try this product
-19points
Review 8 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything you would expect from Nikkor...

PostedJuly 4, 2011
BigFan
Location South Texas
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 6-10 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
With every Nikkor lens that I buy, I become more and more impressed with the performance, durability and precision with which this glass is put together.... More than satisfied with the lens.
+4points
Review 9 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A lens for the serious photographer

PostedJune 28, 2011
sthrngent
Location Columbia, SC
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This len is made for the serious photographer. Do you want to get close up with out standing in of others? This is the lens for you. You can stay a ways back and zoom in to get your clear and crisp shots. Stand in the rear of the room and get a front row type shot. You can't go wrong with this lens.
+1point
Review 10 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!

PostedJune 13, 2011
lovemynikon
Location Minnesota, Minneapolis
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
I love this lens, I wasn't sure exactly if I would. But found as I used it, I found it to be fun and easy to use.
+2points
Review 11 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful detail

PostedJune 12, 2011
FirstNikon
Location IL
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I love my new 55-200 lens. I can get close up enough to see the squirrel in the tree without invading its territory. I'm a beginner and this works well for me.
+5points
Review 12 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this lens

PostedJune 6, 2011
Wopaks10
Location NE Ohio
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Landscape
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
User submitted photo
After looking at 200mm zoom lenses and having a limited budget, I ran across thia lens for my D-60. It was at the price I was willing to pay and even without the vibration dampener. I took it to shoot a soccer game ,and was very pleased at the clarity of every picture even though I was shooting in noon day sun and at 200mm handheld, while tracking the players running at full speed down the field. Every shot was sharp and in focus. A great lens.
+13points
Review 13 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WOW!!!! Awesome product. BUY ONE!!!!

PostedApril 20, 2011
skooge1
Location Chicopee, MA
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Semi-professional photographer
Bought this on clearance. You should know this was in the display tube and was NEVER USED. For the price I paid, it was a "steal" literally.
Just for giggles, I was watching my LED TV, and snapped a picture of the scene. I could not believe my eyes. It was just what I was seeing. The auto focus kicked in and,crisp, accurite detail. Like Lee Iacocca said," If you can find a better deal, buy it." Thank you Nikon for making the finest products I've ever used. Loking forward to buying more in the future.
+15points
Review 14 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellant value for the money

PostedApril 15, 2011
Deadhorse
Location Aneta, North Dakotah
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is not a pro lense and with that being understood what I enjoy about this is for a couple hundred dollars you get a remarkable lightweight compact durable little lense that performs remarkably well with quite impressive image quality.
+2points
Review 15 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome quality lens!

PostedApril 14, 2011
OutdoorPhotos
Location Hopkins, MI
Age 18-24
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Semi-professional photographer
This is a great lens for mediumdistance shots. This lens offers great flexibility in zoom allowing for multiple uses. The lens also works well in fairly low light conditions making it a good choice for widlife and scenic shots!
+7points
Review 16 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful small Zoom

PostedApril 14, 2011
allpafla
Location Delray Beach, FL
Age 55-65
Favorite Subject Nature
Nikon Family 21+ years
Experience 3-6 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
If I had to choose two economical lenses, this would be one of them. The zoom range coincides nicely with my 18-55 and the sharpness and clarity are excellent.
Focus could be a bit faster, but that's why there is a Manual switch (Hope I don't wear it out).
At long range, this lens provide good magnification and the price is right.
+4points
Review 17 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

gives a nice blured background

PostedApril 9, 2011
Julia
Location Salt Lake City, UT
Age 25-34
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Occasional user, memory keeper
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I like this lens because it zooms very well and renders a nice bokeh (blurred background). In fact, I was able to achieve a dramatically attractive blurred background affects with this lens. It gave my pictures a kind of a dreamy look. This lens has an autofocus, so no need for manual time-consuming focus. I have neither patience nor time for manual focusing, so I really appreciate its built-in autofocus feature. The contrast is great. When you zoom in, it doesn't really give you a razor sharp quality, but it's still pretty good. The colors are vivid and it's especially good for taking photos outdoors.
+29points
Review 18 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cool Lens

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
HukomBitay
Location Philippines
Age 35-44
Favorite Subject Portrait
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience Less than a month
Role Just getting started with photography
Just got mine for about a week ago for my outdoor- wildlife and family portrait, and the captures are really sharp for this budget oriented lens =). I even tried indoors both ambient and with flash - the output were great.
+11points
Review 19 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first extra lens...love it

PostedAugust 6, 2010
FlowerGirl
Location Seattle, WA
Nikon Family 0-1 years
Experience 1-3 months
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
I have no complaints with this lens. I bought it with a package deal for my Nikon D3000. It works very well. I've been able to take incredible landscape shots as well as some amazing closeups of hummingbirds...and they don't exactly stay still for you! I've used it on automatic and manually...both are fine! A great intro to lenses. I will definately be getting others soon...but, right now....I have no reason to get anymore. It's excellent for what I want to take photos of.
+11points
Review 20 for AF-S DX Zoom-Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Entry Level 200mm Zoom

PostedJuly 31, 2010
DrFPS
Location Mid west
Age 45-54
Favorite Subject Family & Friends
Nikon Family 2-5 years
Experience More than a year
Role Serious passion, hobbyist
This is a great product. It has features only found with lens 2x the cost.
Easy to set up and make an amateur look like a pro. Best $$$ you will ever spend.
+5points
1 2 3 next>>